Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Enjoyable match in Port Laoise. Clare played well, some great passages of play led to good scores.
    Once Laois had their midfielder sent off they fell apart.
    Hopefully a home draw on Monday, and who knows, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

finbarrk wrote: »
    Enjoyable match in Port Laoise. Clare played well, some great passages of play led to good scores.
    Once Laois had their midfielder sent off they fell apart.
    Hopefully a home draw on Monday, and who knows, anything is possible.

the contrast in clare football in a few years is amazing , one time we would be lost without tubridy , today we scored 2-18 without him contributing to the score board at all (although he set up some excellent scores himself)

as for the draw on monday , i hope its a home draw , i still dont thing we get the cerdit we deserve , if keelan sexton , jamie malone eoin cleary martin mcmahon ect were on the donegal or mayo panels everyone in the country would be raving about them

today we brought on the likes of killian malone and darragh nagle who are really good prospects , minors in a munster final tomorrow we are a far better football identity then people in the media are giving us credit for in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭melonstar

For the Munster Final next Sunday, would I be right thinking that the Killinan End is the Clare end?

melonstar wrote: »
    For the Munster Final next Sunday, would I be right thinking that the Killinan End is the Clare end?

id imagine the cork supporters will be in the town end as per usual , so yeah id say so

not a good day for the minor footballers against kerry in the munster final , hopfully they can redeem themselves in a more winable game in the 1/4 finals , kerry will have very little trouble against most teams at this level this year i think , guys like david clifford and donal o'sullivan are set to become household names in the next few years for the kingdom , serious talent

24 points is a huge defeat but our aim is to produce players from underage setups , and guys like dermot coughlan will be invaluable to us in the coming yers

melonstar wrote: »
    For certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

finbarrk wrote:
    Enjoyable match in Port Laoise. Clare played well, some great passages of play led to good scores. Once Laois had their midfielder sent off they fell apart. Hopefully a home draw on Monday, and who knows, anything is possible.

Donegal in Ennis might be our best chance of a win. An away draw would be very difficult. The qualifiers is very lopsided as I would expect us to go very far in the B side of the draw, its unfortunate that we have 3 very strong teams in with us. Will the next game be on next Saturday?

Boots234 wrote: »
    Donegal in Ennis might be our best chance of a win. An away draw would be very difficult. The qualifiers is very lopsided as I would expect us to go very far in the B side of the draw, its unfortunate that we have 3 very strong teams in with us. Will the next game be on next Saturday?

at home we would raise our game against anyone , if we got meath again we have two weeks to work on all the 2nd half mistakes we made against them in the league , bare in mind we were missing a number of players , the likes of brennan , lillis , o'connor went of shortly after half time with an injury that day too , meath were excellent that day and in my opinion its only a matter of time we see them in division 1 again ( where they belong)

donegal are in complete transition and yes at home it would be the best time to meet them they were probably the weakest of the winners at the weekend but that would make them a dangerous prospect ,

mayo would be a bit like coming up against kerry again , if we put in a good performance in defeat we might start getting the credit in the media which seems to elude us at the moment we are on a 4 game wining streak in the qualifiers at the moment . hopefully we can continue to make a name for ourselves in the coming years at this end of the championship we are still a very young side , maybe one or two aging backs but there are ready made replacements in killian malone and darragh nagle to look forward to

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

At home to Mayo, should be a great day in town

Clareman wrote: »
    At home to Mayo, should be a great day in town

Let's hope we can put in a simular performance to that of the Kerry game . Mayo will bring huge support with them too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Great to have it at home, but probably the toughest of the 3 teams to play.

Hard to know how Mayo will react after the weekend. I was listening to their Derry match on the Radio and they really struggled in Normal time and were very very lucky to get the draw. Then in extra time they found not just one, but two or three extra gears and really powered home. They'll take great confidence from that.

Home advantage is a great boost for Clare, but not sure it will be enough.

It should be a great evening in the Park. I hope the supporters get in and get behind them now - They really deserve it.

The Queens will be busy on Saturday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭yew_tree

Looking forward to our game with ye. Ennis has been a happy ground for Mayo in the recent past. I think the game will be close enough. If Mayo play like we did against Derry Clare could well beat us.

Looking online it appears Ennis is fully booked for Sat night already.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Football match will be shown on TV and has a 5pm throw in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Football match will be shown on RTE 2 TV and has a 5pm throw in

Fixed that for ya:D:D:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

finbarrk wrote: »
    The Queens will be busy on Saturday night!

Is that place still open, I had my stag there, doubt they'll let me in! :D

yop wrote: »
    Is that place still open, I had my stag there, doubt they'll let me in! :D

The place is a gold mine, don't worry if you have money in your wallet they'll let you in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ShortKickOut

Head for Miltown after the game for the Willie Week lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

So much to do this weekend... :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Head for Miltown after the game for the Willie Week lads

The Willie week.... that just scares me....

You haven't lived till you've tried the Wicked Willie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Cork won the minor tonight too, making it a Cork v Clare double match on Sunday. Reportedly 8,142 turned out to see it. Make no mistake, that county is coming to Thurles pumped up. Clare need to just concentrate on their own game and focus on where they can win, because they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

letowski wrote: »
    Cork won the minor tonight too, making it a Cork v Clare double match on Sunday. Reportedly 8,142 turned out to see it. Make no mistake, that county is coming to Thurles pumped up. Clare need to just concentrate on their own game and focus on where they can win, because they can.

Pairc ui Rinn was ecstatic tonight. That result is gonna add another ~5000 to the Cork crowd.

Lads, I'll have my Dad who is in his 70's with me on Saturday, If I come in the old Gort road, in towards the hospital, do you think I can get parking which is close enough there? He isn't great on the pins so want to keep walking distance low. Assume for the 5pm game would need to be there for 3 to get parking close?

You'd want to be there for 3 to get a seat in the stand I'd imagine. I'd say if you're in by 3 you could be lucky to get parking in Tesco which is right across the road.

Thanks for that. Will it be a nightmare to get out of Tesco carpark then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,057 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

yop wrote:

Probably will be difficult but half an hour will clear most traffic.

Alternatively, you could park at Auburn Lodge and get taxi in and out.
    Would add cost and getting taxi after might be difficult but it's an option.

Traffic will clear fairly quickly, half an hour and it'll be mostly gone I'd imagine, you could head into the Sherwood for something to eat to let the traffic go if you wanted, other options would be to part in the Clare Council offices, they usually open up for matches.

By the way, coming into town, take the Tulla exit off the motorway rather than the Gort Road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

ring clare county board and ask their advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

yew_tree wrote: »
    Looking forward to our game with ye. Ennis has been a happy ground for Mayo in the recent past. I think the game will be close enough. If Mayo play like we did against Derry Clare could well beat us.

Looking online it appears Ennis is fully booked for Sat night already.

I was trying for a hotel Sunday before the draw and every hotel was fully booked, is there some big event on apart from the match?