Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Benbecul97

BnB wrote: »
    Which Terrace (Blackrock or City End) are the Clare fans in on Saturday in Cork ?

In the old PUC it was always the City End - I'm sure it will be business as usual in the new PUC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Thanks - I'll chance the City End so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Looks like Seamus Kennedy is being given another chance against Conlon after the nightmare he had against him in the league... - brave move from Tipp management... - it'll be interesting to see how it goes...
    I wonder will they stick with the pace of Collins against Ronan - or try Kelly in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Looks like Seamus Kennedy is being given another chance against Conlon after the nightmare he had against him in the league... - brave move from Tipp management... - it'll be interesting to see how it goes...
    I wonder will they stick with the pace of Collins against Ronan - or try Kelly in there?

been flat to the mat latley hardly seen this page in weeks but thinking to the game today i wouldnt be so confidant , if tipp are still in a bad place well then yes clare will probably win ,

if tipp show the form of last years championship , this years league ,then we are in trouble ....still not worried though ...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,060 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

still not worried though ...

Fair play. If in doubt go with irrational confidence :)

In Dublin later so one of the "few" not going to game. Unfortunately, cannot see how Clare might win this. Think it would take either a performance that would be completely out of the blue or an utter collapse by Tipp. Either could happen but I doubt it unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Poor puck outs and Junior B standard shooting cost us about 10 points today. Same old Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,250 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Poor puck outs and Junior B standard shooting cost us about 10 points today. Same old Clare.

One championship win. Need more than that

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Sums it up. 33 wides in two matches is a shocking total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭big_drive

What was today's wide count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

big_drive wrote: »
    What was today's wide count?

19 if I remember right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Just back. Gutted to be out. Fair play to the lads, they did fight hard but ultimately short again.

Basically looking around social media, its puckouts, wides, puckout, wides, puckout, wides etc, etc, etc. In fairness these issues were at the center of our downfall today.

Looking back realistically, the half forward line was very poor today. Conlon getting the hook before half time really showed this, but Collins and Malone were not much better than him and we couldn't win any ball in the first half. This off course was compounded before half time as Fahy tried to change up the strategy and go shorter, leading to disastrous consequences, he hit the ball straight to Tipp players at least 3 times before half time that were put back straight over the bar.

Duggan made a massive difference in the second half and really carried the game to Tipp. He has had many chances for Clare but this was definitely his best performance and good on him, hopefully he will be back next year. But I think the management need to seriously look at this area. Malone and Podge should have been taken off sooner but the replacements were not there. The management need to look at the center forward position going forward now with Podge, I'm just not sure going with a player as small as Podge is going to work at this level. Maybe it will I don't know, but it needs to be questioned. Playing himself, Kelly and Galvin at the heart of the team has no physicality and tenacity you need from players to grab the upper hand and go through a dominant period. I think Clare really need a physical player beside Galvin.

At the end of the day if a Clare supporter was told before the championship that O'Brien, McInerney, Galvin, Kelly, Podge, Conlon and McGrath were going to be injured or out of form, we would have felt we wouldn't really have a proper chance of doing something. I don't hold the management too much to blame today, they let the lads go out there to play to their strength, but the players just haven't delivered this year. The management next year have to really focus the players, particularly lads like Fitzgearld, Kelly, Galvin and Conlon, on exactly what role the should be playing in the team. The deciesion making of the Clare team has been nothing short of absolutely clueless. And I would expect to see improvement in the gameplan from the management in this regard next year.

But that's it for another year again. Just to finish, fair play to Conor Cleary too had his finest hour in a Clare shirt and should be proud of his performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Shooting and puck outs aside Clare were by the far the better team today. The Cork crowd around me were enthralled by some of the skill and stick work by Clare today.
    We died on our feet, can't complain.
    I'd forgotten however about what a shower of cxxxx the Tipps fans are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

I was enthralled by some of the tipp points from play. If Clare could only have matched a fraction of their accuracy the the result may have been different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Shooting and puck outs aside Clare were by the far the better team today. The Cork crowd around me were enthralled by some of the skill and stick work by Clare today.

They're great to watch as they work the ball out from the backs. It all leads to nothing then when it comes to playing a ball into the forwards or shooting from range.

letowski wrote: »
    Just back. Gutted to be out. Fair play to the lads, they did fight hard but ultimately short again.

Basically looking around social media, its puckouts, wides, puckout, wides, puckout, wides etc, etc, etc. In fairness these issues were at the center of our downfall today.

Looking back realistically, the half forward line was very poor today. Conlon getting the hook before half time really showed this, but Collins and Malone were not much better than him and we couldn't win any ball in the first half. This off course was compounded before half time as Fahy tried to change up the strategy and go shorter, leading to disastrous consequences, he hit the ball straight to Tipp players at least 3 times before half time that were put back straight over the bar.

Duggan made a massive difference in the second half and really carried the game to Tipp. He has had many chances for Clare but this was definitely his best performance and good on him, hopefully he will be back next year. But I think the management need to seriously look at this area. Malone and Podge should have been taken off sooner but the replacements were not there. The management need to look at the center forward position going forward now with Podge, I'm just not sure going with a player as small as Podge is going to work at this level. Maybe it will I don't know, but it needs to be questioned. Playing himself, Kelly and Galvin at the heart of the team has no physicality and tenacity you need from players to grab the upper hand and go through a dominant period. I think Clare really need a physical player beside Galvin.

At the end of the day if a Clare supporter was told before the championship that O'Brien, McInerney, Galvin, Kelly, Podge, Conlon and McGrath were going to be injured or out of form, we would have felt we wouldn't really have a proper chance of doing something. I don't hold the management too much to blame today, they let the lads go out there to play to their strength, but the players just haven't delivered this year. The management next year have to really focus the players, particularly lads like Fitzgearld, Kelly, Galvin and Conlon, on exactly what role the should be playing in the team. The deciesion making of the Clare team has been nothing short of absolutely clueless. And I would expect to see improvement in the gameplan from the management in this regard next year.

But that's it for another year again. Just to finish, fair play to Conor Cleary too had his finest hour in a Clare shirt and should be proud of his performance.

at least the problems that have haunted us this year are pretty minor and can be fixed

at the start of the year we complained we had no big players , conor cleary , david fitz cathal malone albeit poor today and the excellent peter dugen have all come to the fore , the two lads from shannon have added a huge dimension to the full forward line , this is the first year of new management and to be fair they have unerthed some really tallented players , through out the league david reidy ian galvin and jason mccarthy lit up the show , cathal mc's return offers us another option while jamie shannahan was probably our best player on the field today

a number of people in the county feel we will regret losing davy as manager the truth is he would never have given a chance to half them lads ,
    the club chmpionshiip will offer these guys a chance to put there names forward for permanent starting positions next year

tonight it's rumored that donal og has left the panel , i feel albeit harsh as it might sound its a good move going forward , stop making the game so bloody technical with short passing and stupid puckout strategies and focus on our strong points

one fault today on tactics is we never tested the tipp full backline enough , i feel we have one of the best full forward lins in the country but we ignore them too much

Davys Fits wrote: »
    I was enthralled by some of the tipp points from play. If Clare could only have matched a fraction of their accuracy the the result may have been different.

thats cause tipperary were smart , they didnt shoot from ridiculas angles or 60 yards out the field , we had there full back line in bits at times , we should have been droping bombs on the edge of the square not wayward shots that never come off anyway

at one point today we dominated the game for a full five minutes hit some bad wides , tipp go down the field and punish us with two quick scores , the basics of the game will always win

at least the problems that have haunted us this year are pretty minor and can be fixed

at the start of the year we complained we had no big players , conor cleary , david fitz cathal malone albeit poor today and the excellent peter dugen have all come to the fore , the two lads from shannon have added a huge dimension to the full forward line , this is the first year of new management and to be fair they have unerthed some really tallented players , through out the league david reidy ian galvin and jason mccarthy lit up the show , cathal mc's return offers us another option while jamie shannahan was probably our best player on the field today

a number of people in the county feel we will regret losing davy as manager the truth is he would never have given a chance to half them lads ,
    the club chmpionshiip will offer these guys a chance to put there names forward for permanent starting positions next year

tonight it's rumored that donal og has left the panel , i feel albeit harsh as it might sound its a good move going forward , stop making the game so bloody technical with short passing and stupid puckout strategies and focus on our strong points

one fault today on tactics is we never tested the tipp full backline enough , i feel we have one of the best full forward lins in the country but we ignore them too much

Peter Duggan, the reason I'll buy a season ticket and travel from Cork to watch Clare next spring.Jason McCarthy and Ian Galvin need serious game time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,390 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

letowski wrote: »
    Just back. Gutted to be out. Fair play to the lads, they did fight hard but ultimately short again..........

Great post there letowski. Sums it all up. (Referring to full post, BTW)

Peter Duggan, the reason I'll buy a season ticket and travel from Cork to watch Clare next spring.Jason McCarthy and Ian Galvin need serious game time as well.

its time to be ruthless in my opinion if guys like podge . kelly and john conlon are not performing and someone is firing on all cylinders on the bench then the big guns need to be dropped , its whats done in kilkenny hurling and kerry in football

some of the lads on the team might be in there mid 20s but they are at risk of burnout , podge tried every code known to man over the last few years , conlon is around with nearly 10 years now , and tony has no break got in 18 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

its time to be ruthless in my opinion if guys like podge . kelly and john conlon are not performing and someone is firing on all cylinders on the bench then the big guns need to be dropped , its whats done in kilkenny hurling and kerry in football

Yes I think this is getting close to the heart of the issue for me.

Looking at say Tipp last year or Galway this year, the way they get on top or get their foothold in games is not through nice open hurling, that we know the likes of Podge, kelly, Reidy, Galvin, etc. can play. When the heat comes on it comes down to winning your individual duels and working really hard. When Wexford scored the goal against Galway in the Leinster final, the Galway half back to half forward line caught a string of balls in the air, got possession and were clinical with their shooting. They kept the scoreboard ticking over. Clare today when they got the 2 goals couldn't push on because we just could get our hands on the ball from 8-12. We don't have an aerial presence in midfield at all. The best we could do is spoil it and even then its fruitless as we are not able to physically win it on the turf.

Galvin definitely could do with a physical player beside him, as most of the time he has to play almost as another half back to get the ball. If there was a lad beside him that can win ball actually further up he would be able to influence the game more and be able to get quality ball inside which we were not able to do this year.

I'd be hopeful Duggan might help out next year he played well today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

I'm going to focus on the positives, cos I know the negatives (and there are many deserved negatives) will definitely get their airing....

Thought the stadium itself and the staff were superb. The Rebel Ambassadors and stewards were really helpful and seemed to be so proud and energised about the big day. We were in North Stand, 406, row T and had fantastic view. The seating is quite steep which give more of an amphitheater feel and you're quite connected to pitch I thought. Anyway, very impressed with it and would much prefer it to Thurles based on today's experience.

Was delighted for Conor Cleary, I've been waiting for him to have a game like today for quite some and he was a pure warrior.

Shane O'Donnell showed flashes of brilliance, and he is so unselfish with the ball it's incredible.

Reidy and Duggan made such a positive contributions when they came on, really really lifted the team and the crowd.

From where I was sitting, and it's always hard to get perspective of entire crowd, it seemed like we had good support today. Much better than any other game this year or last I'd have thought?

I'm going to focus on the positives, cos I know the negatives (and there are many deserved negatives) will definitely get their airing....

Thought the stadium itself and the staff were superb. The Rebel Ambassadors and stewards were really helpful and seemed to be so proud and energised about the big day. We were in North Stand, 406, row T and had fantastic view. The seating is quite steep which give more of an amphitheater feel and you're quite connected to pitch I thought. Anyway, very impressed with it and would much prefer it to Thurles based on today's experience.

Was delighted for Conor Cleary, I've been waiting for him to have a game like today for quite some and he was a pure warrior.

Shane O'Donnell showed flashes of brilliance, and he is so unselfish with the ball it's incredible.

Reidy and Duggan made such a positive contributions when they came on, really really lifted the team and the crowd.

From where I was sitting, and it's always hard to get perspective of entire crowd, it seemed like we had good support today. Much better than any other game this year or last I'd have thought?

to be fair its a fantastic venue it deserves all the credit its getting at the moment , also i found the atmosphere to be absolutely brilliant , was actually sitting about 3 rows in front of you they are the best seats i have got in years in the season ticket area

on the face of things it should be looked on as a positive start for donal and gerry as the lads said above they were hampered with several injuries all year and the fact that the ballyea lads missed most of the league with club commitments

under out new system ,shane o'donnell is a new man , no longer isolated he is lethal when he is not double or triple marked , cleary and jamie shannahan were excellent again today and along side fitz we look to have a solid defense now

all we need now is to find away of delivering better ball to the forwards mainly full forwards and we will be a big threat next year , easier said then done when looking at galway over the last few years though , they are a team like ourselves with serious talent but finding one or two small things getting in the way of success

we have all the ingredients of a really good side which i think we will become again over the next few years ,but big calls will have to be made for this to happen , guys like jason mccarthy , ian galvin and duggen cant be over looked for players with past reputations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Shooting and puck outs aside Clare were by the far the better team today. The Cork crowd around me were enthralled by some of the skill and stick work by Clare today. We died on our feet, can't complain. I'd forgotten however about what a shower of cxxxx the Tipps fans are.

Clare far the better team? Please tell me you are joking. I was one of the Cork crowd who was at the game and I wasn't enthralled with too much of what I saw yesterday. From either team.
    IMO Tipp were poor and Clare were awful in what was a bad game. 2 goals kept the first half respectable and a string of soft frees brought clare back in touch before Tipp saw it out comfortably.
    Tipp ain't contenders this year and Clare are a long long way from the summit.
    By the way if you check over on the tipp forum you'll find they feel the same way about ye.
    Whatever happened to mutual respect.

Clare far the better team? Please tell me you are joking. I was one of the Cork crowd who was at the game and I wasn't enthralled with too much of what I saw yesterday. From either team.
    IMO Tipp were poor and Clare were awful in what was a bad game. 2 goals kept the first half respectable and a string of soft frees brought clare back in touch before Tipp saw it out comfortably.
    By the way if you check over on the tipp forum you'll find they feel the same way about ye.
    I'd call that mutual disrespect.

while yesterday did have its faults it was a huge improvement on what we are used to seeing under fitz , what pleased most people is that we are playing a more direct game which suites us , our management will take off key players if they are not performing under fitz this would never happen

we gifted tipperary several scores , while yes we got some favorable calls ourselves , neither team could be regarded as all ireland contenders on yesterdays form , but thats what championship is about getting over the line , doing enough to make the next round thats all tipperary wanted after yesterday and that will be there attitude again the next day i am sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Form is for August and September. Cork are about to find that out, the hard way, in my opinion. I think they have enough to beat Waterford again. But no other team. It'll be interesting to see how the young Cork players will react to their first big knock-out occasion in Croke Park when the pressure is on and physicality is upped big time. 

As for Clare they're missing some vital ingredients. Mainly central players - players who will keep the head no matter what. This current team does not have a player of the likes of Frank Lohan, never mind Brian Lohan or Seanie McMahon. They also need more of a physical presence at midfield and center forward in my opinion. Clare have too many players of the one type - too many crafty ball players without a player to win the hard ball and lay it off to many excellent strikers and runners they have. Podge Collins is too small for a center forward. Or, let's face it, a player who can absolutely crease someone and say nobody is running through my half-back line today. McInerney could be such a centre-back but Clare are robbing Peter to pay Paul - putting him in at full. He has too much hurling to be at full in my opinion. 

That was a great chance for Clare yesterday in my opinion. HUGE. I don't think they will face a Tipp full back line as inexperienced as that for a long time. And, our midfield is just not in great form at the moment. Barrett will back next year, and the youngest of the McGrath brothers, who has the potential to be an amazing player, will be breaking through also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

IMO Tipp were poor and Clare were awful in what was a bad game.

t.

That's Corkness for ya, boi !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

:D that Murphy's is great stuff

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I'm still extremely annoyed about Saturday. We were better than Tipp in almost every area of the pitch except for shooting, some of the shots were ridiculous, they were either taking shots that shouldn't have been attempted or they had extremely poor striking, to see inter-county hurlers not able to take points from 60 meters out is terrible, was there any training/practise done? Besides the terrible shooting key players let us down, Tony Kelly is living off past reputation at this stage, the guy doesn't seem to have any confidence, he should not have been on the frees, he had 1 terrible wide in the second half when we were 3 points down, we were on top at that stage and needed everything. McGrath and Podge had a poor display as well, McGrath's goal shouldn't have been over carried, he could have played the ball a couple of times. Finally, Fahy in goal, WTF was he at at the end of the first half? Terrible terrible terrible decision making, he lost his f**king head, he was picking out Tipp players perfectly, did he think he was playing for Whitegate or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Any truth in the talk that Donal og said his goodbyes in the dressing room after full time? If so, good riddance. His falling out with pa Kelly has cost us dearly imo...