Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Patww79 wrote: »

Tipp were playing in Thurles yesterday. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭tanko

Was the Kilkenny player who threw the hurl booked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Gael85

tanko wrote: »

Rob Lennon and was already on a yellow card :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Awh sure it's grand lads Brian is a hero he can do want he wants :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Gael85

How did Patrick Horgan stay on pitch with that challenge? Looked like referee bottled a red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭C__MC

I taught Lennon lost his grip more then anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭citykat

C__MC wrote: »
    Don't agree that man for man kk are still the best team, some of their players I'd questioned if they are genuine intercounty standard. To me Brian Cody has lost touch with the modern game, he has played unfit players, he knew well he'd face sweepers in this years championship and kk couldn't navigate it. Their game plan was eh well I don't know, win your own ball and drive it as far as you can. In saying that, their forwards were v poor. Dropped joey Holden who was an all star in 2015 as well as Kieran Joyce.
    Comedy gold this. I just don't know where to start. But I will.
    Kilkenny have more AIs than any other inter county team at the moment. Fact. Some of their players are not inter county standard? They probably have the least of any inter county squad.
    Cody has 'lost touch with the modern game' on the basis of losing one match. I've bad news for you. He also had apparently lost touch in 2005. We all know (though maybe you don't) what happened next.
    Playing unfit players? Ffs do you know anything about top level sport. Brian O'Driscoll indicated he played most of his career with some kind of injury.

We're just a pale shadow of ourselves this year but we were also that in 2013 (though maybe you're not aware what happened next). Enjoy the remainder of the Kilkennyfree season. To paraphrase Twain 'rumours of our demise...'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

tanko wrote: »

Considering he didn't throw the hurl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Brian Cody clearly pushed the fourth official and should be banned.Anthony Daly and Micheal Duignan treating it lightly,but fair dues to Duignan for his views on the game not being shown on free to air TV.

Awh sure it's grand lads Brian is a hero he can do want he wants :rolleyes:

'Political correctness gone mad' says Duignan :confused:

And Cody shouldn't face the same punishment as Diarmuid Connolly and Evan Comerford for essentially the same crime because of what exactly?
    Good grief that is shocking excuse for analysis. He just wont say a thing bad about Kilkenny no matter what the scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭C__MC

citykat wrote: »
    Kilkenny have more AIs than any other inter county team at the moment. Fact. Some of their players are not inter county standard? They probably have the least of any inter county squad.
    Cody has 'lost touch with the modern game' on the basis of losing one match. I've bad news for you. He also had apparently lost touch in 2005. We all know (though maybe you don't) what happened next.
    Playing unfit players? Ffs do you know anything about top level sport. Brian O'Driscoll indicated he played most of his career with some kind of injury.

We're just a pale shadow of ourselves this year but we were also that in 2013 (though maybe you're not aware what happened next). Enjoy the remainder of the Kilkennyfree season. To paraphrase Twain 'rumours of our demise...'.

I have admiration for Kilkenny and what they have achieved. But last night, Wexford match and in the final last year, the lack of tactical awareness was poor. The full back line in last year final for example, the corner backs in Wexford a few weeks ago.

Clearly mick fennelly and r hogan were not fully fit, both where subbed off. Did Cody not learn his lesson in 2010?

2005 was different, kk had some unreal hurlers coming through, judging by this year, I don't see a similar crop coming through. Now I could be wrong but a lot of your younger players didn't make an impact this season on the inter county scene.

citykat wrote: »

Cork showed that you can come from nowhere. That said though i think Kilkenny are feeling the loss of all of their leaders over the last three or four years. The new players need to step up. Good youngsters coming through but Kilkenny are no longer lightyears ahead of the pack like they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Brian Cody clearly pushed the fourth official and should be banned.Anthony Daly and Micheal Duignan treating it lightly,but fair dues to Duignan for his views on the game not being shown on free to air TV.

If SKY offered Duignan a well paid job as pundit tomorrow he would bite their hands off. Don't be fooled by these guys.
    Not much in the Cody incident I agree, no malice, unlike Connolly.
    However, if Connolly had pulled off the Patrick Horgan 'tackle' everyone would be calling for a 12 month ban.
    This 'he's not that type of player' nonsense is rubbish.
    It was a straight red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

washman3 wrote: »
    If SKY offered Duignan a well paid job as pundit tomorrow he would bite their hands off. Don't be fooled by these guys.
    However, if Connolly had pulled off the Patrick Horgan 'tackle' everyone would be calling for a 12 month ban.
    It was a straight red.

Don't agree with your contention that the Connolly incident was malicious however it's irrelevant. Minor interference with an official is a 12 week ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Thats not the context in which he described it. He was talking about his 83 year old father who was expected to go to the pub to watch it. He said that the GAA had enough money and didnt need to be keeping the games for only those who can afford to pay for Sky Sports.

When you had the current GAA president announcing "there is no automatic right for everybody to see every game" in the same breath as extending the Sky deal until 2021, you knew that they couldnt give a shít about who did or didnt get to watch the game. This alone goes against the central ethos of the organisation, to make sure that natively as many people get to see the game as they can to ensure its continued promotion

The original excuse for sticking a number of the games behind a paywall was that it would bring in more international viewers. That hasnt happened. The Sky viewing figures are a miniscule percentage of those that watched the games FTA. The Australian Tv Channel that it was sold to dropped it within a few months of the first years championship.

Yet some games are still behind a paywall and extended recently. Why ? Money. Michael Duignan is absolutely right. The GAA have enough money. Its meant to be a non profit organisation. The championship schedule itself is becoming a bit of an inconvenience for the concerts in Croke Park!

It was a straight red.

There was very little between the Connolly incident and the Cody incident. I would doubt either meant any real malice but the rule is there that you cant put your hand on the official. Connolly took his ban, Comerford took his ban and Cody should take his.

On the sky topic you are absolutely right. Why shouldnt sky bid for the rights and why shouldnt the GAA let it off to the highest bidder. And Horgan is also a very very lucky boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

On the sky topic you are absolutely right. Why shouldnt sky bid for the rights and why shouldnt the GAA let it off to the highest bidder. And Horgan is also a very very lucky boy.

Because the GAA exists because of volunteers across the country who shouldn't have to pay for sky to see inter county action. If the GAA were in financial difficulties there might be some argument for it but that's not the case.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Because the GAA exists because of volunteers across the country who shouldn't have to pay for sky to see inter county action. If the GAA were in financial difficulties there might be some argument for it but that's not the case.

A fair point. i dont have sky myself tbh but its very hard to turn down a huge amount of money at the same time i suppose though i wonder where this extra money actually goes.

i do think sky's coverage is kind of rubbish though. Much prefer RTE which is far from perfect itself.

Does Joey barton still tweet about the hurling? It crossed my mind today that sky might have thrown the few bob his way for promoting it given his twitter account had big following

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Don't agree with your contention that the Connolly incident was malicious however it's irrelevant. Minor interference with an official is a 12 week ban.
    It was Connolly's finger pointing and facial expressions along with the physical contact that led to Spillane doing a hatchet job on him. I agree with you that there was no malice in the actual contact. Cody's anger was directed at McGrath and 'baseball cap dude' and his contact was as minimal as minimal can be.
    Spillane of course had a different agenda.

It was Connolly's finger pointing and facial expressions along with the physical contact that led to Spillane doing a hatchet job on him. I agree with you that there was no malice in the actual contact. Cody's anger was directed at McGrath and 'baseball cap dude' and his contact was as minimal as minimal can be.
    Spillane of course had a different agenda.

Baseball cap dude is a clown. He wasnt as aggressive when he used mark JJ Delaney who used clean him out, in particular the 2004 All ireland semi final and also the 2008 All ireland final..... i suppose if i dont know him i shouldnt judge him ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

STB. wrote: »
    Thats not the context in which he described it. He was talking about his 83 year old father who was expected to go to the pub to watch it. He said that the GAA had enough money and didnt need to be keeping the games for only those who can afford to pay for Sky Sports.

When you had the current GAA president announcing "there is no automatic right for everybody to see every game" in the same breath as extending the Sky deal until 2021, you knew that they couldnt give a shít about who did or didnt get to watch the game. This alone goes against the central ethos of the organisation, to make sure that natively as many people get to see the game as they can to ensure its continued promotion

The original excuse for sticking a number of the games behind a paywall was that it would bring in more international viewers. That hasnt happened. The Sky viewing figures are a miniscule percentage of those that watched the games FTA. The Australian Tv Channel that it was sold to dropped it within a few months of the first years championship.

Yet some games are still behind a paywall and extended recently. Why ? Money. Michael Duignan is absolutely right. The GAA have enough money. Its meant to be a non profit organisation. The championship schedule itself is becoming a bit of an inconvenience for the concerts in Croke Park!
    Agree 100%.my dad is 85 and a gaa man all his life.he also had to go out to the pub to see the game last night.fair play to duigan saying what the majority of us think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭MfMan

redlead wrote: »
    The only team I think will definitely be in the final is Tipp. They have the best starting 15 and best squad and are hitting form at the right time. There is nothing between the rest of the teams bar Wexford so you just couldn't pick. I'd probably be surprised to see Clare there I suppose.

Cork aren't being given enough credit for beating two title contenders already. I can't get my head around why Galway are being put on a pedestal over Cork. Galway haven't played a big team yet and were actually rubbish in the league the final aside.

Can't get my head around why you are constantly decrying Galway, instead of celebrating your own county's incredibly rare (and welcome) success over KK?

Galway lost the second league game to Wexford, but other than that, have racked up large winning margins (again, bar WD when they overturned a 10-point deficit to win by 5, maybe that's why you're sore?) over all opposition since. They hammered Tipp in the league final, prior to the final a team considered the team to beat in this year's championship.

What 2 title contenders have Cork beaten? Tipp yes, Waterford, Clare no. Galway are favourites ahead of Cork if for no reason other than Cork have done nothing in the past few seasons, whereas Galway have matched it out with Tipp and KK better than most in recent years.

Concentrate on your own team Redlead. Get over your Galway-antipathy like a good lad, you've been at it too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I think Cody was just registering his surprise that the fourth official didn't genuflect as officials normally would before approaching him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

ClanofLams wrote: »

Yes, but if the money they get from SKY is trickled down to counties and clubs then how can that be a bad thing?

Duignan says the GAA have enough money, but how does he know that for sure? and the more they do get it, I'm sure gets pumped straight back into the game around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭Motivator

Baseball cap dude is a clown. He wasnt as aggressive when he used mark JJ Delaney who used clean him out, in particular the 2004 All ireland semi final and also the 2008 All ireland final..... i suppose if i dont know him i shouldnt judge him ;)

You're right, he wasn't aggressive. Dan let his hurling do the talking instead of roughing fellas up and of course the occasional hatchet jobs on forwards that we came to associate with Kilkenny over the years. Dan had a hugely impressive career, one that shouldn't be belittled by an idiot using a foolish name on a forum.

I'm actually embarrassed for you over your comment.

Motivator wrote: »
    You're right, he wasn't aggressive. Dan let his hurling do the talking instead of roughing fellas up and of course the occasional hatchet jobs on forwards that we came to associate with Kilkenny over the years. Dan had a hugely impressive career, one that shouldn't be belittled by an idiot using a foolish name on a forum.

I'm actually embarrassed for you over your comment.

Im a bit embarrassed for you too. Bit hypocritical up there on your moral high ground criticising others for giving an opinion on an internet forum when you yourself are giving an opinion on an internet forum.

Dan is like a jack in the box on the sideline and is constantly being a nuisance. He was a great goalscorer but was marked out of it on many the big occasion. He was less inclined to be as animated on those occasions. Our own Lar Corbett was the same a few times but he at least rose to the occasion on some finals. . For you to call JJ Delaney a hatchet man is equally disrespectful. JJ marked Dan out of it fair and square. Perhaps you should stop being an idiot on an internet forum and what exactly is your great username about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Conas wrote: »
    Yes, but if the money they get from SKY is trickled down to counties and clubs then how can that be a bad thing?

Duignan says the GAA have enough money, but how does he know that for sure? and the more they do get it, I'm sure gets pumped straight back into the game around the country.

GAA publishes annual accounts, they have plenty of cash. Sky deal goes against everything GAA has traditionally stood for.