Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Met Eireann forecast for Saturday.

Mainly dry and bright for the bulk of the country with just the occasional shower over more northern counties.There should be good sunshine for most places through the day and highest temperatures will range from 16 to 19 degrees in westerly breezes.

There was a tackle on Buckley during the 2015 All Ireland final that Gough let go, a lot of Kerry folk angry about it.

Seems they still are.

It was last year's semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

seligehgit wrote: »
    It was last year's semi final.

True

True

Father Tod are Kerry likely to play a sweeper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Martin Breheny now suggesting that perhaps the players picked Aidan full back
    !
    Jesus they have no respect in the media for Rochford whatsoever
    Aidan was clearly not happy playing FB the last day BUT his MANAGER instructed him to do so

I now hope Rochford sticks to his guns if he believes AOS did a good job leave him there and feckin win it !

Fitzmaurice had NO defensive game plan whatsoever but is getting away scot free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Tickets are out for the season ticket holders.

Been demoted to 303 but cant complain, had a very good run of HQ tickets this year :D

Kauto wrote: »
    As long as Aidan O'Shea is nowhere near the Mayo forward line slowing the play down, Mayo will win. Dont think its any coincidence that it was our best forward display of the year.
    It wasn't
    And we only won 3 frees within scoring distance
    Also no coincidence

Kauto wrote: »
    As long as Aidan O'Shea is nowhere near the Mayo forward line slowing the play down, Mayo will win. Dont think its any coincidence that it was our best forward display of the year.
    It wasn't
    And we only won 3 frees within scoring distance
    Also no coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

km79 wrote: »
    !
    Aidan was clearly not happy playing FB the last day BUT his MANAGER instructed him to do so

I now hope Rochford sticks to his guns if he believes AOS did a good job leave him there and feckin win it !

But he plays such beautiful football...

Rochford has no mafia members on his side in the media ya see.

Oldtree wrote: »
    Been demoted to 303 but cant complain, had a very good run of HQ tickets this year :D

306 happy out.

I have no idea where Aidan will play on Saturday,I've a feeling he may stay put.

Prefer him out around the middle/centre forward.

!

Is there no end to his animosity towards Mayo?!

Yeah Aido and the lads conspired to play him in a position he didn't wish to play,lazy journalism.

Totally agree Fitzmaurice is largely getting a free pass in comparison to the criticism Stephen Rochford receives.

I might have queried the switch but he's not afraid to make the big call and back himself.Fair play to him with his ability to think outside the box.Keep them guessing.

Wooly interviewed him on the GAA hour and feels he gets no credit for any of the left of field switches he makes that do work and of course one can't have predicted the meltdown Robert Hennelly would have in last year's replay.

Tickets are out for the season ticket holders.

Same as that
    But under cover for the fine day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Same as that
    But under cover for the fine day :D

We'll be able to wave at aido :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Any ideas of the team for the replay?

Id drop SOS. Play keegan at mf on barry. Durkan wing back and Higgins covering the ball in front of donaghy with licence to break up the field.

That gives them the option of a sweeper, but they will probably go with one anyway after the last day. So Id be looking to kick to the hf-line and offload to runners instead of kicking inside.

Father Tod are Kerry likely to play a sweeper?

I really don’t know

Looking at a pure optimistic Mayo hat on I’m not sure if they can afford to.

James O’ Donaughe, for whatever reason, is not back to his 2014 best.

A bit better marking and more critical thinking and Donaghey does not have the influence he had Sunday.

Donnacha Walsh is unlikely to be fit.

Michael Ganey may not start with someone like Savage in his place.

So they already have some personnel issues in the FF and HF line and they may have to deplete it even more by taking someone from there to help the backs.

McCarthy who had a good league has not featured all championship, has he ?
    At the back they have to change it up, but I don’t think they have the bodies to do so, the only straight replacement they can make is Fionn Fitzgerald in one of the corners.

Ronan Shannhan played the league at corner back but did not appear yet in the championship, do you throw him into the fire.

If they flood the middle to stop the Mayo’s running they potentially open themselves up to what happened on Sunday with Andy Moran (keeping in mind that Mayo rarely put two great displays of forward play together back to back)

If they give Mayo space they run at them and cause more trouble.

I will say that I expect Barry to appear at midfield and that will be a plus on their side.

Overall I think that Fitzmaurice has a lot more thinking to do this week than Rochford.

Obviously Kerry are still favorites and favorites usually win replays, but Kerry may just be fatally flawed with regard to what they have to do to stop Mayo, i.e they may not have the right people for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,649 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

!

Total and obvious self justification horse manure from Breheny on O Shea`s selection at FB.

Other than leaving O Shea there (plus someone to track Donaghy if/when he moves out), other than putting Vaughan in I wouldn`t see a credible alternative.

I wouldn`t say Fitzmaurice had no defensive plan.
    His plan appeared to be having his half back line further up the pitch to prevent the Mayo backs running from deep, (by accident or design it worked on Keegan, but not so much on Higgins or Vaughan imo) and to force Clarke to kick long.

Where it didn`t work (and where not enough credit is being given to Rochford on) is that it left space where Mayo could kick ball into the corners that every corner forward loves.
    One bounce to run on too and on a one on one with a defender and his option of keeping you on his preferred side gone and the full back (again where Rochford got no credit) taken out off the equation by being pulled outfield by his marker.

Other than Donaghy being allowed to roam freely Rochford`s defensive plan was much more effective than Fitzmaurice`s imo and only needs a tweeking regarding Donaghy.
    Fitzmaurice`s on the other hand will need a complete overhaul and the only way I can see that happening to make any difference is Kerry using a sweeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

What exactly did Breheny say? Any links?

Can't find the article myself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

We'll be able to wave at aido :D

Maybe even a selfie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Can't find the article myself?

It's on independent.ie.

That man is unhinged. He seems to have some sort of irrational vendetta against Rochford and support team, and all the players on the Mayo panel.
    It's plain rude, and bad journalism, at this stage.
    Here's a quote ....

"Granted, his defensive set-up was questioned but not to anything like the same degree as Rochford's call on O'Shea. That's assuming, of course, that the Mayo manager and his assistants, Tony McEntee, Donie Buckley and Peter Burke, were solely responsible for it.

Could it have been a squad initiative, a meeting of minds among players that the best man to mark basketballer Donaghy was basketballer O'Shea?

Former joint-managers Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly revealed last year that attempts were made by some squad members to influence team selections in 2015.

If it happened then, presumably it could happen again, even if it didn't work first time.

Whatever the origin of the decision, the switch certainly generated a major talking point in Sunday's semi-final."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Call me Al wrote: »
    It's on independent.ie.

That man is unhinged. He seems to have some sort of irrational vendetta against Rochford and support team, and all the players on the Mayo panel.
    It's plain rude, and bad journalism, at this stage.
    Here's a quote ....

"Granted, his defensive set-up was questioned but not to anything like the same degree as Rochford's call on O'Shea. That's assuming, of course, that the Mayo manager and his assistants, Tony McEntee, Donie Buckley and Peter Burke, were solely responsible for it.

Could it have been a squad initiative, a meeting of minds among players that the best man to mark basketballer Donaghy was basketballer O'Shea?

Former joint-managers Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly revealed last year that attempts were made by some squad members to influence team selections in 2015.

If it happened then, presumably it could happen again, even if it didn't work first time.

Whatever the origin of the decision, the switch certainly generated a major talking point in Sunday's semi-final."

That's one almighty sh*t stirring article.

Shyte journalism, but what can one expect from Irish papers anymore.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

jmayo wrote: »

It's ****e journalism yeah and also a ****e generalisation on the Irish print media

jmayo wrote: »

It's like some bizarre attempt to keep the Holmes and Connelly article from last December relevant.

That piece held no water when Mayo lost an All Ireland final replay by a single point.

It holds less water now as they are a game away from another All Ireland final, and one of the stars of the summer has been Aiden O Shea, ego in chief.

But somewhere in the bowles of the Independent's editorial board someone wants to keep going back to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

It's like some bizarre attempt to keep the Holmes and Connelly article from last December relevant.

That piece held no water when Mayo lost an All Ireland final replay by a single point.

It holds less water now as they are a game away from another All Ireland final, and one of the stars of the summer has been Aiden O Shea, ego in chief.

But somewhere in the bowles of the Independent's editorial board someone wants to keep going back to it.

DA Kerry Meeja mafia, who else would it be, they've started taking pot shots now at the ref.

Sub headline in the sports section of The Kerryman.

"Gough to ref first Kerry game since Buckley tackle"

And they accuse us if being obsessed by refs.

Sorry I'm way off on this.

I just flicked through The Kerryman in the shop this morning and tried to remember the headline (not the main one on the page) as I left the shop.

It was Crowley the hit was on and in the SF last year, and the headline was something like "Gough to ref first Kerry game since Crowley hit"

Anyway I found it funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

Sorry I'm way off on this.

I just flicked through The Kerryman in the shop this morning and tried to remember the headline (not the main one on the page) as I left the shop.

It was Crowley the hit was on and in the SF last year, and the headline was something like "Gough to ref first Kerry game since Crowley hit"

Anyway I found it funny.

I'd say it's mostly remembered now because he said in an interview that his view of it was blocked and it should have been a free. Fair play to a ref saying something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

having rewatched the match last night, i think mayo made a big mistake by not pushing up hard on Kerrys kickouts - they werent put under pressure at all, and if they were, i think we could have capitalised on them - he often kicked short uncontested kickouts, where had we pushed forwards, we could have intercepted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Squatman wrote: »
    having rewatched the match last night, i think mayo made a big mistake by not pushing up hard on Kerrys kickouts - they werent put under pressure at all, and if they were, i think we could have capitalised on them - he often kicked short uncontested kickouts, where had we pushed forwards, we could have intercepted

You don't actually win many interceptions with that approach, do you though? More likely force them to kick it long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

You don't actually win many interceptions with that approach, do you though? More likely force them to kick it long.

do you remember Jason Doherty VS Derry? COC has done it too iirc. Kerry did it to us!