Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Devisive flat mate issues

• 16-07-2017 9:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

There is currently a thread over in Accommodation and Property forum regarding someone who is at their wits end because their flat mate takes a shower every morning at 6am.

Having lived in four house shares, I know how explosive even the smallest of things can seem to others. But what have you experienced that either irritates you or clearly takes the pi$$? For me it's the following:

I had a flat mate who I barely ever saw as they were always working ridiculous hours. They would leave delightful little passive aggressive notes around the house detailing all their gripes. Usually things like "this is my cereal" or "x's turn to put out the bins I had to do it twice last week". My favourite was that we had a bowl of sugar that we just kind of all filled up whenever it got empty as we were all big tea/coffee drinkers, one day she left out a printed page from some stupid website detailing the supposed dangers of how communal sugar bowls can spread numerous illness and we should buy our own. At first, I just laughed them off but eventually I got so irritated that I just began scrunching them up and leaving that there for her to see. Strangely the notes dried up pretty quickly.

People leaving dirty stuff on the sink when there's a dishwasher sitting there ready to fill!!

People blasting their crappy music around the house especially when they go for a shower. Selfish idiots.

People who use your milk without asking. I mean if your caught once then fair enough but some people think it's okay to do regularly.

Coming home late from work, turning on every light, turning on music/TV at a ridiculous volume, banging around the kitchen, when they KNOW everyone else is asleep.

I'm also living with two girls, who go for a shower and just kind of leave their skid stained granny knickers in the bathroom for everyone to see for weeks at a time.

Those who leave food to rot in a fridge for weeks at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Your bins go out twice in a week? Just a once a week collection here.
    Now, about those dirty undercacks...

thelad95 wrote: »
    I'm also living with two girls, who go for a shower and just kind of leave their skid stained granny knickers in the bathroom for everyone to see for weeks at a time.

Get their pots, and tongs.

Put water in pots. Using tongs, put knickers in water. Bring to the boil, leave on a rolling boil.

Wait for them to arrive home. Explain you thought you were helping them.

It won't happen again. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

These are the types of reasons I've never lived in a house share!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

There is currently a thread over in Accommodation and Property forum regarding someone who is at their wits end because their flat mate takes a shower every morning at 6am.

Having lived in four house shares, I know how explosive even the smallest of things can seem to others. But what have you experienced that either irritates you or clearly takes the pi$$? For me it's the following:

I had a flat mate who I barely ever saw as they were always working ridiculous hours. They would leave delightful little passive aggressive notes around the house detailing all their gripes. Usually things like "this is my cereal" or "x's turn to put out the bins I had to do it twice last week". My favourite was that we had a bowl of sugar that we just kind of all filled up whenever it got empty as we were all big tea/coffee drinkers, one day she left out a printed page from some stupid website detailing the supposed dangers of how communal sugar bowls can spread numerous illness and we should buy our own. At first, I just laughed them off but eventually I got so irritated that I just began scrunching them up and leaving that there for her to see. Strangely the notes dried up pretty quickly.

People leaving dirty stuff on the sink when there's a dishwasher sitting there ready to fill!!

People blasting their crappy music around the house especially when they go for a shower. Selfish idiots.

People who use your milk without asking. I mean if your caught once then fair enough but some people think it's okay to do regularly.

Coming home late from work, turning on every light, turning on music/TV at a ridiculous volume, banging around the kitchen, when they KNOW everyone else is asleep.

Those who leave food to rot in a fridge for weeks at a time.

You eat my cereal and you better believe there'll be notes left. There'll be a novel written in poison pen, my friend.

Sounds like a handy little money spinner to me OP, cash in hand too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

You think house share is bad... Wait till you're a parent..
    YOU
    CAN
    NEVER
    LEAVE.

They're darlings really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

The joys of living alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Starkystark

When they walk around the house with their phone on speaker 24/7 even when their in the bathroom.

When they don't sleep in their bedroom but on the sofa in the communal living area.

When they decide to go to the beach and jump in the water fully clothed and leave the clothes in the washing machine unwashed for about two weeks because they're too stingy to buy washing powder. I gave in and put it on for a double wash because it smells like a mixture of vomit and p**s

When they decide to dry their rotten runners on the radiators. And the moment they think no one is in the house start smoking in a non-smoking house. Come home and you instantly think your eyes and lungs are going to burst with the smell in the house.

So glad to be out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

Moved into a house with 3 childhood friends a number of years back. After 3 years one of them went his own way.
    We interviewed 4 guys our own age and picked one to move in.
    He seemed a sound lad....

The weekend after he moved in we had a party.

He got smashed drunk and pulled an American style fridge freezer over.
    An accident and forgivable, we all make drunken mistakes. He coughed up the money to replace it.

It was a week later we discovered he was a raging alco. I came home one day and he was passed out on the step at the front door, this was 2pm on a Tuesday.

That was only the start of things.
    He'd bring birds home, and in his inebriated state, would start banging them all over the house. On the stairs, in the bar, against the barbecue, on the sofa.
    It didn't seem to effect him if we were in the same room.

He even made a move on one of the lads mother's when she came over one night for a party.

He was a lovely guy when he was sober but after a can or two he'd pull out a bottle of hard spirits and down it in as short a time as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I shared a house with a fella who used to love cooking ham, like a big joint you'd cook at Christmas. The thing was, he used to use my towel that was hanging up in the shower located off the kitchen to dry it off when he'd finished cooking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

I got my own place because of these annoyances. I think you can get on great with people but they will still wreck your head if you live with them for long enough.

However, I live in a flat now in a old house. I don't hear a peep out of anyone else in the house except for the guy above me. He comes in each evening around 11/midnight and more often than not he's absolutely screaming into his phone, completely oblivious as to how loud he is, it drives me ****in demented.

As a side note, he proceeds to cook at this time the most heinous smelling food (from his voice he's clearly from the indian/Pakistan part of the world).

Moral of the story, people are assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

snowflaker wrote: »
    The joys of living alone.

In your forever home.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

One of my flatmates insisted on leaving the oven on for two hours just to pre-heat it, then putting the food in. When you're sharing the electricity bill, this is not a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was in a house share once, first evening there, one of the eejits used a teatowel as an oven glove.

That was enough for me, my dog has more upbringing than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Was in a house share about 15 years ago with one male and female. I didn't know either of them, but we all kept to ourselves and had no issues.
    One day after about six months i opened the newspaper to see a picture of the female in it. She was on trial for manslaughter!
    Turned out it was a case of hit and run. She had claimed to not know she had hit someone, and the jury acquit her.
    A few years later I lived with another weirdo who would get up in the middle of the night and cook mussels. He wouldn't clean up after himself and you'd come down for breakfast to a bomb site. He'd walk around the house in his boxers and we had a female sharing who was completely freaked out. Anyway one day he left a medicine box on the table and I took down the name of his meds. I rang friend in the medical profession who told me they were prescribed to people with psychosis. We then rang a friend in the guards who checked him out for us and he told us he was very bad news.
    The landlord who was a friend of mine gave him his marching orders, but before he went he smashed up his room and threatened to burn us out.

.... I rang friend in the medical profession ................. a friend in the guards ..............The landlord who was a friend of mine......

How did this fella ever get into your accommodation in the first place.....:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

In your forever home.....:rolleyes:

Well if I live here for the rest of my life I won't mind tbf

I was in a house share once, first evening there, one of the eejits used a teatowel as an oven glove.

I guess you'd frown on him using your toothbrush to remove the skid marks off the porcelain.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

My pet hate was when the girlfriend of one flat mate were spending more than half the week in the house. She never officially moved in, but she might as well have done.
    Couldn't say anything because apart from me, they were all from the same culchie town, and she was a cousin of another flat mate too! She was actually alright 1-1, but it was a bit much. They would all have been quick to say something if I tried to pull a similar stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

One of my flatmates insisted on leaving the oven on for two hours just to pre-heat it, then putting the food in. When you're sharing the electricity bill, this is not a good thing.

I was gonna say what an ejjit but am sure if it was just him paying the bill alone he wouldn't pre-heat for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

How did this fella ever get into your accommodation in the first place.....:P

Someone had left giving very short notice so the landlord filled it as quick as he could. It cost him in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭tara73

I once lived with a guy who had bad acne (although in his 30's poor guy..), no offence there from me, not his fault. He had a medical cream for it which obviously should be stored in a cool place.

He put it in the fridge. Could live with this too. But everytime I opened the fridge, this half used, greasy tube was sitting on the top shelf, in front row, between the groceries. I always put it in a more discreet place, in some of the plastic enclosures or more to the side. everytime I opened the fridge, this disgusting tube was again in front row, top shelf...

I didn't live very long with this guy, there were for sure other issues too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

A guy in the house arrived home with a pet snake.. he fed it dead mice which he used to keep in the freezer. It was kept in a glass case in the living room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

What exactly is the problem with that?

Unless your understanding of an oven glove is very different to mine, i dont see the issue.

Uncultured philistine......sniff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I work in a homeless hostel , ya'all ain't seen nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

A guy in the house arrived home with a pet snake.. he fed it dead mice which he used to keep in the freezer. It was kept in a glass case in the living room.
    I know a guy who did this. I couldn't believe it. If you own your own house then fine but fcuk in hell, dead mice in the fridge in a flat share. :O. In truth I think the other flatmates were too stoned to notice.
    I did not live in the same house, nice guy or not, "thats a paddlin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I lived with a lot of different housemates in lots of different apartments.

None of them had any particularly nasty habits but all of them in one apartment had no awareness when it came to the doors. ALL of the doors were fire doors and had a chain connected to them, so when you let them go they would slam with such force it would shake the internal walls.

It didn't matter what hour of the day or night, they would walk through and just let it slam behind them. I eventually took to unhooking the chain in the sitting room one as that was the one used the most.

I can't get my head around why people can't put their hand on it and close gently :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

My last houseshare. Myself and my now -husband shared a room upstairs.

Another couple shared a downstairs room that had two doors, one that opened on to the kitchen and a double door that opened into the living room. So basically they kept the double doors open all the time so their room pretty much absorbed the sitting room. The kitchen door also open too, so you couldn't move downstairs without seeing them.

We moved in under the agreement that it would be a non-smoking house, which they immediately disregarded so the entire house stank of smoke constantly.

They would knock AS they entered our bedroom, not BEFORE!

They left a passive aggressive list of house rules stuck to the window that we should all live by but each time was worded directly at us.

They had loud parties in any given day, without informing us and with complete disregard as to whether we were working the next day or not.

When confronted by any of these issues the girl took personal offense to everything. Her parents were the landlords so we had no recourse, we just moved out. Their current housemates are being driven mad by them too and are dying to get out. Nightmare!

everlast75 wrote: »
    .....all of them in one apartment had no awareness when it came to the doors.
    I eventually took to unhooking the chain in the sitting room one

They use the doors properly, you interfere with the fire safety of the building!
    I can't get my head around why people can't put their hand on it and close gently :/

Actually, you're the one needs the education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Knew a lad that had an attic bedroom...he was too lazy to go downstairs to the toilet, so he would píss in every pint glass available, then line them up on the window sill. 5 pints of píss I saw one day, he wouldn't even open the velux and pour them into the gutter.

They use the doors properly, you interfere with the fire safety of the building!

Actually, you're the one needs the education.

Untangle your granny pants please - the door always remained closed. It just meant that they didn't slam.

Jebus - you come in to comment on a thread and Fireman Sam comes in with a lecture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

Lived in a house with lads in college.

Shared a room ( 2 single beds)

Never noticed him having a shower. Horrific dirty smelly socks.

When I came home after college I had to open the window the air the room even in the middle of winter.

Woke up a few to times to hear him having a **** in the bed.

micar wrote: »

Woke up a few to times to hear him having a **** in the bed.

Yours?

.... in with a lecture

straight over your head too it appears...

Nothing at all wrong with it you don't mind your house being razed to the ground. Tea towels + grease + tumble dryers = not in my house you don't!

I've even seen them spontaneously combust on a radiator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I shared a house with 23 other lads when I was in college.
    I've seen things you people wouldn't believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I shared a house with 23 other lads when I was in college.
    I've seen things you people wouldn't believe

Tell us?! :P

This thread is classic. Anyone who's been in a house-share would have something to add.

Years ago I was in a house with a few other girls, who were very nice, but there's always something..
    - Two of them were sharing a room, which admittedly was not very large. So they decided it would be a good idea to store their dirty laundry basket in the kitchen..... I had to object to that :o.
    - At one stage the box freezer had become so iced up, no one could put any food into it for weeks. Eventually, one Saturday morning I took the initiative, and defrosted it. Headed out for a few hours, including shopping for some food, with some frozen stuff for the freezer. Arrived home to find that in my absence the girls had managed to do their shopping, and completely fill the freezer with all those frozen foods they didn't seem to require for weeks. There was no space left for any of mine :mad::mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Nothing at all wrong with it you don't mind your house being razed to the ground. Tea towels + grease + tumble dryers = not in my house you don't!

I've even seen them spontaneously combust on a radiator.

The ignition temperature of the grease is somewhere between 400 and 440 degrees Celsius. There is no domestic cooking appliance that could reach anywhere near that temperature. *straightens glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I feel sorry for the kids who have to room share with a stranger, the people in the 400-500 per month bracket which seems to be the going rate for a room share.

You hear these stories of a guy knocking off a few knuckle soldiers under the covers. Add to that the amount of farting that would be going on.

Citygirl1 wrote: »
    ...... At one stage the box freezer had become so iced up, no one could put any food into it for weeks. Eventually, one Saturday morning I took the initiative, and defrosted it. Headed out for a few hours, including shopping for some food, with some frozen stuff for the freezer. Arrived home to find that in my absence the girls had managed to do their shopping, and completely fill the freezer with all those frozen foods they didn't seem to require for weeks. There was no space left for any of mine :mad::mad:.

Ah that's just bad.
    That's why I think people, and rightfully so, are hesitant to do anything for the house when sharing.
    Something you can do can be expected to be the norm and in your case get used.

That is bloody bad tho. No one wanted to tackle defrosting it but when it was done gladly fill it up asap with their crap. Doesn't matter if anyone can't store theirs. As long as I'm ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Citygirl1 wrote: »
    Tell us?! :P

This thread is classic. Anyone who's been in a house-share would have something to add.

Years ago I was in a house with a few other girls, who were very nice, but there's always something..
    - Two of them were sharing a room, which admittedly was not very large. So they decided it would be a good idea to store their dirty laundry basket in the kitchen..... I had to object to that :o.
    - At one stage the box freezer had become so iced up, no one could put any food into it for weeks. Eventually, one Saturday morning I took the initiative, and defrosted it. Headed out for a few hours, including shopping for some food, with some frozen stuff for the freezer. Arrived home to find that in my absence the girls had managed to do their shopping, and completely fill the freezer with all those frozen foods they didn't seem to require for weeks. There was no space left for any of mine :mad::mad:.

Years ago there was a bin strike and so it was decided as to not attract rats, that the rubbish would be kept in the kitchen and not outside. 24 guys can accumulate a lot of rubbish within a week.
    Every morning without fail, we would be bombarded with the Ian Dempsey breakfast show from up stairs and a 2v2 hurling match from the same room above my bed.
    There was a instance of defrosting beer in a microwave.
    We had a snail farm on the back of our couches.
    We use watch that show where the two women went into a flight home to clean and I'd be thinking they haven't seen anything yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Would love to be able to live on my own but don't earn the astronomical money required to be able to do it in Dublin.

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    The ignition temperature of the grease is somewhere between 400 and 440 degrees Celsius. There is no domestic cooking appliance that could reach anywhere near that temperature. *straightens glasses
    Well if you never wash the tea towels I guess you'll be OK then!

seachto7 wrote: »
    Would love to be able to live on my own but don't earn the astronomical money required to be able to do it in Dublin.

It's who you know.
    Rent is insane in Dublin. But there are some places out there where the landlord will charge a fairly decent price. But you have to know them or be pulled into them.

I know someone who is getting charged 900 for a place in Bachelor's walk. Many would jump for that price.

On the subject of price and who you know...
    An example being I know a woman who charged 135 per week for a couple living with her. Bills were included and they had a nice big double room to themselves (crazy I know)
    Now they stopped renting with her as they bought a place in Tallaght. But what did they do before they moved out? Got a friend to meet the landlord and asked if he could move in for the same price.

He did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Anyone who has sisters/ daughters/ nieces heading to college in September please have a quiet word with them. They may be completely oblivious to life in the real world.
    As a female I feel more then entitled to say this... some women are the clattiest yokes you could ever be unfortunate to live with.
    A few that I lived with would appear to the world as the most well-kept, groomed, manicured individual you could ever meet but would have used a towel to dry themselves that morning that they had brought from home 4 months earlier and said towel would never have seen the inside of a washing machine.
    They could be wearing the same knickers a few days on the trot, same bra for the entire college year. They wouldn't have changed their bedclothes despite many callers paying a visit, would leave used santitary towels lying here there and everywhere. Using a flatmate's Gilette Venus as if this was a communal razor.
    This is not just one individual but offerings from a few that i have been unfortunate to share rooms with in the past.
    In my opinion girls coming from houses where they were the only girls were the worst. Have to say I blame the Mammies of Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

rawn wrote: »
    My last houseshare. Myself and my now -husband shared a room upstairs.

I feel sorry for the others having to live with a couple, yuk.
    I flatshared for years. People can be very unaware of things that they do that may annoy others. I just had to try and live with it for the most part and look forward to having my own place, which I eventually got. It's a rite of passage nowadays, but just try and be respectful of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you find many things combust while sloshing round in hot water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

What an earth are you even talking about? Tea towels exploding and razing houses to the ground because they've been used to take a tray out of the oven? That's a new level of hysteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Full Marx

What an earth are you even talking about? Tea towels exploding and razing houses to the ground because they've been used to take a tray out of the oven? That's a new level of hysteria.
    Even when they said it was the cladding I knew it was the tea towels!