Devisive flat mate issues

1234568»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Lini1981

thelad95 wrote: »
    There is currently a thread over in Accommodation and Property forum regarding someone who is at their wits end because their flat mate takes a shower every morning at 6am.

Having lived in four house shares, I know how explosive even the smallest of things can seem to others. But what have you experienced that either irritates you or clearly takes the pi$$? For me it's the following:

I had a flat mate who I barely ever saw as they were always working ridiculous hours. They would leave delightful little passive aggressive notes around the house detailing all their gripes. Usually things like "this is my cereal" or "x's turn to put out the bins I had to do it twice last week". My favourite was that we had a bowl of sugar that we just kind of all filled up whenever it got empty as we were all big tea/coffee drinkers, one day she left out a printed page from some stupid website detailing the supposed dangers of how communal sugar bowls can spread numerous illness and we should buy our own. At first, I just laughed them off but eventually I got so irritated that I just began scrunching them up and leaving that there for her to see. Strangely the notes dried up pretty quickly.

People leaving dirty stuff on the sink when there's a dishwasher sitting there ready to fill!!

People blasting their crappy music around the house especially when they go for a shower. Selfish idiots.

People who use your milk without asking. I mean if your caught once then fair enough but some people think it's okay to do regularly.

Coming home late from work, turning on every light, turning on music/TV at a ridiculous volume, banging around the kitchen, when they KNOW everyone else is asleep.

I'm also living with two girls, who go for a shower and just kind of leave their skid stained granny knickers in the bathroom for everyone to see for weeks at a time.

Those who leave food to rot in a fridge for weeks at a time.

I house shared with different people for 6 years, I would recommend doing up a cleaning rota which also include bins - everyone gets their turn then, also we had a kitty where everyone put in €5 weekly for house stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

In one house share (the owner and I), we chipped in money every week for a cleaner. Neither of us were particularly messy or anything, but it worked out great.

No idea why more people don't do this especially in houseshares. I'm not housesharing any longer but I have a cleaner who comes in as I've far better things to do with my time than cleaning the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

He even made a move on one of the lads mother's when she came over one night for a party.

Did he get the ride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No idea why more people don't do this especially in houseshares. I'm not housesharing any longer but I have a cleaner who comes in as I've far better things to do with my time than cleaning the house.

I'll ask my butler do we have a cleaner.I definitely have a maid and cook.Oh and a gatekeeper.

25 euro every two weeks, only the wealthiest can afford it I know :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Bushmanpm

jobr wrote:
    Is locking your bedroom a common thing to do? I've never heard of anybody doing it in a houseshare as if you're living with the person, surely you trust them enough to stay out of your room (although reading this thread - possibly not!)

I was reading a thread in the Motors section a while back so this is the abridged version

Mr A & Mr B were in some sort of property share. Mr A had a very nice Range Rover. Mr B had some mates over and one of those mates invited someone else over. Sometime later Mr Someone Else somehow got the keys to Mr A's RR and proceeded on an hour long joyride. Thrashed the car to bits: cooked the engine, wrecked the cooling system and I think the air suspension was also shot. Mr A got a repair estimate of up to €15k. I didn't hear any more about it or what the outcome was but hell yeah, I'd lock my door in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Hayezer

Spending ages in the one jacks (the fan would be on for 45 minutes but there's no shower going and they don't come out looking shaved etc) especially in times when you'd expect the other housemates need to use it, like in the mornings.

Playing music at all times. Come home and into the kitchen to start cooking; phone into the speaker and music is playing straight away. In the jacks; phones playing music. Watching TV and he'd come in and start playing music.

Putting on a wash every day, sometimes twice a day. This one just bothered me because of the bills and the washes would be sorted so no mixing of clothes whatsoever, meaning that even if the wash was shared with me it would have to be whatever clothes type he was washing.

Not the worst compared to some of the horror stories here but small, annoying things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Kept his roaches in a tin to be rerolled into manky joints later.

Refused to clean the shower because "I don't wear my glasses in the shower, so I don't see how bad it is, so it doesn't bother me, so I won't be cleaning it".

Came home drunk and trashed the living room, including a statue my mother bought me for my 18th.

Came home drunk and broke the statue he bought to replace the statue he'd broken.

Came home drunk, fell down the stairs. (That finally earned him an intervention from his family.)

Not bad as such, but definitely skeevy: would only date much younger, foreign women (was shagging an 18yo Polish girl when in his mid 30s).

Oh yeah, all of the above wasn't a student house, this was a grown-ass man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Teabags. In. The. Sink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Teabags. In. The. Sink.

Better than teabags in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Teabags. In. The. Sink.

My ex-housemate was the only one who really drank tea in the house.
    He used to leave the teabag in the cup but would never finish the tea. He'd only wash up every week or 2 so said cups of tea would turn into cups of mould.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

My ex-housemate was the only one who really drank tea in the house.
    He used to leave the teabag in the cup but would never finish the tea. He'd only wash up every week or 2 so said cups of tea would turn into cups of mould.

I'd leave said cups in his room.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Shared with two students from the Crawford Art College in Cork for a few months in 1996, a girl and a fella. Ghastly pair of stuck up, entitled arseholes. Never cleaned up, used to come in at about three AM on a regular basis pissed and start playing music. Left their plates of half eaten dinner sitting around on the table. They also used to take Polaroid selfies of themselves making stupid faces and pin them up all over the kitchen so I'd have these fecking pictures staring me in the face when I'd come down in the morning. They had this friend, a girl who was even more obnoxious and used to practically live there. I lost my rag with them one night and threatened the guy that I'd beat the **** out of him.