Little moments that made you realise someone's no good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Chuchote wrote: »
    Drivers who park in bike lanes, shout at other road users - in fact anyone who drives those short journeys of less than 5km - are they so precious that the world's precious fossil fuel should be used to drag their entitled arses around?

WTF???

You want me (and the 99.9% of normal people) to walk 5km journeys???

And fossil fuel is not that precious - in fact it's cheaper than bottled water. Also, what difference does it make if it's 5km or 500km. The amount of fuel used is relative to the length of journey.

If it's a short stroll/dry weather, I walk. If it's raining/more than a short stroll/I'm in a rush, I go by car. I'd imagine I'm in the vast majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

If I spot someone tight with money I know they are going to be an arsehole that I won't want to be near.

Very few things I find worse in peoples character or makeup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Oh and include anyone who has a particularly high saddle on their overpriced paperweight bike, looking down on everyone else.

Haha being too precious to walk 5km, or 15 mins on a bike. Sorry, can happily afford to drive my nice comfortable car that distance, enjoy your walk or bike!

Cyclism is starting to become more of a thread then socialism for me Dublin looking at the state of the changes to road layouts and traffic to accomodate bluffers packed into spandex thinking they are in the Tour De France :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Self-entitled car owners :rolleyes:

I'll just leave this graph of cancer and heart disease for people in cars, on foot and on bikes here

425961.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

^ People who judge others :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

making fun of other people at their expense is usually a good giveaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Oh I do love it when another thread descends in to Drivers vs Cyclists.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: With.... but not like!

Maybe, just maybe, this poor girl either forgot (or possibly dodged) lunch and knowing full well the bitch fest that would ensue (you apparently are quite prone to them), told you she forgot her phone? Sounds to me like if she'd rang you and said she couldn't make it, you'd have probably thrown one of your little tantrums.

Also, if I was her, and I did genuinely forget my phone - it wouldn't make any difference if I was in the carphone warehouse and they were handing out free phones, I wouldn't have a god damn clue what your number was. I'm not rain man, I haven't got my contacts memorised.

I know 2 numbers for certain, - my missus and myself, but friends, colleagues, my own kids even - I haven't a notion!

She's a functioning adult. My work number is on the internet. It's in old phone books. Edit - I should add that one aggravating factor was that she was on Facebook that day. When I pointed that out to her, she said she used her employer's computer. Which is possible...except then she had no answer to why she couldn't then, obviously, send me a message on Facebook...

People seem to have become rather excited about my take, despite post after post here of the "people who smell, people who don't pay for coffee" etc. My "little moments"...and we are talking about "little moments" is people who lie. I'll simply say to them that they are lying. Have people forgotten all semblance of integrity that to point out to a liar that they are lying is so shocking and unacceptable? You actually think that objecting to lies is a "bitch fest" and a "tantrum"?

I did point out that it turned out she screwed over a friend. Badly. And covered for another who was nicking money off people with Alzheimers. So I'm very happy with my perception that she was dishonest, and delighted I tore a strip off her. Her other ex friends simply complained that she just blanked them when things tumbled out. I got to say my piece to her, she didn't get to sneak away. Her efforts to act like we're still friends...didn't cut it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Worked with a guy for a few months on a team project with an investment firm. We worked for a consultancy company.

He worked on one deliverable and I was on another.

A few years later, I'd left the consultancy company but he popped up on LinkedIn and I had a look at his profile.

Hadn't the fcker taken verbatim everything I worked on with the firm and pawned it off as his own experience to bulk up his profile.

What an asshat.

Worked with a guy who eased me out of a job. A few months later he won an international award for something I'd designed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Worked with a guy who eased me out of a job. A few months later he won an international award for something I'd designed :eek:

New bicycle design?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Throwing food wrappings out the car window...dont care if the queen is your aunt, your an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

People who are mean to, rude to or mock people with disabilities. I have nearly gotten the shite kicked out of me for defending vulnerable people in these types of situations. It drives me into a hulk rage.
    As soon as I catch sight of that behaviour, I know that person is bad to the bone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Sounds like you didn't have the nous to understand what was happening so unlikely you could have had the same success with the design. He made the most of it. You couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭ForstalDave

Worked with somone who did many many things.

He hated the English and we worked with one so he stole his lemsip on a day your man was dying

When the euromillions started he did the exact same numbers as a girl in the office so if she won she wouldn't get it all

We were dumping old CRT monitors and he sold them to some guy in a pub, then didn't turn up for work the day he was to collect them, your man looked dodgy as **** and had a wig out of a bad comedy TV show

Someone came to him with an issue getting into a remote pc, they were staked in a cabinet but he didn't know which was which, so he went through them one by one turning them off if it wasn't the right one, took down the company website.

Told to take the day off after the xmas party if he was going to be late, Rang at 9.30 yea just outside getting a coffee want one? turned up two hours later didnt even bring the coffee

and so much more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

She's a functioning adult. My work number is on the internet. It's in old phone books. Edit - I should add that one aggravating factor was that she was on Facebook that day. When I pointed that out to her, she said she used her employer's computer. Which is possible...except then she had no answer to why she couldn't then, obviously, send me a message on Facebook...

People seem to have become rather excited about my take, despite post after post here of the "people who smell, people who don't pay for coffee" etc. My "little moments"...and we are talking about "little moments" is people who lie. I'll simply say to them that they are lying. Have people forgotten all semblance of integrity that to point out to a liar that they are lying is so shocking and unacceptable? You actually think that objecting to lies is a "bitch fest" and a "tantrum"?

I did point out that it turned out she screwed over a friend. Badly. And covered for another who was nicking money off people with Alzheimers. So I'm very happy with my perception that she was dishonest, and delighted I tore a strip off her. Her other ex friends simply complained that she just blanked them when things tumbled out. I got to say my piece to her, she didn't get to sneak away. Her efforts to act like we're still friends...didn't cut it for me.

Ok. I apologise - I seem to have taken you up somewhat harshly in this instance, she sounds like a bit of an asshole, you're most likely better off without her.

But.... if you find yourself regularly having the same issue with different people, odds are it's more your issue than theirs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

TheDoc wrote: »
    If I spot someone tight with money I know they are going to be an arsehole that I won't want to be near.

Very few things I find worse in peoples character or makeup.

It really depends

Some people have a tight budget and have to scrimp out of necessity

It's the ones sitting on a mountain of cash that won't pay anyone that annoy me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Any time my now ex treated a shop worker or waiter/ waitress like sh*t. I just thought, that's me in the future, and it was for a time until I grew strong enough to leave.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

Lies.

I hate people who lie. Had a friend miss a meet up, just lunch. Texted her. 24 hours later she said she had been stuck at work and had forgotten her phone. She was stumped when I pointed out that there was about 30 people with mobiles at her workplace. She then said she had forgotten about lunch. But damage was done. Tore a strip off her, got a few messages afterwards where she was clearly trying to slide back into the friendship thing, told her that wasn't happening.

People caught up in their own importance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

5rtytry56 wrote: »

I endured the graduation ceremony with him the following October. A STUPID aunt, my mother's sister, commanded me to attend the graduation ceremony. That was it.

Did you put in "my mothers sister..." as a definition of Aunt so people wouldn't think you actually meant to put in a "STUPID cünt" ? Or did you think people needed to know how this aunt was related to you?

It really depends

Some people have a tight budget and have to scrimp out of necessity

It's the ones sitting on a mountain of cash that won't pay anyone that annoy me

In Holland they have a great word for a wealth tax, Dagobertducktaks - Scrooge McDuck Tax.

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    Sounds like you didn't have the nous to understand what was happening so unlikely you could have had the same success with the design. He made the most of it. You couldn't.

Heh, I designed it, it was in use in the company for two years, I discovered an international awards competition and told the guy I was going to enter my design. After I was out, he entered the same contest (using my design and his name) and won :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Stingy people.

Work in hospitality and went to the pub with two coworkers recently after a shift. Guy A bought the first round, I bought the second. When it came to Guy B's round he told us he had to be up early for his shift in the morning and just left without even buying a single round. We sat there in amazement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,715 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

When chatting about relationships and she referred to a guy and his kid as a "back-up plan".

Caught me on the hop and I didn't say anything at the time but the more I thought about it the more it disgusted me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jobs OXO wrote: »

This post makes me realise that well you are .... don't wanna get a ban here ...

dbagman wrote: »
    People caught up in their own importance

Better than being a doormat. If someone is lying to you, just look them in the eye and say "you're lying". You'd be surprised at how quickly it sorts things out, the good friends will put their hands up and say yeah, not good enough, and you just all just move on. The bad ones lie more and more, which is an insult to your intelligence, they assume you'll swallow any old line. You may have no issue with that treatment, others will have the backbone to challenge it...but surely they should not be criticised for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Daledge wrote: »
    Stingy people.

Work in hospitality and went to the pub with two coworkers recently after a shift. Guy A bought the first round, I bought the second. When it came to Guy B's round he told us he had to be up early for his shift in the morning and just left without even buying a single round. We sat there in amazement.

Amazing. It sometimes happens that you need to leave early when it's your round but in such event, you always buy the round anyway (minus your own drink, of course). Anything else is scandalous carry on and lads have been killed for less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Had a manager who used "retard" to describe most anyone who she did not like. I had a relative with an intellectual disability so that ragged me a lot. Also, she was not exactly Mensa grade material herself.

Why not just say it to her that you don't like the term because you have a relative with an intellectual disability? Also, calling her a thicko in that context seems a bit odd…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

fizzypish wrote: »
    New bicycle design?

No. New graph design for mortality rates…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

Was out with a girl I was friends with for ten years who was a bit of a narcissist. She met a guy in a bar who was on a stag night (he was a bit hammered) and snogged him for ages. While this was going on, his friends had left him to it and moved on to some other bar. When she was done shifting him she decided she had no more interest in him and wanted us to leave. The guy, who was sound, at this stage was barely able to walk and I felt we couldn't leave him on his own as he didn't know town or where he was or where his mates were. He was able to tell me where his hotel was and it was only round the corner. I insisted we bring him there and he was delighted, gave me a hug goodbye once we were in the lobby.

So we go outside and next thing she's screaming at me that I only brought him to the hotel as I wanted him for myself etc. So I'm there looking at this person who would walk off and leave a drunk person vulnerable in a strange city by themselves when their hotel is only a few steps away. And then accuse the person who helped them of being jealous and conniving. That was the friendship over for me right there.