Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

raiders11 wrote: »
    Or Galway too:D

No They can't play Roscommon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

km79 wrote: »
    No They can't play Roscommon

Yep,your right, sleeping there..:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Patww79 wrote: »
    Anyone that would care about Roscommon getting a Connaught trophy would surely be from Roscommon and would have been in Salthill today.

Like I've been looking forward to both games today, but I'm not connected to any of the 4 counties so I've no place or interest in seeing 2 of them getting a provincial trophy.

Oh, come on that is harsh. What about people who can't make it, health reasons, age reasons, travel reasons, emigration reasons. Even financial reasons. Ticket reasons.

Bit condescending to say "Anyone that would care about Roscommon getting a Connaught trophy would surely be from Roscommon and would have been in Salthill today."
    unlike the Dubs going tp Croker

getting to salthill involves 90 mins drive from most of roscommon
    so you leave at 9 or 10 am
    nowhere to park
    guaranteed to to be windy and wet
    come out to probably find a parking ticket on the car as its a residential area...
    no where decent to eat some grub
    crawl back over the quincintenial bridge and 10 sets of traffic lights for another hour
    then drive home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Over the past 20 years, how often has the Munster hurling champion made it to the the All Ireland final, never mind actually won it?

A fact our Imperial Hurling Ov Limerickerlords often overlook, when they are demanding due homage and subservience to "the unique role that the Munster final plays in the fabric of Irish life." :rolleyes:

1997 Clare (W)
    1999 Cork (W)
    2001 Tipperary (W)
    2003 Cork (L)
    2004 Cork (W) *Cork lost Munster final to Waterford
    2005 Cork (W)
    2006 Cork (L)
    2009 Tipperary (L)
    2011 Tipperary (L)
    2016 Tipperary (W)

45% of the time the Munster champion at least gets to the AIF
    65% of the time a Munster finalist will get to the AIF
    25% of the time a Munster champion will win the AI
    32% of the time a Munster finalist will win the AI

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    unlike the Dubs going tp Croker

getting to salthill involves 90 mins drive from most of roscommon
    so you leave at 9 or 10 am
    nowhere to park
    guaranteed to to be windy and wet
    come out to probably find a parking ticket on the car as its a residential area...
    no where decent to eat some grub
    crawl back over the quincintenial bridge and 10 sets of traffic lights for another hour
    then drive home

So a handy number really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Patww79 wrote:
    Roscommon did waste some opportunities and should really have gone in at HT 3 or 4 points further ahead. I was shocked at how much better Roscommon were than Galway today. Even with missed chances they dominated and won comfortably.
    Burial. wrote:
    Galway keeper one of the worst players I've ever seen kick a ball
    That Galway keeper has to be the poorest that I have seen at intercounty level- he's just bad at all the things needed to be a keeper (kick outs, shot stopping, communication with a defence).

He was herrendous. Galway new to seriously consider dropping him for the Donegal, He was a complete liability out there today.
    ProudDUB wrote:
    Smart play from the Rossies in closing out the game. Slow play down and work the clock. Totally unlike last years headless chicken display. All things you have to learn how to do, if you want to be a real contender. Cynical as fcuk, but there ya go !

They were brilliant today, The way they weathered the storm of the Galway response was very impressive. At one stage the lead was cut to 3. But credit to Roscommon, they didn't panic, they kept their heads and played smart. They took their scores and closed out the game in style
    Who do Galway play now ?

Donegal next for Galway, Probably at a neutral venue, Maybe in Castlebar or Cavan.

Shame for Connolly. Always a yellow though. Had a great game.
    It was definitely a card, fairly blaitant foul, He had a great game, That first Goal was a superb finish, top quality.
    M!Ck^ wrote:
    Galway sore losers now Embarrassing themselves

Shameful to see. Galway knew they were beaten at that stage but couldn't take it like men.

Enjoyable game and an excellent composed performance from Roscommon, they have some very tidy players Smith in midfield would be my man of the match.

Enda Smith was brilliant today, A very skilled young football, Not the strongest or fastest guy around but as we saw today, the lad can play football

Great to see them in the AI quarter finals again as Connacht Champions they brought a massive crowd to the quarter final in 2010.

Roscommon are similar to Mayo and Donegal in that they have a huge traveling support. They don't often get to Croke Park, but when they do, they come in numbers
    pjohnson wrote:
    Comer the lummox. Loves an auld fight.

Couldn't take his beating like a man. Shameful scenes at the end of an otherwise hard but sportimg game.
    grbear wrote:
    Sick watching this masterclass in bed wetting from Galway.

Galway were poor, But credit to Roscommon who did not allow them to play well.

PressRun wrote:
    I said before that I felt Roscommon had sacrificed the league to focus on Connacht. Had a feeling they were putting all their energy into this They clearly have done just that. A deserved win today. Galway very complacent. They thought they just had to show up, yet again. No real fight in them. In contrast to Roscommon, who fought for every ball. Enda Smith ran the show all day.

I think complacency was a factor. Galway greatly underestimated the Roscommon challenge today, In similar fashion to how they approached the Tipperary game last year. Roscommon were fantastic today and Smith was a key man alright.

pjohnson wrote:
    Comer was not passionate. Theres a difference between Passion and mind numbing stupidity/sore losing.

The game was gone from them at that stage, Shame Comer and Co. couldn't take their beating.

PressRun wrote:
    They're probably the most overrated team in the country
    I think Galway ratted themselves very highly. Part of the reason why they lost to a team who are arguably one of the most underrated today.
    McStay doing a Mourinho on it and shaking hands with Kevin Walsh before its over

Allot of people have critisized him in the recent past, from within the Roscommon camp and the broader GAA circle. Several player walked from the panel when he was given the managers job alone. So you can't blame him for feeling a little bit vindicated and confident after today's victory.

jr86 wrote:
    Well done roscommon, the hype around this bang average galway team has been ridiculous.
    shrewdness wrote:
    Galway were useless, I couldn't believe the amount some people were hyping them up as potential AI contenders. They were awful at the back, and up front their forwards couldn't produce when they were needed the most.

I think they believed their own hype, They clearly weren't ready for what looks like well coached Roscommon team, with some very talented young footballers.

jr86 wrote:
    They'll be ran handy enough by Donegal now too!

If they play like they played today againat Donegal, They will get ran over again.
    ProudDUB wrote:
    Ah, show the Rossie trophy presentation FFS. That shocking hurling snobbery there to cut away from it, for more gimmicky hurling build up.
    That is desperate. It's not like they win it the whole time.

I agree. Give Roscommon their moment A first provincial title for 7 years. I'll bet RTE will have no problem showing the full presentation for Dublin and their annual, non competitive Leinster title.

Congratulations to Roscommon.I am delighted for Kevin McStay,a decent straight talking honest guy who kept his head down and stuck with the players who made themselves available when many others left the panel at the start of the year.

True there were 7 or 8 players who walked from the panel when he was appointed over O Donnell.

They turned their backs on Roscommon and today McStay has every right to feel vindicated. Well done to the lads who were committed to the country team, They put in the time and the hard work in training, and today is their reward

nice_guy80 wrote:
    getting to salthill involves 90 mins drive from most of roscommon so you leave at 9 or 10 am nowhere to park guaranteed to to be windy and wet come out to probably find a parking ticket on the car as its a residential area... no where decent to eat some grub crawl back over the quincintenial bridge and 10 sets of traffic lights for another hour then drive home

Galway is a nightmare for parking and a nightmare to get out of with traffic.
    Traffic lights and the bottle neck at Claregalway is enough to drive anyone mad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Good man Eyes, the James Joyce of boards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Bogfairy

Comer had Galway rated as one of 'the big teams' after beating 14 man Mayo, today took him down a peg or two. That defeat should bring Galway on, they have some good footballers. Sour grapes at the end. Take your beating. The goading of Mayo players in the semi f win came back to bite ye.

Well done to the Rossies today. McStay had a blessing in disguise when players walked from the panel, lads who were willing stayed and it paid off big time today. They kicked a few great points in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,671 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Good man Eyes, the James Joyce of boards...

The demand that I make of my reader is that he should devote his whole Life to reading my works.

James Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,235 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Guessing Galway v Donegal will be in Castlebar. Mayo v Cork probably Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭The Assistinator

paulie21 wrote: »
    Can't see it been castlebar more likely Sligo I'd think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Roscommon did waste some opportunities and should really have gone in at HT 3 or 4 points further ahead. I was shocked at how much better Roscommon were than Galway today. Even with missed chances they dominated and won comfortably.

He was herrendous. Galway new to seriously consider dropping him for the Donegal, He was a complete liability out there today.

They were brilliant today, The way they weathered the storm of the Galway response was very impressive. At one stage the lead was cut to 3. But credit to Roscommon, they didn't panic, they kept their heads and played smart. They took their scores and closed out the game in style

Donegal next for Galway, Probably at a neutral venue, Maybe in Castlebar or Cavan.

It was definitely a card, fairly blaitant foul, He had a great game, That first Goal was a superb finish, top quality.

Shameful to see. Galway knew they were beaten at that stage but couldn't take it like men.

Enda Smith was brilliant today, A very skilled young football, Not the strongest or fastest guy around but as we saw today, the lad can play football

Roscommon are similar to Mayo and Donegal in that they have a huge traveling support. They don't often get to Croke Park, but when they do, they come in numbers

Couldn't take his beating like a man. Shameful scenes at the end of an otherwise hard but sportimg game.

Galway were poor, But credit to Roscommon who did not allow them to play well.

I think complacency was a factor. Galway greatly underestimated the Roscommon challenge today, In similar fashion to how they approached the Tipperary game last year. Roscommon were fantastic today and Smith was a key man alright.

The game was gone from them at that stage, Shame Comer and Co. couldn't take their beating.

I think Galway ratted themselves very highly. Part of the reason why they lost to a team who are arguably one of the most underrated today.

Allot of people have critisized him in the recent past, from within the Roscommon camp and the broader GAA circle. Several player walked from the panel when he was given the managers job alone. So you can't blame him for feeling a little bit vindicated and confident after today's victory.

I think they believed their own hype, They clearly weren't ready for what looks like well coached Roscommon team, with some very talented young footballers.

If they play like they played today againat Donegal, They will get ran over again.

I agree. Give Roscommon their moment A first provincial title for 7 years. I'll bet RTE will have no problem showing the full presentation for Dublin and their annual, non competitive Leinster title.

True there were 7 or 8 players who walked from the panel when he was appointed over O Donnell.

They turned their backs on Roscommon and today McStay has every right to feel vindicated. Well done to the lads who were committed to the country team, They put in the time and the hard work in training, and today is their reward

Galway is a nightmare for parking and a nightmare to get out of with traffic.
    Traffic lights and the bottle neck at Claregalway is enough to drive anyone mad.

A good chipper in Claregalway though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

Can't see it been castlebar more likely Sligo I'd think.

We complained big time, when we were taken to Castlebar to play them in that QF replay but by jaysus, it was some atmosphere that day....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Donegal and Galway played a round 4 qualifier in Sligo in 2009, probably the most likely venue.

4B games will probably be in Croke Park if recent years are anything to go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

paulie21 wrote: »
    the Hyde?

best surface in Connacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    the Hyde?

best surface in Connacht

Portaloos and one tiny "shop"

It would be gas if the Galwegians were sent to Roscommon. Gas.

Would think it should be Sligo though eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Galway and Donegal replayed a QF back in the mid 2000s in Castlebar I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Galway and Donegal replayed a QF back in the mid 2000s in Castlebar I recall.

Part of the 2003 run to the semi finals. Two entertaining games

Didn't get to see TSG.

Did they go hell for leather after Mayo and the WWE antics at the end of the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭C__MC

Didn't get to see TSG.

Did they go hell for leather after Mayo and the WWE antics at the end of the game?

No mention of the crowd trouble in Westmeath anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Cooper must have some dirt on someone in RTE to get on d'tellybox, he has the charisma of a polystyrene cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Didn't get to see TSG.

Yes it was mentioned.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Cooper must have some dirt on someone in RTE to get on d'tellybox, he has the charisma of a polystyrene cup.

But he's our Messi!

Brutal analyst!

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yes it was mentioned.

Agus? Did they have opinions or was it all mealy mouthed TSG crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Donal55 wrote:
    A good chipper in Claregalway though!

I've yet to meet a man who wants to spend any more time in Claregalway than he has to. Also that chipper is rotten. I got a pizza there once, and it was terrible. never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Tellyium

Did anyone else think that Gough awarded some 'soft' frees today for off the ball contact? Before anyone accuses me of sour grapes, we were awarded a couple too ! But is any contact off the ball now going to be pinged?

Agus? Did they have opinions or was it all mealy mouthed TSG crap?

Well, there wasnt a script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Slattsy wrote: »

Especially beside mossy, he's the prettiest analyst on TSG, even with that galway camogie lass :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Especially beside mossy, he's the prettiest analyst on TSG, even with that galway camogie lass :D

Gooch would make you look purdy!!