Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Rich volcanic soils with outdoor outwintering and run off from heavy rains = a lot of nutrients flushed into any waterway.

There was a sheep farmer near me who wintered hoggets on a forage rape crop after barley and 2 years ago during the wet winter there was a sea of mud coming out of the field.
    This year he changed tack and sowed the forage crop again after barley but just ploughed in the green crop. No roundup. Just ploughed it in and sowed the barley.
    Well I've never seen as many bales of straw on a field before. The increase of OM and retention of nutrients certainly did the trick.

I often think anyone converting a tillage unit to dairy should grow a high mass crop like maize and chop and plough it in before putting to grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Timmaay wrote: »
    Wait, so normally yous buy shop milk ha?? We drink nothing but unpasteurised milk straight from the tank here.

From the tank, pah!

Cooled and filtered as well no doubt.

Right before the cluster goes on is the only job, or failing that get your chops around the dumpline!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kowtow wrote: »
    From the tank, pah!

Cooled and filtered as well no doubt.

Right before the cluster goes on is the only job, or failing that get your chops around the dumpline!

I can picture them queuing up at the tank taking turns to kneel down at the outlet for a drink :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Floki wrote: »
    Rich volcanic soils with outdoor outwintering and run off from heavy rains = a lot of nutrients flushed into any waterway.

There was a sheep farmer near me who wintered hoggets on a forage rape crop after barley and 2 years ago during the wet winter there was a sea of mud coming out of the field.
    This year he changed tack and sowed the forage crop again after barley but just ploughed in the green crop. No roundup. Just ploughed it in and sowed the barley.
    Well I've never seen as many bales of straw on a field before. The increase of OM and retention of nutrients certainly did the trick.

I often think anyone converting a tillage unit to dairy should grow a high mass crop like maize and chop and plough it in before putting to grass.

Brother was put there a few weeks ago during winter and one place had a couple of hundred cows outwintered and it wasn't far from a river. If say building boom in nz next. Either that or reduce the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I have just ordered a seriously over specified autowasher for a 5 unit parlour.

I am not sure whether this represents a moral failing on my part, but I'm looking forward to it like a child to Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,484 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Floki wrote: »

Have put 40 ha from tillage to grass here. The best fields and the reseeds that have lasted are the ones we had a kale or fodder rape in where stock was outwintered, those fields are still performing where other ones are on there 2nd reseed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Wait, so normally yous buy shop milk ha?? We drink nothing but unpasteurised milk straight from the tank here.
    Always bought milk here since the father and mother were on antibiotics for a few years after getting brucellosis from milk in the 70s.

And I'm diabetic as well so I would have a compromised immune system and raw milk is just too risky. The last time I drank raw milk, I ended up in hospital on a drip for a few days. Not really the way I want to spend a few days off:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Test clear thankfully. Done and dusted by 9.30. Read cows coming out of the parlour so min disruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I want to put the a crop of grass straight back in after harvesting the maize, any suggestions on how to sow it, will the one pass with a power harrow do?

When are you harvesting the maize? Would depend on conditions at harvest, don't think they'll be pulling out half loads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Westerwolds be late for setting prg when maize cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did it after triticale/lupins in late September. Run of power harrow and then one pass system sowing grass seed. Worked well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Have put 40 ha from tillage to grass here. The best fields and the reseeds that have lasted are the ones we had a kale or fodder rape in where stock was outwintered, those fields are still performing where other ones are on there 2nd reseed

The thinking now is that these cover crops have a deeper root than grass or cereal and bring up more nutrients or just convert it into a more useable form for the next crop. Some tillage farmers are turning away from feeding livestock with the crops and having energy going out the gate to instead giving all that energy and nutrients to the next crop instead.

I even see an organic farmer near me who grows veg is considering dropping the cattle and just recycling with cover crops instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,484 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Westerwolds be late for setting prg when maize cut

Neighbour cut his maize early October last year and sowed grass right after. Got a great take from what I saw.
    The crops around here will be in before October hits from what I've been hearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

If you dairy lads and lassies were to advise someone ( a32 year old, beef and sheep farmer, 110acres) who was thinking about entering dairying for the last 2 months, what would your advice be?
    -working full time at moment
    -land is in one block and overall good quality.
    -not making a profit without subsidies in the last 2 years.

Would expect it late Sept early oct harvest. This will be part of the milking block so normal grazing seed going in.

If you dairy lads and lassies were to advise someone ( a32 year old, beef and sheep farmer, 110acres) who was thinking about entering dairying for the last 2 months, what would your advice be?
    -working full time at moment
    -land is in one block and overall good quality.
    -not making a profit without subsidies in the last 2 years.

Dairying is a full time job itself. Are you planning on giving up the full time job if you go dairying? How big are the subsides lol? How good of a full time job, and are you happy at it? If it's a decent job that you are happy at, and you find the beef and sheep aren't worth the effort now I'd consider longterm leasing out the farm and keep the job. If your bored of the job and would much prefer to farm full time, and are comfortable with having to milk twice every day, and it doesn't cost you an arm and a leg to convert over, then the likes of 110 cows should make you a tidy living.

Mooooo wrote: »
    When are you harvesting the maize? Would depend on conditions at harvest, don't think they'll be pulling out half loads!

Interesting point, it's a 300m draw to the pit, if the weather was ****e I could probably get them to go with half loads lol.

Ours is 5 miles away roughly, trailers full to the brim normally. I guess if you could give a coat of slurry before tilling and weather is ok perhaps heavy disc and onepass then maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Dairying is a full time job itself. Are you planning on giving up the full time job if you go dairying? How big are the subsides lol? How good of a full time job, and are you happy at it? If it's a decent job that you are happy at, and you find the beef and sheep aren't worth the effort now I'd consider longterm leasing out the farm and keep the job. If your bored of the job and would much prefer to farm full time, and are comfortable with having to milk twice every day, and it doesn't cost you an arm and a leg to convert over, then the likes of 110 cows should make you a tidy living.

Have a bps of 16k. Job is only ok. Would prefer to be full time farming without a doubt, and would not lease out the farm, I enjoy working it. I have decent sheds alright, but they would need alterations. I would need a new slurry tank tough and a new parlour. New roadways, an upgrade of water supply and a small bit of fencing would also be needed.
    I know there is a lot of hours involved in dairy, but it is the only show in town for profit making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Have a bps of 16k. Job is only ok. Would prefer to be full time farming without a doubt, and would not lease out the farm, I enjoy working it. I have decent sheds alright, but they would need alterations. I would need a new slurry tank tough and a new parlour. New roadways, an upgrade of water supply and a small bit of fencing would also be needed.
    I know there is a lot of hours involved in dairy, but it is the only show in town for profit making.

Contact Patrick Gowing of Teagasc and he'll help you formulate a plan and give a good guide to investment required.

Best of luck, dairying needs more people who want to be in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not sure what other lads here would say to you, buying a whack of heifer calves, this Autumn or next Spring and rearing your own stock over the next year or two.

I'd be very tempted to look at a robot, since your starting from scratch.

Sounds like a reasonable starting point in fairness. Would your existing stock fund a milking herd? In terms of milking infrastructure, you will be looking at the likes of a 60/70k spend min after Grant for a new greenfield site, ie new shed to house the parlour, dairy etc, holding yard dairy washings tank etc. Roadways factor in 20e/m, if you have none now pencil in 10k for 500m to get ya going. With water I'd leave that down the road to upgrade, just have big enough troughs for now. When you say a new slurry tank, this just for the holding yard etc, or for winter accommodation? Would straw bedding be an option for now if it's the 2nd?

Water John wrote: »
    Not sure what other lads here would say to you, buying a whack of heifer calves, this Autumn or next Spring and rearing your own stock over the next year or two.

I'd be very tempted to look at a robot, since your starting from scratch.

Any word on what incalf heifers are making this autumn yet? Not too many on done deal yet, did see a nice batch for 1000e each tho, sounded like very good value! Anyways going back to what you were asking, I'd suggest splitting the difference, find 2 or 3 good reliable dairy farmers, and do a deal with them to supply you both maidens/weanlings and incalf heifers. Incalf heifers give you a very quick return on investment in my view, within a year she should of put at least 1500e of milk in the tank and a calf also, maidens and heifer calves are good value also, but money tied up in stock that is giving you zero return for a longer period of time.

Think cows are a better buy tbh. A bit cheaper and more milk quickly

whelan2 wrote: »
    Think cows are a better buy tbh. A bit cheaper and more milk quickly

Agreed, but in my experience it can be hard to buy a cow that isn't someone else's reject. Only cows I'd consider here would be if it was a full herd from someone retiring!

As keepgrowing said contact an advisor and go thru the various options, existing stock may cover stock purchases. Roadway paddocks cows and parlour first port of call. Don't be afraid of a bit of debt obvious within reason just put it out for as long a period as you can get make repayments easier can always be paid off early if things go well. Also make sure to budget a few grand for farm relief etc. in plans. Dunno who's with you etc but big change from working off farm to farming full-time esp for a one man show is you will be on your own for a lot of the day so time off and away is important.

Agreed, but in my experience it can be hard to buy a cow that isn't someone else's reject. Only cows I'd consider here would be if it was a full herd from someone retiring!

See a few fresh calved ones on dd. Probably lads changing calving system. What's the interest on a stocking loan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Couldn't agree more