Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

And if he is designing the clothing line himself, which he has suggested, then he'll need to maintain his large MMA fan(boy)base to buy the clothes... because the average man on the street is unlikely to be seen dead in most of the strange sh!t he wears!! :D
    I'd imagine him "designing clothes" is making a drawing or a concept and getting someone who knows what they're doing to turn it into clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    Just watched the New York presser.....

God, how did it get worse than the other two?

Words cannot describe...

But clear as day that these two lads are as much buddies as enemies...They're a double act of diiirt!

Please tell me others see what I see?
    The just got off the same  private jet in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The just got off the same  private jet in London

So I heard....

Bet they had to be kept apart on it.....Not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭highbury1913

I couldn't agree more with Kevin Palmer in this article.
    McGregor has come across as unintelligent, ill-informed and naive in some of his ugly comments and if he is the modern version of an Irish role model, then this country’s morals are in a far worse state than we feared.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/boxing/comment-conor-mcgregor-has-been-an-embarrassment-to-ireland-during-this-weeks-circus-35931273.html

He's an embarrassment and it does reflect poorly on the country that he can still retain his huge popularity irrespective of all this behaviour over the years and still win the RTE sports award in a public vote.

People like Ariel Helwani and other MMA journalists are happy to go along with it. They're McGregor fans with typewriters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/boxing/comment-conor-mcgregor-has-been-an-embarrassment-to-ireland-during-this-weeks-circus-35931273.html

He's an embarrassment and it does reflect poorly on the country that he can still retain his huge popularity irrespective of all this behaviour over the years and still win the RTE sports award in a public vote.

People like Ariel Helwani and other MMA journalists are happy to go along with it. They're McGregor fans with typewriters.

Embarrassment, can you at least fill out your statement. I'm an average Mcgregor fan but that statement is crazy, to go from the Dole to the highest paid boxing match ever is an embarrassment.

That article says nothing new, rehashed points and zero insight.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Embarrassment, can you at least fill out your statement. I'm an average Mcgregor fan but that statement is crazy, to go from the Dole to the highest paid boxing match ever is an embarrassment.

What has money got to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

One solid punch from Mayweather and it's lights out for McGregor.

Floyd via DQ
    What has money got to do with it?

Everything

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Everything

Really?

Little shallow that......

Money cannot buy style and class and manners and decorum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Gamebred wrote: »
    I pity any person with their faculties buying this ppv for a 100 quid in America truly sad if millions buy into this.

They will because the attitude over there seems to be that you are a failure and poor if you don't waste your money on whatever useless **** is new/popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Floyd via DQ

I can't think of a better Irish role model.

'Unintelligent, ill-informed and naive' - this is all your parent's work. Not everyone's Dad can demonstrate that you can achieve much more in life than anyone thought possible. That's what people like McGregor are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    I watched a bit of the vid just now. When it got to the Marquez part I was reminded of the back n' forth between MW and Brian Kenny before the fight. Quite funny!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DF7EGRh8VQ

That article says nothing new, rehashed points and zero insight.

I couldn't careless about on the dole to this fight. That is admirable but it shouldn't be used to pivot from judging him solely on his behaviour throughout this rise.

I have given examples up thread with Diaz, Aldo, Siver, bringing the names of dos Anjos' children into a press conference to taunt him, referring to people who died making his diamond watch, calling an interviewer a burns victim while thinking he was off air and so on. Fights can be promoted without insulting people's backgrounds.

And then we have this weeks press conferences on top of all that.

It's a culmination of it.

It's embarrassing and I don't find it funny in the slightest.

I can't think of a better Irish role model.

'Unintelligent, ill-informed and naive' - this is all your parent's work. Not everyone's Dad can demonstrate that you can achieve much more in life than anyone thought possible. That's what people like McGregor are for.

I'm not disputing his achievements and his rise. I would like to keep it on that discussion yet McGregor makes it hard for me to do so.

I draw the distinction between his accomplishments and his behaviour.

Kevin Palmer does so too in the article.
    For many young men in this country, Conor McGregor is an untouchable symbol of sporting success.

He is their warrior in green, white and orange, their standard bearer for Irishness who has emerged from nothing and turned himself into a multi-millionaire.

When these kids get their tattoos to look like their hero and grow beards to try and follow the McGregor doctrine, they are worshiping an icon who is arguably the most famous Irishman in the world right now.

Yet while his success is admirable in many ways, the vulgar, embarrassing farce he has been a part of this week should see him recast, as he has gone out of his way to pollute this nation’s reputation with each and every word that escaped from his mouth this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Saw on Facebook the two lads shared a jet to London. And people still think these lads are legitimately going at each other. Scripting their way all the way to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Jaysus, they need better writers, so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

I'm not disputing his achievements and his rise. I would like to keep it on that discussion yet McGregor makes it hard for me to do so.

I draw the distinction between his accomplishments and his behaviour.

Kevin Palmer does so too in the article.

Jesus Christ almighty, it's a work, he's not really like that. He's playing a character to get buys on ppv and it works. He wouldn't be doing this otherwise. You wont see John Joe Nevin making a 100 million ever, you have to work the audience into wanting to see these fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭badabing106

Does anybody believe the spiel that Mayweather was retired? Even for a second

Did you suspect that he was not preparing for a comeback fight..training every week, 52 weeks a year, Whether against pacman or whoever

Burial. wrote: »
    Saw on Facebook the two lads shared a jet to London. And people still think these lads are legitimately going at each other. Scripting their way all the way to the bank.
    Fighters tend to get along. They're job is to fight and promote fights. The talk they do on the stage is real in that they both believe they're going to win the fight but once the event is over there's no reason why they can't be civil and get along with each other.

They don't actually hate each other. It's a sport.

pac_man wrote: »
    The bloke that wrote the article happens to be a showbiz journalist. Might be apt for this fight but probably wouldn't give too much credence to his sporting opinions.

He's a football journalist too.

More importantly he's analysed all this perfectly.

Address the message, not the person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Fighters tend to get along. They're job is to fight and promote fights. The talk they do on the stage is real in that they both believe they're going to win the fight but once the event is over there's no reason why they can't be civil and get along with each other.

They don't actually hate each other. It's a sport.

Not really sure. Fighters generally hate each other until after the fight is done. Two lads fighting each other sharing a jet has to be a first. Just further illustrates this as conning the public for cash

Burial. wrote: »
    Not really sure. Fighters generally hate each other until after the fight is done.
    I don't know if that's true, we hear about the fighters that end up having scuffles but in general, day to day fighters shake hands during weigh ins and promotion (at least it's often like that for UFC weigh ins), they talk **** but that's all bravado for the cameras. These guys know what the other fighter has to go through, they respect each other for even trying. But they still need to get people in the door and the audience would rather the two fighters hated each other because that makes it emotional, that's how most people view fighting, as an emotional outburst. To these guys it's a job, why would you hate someone that loves what you love?

Good to see more in the Irish media finally calling him out on his words and actions.
    Why does "selling a fight" give McGregor immunity from criticism for behaviour society long ago stopped accepting? These words and terms, with all they evoke, have a corrosive and ruinous impact on society by themselves.

A belief in the power of words is why it's important to point out McGregor's use of these terms, and to ask for a full, earnest apology: for those would be powerful words, too.

https://www.balls.ie/mma/conor-mcgregor-racist-rhetoric-369176

Good to see more in the Irish media finally calling him out on his words and actions.
    The press can get off their high horse, they'd say anything to get attention themselves, their whole industry is based on sensationalism, hysterics and now clickbait nonsense. There's nothing worse than a sanctimonious journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Conor McGregor accentuates all that has denigrated Irish society recently in a race to the bottom. And all his minions just say , well it's for the money.....
    Education and common sense is a gift obviously not bestowed to everyone it seems.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The press can get off their high horse, they'd say anything to get attention themselves, their whole industry is based on sensationalism, hysterics and now clickbait nonsense. There's nothing worse than a sanctimonious journalist.

Regarding McGregor, the Irish media have largely been fans with typewriters. That goes too for the world of MMA journalism.

The true wrong in journalism is ignoring it and not calling it for what it is.

I'm waiting for a similar column by Ariel Helwani.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Floyd via DQ
    Conor McGregor accentuates all that has denigrated Irish society recently in a race to the bottom. And all his minions just say , well it's for the money.....
    Education and common sense is a gift obviously not bestowed to everyone it seems.

He'll find it hard to get the tear stains out of the trim of his Bentley after a burn like that. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,047 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ
    What boxing skills? You do realise he's coming again possiblly the greatest boxers of all time.

Too easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

lol watched the new york stuff, conor was cringey as **** tbh and the voltron thing was masterful trolling.

i enjoyed though.

roll on london!

Floyd via DQ
    Really?

Little shallow that......

Money cannot buy style and class and manners and decorum...
    Does being poor give you that?