Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dry cow with summer mastitis this morning. There's no flies on them as they have tar and pour on on them. It must be the warm ground that caused it. Quarter is fecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

When people are dropping in their accounts into accountants do ye hand them all the originals or take photocopies of everything. I have always dropped in the originals but am thinking twice about it this year as they have all these documents for 5 years and if i need to go back and check on anything i would not have it to hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Henwin wrote: »
    When people are dropping in their accounts into accountants do ye hand them all the originals or take photocopies of everything. I have always dropped in the originals but am thinking twice about it this year as they have all these documents for 5 years and if i need to go back and check on anything i would not have it to hand.

Hand in the originals unless it's something we may need. I assume you can ask for them back if needs be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Track machine just landed. Roadway going into the drained field. Things coming together nicely now.

Have you rock on site?

Mooooo wrote: »
    Have you rock on site?
    No, used the last of the easily got stuff putting down the last road. The earth from this will finally bring the quarry up to ground level and level off a few other places in need of a bit of earth. I'll have to dig a tank in the next few years again so there should be a nice bit of stuff there again for more roadways, hopefully.

I'll be taking the top two inches of top soil this time and then 3-4 inches of trunking and an inch or so of softish pencil for a finish.

I'm looking at another 150m that could use a roadway but I'll wait to see how close to the budget this one is first before making that decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

My accountant hands me back the file once the tax returns are filed and accepted. Says, he doesn't want them, in the place. Everyone stores their own. Need to for 6 years TMK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Henwin wrote: »

Mrs freedom reckons your accountant must have bought one of those pre bust commercial properties when the arse fell out of everything to store all the files. She normally photocopies anything she thinks she might need later and returns everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

File returned to us once they're prepared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

File returned to us once they're prepared

Keepgrowing how are the two farms you are running comparing with the different cows you are milking on each? Are the crosses outperforming the pedigrees? Or is it to early to say? (Sorry if been to nosey)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

How soon can you let cows on fresh poured concrete.

Poured a couple.of meters yesterday, doing a repair to the collecting yard. The cows are routed away from this but could really do with giving them access to it by Friday pm milking, as going away for weekend.....any fear this is too soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

alps wrote: »

Poured a couple.of meters yesterday, doing a repair to the collecting yard. The cows are routed away from this but could really do with giving them access to it by Friday pm milking, as going away for weekend.....any fear this is too soon?

Can you leave mats on top of it? should be OK but the longer you can leave it the better. Don't they say concrete can cure for years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

alps wrote: »

You'll have no bother on Friday. Tomorrow will probably even be ok. I did a cubicle shed a few years ago and the last few bits of concrete hadn't much with 24 hours when they went in and they all survived.

The structure of the concrete will take no notice of the cows. It's not as if you're driving the milk lorry across it. I guess the only possible problem might be that they might scuff up the surface a tiny bit which would only be an issue if you're looking for a perfect mirror finish which I presume you don't in a grippy holding yard. Anyway, this time of the year with the warmth at the moment that shouldn't even be an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

What is the most reliable weather site to use? AccuWeather seems to always predict the worst & YR seems to be the opposite, whats the happy accurate medium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Signpost wrote: »
    What is the most reliable weather site to use? AccuWeather seems to always predict the worst & YR seems to be the opposite, whats the happy accurate medium?

Met eireann,find yr pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had a lad here yesterday using the bbc weather app, he's a house painter and of all the apps he finds it most accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

The British met office on YouTube.

Just search for "met office" for their channel.

Then met eireann rainfall radar for a nowcast situation.

The beeb are using info now from the Dutch Euro forecasting service. The same as Met eireann and have gone downhill as a result. Cost cutting measures....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

I find the met eireann 5 day the best. Used to use accweather but anything after 5 days was very hit and miss

Yeah, run the 5 day Met Eireann one and analyse myself. Don't forget M T Cranium of, this parish. Very good.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Passage weather .sailors weather forcasting quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

K.G. wrote:
    Passage weather .sailors weather forcasting quite good.

For an hourly highly local forecast online I find the windfindsr surf forecast for the nearest spot quite accurate. The trick is to check very often as they change a lot.. particularly in this sort of Atlantic system weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

The BBC use meteo group who are a private entity but they have access to all the UK met office tools and world wide models and employ fully qualified experienced forecasters
    All of the front of house meteorologists at the BBC are also fully trained and experienced
    The only thing they've lost access to would be the UK met service duty analysis but I'd imagine the likes of Schaffenaker and others would be well capable of their own analysis

Some purists though will only accept what the UK or Irish met office has to say and ironically a lot of the same people are the first to diss them when something goes wrong

The BBC news 24 half hourly forecast rain graphics based on the very latest model data are still the most accurate that I've seen in my humble experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

48 hours - YR.no
    5 days - Met Eireann
    7 days - MT cranium
    2 weeks - none of them can predict it if you ask me

oxjkqg wrote: »
    48 hours - YR.no
    5 days - Met Eireann
    7 days - MT cranium
    2 weeks - none of them can predict it if you ask me

There's a poster called Tamara on Netweather who I find very good for the broader scale timeframe indications.

The further out you go, the more one is working on a % chance or likelyhood. The receiver often doesn't let those words, register.

Ah, competition. Grand over there, dangerous word in this country.

We bought a plastic liter bottle of pasteurised milk being produced by a neighbour today, nice stuff but the kids weren't too keen on non-homogenised milk. They were very puzzled about having to turn the bottle upside down for a while before pouring and very disappointed when the first one not to do that got all the cream.

On a totally separate note, I'll be having skim milk with my breakfast:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

We bought a plastic liter bottle of pasteurised milk being produced by a neighbour today, nice stuff but the kids weren't too keen on non-homogenised milk. They were very puzzled about having to turn the bottle upside down for a while before pouring and very disappointed when the first one not to do that got all the cream.

On a totally separate note, I'll be having skim milk with my breakfast:(

Wait, so normally yous buy shop milk ha?? We drink nothing but unpasteurised milk straight from the tank here.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Wait, so normally yous buy shop milk ha?? We drink nothing but unpasteurised milk straight from the tank here.

All the strong smart feckers do that.;)