Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayweather vs McGregor - Event Thread **MOD WARNING POST 1- DO NOT IGNORE!!**

Would these be the 'boxing lads' that said McGregor wouldn't land a punch?

You seem fixated on a few posters that said this and that.

Of course Mcgregor was going to land a punch. Unless Mayweather knocked him out 1st punch. Let it go, I wouldn't worry about it.

Most boxing fans I know said McGregor would be outclassed. That was the case.

Mayweather wasn't tested and just waited for Mcgregor to tire. Easy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Would these be the 'boxing lads' that said McGregor wouldn't land a punch?

Punches to the arms do not count

Was Mayweather ever hurt at any point? No

Wow, he landed a few jabs at a 40 year old , way to go Conor.........

It is not how you start that counts, it is how you finish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Someone else posted this but its 100% true.....

The two personalities gave the public what they wanted, who in turn guaranteed a bumper pay day which effectively sets Mcgregors family up for the next few generations, Floyd got to put 300 million in his pocket with a goodbye fight against a challenger who was never going to present much of a problem.

Mayweather never broke sweat, McGregor walked out looking as fresh a daisy with hardly a mark on him. The best possible outcome for everyone I'd say.

Of course Connor looked outclassed, what else could he be, but I'd suggest he'll wake up tomorrow with less aches and pains than one of his normal fights but with probably 20-25 times more income, job jobbed.

It wasn't, and was never going to be one for the purists, but it was an entertaining spectacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    You seem fixated on a few posters that said this and that.

Of course Mcgregor was going to land a punch. Unless Mayweather knocked him out 1st punch. Let it go, I wouldn't worry about it.

Most boxing fans I know said McGregor would be outclassed. That was the case.

Mayweather wasn't tested and just waited for Mcgregor to tire. Easy.

Bullshit.

Many said he wouldn't land a punch, not just one. Even famous boxing pundits said it. Also, the VAST majority of boxing fans that said Conor had NO CHANCE said so on the basis that he had no boxing skills but McGregor wasn't outboxed, he was gassed out...... Floyd didn't hurt him and yet a large chunk of those same boxing fans said that he would knock him out.

Here's a link to the after fight presser for anyone that missed it:

Bullshit.

The VAST majority of boxing fans that said Conor had NO CHANCE said so on the basis that he had no boxing skills but McGregor wasn't outboxed, he was gassed out...... Floyd didn't hurt him and yet a large chunk of those same boxing fans said that he would knock him out.

He was outclassed.

"Gassed out" is an awful excuse. In fact it makes McGregor looks like an amateur with poor preperation and tactics.

Bullshit.

Many said he wouldn't land a punch, not just one. Even famous boxing pundits said it. Also, the VAST majority of boxing fans that said Conor had NO CHANCE said so on the basis that he had no boxing skills but McGregor wasn't outboxed, he was gassed out...... Floyd didn't hurt him and yet a large chunk of those same boxing fans said that he would knock him out.

Here's a link to the after fight presser for anyone that missed it:

being tired is a terrible excuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Bullshit....

the VAST majority of boxing fans that said Conor had NO CHANCE

He had no chance. He got completely out classed and stopped. Mayweather never even broke a sweat.

Billy86 wrote: »
    This would not have been pretty in the UFC either, first any clinch and Floyd is in huge trouble - saying he would avoid being taken down is like saying McGregor is quick at bobbing his head back and movement, and so would not be able to avoid getting punch tonight... and we saw how that went. There is also the fact a UFC fight is 3 or 5 rounds, meaning Floyd gets less time to feel things out. Also mentioned was the fact that McGregor would be able to use kicked which Mayweather would have to learn to deal with (was never going to happen but ideally tonight would have been some sort of kick-boxing type mash up of rules, since it was a circus show to begin with anyway).

Boxing was only ever going to go one way, MMA would be the same in the reverse. But Mayweather was the bigger draw, this was an event all about money and the money always said boxing.

Conor's punching was tippy tappy guff that barely affected Mayweather

You took what I said about being taken down too literally, course Mayweather would be taken down, what would happen next could get messy......but it is not like Conor is some master of those skills either

Mayweather was never an aggressive boxer , but you are hoping that if Conor went up against an aggressive boxer , he could get the kicks off before the boxer can get inside and land combos would damage Conor. Conor would be opened up and on his arse, and then him in Bambi-Diaz mode. If Conor goes on his arse, it will be pound city and good night, because when he went down on his arse he would be wondering what the feck had happened to him

Mayweather ain't going to risk an MMA fight nor would he have a desire to train for 8-12 months on the kicking and defence of same

When did ye really see Conor convincingly take down someone his own height and weight? Don't say Nate Diaz, lol. (that was impressive though)

The amount of BS that UFC is going to waffle now about "ah so and so would be killed inside 1 minute if they ever stepped into the octagon, all the take away from the fact that Conor ain't that good at boxing, and that is his main style in MMA"

He had no chance. He got completely out classed and stopped. Mayweather never even broke a sweat.

every second of that fight had a smell of NO CHANCE for Conor....Floyd played him like a fiddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Considering that Conor is mostly a boxer in MMA,Mayweather would only have to work on the leg kicks, or how to avoid them (no easy feat in a few month) and try and avoid the take downs. Conor's "power" has little affect on boxers, and he struggles to do 5 rounds in MMA as it is. His boxing "skills" were exposed in Diaz (very poor bench mark, not like he bothered to move) and here tonight

You say that like avoiding takedowns and leg kicks is easy??

Your post shows a huge level of ignorance to the different skill sets required to compete in MMA.

Even in terms of grappling alone, McGregor is a BJJ brown belt for gods sake. He would take any white belt level grappler down and submit them with ease in seconds.

John_D80 wrote: »

Your post shows a huge level of ignorance to the different skill sets required to compete in MMA.

Even in terms of grappling alone, McGregor is a BJJ brown belt for gods sake. He would take any white belt level grappler down and submit them with ease in seconds.

I dunno... Jon Jones was a white belt until recently for example...

There are active competitive Irish blue belts who'd sub McGregor handily in competition for my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I dunno... Jon Jones was a white belt until recently for example...

There are active competitive Irish blue belts who'd sub McGregor handily in competition for my money.

In fairness Jones was hardly a novice grappler as Mayweather would be against McGregor.

Calling Jones a white belt, while technically correct is/was not an accurate representation of his skill level and you of all people should know that.

First clinch against McG would be end of for Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

It' ridiculous that McGregor just went 10 rounds with Mayweather and people here can't even give him an ounce of credit.

Because this is what Floyd does. The way the fight went isn't a huge surprise to most boxing fans. He has never been an attacking fighter who will knock people out early. Pure speculation but had he done so here I think he could have ended it early but at the same time given Conor a chance of catching him with something. Instead the way he fought was the way he has fought his whole career. Playing percentages giving the guy no chance to beat him. All I seen was a completely outclassed opponent way out of this depth who played straight into his hands. It is dumbfounding to me that some people watching that and thought it was contest.

In fairness Jones was hardly a novice grappler as Mayweather would be against McGregor.

Calling Jones a white belt, while technically correct is/was not an accurate representation of his skill level and you of all people should know that.

First clinch against McG would be end of for Mayweather.

Just saying, belt level isn't necessarily indicative of skill level!

I do agree that Floyd would be destroyed in an octagon, but it's irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Because this is what Floyd does.

Bull.

Show me a fight where Floyd took as many shots in the first three rounds as he did tonight.

Not a chance. I've seen all Floyd's fights, many of them multiple times, and he struggled to read Conor tonight more than any other fighter.

Not saying he didn't have a plan to cover up, take shows early doors and then up his game in later rounds, but he was absolutely taking shots in those early rounds that he did not want to be taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

In fairness, McGregor was never, ever going to win that fight.

But he certainly could have lost far worse than he did - I'd say it was almost the best possible outcome he could have hoped for.

First time stepping into the ring and he does so against arguably the best boxer in the world - even lands a few good punches and wins some early rounds.

That is a pretty titanic achievement for an amateur many thought would be made a mockery of from the first bell.

Not even a McGregor fan but I think he deserves some respect. Even the commentators were shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Bull.

Show me a fight where Floyd took as many shots in the first three rounds as he did tonight.

Not a chance. I've seen all Floyd's fights, many of them multiple times, and he struggled to read Conor tonight more than any other fighter.

Not saying he didn't have a plan to cover up, take shows early doors and then up his game in later rounds, but he was absolutely taking shots in those early rounds that he did not want to be taking.

Floyd stood defensively with hardly any counter attack in those early rounds. Of course he was going to take shots. Conor was never going to catch him with anything to end the fight which was quite clearly the gameplan early. It was rope a dope stuff.

Floyd stood defensively with hardly any counter attack in those early rounds. Of course he was going to take shots.

You need to watch the first four rounds again if you think Floyd just stood there.

Not only did he counter many times, and miss, he also missed with offensive attacks.

People are remembering the early rounds differently than to how they went down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

The seething hatred for Froch is ridiculous. I watched on Showtime so didn't hear his commentary but lads sitting at home in their armchairs getting upset by him, saying they'd love to see him step into a cage for five minutes are absolutely hilarious. Who should he step in with? You? Stipe? DJ? Why don't your step into a boxing ring for five with him if he had personally upset you so much? Froch is an absolute warrior tough as nails with a granite chin and he never ducked anybody. Let the man have his opinion.

No they are not easy, not even for a trained MMA fighter, never mind a 6 months crash course training for a boxer.

What I said about Mayweather running was taken too literally, so, do us all a big favour, less of the jumped up brat mode

Secondly, forget Mayweather in a UFC fight, because you would need a boxer who fights more aggressively to stand any chance with McGregor.

Conor is no master of grappling or kicks either! When did we last see Conor convincingly take down a fighter his own height and weight? Don't say Diaz

His "power" won't scare a boxer so once they get out of leg rage, boom boom boom. You are ignoring the boxers ability to use the elbows and they can always throw in the odd Hollyfield head once or twice . How quick do you think McGregor would chance grappling with someone his own height and weight

His ego would get to him against a boxer. He would have to ensure that he got his kicks in quick before a more aggressive and skilled boxer got inside and land body shots and a few to the head. Conor's defense is highly questionable and unproven against skilled strikers in the MMA (He has met NONE)

The sooner the UFC bring in a new bred of smart fighters that have similar attributes to Conor, he might be in big trouble because he is devoid of cardio.

In 13 seconds, everything that Aldo achieved in MMA went down the toilet. Even Ronda Roussey was humiliated and her reputation is in utter tatters after Holm, two of the most riduclouolsy hyped up fighters in years. No wonder why Conor was so damn confident in the FW division (and fair play to him, his intelligence was exceptional during his interviews before he became a champ on why the UFC was devoid of threats to him - Off The Ball did a good one shortly after he did his ACL) , and Dana clearly did not think much of that division when he placed so much trust in Conor

McGregor is a boxer in the UFC, he met many lads walking around the BJJ belts , look how that went for the BJJ lads

McGregor wasn't outboxed

This thread has now gone full retard.

Bull.

What did Mayweather take? 1 upper cut and the rest hit to the arms and the odd punch to the body. Did Mayweather wobble?

2 years out of the ring.Remember that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »

Joe Duffy would submit Conor, he's a pro boxer in Conor's division.

/pedant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭BQQ

Lt Dan wrote: »
    No they are not easy, not even for a trained MMA fighter, never mind a 6 months crash course training for a boxer.

What I said about Mayweather running was taken too literally, so, do us all a big favour, less of the jumped up brat mode

Conor is no master of grappling or kicks either! When did we last see Conor convincingly take down a fighter his own height and weight? Don't say Diaz

<b>His "power" won't scare a boxer so once they get out of leg rage, boom boom boom.<\b>

His ego would get to him against a boxer. He would have to ensure that he got his kicks in quick before a more aggressive and skilled boxer got inside and land body shots and a few to the head. Conor's defense is highly questionable and unproven against skilled strikers in the MMA (He has met NONE)

The sooner the UFC bring in a new bred of smart fighters that have similar attributes to Conor, he might be in big trouble because he is devoid of cardio.

In 13 seconds, everything that Aldo achieved in MMA went down the toilet. Even Ronda Roussey was humiliated and her reputation is in utter tatters after Holm, two of the most riduclouolsy hyped up fighters in years. No wonder why Conor was so damn confident in the FW division (and fair play to him, his intelligence was exceptional during his interviews before he became a champ on why the UFC was devoid of threats to him - Off The Ball did a good one shortly after he did his ACL) , and Dana clearly did not think much of that division when he placed so much trust in Conor

Boom boom what?
    If you're out of leg range, you're way out of punching range
    The only boom boom is gonna be if you're lobbing grenades across the octagon

Also, moving away from the never ending tit for tat back and forth, anyone want to talk seriously about McGregor's cardio? He was more controlled than I thought he'd be and was still blowing heavily before the end of the second round.

Does not say a lot for his camp or cardio programme.

Also, moving away from the never ending tit for tat back and forth, anyone want to talk seriously about McGregor's cardio? He was more controlled than I thought he'd be and was still blowing heavily before the end of the second round.

Does not say a lot for his camp or cardio programme.

Are you questioning Dr. Dalby and the McGregor FAST system?

HOW DARE YOU!