Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Ennis is busy every Saturday night during Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Figerty

finbarrk wrote: »
    Ennis is busy every Saturday night during Summer.

Book Miltown Malbay! Go to the match in Ennis, Head for the Willie week on Saturday night in Miltown and then a dip in Spanish point on Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭kala85

Any word on munster final tickets. Is there many being returned from the club. Trying to pick up a stand ticket for sunday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

kala85 wrote: »
    Any word on munster final tickets. Is there many being returned from the club. Trying to pick up a stand ticket for sunday.

I'm hearing it all sold out except for the Clare terrace, should be a great occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

forget it
    buy a terrace then hope for the best to exchange when you get there.
    total screw up from the clare secretary with the ticket order.
    requested 1400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,250 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Are the tickets all gone for the football on Saturday?

They're sold out online but does anyone know if any of the Centras around ennis have them?

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

forget it
    requested 1400

Are you serious that only 1400 tickets were requested? Was this for the Stand only?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

cnoc wrote: »
    Are you serious that only 1400 tickets were requested? Was this for the Stand only?

Only 1400 through the county board, everything else was through public sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Clareman wrote: »
    Only 1400 through the county board, everything else was through public sale

thats the Clare county board.
    multiples of that are gone through cork clubs as I understand it.
    the first line tried by the board was that because only 300 were sold through clubs for the semi final they only looked for 1400. This doesn't wash at all. I bought my tickets in the bring a friend option with the season ticket that's not available this time so I had to go through my club this time for example. people could buy tickets on the day down there for the semi final.

Since then there seems to have been some waffle about a type leaving out a 0
    the munster council is being blamed by the board but no one should accept that.
    I mean the idea that no one would have clarified that figure is just not credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

thats the Clare county board.
    multiples of that are gone through cork clubs as I understand it.
    the first line tried by the board was that because only 300 were sold through clubs for the semi final they only looked for 1400. This doesn't wash at all. I bought my tickets in the bring a friend option with the season ticket that's not available this time so I had to go through my club this time for example. people could buy tickets on the day down there for the semi final.

Since then there seems to have been some waffle about a type leaving out a 0
    the munster council is being blamed by the board but no one should accept that.
    I mean the idea that no one would have clarified that figure is just not credible.

This wouldn't have happened if Davy was still over the Clare team .

tatoo wrote: »
    This wouldn't have happened if Davy was still over the Clare team .

Don't forget the All Ireland tickets that were forgotten about in a drawer in 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Niallers87

Clare team to play cork
    1 Andrew Fahy
    2 Seadhna morey
    3 Davis mcinerney
    4 Patrick o connor
    5 David fitzgerald
    6 Conor cleary
    7 Oisin o brien
    8 Colm Galvin
    9 Jamie malone
    10 Tony Kelly
    11 podge collins
    12 John Conlon
    13 conor mcgrath
    14 Aaron shanagher
    15 shane o'donnell

Best of luck on sunday; think they will do us proud!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Im ok with the team.

Ive probably said it a few times but Im a massive O'Brien fan. I think he is our next importand back after McInerney and our best man maker. Hopefully he is fully fit its obvious he will take Cadogan. He is the right man for that job too.

Im not the biggest Malone fan, but its understandable why he is in. There is more balanced to the team now and we can be more conventional with our puckouts. I think what Malone brings that were a little lacking, apart from phsyicality, is workrate. I think his role is obvious too, he will be there to stop Coleman bombing down the left side and look to pop pass ball off the Podge and Kelly. Kelly should be more involved on Sunday.

I think we can win but a few things.

If its indeed Cleary on Lehane, there has to be proper communication between himself and the players around. Im actaully ok if Lehane does get a few points, but we have to hold our shape and reduce the space at the back. Its more important imo. In the end the best way of beating Cork is by scoring more goals, and the backs can stop them here. I like the matchups were have in our full back line. This leads me to my next point.

Our full forward line, with the right ball, can seriously, seriously hurt this Cork full back line. Ball has to go first time every time into space inside. At times against Limerick we looked for an extra pass too much. For me, a Podges performance the last they showed it. He played far too deep imo, and then just looked to hit it on a couple of yards when he got it. I know he will drop back, but I much prefer he pushes on forward this weekend, and makes runs of Conlon and Malone. Thats why he had such a good league, was that he was playing up further like against Waterford when he got that goal, he didnt do this at all v Lmk. Ellis will hurl well whats in front of him, but he wont be able to handle Podges movement.

I think we will win, so long as the forwards and midfield work hard and dont let quality ball into their backline. I think Clare's midfield and full forward line mismatchs Corks. But im a bit worried as we havent played at a high level compared to Cork. Also we maybe take it for granted but Cork are much more assured at goalie and freetaking. I hope it doesnt come down to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Malone starts!!!! Must be just to win more possession from puck outs as to me he doesn't offer much more.

Tony on frees then with reidy on the bench.

Puck outs are a major weakness for us, Tony and Podge were poor for us the last days, I expect a big performance from both of them, hopefully

Clareman wrote: »
    Puck outs are a major weakness for us, Tony and Podge were poor for us the last days, I expect a big performance from both of them, hopefully

Hopefully Malone will help out here, with Conlon. Malone in fairness was releasing the pass off to the runners in the league. Podge and Tony are at their most dangerous coming from deep onto these. I'm expecting a marked improvement from them. I'm not hugely worried about Tony tbh, he is a good lad with bags of quality, it will come through more often than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

Niallers87 wrote: »
    Clare team to play cork
    1 Andrew Fahy
    2 Seadhna morey
    3 Davis mcinerney
    4 Patrick o connor
    5 David fitzgerald
    6 Conor cleary
    7 Oisin o brien
    8 Colm Galvin
    9 Jamie malone
    10 Tony Kelly
    11 podge collins
    12 John Conlon
    13 conor mcgrath
    14 Aaron shanagher
    15 shane o'donnell

Best of luck on sunday; think they will do us proud!!

Will be huge loss for the footballers :D:D

Starting to get excited now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭claresmurf

letowski wrote: »

Ive probably said it a few times but Im a massive O'Brien fan. I think he is our next importand back after McInerney and our best man maker. Hopefully he is fully fit its obvious he will take Cadogan. He is the right man for that job too.

I think Seadna will be on Cadogan, he is a better man marker imo.

claresmurf wrote: »
    I think Seadna will be on Cadogan, he is a better man marker imo.

Yeah could see that too, he has the pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

forget it
    requested 1400

forget it
    requested 1400
    But isn't that the amount of requests that were got from Clare Clubs? Our own club had only requests for 20 tickets from members. Most people bought from Super Valu and Centra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Niallers87

Gael85 wrote: »
    Will be huge loss for the footballers :D:D

ya gotta keep the rebels guessin 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Any idead who's gonna take the frees for Clare tomorrow?

There's a massive Mayo crowd around town, I'd say the Mayo fans might out number Clare 2-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Sponsorgate

Quick question all, do I have to print off tickets going into Semple or can I use phone screen( show the PDF on my phone)?

I'm not sure, I think you have to print them cause not all the scanners work with a phone. The ticket office down there will be able to print out a ticket if you need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

good effort by the footballers in defeat , mayo completely took over in the championship 1/4 ,the 10 minute spell at the start of the second half and the injury to cathal o'connor the difference , as mayo hit 2-04 without reply

great to see the park full , mayo created a fantastic atmosphere , our lads are still fairly young so this sort of experience , espically mayo's 2nd half intensity will stand to us in years to come

looking back on this year we have to be positive , a number of players were tied up with ballyea at the start of the league , 7 players from last years panel left the panel or retired , most counties would struggle after that

but good home wins against down, and cork along with descent performances against kerry and mayo leave us in good stead , the wins over laois and limerick have shown how far we have came under collins , but we are still 6 to 7 points off the really big teams ,

hopefully we can kick on again next year and push for promotion to division 1 along with blooding some more young players , we have 4 home games next year in the league and should offer us a good spring board for the summer 2018 , here's hoping we can find another gear and progress further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

Do we definitely have 4 games at home in the league next year?