Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

When it comes to Men's All Ireland Final, you'll do it this year lads! I honestly think so. As a Cork man, I'd love to stop you winning both finals on the day though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭threeball

maroondog wrote: »
    The Galway team that was named on GB FM:

1. Nessa Kelly Athenry
    2. Sarah McCartin Craughwell
    3. Alanah Kelly Portumna
    4. Joanne Daly Sarsfields
    5. Shannon Keady. Oranmore-Maree
    6. Muireann Faherty Ballinderreen
    7. Rachel Burke. St Colemans
    8. Niamh Horan Killimor (Captain)
    9. Teegan Canning. Mullagh
    10.Niamh Niland Clarinbridge
    11.Rachel Murray. Sarsfields
    12 Kate Moran. Athenry
    13. Niamh Mc Peake. Liam Mellows
    14. Aoife Níc Dhonnacha Cois Fharraige
    15. Chloe Quinn Reilly. Kiltomer

Fair play to her. That wouldn't have been easy to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Blue Magic wrote: »
    When it comes to Men's All Ireland Final, you'll do it this year lads! I honestly think so. As a Cork man, I'd love to stop you winning both finals on the day though ;)

Would certainly take the senior over the minors at this stage. Think our Minors are up against it anyway, Cork looking strong this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

How many of these "genuine" "hardcore" supporters we see over the next few weeks will be in thurles tomorrow??

The team is out...

1. Darragh Gilligan

2. Declan Cronin

3. Conor Cosgrove

4. Ian Fox

5. Jack Grealish

6. Joe Mooney

7. Sean Loftus

8. Kevin McHugo

9. Dan Nevin

10. Brian Concannon

11. Sean Linnane

12. Thomas Monaghan

13. Conor Whelan

14. Cian Burke

15. Jack Coyne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Why is tomos u 21 match in thurles . Would love to take a spin down to Ennis like I did earlier in year for Galway v Kerry in u 21 football . Wouldn't Ennis suit everybody Tomo . The day and night is gone going to thurles . The team deserve support but the gaa don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

spurshero wrote: »
    Why is tomos u 21 match in thurles . Would love to take a spin down to Ennis like I did earlier in year for Galway v Kerry in u 21 football . Wouldn't Ennis suit everybody Tomo . The day and night is gone going to thurles . The team deserve support but the gaa don't

Fleadh on in Ennis. You'd have some job getting parking there tomorrow.

jam83 wrote: »
    Fleadh on in Ennis. You'd have some job getting parking there tomorrow.

forgot about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Disappointing result.
    I thought monaghan, concannon and McHugo were the stand out performers for Galway.
    Whelan took his goal extremely well.
    Full back line was a bit loose I thought.
    We really ran out of steam at the end, you could see they lacked competitive match practice.

The whole competition really needs an overhaul imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'll take no injuries to Whelan and Monaghan in addition to their good showings as a positive. 4 point win flattered Limerick tbf. Probs only 2 points the better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

The whole competition really needs an overhaul imo.

Didn't know whether to laugh or cry when I read this..!!
    While I have to agree with 'it needs an overhaul' but to hear it coming from a Galway fan is laughable.
    Galway have won 10 titles, 1 behind Cork and Kilkenny on 11, and 1 ahead of Tipp (yes Tipp) who have 9. Limerick next on 5.
    But ive never heard a murmur from Galway when they were winning those 10 titles. Yet now because there is a 6 year 'drought' where Galway haven't won a title, the whole championship needs 'an overhaul'

How about,
    Scrap the provincial championships.
    Form 4 groups of 4 teams, with teams seeded.
    Therefore each team is guaranteed 3 group games.
    Top team in each group contest a semi-final.
    Teams like Derry,Down,Antrim play all their group games at home in order to promote the game and avoid a farce like we saw today.

The eventual winners would play 5 games (barring a semi or final draw)
    That's the amount of games Limerick will have played this year.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

washman3 wrote: »
    While I have to agree with 'it needs an overhaul' but to hear it coming from a Galway fan is laughable.
    Galway have won 10 titles, 1 behind Cork and Kilkenny on 11, and 1 ahead of Tipp (yes Tipp) who have 9. Limerick next on 5.
    But ive never heard a murmur from Galway when they were winning those 10 titles. Yet now because there is a 6 year 'drought' where Galway haven't won a title, the whole championship needs 'an overhaul'

How about,
    Teams like Derry,Down,Antrim play all their group games at home in order to promote the game and avoid a farce like we saw today.

Sure if ya agree why is it laughable? Galway have been trying to get into Leinster Minor and U21 championships for years. If they were solely concerned about winning it outright they'd probably be happy enough with the status quo given the record you point out.

But they recognise that more games is better for player development, as does the poster you quote I imagine, so the six year 'drought' is irrelevant.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Sure if ya agree why is it laughable? Galway have been trying to get into Leinster Minor and U21 championships for years. If they were solely concerned about winning it outright they'd probably be happy enough with the status quo given the record you point out.

But they recognise that more games is better for player development, as does the poster you quote I imagine, so the six year 'drought' is irrelevant.

Its laughable because its coming from a Galway fan.
    Galway have benefited (greatly) from the current system, 10 titles.
    Down through the years the guaranteed semi-final wasn't the impediment to Galway that it was made out to be, in fact it was often a disadvantage to opponents who hadn't a clue what to expect. Take today for example, Galway would have known the Limerick set-up inside out. On the other hand, Limerick's knowledge of Galway would be quite limited.
    What Galway and many other counties SHOULD be pushing for is get rid of the provincials and opt for something like what i've suggested.
    It is only my suggestion but at least it is one.
    Somebody else may have something far better.

And the poster you refer to just states : 'the whole competition needs an overhaul' but has no idea has to how it should be done. Barstool stuff.

As for player development, as a Limerick fan, I can honestly say that any player that lined out for Galway today has a better chance of winning an A.I. senior medal down the line than his Limerick counterpart.
    Better hurlers, simple as.

jr86 wrote: »
    How many of these "genuine" "hardcore" supporters we see over the next few weeks will be in thurles tomorrow??

Shocking, shocking turnout from Galway fans today.
    Nearly outnumbered by Derry.
    But many will 'demand' a senior final ticket over the next few weeks.

Games should not have been played in Thurles anyway.
    Kilkenny should have played Derry in Derry or at least Parnell Park.

Because of the Fleadh Ceoil, Ennis was a non runner today but the game could have been played there last Wednesday or Thursday night.
    Today in Nenagh would also have been an option but then the 'suits' would not have the comfort of Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Its laughable because its coming from a Galway fan.
    Galway have benefited (greatly) from the current system, 10 titles.
    Down through the years the guaranteed semi-final wasn't the impediment to Galway that it was made out to be, in fact it was often a disadvantage to opponents who hadn't a clue what to expect. Take today for example, Galway would have known the Limerick set-up inside out. On the other hand, Limerick's knowledge of Galway would be quite limited.
    What Galway and many other counties SHOULD be pushing for is get rid of the provincials and opt for something like what i've suggested.
    It is only my suggestion but at least it is one.
    Somebody else may have something far better.

And the poster you refer to just states : 'the whole competition needs an overhaul' but has no idea has to how it should be done. Barstool stuff.

As for player development, as a Limerick fan, I can honestly say that any player that lined out for Galway today has a better chance of winning an A.I. senior medal down the line than his Limerick counterpart.
    Better hurlers, simple as.

Meh, the argument swings both ways. Galway were straight into the Semis at Senior level for a long time and it didn't yield massive success, certainly nowhere near the U21 record. But you're implying the poster is solely concerned about winning when I doubt he/she is. I was in Thurles today and to be honest whilst I was supporting Galway, I wouldn't be enough of a die hard to have too much interest in U21. I was saying before the game that it was ridiculous it was Galways first game of the year and I maintain that now. And to be honest, it won't really bother me if the drought at this level extends another 20 years.

As said, Galway have been trying to get into Leinster Championship at underage for years. Clearly they think it would benefit their players. Your view that Galway players have a better chance of winning an All Ireland in the future than their Limerick counterparts is irrelevant to player development to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

How about,

Jesus H Christ will you ever grow a brain ffs. Galway have been advocating an open draw or at the very least full participation in the Leinster championship for donkey's years. It is Leinster themselves (bar Kilkenny) keeping us out. This is such basic common knowledge I don't know how any hurling man doesn't know it unless they are a complete spoofer.

Believe me competitive games are better than any amount of training sessions. Galway with a game behind them before today would have won that game IMO. Their legs went in the final 10 minutes as they hadn't the games in the tank that Limerick had. All they want though is the same status as everyone else. That is if they lose their first game they are gone but at least it's not immediately against a team with 3 hard games behind them.

For what it's worth Galway are in their 3rd All-Ireland final in 6 years soon. I don't think they are afraid of competitive games. Doesn't actually seem to be doing them any harm to be honest. QED.

Galway with a game behind them before today would have won that game IMO. Their legs went in the final 10 minutes as they hadn't the games in the tank that Limerick had.

Would you be willing to give Limerick any credit for scoring 23 points?
    20 of these were scored while the Galway legs were still intact.!!
    Limerick hit some atrocious wides too and a few 'big names' played below their best. Cian Lynch was the difference V Cork and outstanding V Clare and Tipp, but much quieter yesterday. Morrissey was anonymous even against a shaky full back line.
    Deserve no credit for the goals as they were defensive errors, as indeed were Galway's.
    IMO Limerick's best 6 forward unit did not start yesterday.
    The unit that finished were much stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Would you be willing to give Limerick any credit for scoring 23 points?
    20 of these were scored while the Galway legs were still intact.!!
    Limerick hit some atrocious wides too and a few 'big names' played below their best. Cian Lynch was the difference V Cork and outstanding V Clare and Tipp, but much quieter yesterday. Morrissey was anonymous even against a shaky full back line.
    Deserve no credit for the goals as they were defensive errors, as indeed were Galway's.
    IMO Limerick's best 6 forward unit did not start yesterday.
    The unit that finished were much stronger.

No one here said Limerick weren't good yesterday or deserving of no credit. They were deserving winners on the day, they finished much stronger than Galway.
    This is the Galway thread so we are discussing how Galway performed.
    I'd also give credit to Grealish who did a good job marking Lynch which led to his quiet game.

No one here said Limerick weren't good yesterday or deserving of no credit. They were deserving winners on the day, they finished much stronger than Galway.
    This is the Galway thread so we are discussing how Galway performed.
    I'd also give credit to Grealish who did a good job marking Lynch which led to his quiet game.

Ya, full credit to Grealish. he was outstanding. as was Tom Monaghan. Whelan was quieter than I expected, but Sean Finn is a Limerick senior and a good man-marker.
    BTW there is no rule on Boards.ie saying an 'outsider' cannot post on another GAA thread, its done all the time, especially when we read some barstool comments and feel compelled to reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Ya, full credit to Grealish. he was outstanding. as was Tom Monaghan. Whelan was quieter than I expected, but Sean Finn is a Limerick senior and a good man-marker.
    BTW there is no rule on Boards.ie saying an 'outsider' cannot post on another GAA thread, its done all the time, especially when we read some barstool comments and feel compelled to reply.

What does it matter Dinny Allen was the only man who stopped ye infighting for a while so when the 21s is over ye can get back to that.

I said wrote: »
    What does it matter Dinny Allen was the only man who stopped ye infighting for a while so when the 21s is over ye can get back to that.

Dinny Allen was a great Cork footballer..;)
    Welcome to the GAA forum...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Dinny Allen was a great Cork footballer..;)
    Welcome to the GAA forum...:P

John mea cupla

its practically friday and we havent had one bit of discussion on here all week with an ireland final next week . hard to believe . quick glance at waterford and i say there is 150 posts since we had one . it seems there supporters are a lot more up for it than us . hopefully its not the same on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

its practically friday and we havent had one bit of discussion on here all week with an ireland final next week . hard to believe . quick glance at waterford and i say there is 150 posts since we had one . it seems there supporters are a lot more up for it than us . hopefully its not the same on the pitch.
    That's because we're all looking frantically for match tickets ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭topper_harley2

Most posts on the Waterford forum are about either Mullane, TdB, helmets and spiteful Kilkenny posts - there is nothing much about the AI. If you want to discuss the AI check out http://galwayhurlingforum.proboards.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Most posts on the Waterford forum are about either Mullane, TdB, helmets and spiteful Kilkenny posts - there is nothing much about the AI. If you want to discuss the AI check out http://galwayhurlingforum.proboards.com/

Spiteful ?? Yee dont have to live beside them , with their obsession of all things Kilkenny.... (Get yere own jobs,, Yee were all born in waterford, trying to take KK land etc)
    And now the noise they are making after beating Kilkenny, and getting to the Final !!!! !JAYSUS :eek::eek:
    You could say , i hope Galway bate em out the gate ....... :D:D>
    Thats not bitterness , or spiteful, thats just for my own mind !
    (married to a blaa ;) - i cant handle it !!! ):D
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Must say that the amount of Tipp heads I've been chatting to hoping Galway win is absolutely astonishing. They really hate Waterford and Big Derek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Dont worry ..... They are just obsessing about Kilkenny...... still :D

They are in a tizzy , getting all wound up over everything/anything.
    They were the same in 2008 - and we all know what happened then ;)

I hope Galway win , yee being a Leinster team of course .... ;):D
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The Waterford thread is unquestionably the must fcuked up thread on boards, its like something out of After Hours, and I don't just mean since the AI semi win either, go back 6 months ago and its even funnier, the club bias sh!te that goes on in Waterford and the witch hunt against McGrath that has now magically morphed into undying love would be hilarious only its so tragic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

danganabu wrote: »
    The Waterford thread is unquestionably the must fcuked up thread on boards, its like something out of After Hours, and I don't just mean since the AI semi win either, go back 6 months ago and its even funnier, the club bias sh!te that goes on in Waterford and the witch hunt against McGrath that has now magically morphed into undying love would be hilarious only its so tragic.

It is a lot more decent since you had no choice to leave with your anti Waterford rhetoric, they will get rid of you here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

It is a lot more decent since you had no choice to leave with your anti Waterford rhetoric, they will get rid of you here too.

Stop stalking me you freak, do you not have tourists to prosecute or something else as precious!