Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I voted 'yes' in the referendum, but I would be aware that the the major world religions aren't keen on homosexuality, therefore if one was a committed member of one of those religions voting 'no' would be more than a possibility?

Being a practicing member of the Islamic faith (for example) would be a 'legitimate reason' I would have thought?

And surely saying that someone who voted like that didn't have 'legitimate reasons' would imply intolerance to that person's religious beliefs?

425711.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I can see a lot of outrage over hullaballoo's comment, but not one actual counterargument i.e, legitimate reasons for voting no in the marriage equality referendum.

because it's a bullsh1t argument in a thread about OTB. my problem with his/her post was the threat of a ban for not agreeing with him.

if it's against the charter, then ban/warn/whatever, but it's against their personal opinion and the threat was used for going against it.

*not back seat modding, or attacking the poster, but definitely attacking the post!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

You shouldn't be. Remember, if you don't agree with everything the liberals want, they throw a tantrum and call are a Nazi. And that's effectively what Ger did the other night. If he wasn't so pig headed, and listened to a few of the texts, he might actually learn something. But when you have been in charge of the show as long as he has, and none of the yes man minions you have employed are prepared to put a counter view, this is where you end up.

They need to leave their politics/agendas out of sport. Cork people never brought their politics in to sport. Waving the confederate flag was not a sign that Cork people are in favour of slavery, so to assign those motives to them is simply attempt from Gilroy to be seen to be offended on other people's behalf. They have enough shows that drive their liberal views down your throat, they could at least give it a break for the sport show.

You genuinely need to relax my man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Lads look at what they've done to us! This is exactly what the OTB police want - to create division among the dissenters! We must remain strong together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭Raoul

because it's a bullsh1t argument in a thread about OTB. my problem with his/her post was the threat of a ban for not agreeing with him.

if it's against the charter, then ban/warn/whatever, but it's against their personal opinion and the threat was used for going against it.

*not back seat modding, or attacking the poster, but definitely attacking the post!*

100% agree with this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Lads look at what they've done to us! This is exactly what the OTB police want - to create division among the dissenters! We must remain strong together!

Ha ha.

Anyone listen to the Second Captains political show last week? They had an expert in the rise of fascism on.

He made a very interesting point about the often seen strategy of turning up and being deliberately offensive and aggresive to get a response. The second they get a reaction they scream victimisation.

All we need now is a ban to be handed out and we've got a martyr for the cause too.

Textbook.

It's actually even better than I thought.

Imaginary conspiracy? Check (Just who are "they"? Names & examples please, not just a vague indication of some sinister force)

Imaginary oppresive force? Check (The OTB police? The lads who present a sports show that's constantly criticised here for being bland have their own POLICE? Remarkable).

Call to arms to like minded "victims"? Check
    We must stay strong together! Ha, ha. I'm glad you've found a common cause.

Textbook.

Just a question, though. What makes you think anybody wants to create division among...whoever it is you imagine you represent here? How it works is OTB broadcast their show about sports, and then a handful of people come on here screaming about lefty liberals and so on.

Actually never mind, I actually don't give a f*ck.

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Imaginary conspiracy? Check (Just who are "they"? Names & examples please, not just a vague indication of some sinister force)

Imaginary oppresive force? Check (The OTB police? The lads who present a sports show that's constantly criticised here for being bland have their own POLICE? Remarkable).

Textbook.

Just a question, though. What makes you think anybody wants to create division among...whoever it is you imagine you represent here? How it works is OTB broadcast their show about sports, and then a handful of people come on here screaming about lefty liberals and so on.

therein lies the problem though. OTB in the last couple of years has digressed from sport a lot and when it does, it's absolutely woeful radio. the only time i can genuinely say i enjoyed the whole show in the past while is when joe and ger are not in the studio, and nathan is presenting. they get the newsround done without segueing, they stick to the sports and it's generally a better show, as it was last weds or thursday when he presented.

in the past few years, we've learned that Ger thinks teaching irish and religion in schools are a waste of time as that should be used for PE, simply because neither are part of his personal ethos. Joe has reminded us many, many times that he is atheist, and struggles to comprehend how top level sportspeople may find a bond through religion (tyrone football team etc).

when you know too much about the presenter of the show, then it's becoming stale. when the old crew left, i spent long enough trying to get this thread to move on and stop going on and on about them, but looking back, i knew feck all about them at the time, apart from Eoin running marathons, murph being from Galway, and Ken.. well, i don't think i could remember anything about his personal life. i think it may be time to finally admit it. i miss the old crowd. if only they did some LOI on their podcasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,653 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I can see a lot of outrage over hullaballoo's comment, but not one actual counterargument i.e, legitimate reasons for voting no in the marriage equality referendum.

It's pretty hard to do so when there's an implicit card/ban awaiting anyone who disagrees with him.

I voted yes in the referendum myself - I can't believe I'm discussing this here! - as I could think of no good reason not to. I know homophobia was a driving factor, definitely the driving factor in the vast majority of the no vote - I'm not that naive to believe otherwise.

But, I wouldn't be so presumptuous - and, frankly, condescending - to think it covered every single no voter, in every single circumstance. People are complicated. Have you talked to everyone who voted no? Have you listened to every opposing point of view? No? But they are homophobes, one and all - a cast iron fact, right? And to argue otherwise isn't allowed, seemingly.
    I'm not going to go in head-first with a mod warning at this stage but if you carry on with this bigoted "alt right" stuff, you will not be posting here for long.

What is this? I'm not going to warn you, but, first, let me warn you?

Now I understand, completely, that boards is not a bastion of free-speech: it never has been and it never will be. No problem - I knew that when I signed up. But it is a discussion site, but here the discussion seems to be: agree with me or get banned. I don't think that's very fair.

Also, I think if an argument of this ilk had started up between a couple of regular Joe Soap users it would have been swiftly shut down before things got out of hand, but, because - in this case - the Mod had a personal investment in the argument it was allowed to dribble on for another page and a half, but with the opposing viewpoint handily muzzled.

The point that Monstermag was trying to make was that Ger tends to class all people who disagree with him as all having the exact same wrong viewpoint - and he never allows for divergence or nuance of opinion, except when it suits him somehow.

I'm a strongly left-leaning person myself, so I, more often than not, actually find myself agreeing with his final position on "hot topic" issues - but I never agree with his dismissive, self-righteous, attitude towards people he disagrees with: it stinks. And, speaking as a liberal, it is a particular kind of faulty logic that the left, in particular, always has to be wary of falling into - and it seems to be alive and well on this thread.

I don't feel great in agreeing with and thanking posts by people who I know - just from reading through the thread - don't share a single square inch of similar political ground to myself, but, seriously, you've got to be able to disagree with a moderator's point of view, within reason, without facing the risk of getting insta-slapped because of it.

and Ken.. well, i don't think i could remember anything about his personal life.

Apart from him being at triallist at Marseilles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

monstermag wrote: »
    Ger has form in making ill judged off the cuff remarks, don't forget in the recent marriage equality referendum he labelled all who voted no, homophobes.
    Joe was doing ok the night he brought up the flag issue until he got offended on behalf of future young black Irish inter-county players who would have to look up at the confederate flag in the stands. The operative word here been Irish, so the young black Irish, l assume would be no different than young white Irish and wouldn't have a clue what the flag symbolizes, l certainly hadn't a clue what the flag represented when l was a young teenager. Joe's assertion that young black lrish would or should be offended is a dangerous road to go down, you can't make people feel compelled to be offended because of the colour of their skin. This is what's happening in the state's at the moment, a lot of black people are uncomfortable with it.

Who ever saw the South Park episode where there was a big ho ha over the change of the town flag? The flag consisted of white stick men surrounded by a black stick man being hanged , the kids were oblivious and the adults were all using their own agendas to explain why the kids were obvious to it all. "Chef Goes Nanners",

http://southpark.wikia.com/wiki/South_Park_Flag

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chef_Goes_Nanners

Any chance can everyone get back to sports, keep yer feelings outside. This ain't the Global Village section

When we turn on OTB, we want sports, not personal political and social opinion off the presenters. Get the experts in if you want, have a chat then move on. There are plenty of other shows on Newstalk for that guff.

I don't know why anyone would engage the Mod any further with reasons for taking any stance, they have made it clear where they stand and what happens if you disagree with them.

Some day there is going to be a massive blow back and people are going to get hit real hard , because the rest will simply have enough of being talked down to. The chances of some making the statements that they have made on line , in person are slim and none. No wonder why there are so many nut jobs who back Trump (Not all of his following are nut jobs) and no wonder there is the rise of the extreme right.

Back to sports lads.. Please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Arghus wrote: »

But, I wouldn't be so presumptuous - and, frankly, condescending - to think it covered every single no voter, in every single circumstance. People are complicated. Have you talked to everyone who voted no? Have you listened to every opposing point of view? No? But they are homophobes, one and all - a cast iron fact, right? And to argue otherwise isn't allowed, seemingly.

I presume that's directed at me. I actually didn't give an opinion, I asked a question because I was curious to what answers would be? The only thing I could come up with was the only one that was subsequently given - religious. But there is supposed to be a separation between church and state and those same religious reasons were given to keep homosexuality illegal until 1993.

Apart from him being at triallist at Marseilles.

fckn brilliant!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Any chance can everyone get back to sports, keep yer feelings outside. This ain't the Global Village section 'The off the Ball'

Back to sports lads.. Please

More and more people seem to be saying this about the show itself.
    They might as well get that Dill wan to prevent the show.

114360_54_news_hub_107857_656x500.jpg

Or failing that Dill Pickles from the Rugrats

kid-rugrats-1.jpg

Would we notice ANY difference?

dO-OXqVs_400x400.jpeg

Ger-Gilroy-810x468.jpg

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Before l get back to the sport, l must apologise if l offended anyone, it wasn't intended, I'll take the wrap on the knuckles and the warning. Still scratching my head as to what it was for exactly. Nevertheless life goes on and u gotta roll with the punches.
    I taught the Saturday panel was excellent this weekend just gone. Nathan was at the helm with David Brady one of the O'Shea brothers and another fella, who's name I can't recall. Lovely relaxed chat , Nathan letting it flow, everyone getting a chance to speak, nobody hogging the mic, lots of laughs. You could tell they were enjoying it too. I don't usually tune in on Saturdays, but I was hooked for that hour or so, throughly enjoyable.

Textbook.

Jesus Donal take your irony detector in for a service will ya?

Amazingly, that reply is much better than what I feared it might be.

It might be best for everyone (certainly myself) to turn off the old radio and, I dunno, spend some time in the garden or something for a few days.

A wise decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Before l get back to the sport, l must apologise if l offended anyone, it wasn't intended, I'll take the wrap on the knuckles and the warning. Still scratching my head as to what it was for exactly. Nevertheless life goes on and u gotta roll with the punches.
    I taught the Saturday panel was excellent this weekend just gone. Nathan was at the helm with David Brady one of the O'Shea brothers and another fella, who's name I can't recall. Lovely relaxed chat , Nathan letting it flow, everyone getting a chance to speak, nobody hogging the mic, lots of laughs. You could tell they were enjoying it too. I don't usually tune in on Saturdays, but I was hooked for that hour or so, throughly enjoyable.

what on earth are you apologising for?

Probably forced to do it by the mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Probably forced to do it by the mod.

Yes, I'm sure that's the case :rolleyes:

Saturdays were always excellent. It was when Gilroy himself was very very good. Sunday was always a highlight of the week for obvious reasons. Gilroy suited the weekend. People will remember the 5pmish Premiership round up with the late Grahame Taylor who sounded like a nice person

He has a point though, I wouldn't pay €19.22 to go an off the ball roadshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I had always assumed the Roadshows were free, jaysus, it's not Top Gear these lads are taking to the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

thats a bit of a rip off alright, wouldnt agree with them charging that much for a live show. Surely Bord Gais would have given them a few more bob to sponsor it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

I had always assumed the Roadshows were free, jaysus, it's not Top Gear these lads are taking to the road.
    Most are because they have a sponsor

They used to be, entry fees are a relatively new development.