Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭False Prophet

Hard to know what to make of that clare performance, same old since 2013 really.

Cant understand why the players cant learn how to defend touchtight. Either they lunge in and get turned and foul or they give the player an acre of space to turn and score. Dunno if its because they are used to playing with extra man back and have forgotten how to mark man to man.
    In attach we have lads taking shots from distance when they should be able to either find a man inside or drive on to win a free. too often making the wrong call

how many more penalties does kelly have to miss before its changed...why he was aiming so high,should be driving low, if keeper pulls of a super save so be it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I don't agree with this. Why should the county board have to advertise the first Munster final we're in since 2008? I think anyone who was interested in going either knew how to get tickets or knew how to find out. I got mine online no problem. I think many supporters just didn't believe Clare could win and opted not to go.

They should advertise because like it or not they are in the entertainment business and they shouldn't be just assume that people will go. Yes, people who have an interest will get their tickets a week in advance, how about the people with a passing interest? There's a reason bandwagons start, it's because of interest, often caused by a winning team but it can be helped to start by drumming up interest.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

finbarrk wrote: »
    Didn't both teams pack the place 20 years ago? Lazy Clare fans these days. Excuses regarding difficult to get in/out, etc.

Not comparing apples with apples there, the match in 97 wasn't on TV if I remember correctly, Clare had a serious team and Tipp were after trouncing us a few years previously and going to Cork for a match was unusual for Clare. The following year wasn't a sell by any stretch, I think it was about 35k for the replay, the first game was even less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ShortKickOut

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/watch-footage-emerges-of-man-dressed-in-clare-colours-taking-anthony-nashs-bag-of-sliotars-before-throwing-into-crowd-35918165.html

Without naming names I thinks its obvious who this is and he is very close to the Clare management. A bit ridiculous if this is the kind of planning Clare were doing before the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭big_drive

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/watch-footage-emerges-of-man-dressed-in-clare-colours-taking-anthony-nashs-bag-of-sliotars-before-throwing-into-crowd-35918165.html

Without naming names I thinks its obvious who this is and he is very close to the Clare management. A bit ridiculous if this is the kind of planning Clare were doing before the game.

Is he a coach with the side but not a Clare native?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

I think the big decisions for the management is how to line out the backline and try to keep the Tipp's forwards to something manageable.

I think a lot of the reason why we can't get a foothold is due to the halfback line not asserting themselves. The criticism leveled at Cleary is over the top, the reality is he is a serviceable option at 6 but not the type that can storm into the game for the team. David Fitz isn't on form simple as, but he has the ability. JJ Delaney said the half backline showed poor awareness in not trying to play deeper and try to obstruct the volume of ball going into the full back line. There must be huge temptation to play David Mc at 6, but Tipp is the worst team to play as we probably need him on Callinan. Dillon might be set for a start somewhere, but he was roasted against Tipp in August. I think the management will pick PoC, Dmac, Seadna, McCarthy, Cleary and Fitz, but they will be up against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Reg_hurley

why were the camera's on him?
    did they plan this and lots of people were expecting him to do it?

That's embarassing, if this happened under Davy we'd be up in arms about another stunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭eigrod

Reg_hurley wrote: »
    why were the camera's on him?
    did they plan this and lots of people were expecting him to do it?

Looks like it because at least 2 people in the crowd were expecting him to do something.

What's worse is that they lost the game and hit a ridiculous amount of wides with the sliotars that were used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Reg_hurley

eigrod wrote: »
    Looks like it because at least 2 people in the crowd were expecting him to do something.

What's worse is that they lost the game and hit a ridiculous amount of wides with the sliotars that were used.

I kind of want to go back now and see does he do something similar before other games.
    Anyway, the joint managers are distancing themselves from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭eigrod

I wonder will the Gardaí get involved ? If I went in to Elverys and got caught on CCTV stealing 2 dozen sliotars, I would expect a tap on the shoulder from the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Is RTE showing the Clare game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Clareman wrote: »
    I was going by the capital of each county, if you want to go by the furthest town Roscrea is 1 hour 47 minutes away and Ballyvaughan is 2 hours 30, if you want to go by county champions Thurles is 1 hour 18 minutes away and Ballyea is 2 hours 2 minutes, if you want to go by closest points Clare is 1 hour 39, Tipp is 49 minutes.

No I would use logic and use the town closest to where the actual people travelling to the game will be going from, obviously it suited your argument better to use a town closer to Cork.

And as for categorising Ballyvaughan as a town, now you are taking the complete piss!!

Warper wrote: »
    Is RTE showing the Clare game

Yes, that's the reason for the 3pm start, football on SKY at 5pm and 7pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭jackrussel

danganabu wrote: »
    Been a little misleading by referring to Clonmel there Clareman, the vast vast majority of Tipp hurling fans are from the North and Mid Divisions of the county, the drive time from Nenagh is 2 hours.

how do you make out the "vast majoirty" of tipp hurling fans are from north tipp? if youre basing it on the fact that north tipp is hurling and the south is football - well the you couldnt be more wrong.

anyway - this is the clare thread so probably not the best place for a tipp discussion

jackrussel wrote: »
    how do you make out the "vast majoirty" of tipp hurling fans are from north tipp? if youre basing it on the fact that north tipp is hurling and the south is football - well the you couldnt be more wrong.

anyway - this is the clare thread so probably not the best place for a tipp discussion

Right ok :rolleyes:

Was 2003 the last time the Clare senior played in PUC? I have flashbacks of going there a couple of times in the late 90's/early 00's. Seemingly, against Tipperary every time too.

letowski wrote: »
    Was 2003 the last time the Clare senior played in PUC? I have flashbacks of going there a couple of times in the late 90's/early 00's. Seemingly, against Tipperary every time too.

It was an annual pilgrimage at one stage alright and the vast majority of times it was ye who came out on top :mad: it always seemed to be an absolute scorcher of a day as well, got more scaldings on the terrace's in that dump that I care to remember.

The old Gaelic Grounds wouldn't have been able for it but it's fine now, it's just because of a deal done with Cork GAA that the Clare Tipp game is being played in Cork, I'd imagine it would suit everyone to play it in Limerick

It was an annual pilgrimage at one stage alright and the vast majority of times it was ye who came out on top :mad: it always seemed to be an absolute scorcher of a day as well, got more scaldings on the terrace's in that dump that I care to remember.

We used to make a weekend of it for matches, traffic was that bad, I think it was 5 hours home after the '97 final but we didn't care. Standing on the terrace chanting "You'll never beat the banner" after the '98 drawn game was special.

I was just commenting to my usual match day companion that it was a real sign of how much we have aged since those days, used to love the weekend in Cork, wedged into Reardon's on the Saturday night and then ringing work on the Monday morning to explain how you were still in Cork...again!

Now it's like a chore and the thoughts of the traffic and the walking :D

I was just commenting to my usual match day companion that it was a real sign of how much we have aged since those days, used to love the weekend in Cork, wedged into Reardon's on the Saturday night and then ringing work on the Monday morning to explain how you were still in Cork...again!

Now it's like a chore and the thoughts of the traffic and the walking :D

The thoughts of being on a terrace gives me a pain in my back now :pac:

While I'm waiting for my dinner to cook, I decided to throw up those matches. Clare played Tipperary in PUC for 5 years straight from 1999 to 2003. Played 6, won 2, drew 1 and lost 3.

6 June 1999
    Semi-final
    Clare 2-12 – 0-18 Tipperary
    J. O'Connor 1-2 (0-2 frees); D. Fitzgerald 1-0 penalty; D. Forde 0-3; N. Gilligan 0-2; A. Markham, S. McMahon, C. Lynch, B. Murphy and C. Clancy 0-1 each.
    T. Dunne 0-7 (0-3 frees, 0-2 7 seventies); L. Cahill 0-3; P. Shelley 0-2; J. Leahy, E. Enright, B. O'Meara, E. Tucker, D. Ryan and P. Kelly 0-1 each.
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Referee: D. Murphy (Wexford).

12 June 1999
    Semi-final Replay
    Clare 1-21 – 1-11 Tipperary
    A. Markham 1-3; S. McMahon 0-6 (0-5 frees); C. Lynch 0-4; B. Murphy 0-3; D. Forde 0-2 frees; J. O'Connor (free), O. Baker and E. Flannery 0-1 each.
    T. Dunne 0-10 (0-9 from frees); D. Ryan 1-0 free; E. Enright 0-1.
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Referee: D. Murphy (Wexford).

11 June 2000
    Semi-final
    Tipperary 2-19 – 1-14 Clare
    E O'Neill (0-7), D Ryan (1-1), P Shelly (1-0), J Leahy (0-3), B O'Meara (0-3), M O'Leary (0-3), T Dunne (0-1), P O'Brien (0-1).
    D Forde (1-1), J O'Connor (0-3), N Gilligan (0-2), S McMahon (0-2), G Quinn (0-1), B Quinn (0-1), A Daly (0-1), E Flannery (0-1), K Ralph (0-1), B Murphy (0-1).
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh
    Referee: P O'Connor (Limerick)

June 3 2001
    Semi-Final
    Tipperary 0-15 – 0-14 Clare
    E. Kelly (0-7), E. Enright (0-2), T. Dunne (0-2), B. O'Meara (0-1), L. Corbett (0-1), D. Ryan (0-1), P. Kelly (0-1).
    J. O'Connor (0-7), D. Forde (0-4), S. McMahon (0-3).
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Attendance: 42,063
    Referee: D. Murphy (Wexford)

May 19 2002
    Quarter-Final
    Tipperary 1-18 - 2-13 Clare
    E. Kelly (1-8), C. Gleeson (0-2), N. Morris (0-2), T. Dunne (0-2), B. O'Meara (0-1), J. O'Brien (0-1), E. O'Neill (0-1), B. Dunne (0-1).
    D. Forde (2-0), T. Griffin (0-6), J. Reddan (0-3), J. O'Connor (0-2), T. Carmody (0-1), N. Gilligan (0-1).
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Referee: M. Healy (Cork)

May 18 2003
    Quarter-final
    Clare 2-17 - 0-14 Tipperary
    N. Gilligan 0-6 (0-3 frees); A. Quinn 1-2; J. O'Connor 1-1; C. Lynch 0-2; A. Markham 0-2; T. Carmody, T. Griffin, D. McMahon, S. McMahon (free), 0-1 each
    E. Kelly 0-7 (0-4 frees); B. O'Meara 0-3; T. Dunne, C. Gleeson, L. Cahill, J. Carroll, 0-1 each
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Referee: A. Mac Suibhne (Dublin)

I only got the attendance for the 2001 game, but like in all fairness, if there is half that crowd there on Sunday, I'd be shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

You left out the greatest day. 1997 Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭blue note

If the match was on in Limerick it'd be the same distance for Tipperary supporters to travel (a lot closer for north of the county) and it'd be a lot closer for Clare supporters, the place would be a sell out and Pairc Ui Franc would still have a full house the next day, but no the corruption of the GAA means that supporters are just a secondary thought and back alley deals take priority so supporters will be expected to haul down

Hey now, don't be trying to make out that it's okay to put Wexford and Waterford into PuC either! The traffic going through Waterford is going to be insane. I can't imagine the bottlenecks on the way down. And getting parking and in and out of Cork city with Saturday traffic to contend with will be an absolute nightmare.

The GAA are showing utter contempt to the fans of the participating counties to be putting it in Cork. A double header in Croker would have been my preference - you'd have had 70,000 there for it, everyone would get two good games and it's easier to get to than Cork, even for Clare I reckon. But if you're going to split the matches, Limerick and Thurles were the obvious venues for the games. Let Ed Sheeran have PuC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Couldn't be in Croke Park because of the U2 concert.

Most sporting organisations would have asked the TV companies when they would like to have the matches on, then asked which match they wanted at which time and then fixed the games, if a ground wasn't big enough then have it in 2 grounds. Clare and Tipp in Limerick, Waterford and Wexford in Thurles would suit everyone involved, but no, the GAA has to bow to internal politics and deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Looks like we'll have to watch our balls versus Clare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

Been to six of the eight, league and championship, matches so far this year. The low attendances have been a bit disappointing, the questionable tactics have been worrying but the bloody silotar stealing takes the biscuit.

It's stupid pointless (excuse the pun) nonsense, pure and simple.

Man sitting beside me at minor match on Sunday kept saying our performance was embarassing. I'm never embarrassed by honest efforts of our teams, even if we get a whipping, but I'm actually mortified by this schoolboy stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Most sporting organisations would have asked the TV companies when they would like to have the matches on, then asked which match they wanted at which time and then fixed the games, if a ground wasn't big enough then have it in 2 grounds. Clare and Tipp in Limerick, Waterford and Wexford in Thurles would suit everyone involved, but no, the GAA has to bow to internal politics and deals.

If it's internal deals how can the GAA bow to itself?!