Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,093 ✭✭✭threeball

Jamie Barron trying to drag Waterford kicking and screaming into the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Fair play to Waterford in the end to get themselves through.

God Kilkenny were awful. Touch was very poor, decision making was awful and tactically out done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

P Walsh is not a Full Back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

threeball wrote: »
    Jamie Barron trying to drag Waterford kicking and screaming into the next round.

Terrific player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Shanahan - all show no substance

Sure :rolleyes:
    Fair play to Waterford in the end to get themselves through.

God Kilkenny were awful. Touch was very poor, decision making was awful and tactically out done.

Not home yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭letowski

Should be Waterfords now, they are parking the bus now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,093 ✭✭✭threeball

Cody must have a gallon of spit on his hands and shirt at the end of every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Dan Shanahan should be banned from the field. He has gone on to the pitch 7 or 8 times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Fantastic, fair dues to Waterford. Delighted to see KK gone. Cody should have quit when he was ahead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,792 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'm glad that they closed that out.. some championship we're having this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

niallo27 wrote: »
    Dan Shanahan should be banned from the field. He has gone on to the pitch 7 or 8 times.

Is he not their 'runner'? I.E the guy thats allowed on the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well done Waterford. I enjoyed watching that.

I think it's an open draw now for the QFs, although maybe that could change if Cork don't win the Munster tomorrow.

Anyone know for certain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Well done Waterford. I enjoyed watching that.

I think it's an open draw now for the QFs, although maybe that could change if Cork don't win the Munster tomorrow.

Anyone know for certain?

Think provincial finalists have to be kept apart, there will be a draw regardless to see who plays Clare/ Wexford. If Clare win, then Cork have played both Tipp/ Wat so draw needed. Cork win and Clare have played neither

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Is he not their 'runner'? I.E the guy thats allowed on the pitch?

A water guy no he isn't. He has being doing it for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Fantastic, fair dues to Waterford. Delighted to see KK gone. Cody should have quit when he was ahead :)
    He'll never match your achievements I'm sure.

Congratulations Waterford, by far the better team and should have had it in normal time only the psychology of it got the better of them. Showed huge mental strength to come back and get the job done. Hard to overstate how important that win is for for them going forward now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,858 ✭✭✭The White Feather

niallo27 wrote: »

At least ban him from wearing his hat backwards as it annoys me!!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

maurice shanahan, I take it back
    fantastic win for Waterford

amazing to see how far back kilkenny have gone so quickly. I don't know how they levelled that game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Don't begrudge Waterford a famous victory, but found myself rooting for the stripey men! Must be Stockholm Syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Anyone know where I could see a concise outlay of the remaining fixtures? The GAA website is a nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

A great win to be sure but let's not forget that this was just a qualifier!

Yes, great to finally beat Kilkenny but let's not lose the run of ourselves!

A bigger and greater challenge greets us in the next round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭spideyman92

lufties wrote: »
    Anyone know where I could see a concise outlay of the remaining fixtures? The GAA website is a nightmare

I find the wiki for the championship every year is great for that.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017_All-Ireland_Senior_Hurling_Championship

Also... Up the deise! It's only a qualifier but it's still so fecking sweet to beat them lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I can't get over how bad kk were this year. How they made an AI final less than a year ago? Amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

This talk of now or never for galway looking like nonsense too

They're guaranteed an AI semi for next few years at this rate. Can see no one touching them in Leinster for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

jr86 wrote: »
    I can't get over how bad kk were this year. How they made an AI final less than a year ago? Amazing

to be fair wexford and dublin at 21s level have been the top dogs for the last few years , kilkenny have a few minor teams coming through and what looks like a deacent 21s team this year

brought very little through in the last few years and lost some exceptional players in the process it was bound to happen at some stage ,no fear they will be back

jr86 wrote: »

Kilkenny have suffered a huge amount of retirements the last three years in particular.

The core of that amazing team they had are gone. Larkin and Tyrell this year. Richie Power last year. Ahead of 2015 seen the retirement of Henry, Brian Hogan, JJ Delaney, Tommy Walsh.
    Absolutely seismic retirements to contend with.

And to be fair to them, they very nearly pulled it off tonight. Their never say die spirit is still there. They will come again, they may even take this years u21s. They have an incredible infrastructure in place with the schools and they are a hurling mad county. Perhaps its a job for a new man though. Cody owes Kilkenny no more. He's been an amazing manager. Perhaps its time for a new man to come in? That said though, what pressure he would have. His every move would be compared to the great man.

Codys tenure has been similar to Alex Ferguson.

A longevity of unparalleled success.

The difference now is that Alex retired at the exact time it was going to unravel.

You could see this coming a few years ago so it's not as if he couldn't have known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Codys tenure has been similar to Alex Ferguson.

A longevity of unparalleled success.

The difference now is that Alex retired at the exact time it was going to unravel.

You could see this coming a few years ago so it's not as if he couldn't have known.

to be fair to cody , he can only work off what he is given , and underage has slipped back in kilkenny over the years , they are coming at the moment with a good 21s team and descent minors this year so there not going to be finished ,

might have 2 or 3 lean years before there next all ireland , but long term they are not going to go away

I agree. The anti-Davy stuff is so boring at this stage.

Ill be honest i kind of like him. The game needs a few characters and Davy is good for an aul giggle at least. The man loves the game too. Not too gone on his style of play but i think a game without Davy Fitz would be boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Ill be honest i kind of like him. The game needs a few characters and Davy is good for an aul giggle at least. The man loves the game too. Not too gone on his style of play but i think a game without Davy Fitz would be boring.

While I agree with what you have said, he does give officials a torrid amount of abuse, far more than any other inter-county manager in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Kilkenny have suffered a huge amount of retirements the last three years in particular.

The core of that amazing team they had are gone. Larkin and Tyrell this year. Richie Power last year. Ahead of 2015 seen the retirement of Henry, Brian Hogan, JJ Delaney, Tommy Walsh.
    Absolutely seismic retirements to contend with.

And to be fair to them, they very nearly pulled it off tonight. Their never say die spirit is still there. They will come again, they may even take this years u21s. They have an incredible infrastructure in place with the schools and they are a hurling mad county. Perhaps its a job for a new man though. Cody owes Kilkenny no more. He's been an amazing manager. Perhaps its time for a new man to come in? That said though, what pressure he would have. His every move would be compared to the great man.

Only problem for Kilkenny, is they haven't won a u21 leinster title in 5 years. Wexford have won 4 in last 5 years, so it's starting to show.

But Kilkenny will be back soon. With Wexford improving the old rivalry is coming back.

Who will wexford get next in the quarter finals?