Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

C__MC wrote:
    No mention of the crowd trouble in Westmeath anyway

What happened there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

nice_guy80 wrote:
    the Hyde?

nice_guy80 wrote:
    best surface in Connacht

km79 wrote:
    Portaloos and one tiny "shop"

It would be gas if the Galwegians were sent to Roscommon. Gas.

Would think it should be Sligo though eh?

The Hyde is a good venue for a bigger crowd. Within walking distance of the town and loads of parking around.

Sligo is grand but too small for the crowd that will travel.

Kingspan would be a good choice in Cavan. Lovely spot for a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

But he's our Messi!

Brutal analyst!

Ah c'mon. He's in his first season as a pundit. Give him time.

I've a feeling he may suffer permanantly from HenrySheflinitis...very aware of his perceived standing in the game, to the degree that he won't ever be 100% honest. He knows that if there is even the faintest whiff of putting the boot in & he'll be all over de papurs the next morning. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Agus? Did they have opinions or was it all mealy mouthed TSG crap?

It was rightly commented that both players were fortunate to not see red,not sure what more you want.Faux outrage.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

I noticed Mossy Quinn highlighted the Moto on the wall of the Roscommon dressing room. "Honestly of Effort, Absence of Ego"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

seligehgit wrote: »
    It was rightly commented that both players were fortunate to not see red,not sure what more you want.Faux outrage.:)

Ah i like when TSG gets the bit between their teeth over something. I guess they're waiting for next Sunday.

It'll be a big day with Tyrone and Dublin in action. I can see it now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

I can't ever recall there being crowd trouble at a GAA game before
    Whats that all about ? Westmeath and Armagh are hardly bitter enemies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

But he's our Messi!

Brutal analyst!

He is terrible,Messi or no Messi!:D

km79 wrote: »
    Whats that all about ? Westmeath and
    Armagh are hardly bitter enemies

FTFY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Fowler87

I've yet to meet a man who wants to spend any more time in Claregalway than he has to. Also that chipper is rotten. I got a pizza there once, and it was terrible. never again.

Agreed. Nico's hasn't been the same since it left Ballyhaunis for Claregalway in the late 90s :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭C__MC

km79 wrote: »
    Whats that all about ? Westmeath and Armagh are hardly bitter enemies

Seen a report that the Gardai were called last night, maybe it's wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭munster87

C__MC wrote: »
    Seen a report that the Gardai were called last night, maybe it's wrong

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=272760

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Still waiting for analysis of the melee at end of Galway game
    Comer defo threw at least one punch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

munster87 wrote: »

Doesn't really say what happened though. Anybody at the game who can shed any light on this?

Part of the 2003 run to the semi finals. Two entertaining games

Yep, the 'party county' (not galway) descended en masse into Castlebar for that particular tie. The cousin, a castlebar man, basically said there was little or no stocks of alcohol remaining in the town by night's end. Reckoned he never saw the town's pubs do a better night's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭blowitupref

I didn't see it coming in the Connacht final matter of fact i had this game to be tight with Galway to win a few points. Roscommon were truly outstanding and on the day were over 12 points the better team than a shell-shocked Galway.

McStay shipped his fair share amount of criticism but he and his management team really did the business in this final, homework done on their opposition and simply put Galway had no answer to their game plan and spot on tactics. The talented footballers was never in question in Roscommon anyone that follows underage or college football would know this but what made todays win all the more remarkable was they won at ease without so many top quality players like Neill Collins,Niall Daly,Ultan Harney and Conor Daly,David Keenan etc

As for Galway it about getting back on the horse after their fall today. They have beaten Mayo twice in the championship,won their first Connacht title in 8 years last summer and finally got promoted back to Div 1 that is big progress from where they were. Like Roscommon they are a young team with plenty of potential and loads of room for improvement which i believe both will only get better in the years ahead.

Tipperary v Armagh
    Carlow v Monaghan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭munster87

Monaghan and tipp I'd fancy

Patww79 wrote: »

Ooooooooooooooooh snarky.

I've been enjoying their run. Hopefully they will do something productive in the game but it's Monaghan's by far to lose.
    Monaghan and tipp I'd fancy

Yup. With you on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ah yer a cold one Pat ... I never thought Carlow would elicit any negativity in the greater realm of things... We have so many other counties to choose from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

franklyon wrote: »

Doesn't really say what happened though. Anybody at the game who can shed any light on this?
    Wasn't at the game but was speaking to a friend who was and he said some of the Armagh support were abusing some Westmeath subs when they were warming up and when the Armagh goal went in at the end one of the subs threw some water at the fans

The only trouble I ever had in Mullingar was finding my way to a mates house after a lock in in Canton Caseys :rolleyes:

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Ah yer a cold one Pat ... I never thought Carlow would elicit any negativity in the greater realm of things... We have so many other counties to choose from!

He's a Wicklow man. Normal rules don't apply to our mountain folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Can't have the neighbours doing well! :D

:D I knew it had to be something rational

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ehh I'm from Mayo and was delighted Roscommon won and wouldn't begrudge them a bit of airtime lifting the cup.
    Didn't get to see TSG.

Did they go hell for leather after Mayo and the WWE antics at the end of the game?

I think Harrison was right, there is too much of this grabbing a lad in a neck lock to tear him to the ground.
    Maybe some other lad will now think twice about grabbing someone in a neck lock.

Of course TSG were saying how dangerous it was what Harrison did but shag all about the ever increasing number of times you see someone in a neck lock.

Anyway the bigger story it seems it how some now see Cody as the equivalent of connolly what with his "attack" on the 4th official.
    As I think Duignan ?? said he had absolutely no animosity towards the official it was all towards Derek McGrath. :D

Ah come on no need to be bitter that they have had a bit of a run.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

franklyon wrote: »

The match was poor enough standard, but was close throughout. The last fifteen minutes or so were particularly nerve wracking as Westmeath had chances to bury the game and spurned them.

A lot of the Armagh supporters - who were the majority in the crowd - were not pleased at what they perceived as a biased refereeing performance, and there was a lot of anger. I'm led to believe that that anger manifested itself in the stand with a lot of verbals between Armagh supporters and the Westmeath bench. When Armagh got the late goal to win the game, the Armagh supporters were keen to point it out to the lads on the Westmeath bench and they got showered with water for their trouble. At that stage, tempers really threatened to boil over. *

* I didn't see any of this myself, as I was on the far side of the ground - I was told this by an Armagh supporter who was in the vicinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Stoner wrote: »
    In general that's the order of the day when a division 1 team is playing an underdog.
    Not in Ballybofey last week. Was throwing out cards to Longford like snuff at a wake and sent off Longford man very harshly.

PS did you hear Longford had to borrow a jesrsy from one of their supporters after a blood sub-bet theyre not spending 1m a year preparing team. Reminds me of the time someone from the club came to my house to requisition a green jersey i had so they could make an away strip for a tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

The Hyde is a good venue for a bigger crowd. Within walking distance of the town and loads of parking around.

Sligo is grand but too small for the crowd that will travel.

Kingspan would be a good choice in Cavan. Lovely spot for a game.

Breffni is a great venue and one Donegal would be more than happy with I`d imagine but getting on the road after is almost as bad as Clones.

Markievicz in Sligo I was surprised to learn has now a capacity of 18,588, so probably the most practical venue for both sets of supporters.