Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers and #ad #spon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

Just home from work which is outside the realms of 3G! I had commented on the thread stating its her job and she should follow the rules but seeing so much crap from people I left. That was at lunch time. Came home and was checking Snapchat, I follow one of the admin, she screen shotted posts from this thread and posted it up an her Snapchat. Just letting you know that its on there. Its funny because someone who runs a group for conversations opinions like this, is making fun of a thread on boards.

Why are people being such drama llamas? Honestly.

Jaysus I could only imagine if I broke or was being shady about the guidelines or rules in my job? I just don't get it.

The ASAI have guidelines for a reason and I don't understand why people feel like its ok to ignore them like bloggers are superior beings that can ignore the rules.

It takes two fecking seconds to #ad #spon in a proper manner. Its not going to kill them.

I guess a majority of followers are just blind and don't mind being used for a quick buck but that's on them.

Haha she screenshot my comments .. did she say get off boards and basically get a life stop talking to robots this is coming from the one that's on that page 24/7 talking to strangers and finds time to Snap the irony .. I think that's lost on her .. making comments like that while she lives on social media too funny,, pot kettle love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

You're famous Cria :pac:
    I think we shouldn't even bother mentioning her here anymore she's clearly loving the attention.

anna080 wrote: »
    You're famous Cria :pac:
    I think we shouldn't even bother mentioning her here anymore she's clearly loving the attention.

Think I'll become a blogger now lol .. she's not getting an ounce more of my time your right she's loving it lol .. at the end of the day grace was at it again clearly trying to hide the fact that she's getting paid to promote products she just never learns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

Off topic I know #whoisshegate but when you let people abuse each other on one page and complain about a fairly muted discussion on another there is something is off

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ThUAahmAtDE

Maybe she should be #ad she is advertising boards after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

Sorry, but the CHEEK of telling people to get off boards when you have created and admin a page dedicated to discussing snapchatters... Am I off my head or is that without a doubt the most hypocritical thing ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

Ray37, its funnier when she's actively looking at the thread, I posted the Nikki graham think..bam its apparently on her Snapchat now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Ray37 wrote: »
    Sorry, but the CHEEK of telling people to get off boards when you have created and admin a page dedicated to discussing snapchatters... Am I off my head or is that without a doubt the most hypocritical thing ever?

It's almost repeating Muf isn't it. Fangirling to extremes!!
    Maybe we have tayto feet today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

I had unfollowed Grace on snapchat ages ago but added her yesterday to see the hidden #sp I can't actually get over it you really are going to some lengths to make sure that's not seen that takes a lot more time than adding it randomly anywhere in the snap would.

And I added the other person just to see what they were saying about boards and *cringe* is all I can say

The irony of it all is right!

Ray37, its funnier when she's actively looking at the thread, I posted the Nikki graham think..bam its apparently on her Snapchat now!

Stop is she stalking this page does she not tell people who complain about people like grace to unfollow and yet she's glued to this thread oh the irony again ,, she's reading and quoting the robots drinking coffee with our heads in the laptops this just gets funnier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

What is the Asai's stance on affiliate links? Just seen a Facebook post shared by a friend and the a similar dress to the one worn by the blogger is linked using restyle. No mention in the post of an affiliate link.

FBG has just been on snapchat explaining that she didn't realise the sp was hidden by her name and that in future she will make sure it's not in the top corner that it's easier to see.

She also said she knows there are threads about it that she's been told by people but doesn't read them herself.

Well hopefully now she will make the sp more obvious and others will take a leaf out of her book too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

She doesnt know her name is on the top corner..hahahah yeah right. The girl knows snapchat inside out and she follows other people so knows that's where their name is. Bottom line, she has loads of priors for this kind of stuff, and she would have made the SP smaller and moved it to the corner of the screen. It wasnt subconsciously done, she also never said "Im doing a collab" with Moss cottage in the snaps.
    Im guessing her sister informed her of the thread
    Glad she acknowledged it anyway

Oh ya I don't doubt she was playing dumb on the whole not realising it was hidden by her name of course she knew her name is in the top corner but at least now she can't use that as an excuse going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

ahayes84 wrote: »
    What is the Asai's stance on affiliate links? Just seen a Facebook post shared by a friend and the a similar dress to the one worn by the blogger is linked using restyle. No mention in the post of an affiliate link.

Affiliate links should be disclosed. See question 17 here.
    17. Say I’ve affiliate links in my blog – so when people read what I’ve written about a product, click into the link and buy something, I could earn a commission – where or what do I have to disclose on my blog?

This should be declared in the same area as the links. Also if it’s possible to click directly through from a post to purchase the product, then it should be made clear in the post/blog/etc. that there is a commercial arrangement.

Most don't declare affiliate links, it's obvious looking at the url that they are. Any of those swipe up to shop, or apps that tell you where they got it. They should be declaring it, then you as a consumer can make the informed choice of if you want to purchase it from the link or outside.
    Rosemary MacCabe does, and LovelyGirlieBits are the two I've seen use them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭guideanna

FBG has just been on snapchat explaining that she didn't realise the sp was hidden by her name and that in future she will make sure it's not in the top corner that it's easier to see.

She also said she knows there are threads about it that she's been told by people but doesn't read them herself.

Well hopefully now she will make the sp more obvious and others will take a leaf out of her book too

Sorry now but that is absolute tripe IMO.
    This girl knew exactly what she was doing hiding the #sp. Just be bloody honest about what ur showing people.
    She's digs herself into these holes every time and never learns the lesson from it. No wonder she's having her name dragged through the media the last few months.

I think even if, as some said, it's not completely hidden on their phones, more like under her name and the time stamp, it's pretty obvious it was made small and moved up there so she's technically adhering to the regs when questioned on it but not being completely transparent and making it as obvious as she could be. She does this all the time. She accurately declares stuff about 10-15% of the time.

How she can say she is always honest with a straight face though is beyond me

Well that's fine if that's how she wants to do it but she should be better prepared to face the backlash that comes from trying to fool her followers…she must think very little of people to think to carry on like they're all so thick they won't notice!

No more crocodile tears please!

People don't like having the wool pulled over their eyes and it's such a small stupid thing to be trying to hide, like i actually don't even understand why she would.

#ad SIMPLES!

Most people on that Facebook group mentioned yesterday, don't seem to care even if they don't # is the impression I'm getting.
    Friend of mine works in a pharmacy and said, you can definitely see people coming in asking for particular products they've seen on snaps and social media from bloggers, so those saying they don't have an impact on them and so why does it matter, maybe should be aware of the power these influencers have.

To be fair i think it's fairly obvious after eg. 20+ Meaghers snaps in a row that a blogger is advertising on some level HOWEVER the ASAI states
    "So while the receipt of free products does not necessarily make something a marketing communications for the purposes of the ASAI Code, bloggers should disclose that they have received product."

It's just about being honest.

If u saw an ad on tv you'd know it was an ad, you may or may not buy it but you'd know & you'd still make your own decision either way.
    Bloggers claiming to be transparent when they're just not is only going to end up with them getting themselves into trouble with ASAI and their followers.

The girl I work with who snapped Rosie about the car yesterday has just informed me that she was blocked after asking her is her partnership with Renault an ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

The girl I work with who snapped Rosie about the car yesterday has just informed me that she was blocked after asking her is her partnership with Renault an ad.

What was the point in asking her that? It's obvious it's an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Lindy97 wrote: »
    Most people on that Facebook group mentioned yesterday, don't seem to care even if they don't # is the impression I'm getting.
    Friend of mine works in a pharmacy and said, you can definitely see people coming in asking for particular products they've seen on snaps and social media from bloggers, so those saying they don't have an impact on them and so why does it matter, maybe should be aware of the power these influencers have.

And that is why, even if the "bloggers" (!) don't use hashtags, create a furore online etc that brands want to use them. In fact, it's possibly **due** to the furore but that sort of publicity isn't built for longevity

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    What was the point in asking her that? It's obvious it's an ad.

I guess some people just can't help themselves.
    Well she said it wasn't an ad, so no, it's not obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've just been given this make of car to drive around for free but I'm not advertising them lmao

A lot of people on tv ask for media discount I've found, because they're in front of a camera and promoting whatever it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

Well she said it wasn't an ad, so no, it's not obvious.

Sorry, I'm confused. Did she tell your friend it wasn't an ad or where did she say it wasn't an ad?

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm confused. Did she tell your friend it wasn't an ad or where did she say it wasn't an ad?

Rosie said "I don't have to #ad as I'm not being paid by Renault". And then blocked her.

LOL! Why not just answer the question, no need for the block.

Doireann, as much as I love her, also has a deal with Renault to drive one of their cars.

Are the being told by Renault they don't have to #ad, I wonder?

My understanding in that case would be that they don't need to #sp or #ad but anytime they mention the car they should be saying something like "that was gifted to me by Renault" at the START of the post/snap etc.

Please correct me if i'm wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

She's brand ambassador for Michael Grant Renault dealers -
    Not sure what that means - she drives it for a week/ month and gives it a review in response for use of a free car?