Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

jr86 wrote: »
    While o'shea played well Higgins would have been my motm all day really. Not as much glamour with his performances as others but he carried so well and won countless ball out in front. The complete performance really

A serious boost as he has had an up and down campaign

I'd have gone with Higgins too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

km79 wrote: »
    I would have had one from Higgins , parsons and Vaughan
    Also thought Seamie was monstrous
    That's why he isn't dropped . You just don't know with him
    Same in the replay last year

Yeah I actually thought seamie was better than aidan

I love aidan and while he played well it was a bit of a cliched man of the match award so to speak

Glad they didn't do similar in hurling yest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

blueser wrote: »
    I hope neither of them are called Anthony (aka "Anto")!

Went with Dermo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think Aidan's MOTM was deserved. He made a nuisance of himself and more than made up for a sub-par performance last week.
    Keith had a great game too.
    Very impressed with Donal too. Such a Croke Park player.
    Thought we looked a lot more assured at the back without Cafferky, tbh. Harry held the it really well. Its mad to think he's a newer introduction. Feels like he's been there forever. He's been such a terrific find, honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

One negative I thought was the introduction of Alan Dillon, did nothing when he came on apart from try a silly shot that didn't come off. would have been better one of the younger players who don't have much experience of Croke Park.Even though he has been a great servant to Mayo football it's time to blood the next generation instead of looking to the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭maximus15

franklyon wrote: »
    One negative I thought was the introduction of Alan Dillon, did nothing when he came on apart from try a silly shot that didn't come off. would have been better one of the younger players who don't have much experience of Croke Park.Even though he has been a great servant to Mayo football it's time to blood the next generation instead of looking to the past.

Defo would have been more beneficial to give likes of regan and boland a few more mins in croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PressRun wrote:
    I think Aidan's MOTM was deserved. He made a nuisance of himself and more than made up for a sub-par performance last week. Keith had a great game too. Very impressed with Donal too. Such a Croke Park player. Thought we looked a lot more assured at the back without Cafferky, tbh. Harry held the it really well. Its mad to think he's a newer introduction. Feels like he's been there forever. He's been such a terrific find, honestly.

I'm just home from it. I wouldn't have given it to AOS the first two goals came when he dropped back and the runners joined in Higgins was my MOTM too.

Great day for Mayo. Played without Cafferky, 4 goals , 22 point win (I think) and Keegan to come back into that team.

I thought Mcloughlan was very good today too.

Great win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭naughto

Thought that was strange myself there was no need to bring him on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,738 ✭✭✭✭blueser

maximus15 wrote: »
    Defo would have been more beneficial to give likes of regan and boland a few more mins in croker.

I think Regan's goose is cooked judging by Rochford's actions. His have-a-go hero cameo against Galway saw him dropped for Derry & Clare... and we needed a scoring forward vs Derry. He was given another chance vs Cork and continued in a similar fashion, I don't think he'll trust him again this year.

I don't think Boland fits the bill now that we're playing a running game.

Personally I thought it was a bit of a gesture bringing him on. Could very well be the last we see of him... unless an unlikely Final with Tyrone awaits.

http://www.the42.ie/lee-keegan-mayo-2-3534364-Aug2017/

Rochford post game interview. Keegan with a foot injurt, would have been 100% by Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Id trust Dillon ahead of Regan, especially at this stage of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Train to Galway is something else
    Had to leave one carriage as it was full of rossies
    Many Topless
    Celebrating a 22 point defeat
    All the while singing about mayo

A special breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Just would like to wish Mayo the best of luck in the Semi Final. They were by far the better team on the day. If they perform anything like that against Kerry, they should beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Cillian O'Connor scored his 293rd championship point today, surpassing Mikey Sheehy's 292 points. At this rate he is set to become the top championship scorer of all time, with Cooper currently leading on 341.

It's just a pity he's not a "marquee" forward ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Train to Galway is something else
    Had to leave one carriage as it was full of rossies
    Many Topless
    Celebrating a 22 point defeat
    All the while singing about mayo

A special breed

Did they even know there was a match on? :D

I was delighted for Andy to come out today and silence every single one of them with that performance. The reception he got walking off the pitch was stunning and 110% deserved.

Good job Rochford didn't drop half the team based on last week ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I don't often quote Joe Brolly... But as he said "that's what you get for booing Andy Moran". A 22 point defeat in Croke Park.

I LOVE IT.

Cillian O'Connor scored his 293rd championship point today, surpassing Mikey Sheehy's 292 points. At this rate he is set to become the top championship scorer of all time, with Cooper currently leading on 341.

It's just a pity he's not a "marquee" forward ;)

Not bad for a 25 year old.

No that's not for another 2 weeks
    First of all we are beating ye on Monday
    Hope that clears it up for you
    Enjoy the bank holiday weekend until Monday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I love donie
    So happy

Yes yes :D

What a game. Everyone's workrate was fantastic and all still running at the end. I'm still breathless.

Only worry now for the next day is the cunning cat is out of the bag ;)

And Joe brolly can eat my..... Eejet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Yep I totally agree with the hope that the next game is the one that they put in a performance, but unfortunately it never seems to happen this year.

I've written this team off, but that is as much to ease my own disappointment when they lose as anything else.

They are still capable of getting to a SF and beating an overrated Kerry, and possibly winning it all.

They just have to keep digging deeper.

Later today will tell a whole lot (or maybe it won't, as has been the case all summer).

Today is the first step towards hitting form. We have too much quality to just die away. Rochford made a big call with the change in Full back( he should have done this a week ago) and Parson's is so vital to this team. AOS is a different man to this time last year. I must admit Doherty is really putting in the shift as well.

Rochford really makes some strange decisions or the timing of his decisions. I just don't understand why he took till now to make a change in FB. I know Dillion is a great servant but I can't see why he has him there but maybe he sees something.

Anyway, we need to go for Kerry with the same attitude and drive like today. We have the skill and the ability so this is all in the head.

I've been saying for a while that Doherty is one of our most important players and he put in another solid performance today. He brings serious physicality to the team and isn't afraid to get stuck in and do the dirty work. He goes unnoticed most of the time because of this, but I think we are a better team when he is there.

Stoner wrote: »
    I'm just home from it. I wouldn't have given it to AOS the first two goals came when he dropped back and the runners joined in Higgins was my MOTM too.

Great day for Mayo. Played without Cafferky, 4 goals , 22 point win (I think) and Keegan to come back into that team.

I thought Mcloughlan was very good today too.

Great win

I think it was a great win purely from a confidence point of view. Bearing in mind that Roscommon did not give the best account of themselves, but to have a comprehensive win and to see it out for a full 70 minutes rather than the fits and starts kind of play we've been seeing for the last year, I think will be good for the self-esteem of the team. I think we have been low on confidence lately and over-cautious. We really needed this. Possibly the best win we've had since Horan's era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Has anyone got a link to watch match back please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Oldtree wrote: »

Rte Player??? Just checked. The full game is on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Oldtree wrote:

Full match is on the RTE player.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Just would like to wish Mayo the best of luck in the Semi Final. They were by far the better team on the day. If they perform anything like that against Kerry, they should beat them.

Fair play Farmer, we've had a few ding dongs over the weeks, didn't see that coming, but I think the fitness over the 70 minutes helped us! ;)

wow, WTF was that. Keegan out, Caff out, finally a decision by Rochford to taking Caff out of that team.
    Was a great performance, total speed, tempo, hassling, back to 2 years ago.
    Negatives if I want to be a total beeutch is the amount of easy chances we missed, yes we won by 22 points but when the coffin is open your bury them and their kids in one go, we need to be 100% clinical.

Winning today seems to have been better than winning last Sunday when we had so many poor performances and it might give the team a boost.

Roscommon were beyond poor, long time since I've seen as bad a show, Galway against Kerry were shocking but Roscommon looked beaten from the 20th minute.

Going to be interesting to see how they setup for Kerry, it will take as big an effort again and every bounce to go for us.

But a win is a win, another semi final, you can't say anything but these guys give us great days out, regardless of the so called "bottlers" tag, these lads have more bottle to keep coming back game after game and year after year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,805 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Great performance today - the ideal way to tee up the semi-final.

If Mayo bring that kind of performance the week after next we're in for a ripper. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

Have we seen the end of Ger Caffreky, he didn't start or come on when Chris Barrett went off for blood?