Devisive flat mate issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

BandMember wrote: »
    So, you were the one who flushed food down the jacks yet THEY were the strange ones..... :confused: :rolleyes:

I would have to agree with multiple posters though - the best housemates are the ones who are never there or, if they are, spend all their time in their own room.

The worst would be the ones who respond to vacancy ads with stuff like "love to sit around and chat over a glass of wine and a meal in the evenings". Yeah, you can f**k right off............and delete text/e-mail..... :pac:

I like a mix. I'd never live with friends again but I like friendly. If you're living with someone you never see then it can become awkward when you have to tackle small issues, as at least you have an idea on how to go about it without it turning into an argument. Friendly but not friends is the ideal for me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

If you leave toast crumbs in the butter, you're out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Toots wrote: »
    Chatting to one of my friends last night and she's currently looking for a new flatmate. The old one was constantly leaving things on and buggering off. For the likes of the TV/immersion/etc it was annoying but there was dangerous stuff like hair straighteners/iron/oven/grill on a regular basis.

This culminated in an incident last weekend where the housemate went out for a night on the tiles and left her straightener switched on and threw it on top of her duvet. A while later the other two housemates smelled smoke and went to investigate - she'd locked her room so they had to force the door - and they got in just as the duvet was starting to go up in flames.

I'd f**k her out of it, that's not just irresponsible but down right stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

...__... wrote: »
    I never lived with soup man but plenty just like him.

Ahh Tony where are you now he was a fifty something Divorcee who had a hobby of video editing.
    When said edit didnt work out he would launch the most violent tantrum I've ever witnessed smashing the Video around the house or the tv off the floor.
    He was nice believe it or not.

Then there was Dave me and the LL at the time came back one night to find him topless with a massive pot of water asleep on the couch?? to say he lacked some social skills is an understatement he lived in that house for years and only on the last day he asked how to use the oven.

Worst part was when he moved LL had to paint the walls for the stink and the dirt in the carpet a whole big toe nail Jesus the whole effing thing. That must have hurt.

Then there was bigfoot a 30 odd stone woman who lived in her room above me she could only stamp around like an elephant, one night the light came out of the ceiling.

Ah Houseshares

Can't believe you're on first name terms with LL Cool J

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Can't believe you're on first name terms with LL Cool J

His first name is James :)

Ladies Love Cool James

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Ladies Love Cool James

Yes I know this but thanks :)

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Ladies Love Cool James

Ah that's what it stands for :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

hoodini89 wrote: »
    We went in to make sure room was clean and found a 2 litre bottle of Coke hidden beside the bed, which to our horror was half-filled with johnnies and gunge.

Does gunge mean what I think it means, ie the contents of the johnies? Were they starting a sperm bank?

Obligatory contribution to thread:
    One guy who stayed in his room all evening loudly playing with himself. All. Evening.

When the toilet flooded the bathroom, plumber found the cause was a pizza.

One couple who drank, smoked dope, and banged each others brains out all day. Use to invite in the Jehovahs, Mormons, Legion of Mary, or any other religious freaks and try to counter convert them. Way funnier than it sounds.

Two separate guys who were fine as roomies, but who are now serving long prison sentences for two serious offences.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

jamesbere wrote: »
    I'd f**k her out of it, that's not just irresponsible but down right stupid.

The landlord wasn't impressed to say the least. He was there waiting for her when she got home and told her she had 24 hours to pack her sh1t and leave, so she's gone now but the room had to be aired out and painted cos the smell of smoke hasn't gone yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

she'd locked her room so they had to force the door - and they got in just as the duvet was starting to go up in flames.

Is locking your bedroom a common thing to do? I've never heard of anybody doing it in a houseshare as if you're living with the person, surely you trust them enough to stay out of your room (although reading this thread - possibly not!)

jobr wrote: »
    Is locking your bedroom a common thing to do? I've never heard of anybody doing it in a houseshare as if you're living with the person, surely you trust them enough to stay out of your room (although reading this thread - possibly not!)

I always did it when going home for the weekend or going away and at night too.

Housemates will have people over etc when you are away and there is always a chance of someone going into your room, taking something, sleeping in your bed (I know I did this in friends houses when housemates were away) etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭josip

I always did it when going home for the weekend or going away and at night too.

Housemates will have people over etc when you are away and there is always a chance of someone going into your room, taking something, sleeping in your bed (I know I did this in friends houses when housemates were away) etc.

I forgot to lock my bedroom door at one house party we had.
    When I did decide to go to bed, one of my house mates was already in there shagging my cousin.
    Those were great parties.

The landlord wasn't impressed to say the least. He was there waiting for her when she got home and told her she had 24 hours to pack her sh1t and leave, so she's gone now but the room had to be aired out and painted cos the smell of smoke hasn't gone yet.

Scented candles will get rid of the smell, or else lemons. Get a big dish of boiling water, cut up a few lemons and throw them in, works well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Jeez that's the bit harsh. Defo would have asked her to leave but 24hrs notice is a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I've been doing it since I was in first year of college and living on the campus, one day was having a smoke in the courtyard when I looked up and saw my flatmate having a great aul time rummaging around my room. :eek:

I've never been overly friendly with any housemates and although most of them have seemed relatively decent and normal, you just never know when you move in with strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭BandMember

Yeah, I've seen a good number of people locking their room, for one reason or other - didn't trust their housemates, trying to keep the burglars out (as if a locked bedroom door would stop them if/when they got that far!), hiding a collection of.....um....."initimate items" under their bed or a some other dodgy hidden secret.....

I actually know of one female who not only would lock her room when she wasn't home, but would lock her door when she was in her room as well!! :confused: Then again, the less said about that individual, the better....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Yeah I would have tended to lock my door in houseshares, you just never know, and not even necessarily housemates but noisy housemate friends

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Jeez that's the bit harsh. Defo would have asked her to leave but 24hrs notice is a bit much.

Could've burnt the house down, definitely a kicking out offence. I think 24hrs is more then fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭The_Mac

Shared a room with my friend in a 6 person flat.

Friend came in at 1am while I was in the laptop and told me to check this out.

Well, two of my flatmates had gone out drinking. And they were home. And very, very drunk. So what did they decide to do? The kitchen was littered with empty bottles of Canadian which they'd had as predrinks. And the boys got a right smart idea.

They decided to play dodgeball with bottles of Canadian.

Bottles ****ed everywhere, mainly at eachothers feet. But one of the lads then started getting too into it and started hurling bottles around the place. One shattered off the window. One shattered off the CRT TV. Somehow, in all of this, nothing was broken. And here stood me and my friend looking at this whole chaos. The guy getting bottles more ****ed at him got the other lad to stop and me and my friend were there chuckling in a way of "did this just ****ing happen". Boys decide to drunkenly clean up about 12 bottles of Canadian if not more of shattered glass and my friend and I go back to our room. Half an hour later there's a knock on the door.

"Guys... can you help."

We open the door to one of the lads, Dan, who had been cleaning up the glass drunkenly. He, in his inebriated state, decided picking up the glass would be faster.

Dan has now sliced his hand open. So we have to go into the kitchen, looking a lot less like a bomb hit it now, and get the first aid kid out.

Cut to about 2 weeks later. Me, my friend and Dan are all sitting in the living room watching TV and chatting. It's around midnight. Dan's had three bottles of Bulmers over the past hour or so, just sipping away. The other lad involved in the earlier mentioned Canadian dodgeball, Conor, left about half 7 for his friend's house party with his bag of cans. He said he'd stay there for the night. Cue someone at the door, fumbling with keys. The fumbling stops. There's a loud banging on the door. Dan goes outside to find Conor weaving there.

"Conor!" he exclaims.

"Waheeeey!" replies a jubilant Conor with a massive slur. He's helped inside, where he proceeds to tell us he's had 13 cans, and then jumps up and down on the couch happily. We're all just pissing ourselves at him. Next thing Conor stumbles down. Conor can be a bit of a chaotic drunk. He likes to smash stuff, as seen in the previous story. Conor eyes an empty bottle of Bulmers on the kitchen table. We all realise that he's eyeing it.

"Conor... don't."

Conor picks up the bottle, looking at it curiously.

"Conor... put the bottle down."

It's too late, we all know whats coming next. Conor lifts the bottle high into the air, staring at the ground as if it's his enemy, and letting out a triumphant war cry.

"RRRRRRAAAAAGGGGGHHHH!!!"

"NOOOOOOO!" the three of us shout in unison.

SMASH

We all stand there in stunned silence for a few seconds before Dan pipes up.

"Can you clean that up please."

"Okay, sure, sorry," replies Conor.

Fun times in that flat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The_Mac wrote: »

Fun times in that flat.

What age was that fool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭The_Mac

What age was that fool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Liam28 wrote: »
    Does gunge mean what I think it means, ie the contents of the johnies? Were they starting a sperm bank?

Yeah that's what it means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Is there no distinction between a houseshare and "student accommodation"?

I took houseshare to mean sharing a house with actual grown ups, not digs with drunken students/teenagers.

Some of you should spend a few midweek nights in the Holyland area of Belfast at the start of next term if you really want your eyes opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

armaghlad wrote: »
    Is there no distinction between a houseshare and "student accommodation"?

I took houseshare to mean sharing a house with actual grown ups, not digs with drunken students/teenagers.

Some of you should spend a few midweek nights in the Holyland area of Belfast at the start of next term if you really want your eyes opened.

Why, what tales have you got from Holyland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'd always do it

I value privacy and my own space above anything else and never actually known anyone in a house before I moved in

I'd lock it too. For me, it's a security/OCD thing. I'd have expensive/important/sentimental stuff in my room and, while not necessarily a lack of trust in my housemates, I also wouldn't leave my stuff at the mercy of their drunken judgement when bringing friends or people they're having sex with over. You just don't know if your friendly housemate is the runt of a group of dickhead friends who gets walked all over, or if they're a bit desperate and bring some absolute yolk session moth from Tinder over. Plus if burglars get in, if they want to get in they likely will, but they're much more likely to go for the unlocked and communal rooms.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

I lived in a house share in Australia and all the bedroom doors could only be opened with a key - sort of like an old fashioned hotel room or hostel type lock. Got caught out one night cos my OH was out with his friends and I left the room to go to the loo and forgot the key. Had to sit in the kitchen for ages waiting for him to get back to let me in to the room.

Actually reminded myself of a story with my last post:

Lived with a mate who is a lovely guy but has been through the mill relationship-wise and tries to fill the void it's left by riding the entire country of Ireland. With drink involved, the idea of standards becomes an abstract concept to this guy (as it does all of us to be fair) and, as a result, he has many nights he'd probably rather forget. Now most of his poor decisions didn't affect anyone but himself, so no harm done, but living with him also led to a couple of strange encounters.

One night he brought home a girl who looked and acted like her head was permanently in Narnia (if you could snort your way to Narnia). You know the type: hipster, pixie haircut, rags for clothes etc. The kind of look that says "I put as little effort into myself because that would take up time to do drugs!" He'd obviously met her when she was out taking whatever she could get her hands on and they came into the sitting room while my housemate and I were watching TV. She immediately forgot who she'd come home with, saw me with my back to her facing the TV and started massaging me. I squirmed out of her reach so she went over and sat beside my housemate on the other couch and started touching his face until he took her hands off him. The housemate she was with was twisted so thought this was gas. Eventually she went to the bathroom when we said, "Dude...this is not okay we're trying to watch TV. Can you control the people you bring into our home?"

So when she came out, he ushered her into his room. Then I remembered my own room was unlocked, but knew if she heard me she'd have to come out and investigate herself. So I snuck up and down the hall to lock it. Sure enough, on my way back, the door opened and her head peaked out saying, "Hey! It's YOU!!" Then it shut as my mate said "Leave them alone, please!"

His room was next to the sitting room so we muted the TV to listen to them argue. It went like:

"But I want to GO!"
    "You can go if you like but leave my mates alone."
    "Ah for **** sake! I just want to say hello!"
    "No!"

Eventually they agree on going to her place and left. The next day I get a Facebook message from a strange account, hers, from my mate saying he forgot his phone and keys and could he meet me in my job to get mine so he could get home. I say okay. About two hours later, after he's been and gone, I get a message from the same account like, "Hey who are you? ;)"

Instantly blocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Why, what tales have you got from Holyland?
    For those who don't know it's basically a student ghetto. Virtually two dozen or so streets of Victorian housing occupied by students. Throw in scores of Roma families, Eastern European mafia types and the odd hostel for drug addicts, sex offenders and young delinquents. There's maybe a handful of residents who's lives are a misery during term time.

So pretty much everything mentioned in this thread is par for the course if you choose to live in the holylands. All night parties, on street drinking, anti social behaviour, vandalism, crime, drug use. Add in decrepit housing and landlords who by and large don't care about the wellbeing of their tenants or properties so long as they get their rent.

My experiences there were relatively mild as I lived with people who I knew. But some of the highlights I've seen include a broken toilet that continued to be used for months (absolutely full of excrement), a girl openly urinating in the street on her way to class still drunk from the night before, strippers at a house on a random Tuesday evening. At the first sign of good weather people tend to bring their sofas out onto the street and failing that climb out the skylight onto the roof, usually partially clothed.

St Patrick's day is the highlight of the year where many young people who don't live there come down for the day with thousands of 17-23 year olds binge drinking on the streets. There has in the past been rioting with police who have armoured landrovers that are more used to being in sectarian flashpoints in Belfast rather that a student area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭josip

armaghlad wrote: »
    ...on her way to class still drunk from the night before...

Very strong work ethic at Queens.