Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eir rural FTTH thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

9726_9726 wrote: »
    Cool. Let us know how you get on. Mikrotik would be the one I'd be interested in. Is it the same as FTTC where you just use vlan-id=10 and DHCP client? On FTTC this works for dynamic IP but not static.

MikroTik was easy enough to setup, just add a VLAN 10 and attach it to the gateway inferface + DHCP client on the VLAN 10.

With regards to fixed IP on FTTC, would setting the VLAN with the static IP not be the solution, I have my MikroTik on my second internet connection and that uses static and that is how I did it, albeit on the eth0 rather than VLAN 10 interface...

The Tik didn't do as good as the EdgeRouter X SFP on WAN speeds though not far off but about 3-8 Mbits less, mine is a Gigabit WAN Tik so it isn't an issue there.

Let us know here or in PM how you got on with the static on FTTC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

With Eir (Retail) IPoE pulls a dynamic from the local aggregator while if you have a static it requires a PPPoE call to the RAS as that does a lookup against your profile to find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Tweaky

Just had FTTH installed this morning. The two KN guys that came to do it were the soundest guys you could meet. The fact that i knew what the rules that they have to work under was a huge help. My only concern was that there was 110m of a duct to the pole and it wasnt roped - no problem to the two lads - out the rods and pushed the full 110m in a few minutes. Brought the cable from the pole to the ETU and then along the wall outside my house and in through an external wall into the house next to two sockets.
    The only delay was having to get a hoist to help connect to the DP which was on an old pole which really needs replacing.
    Chatting to them they said that they can no longer do attic installs and can only go 1m into a house. They will try and be as flexible as possible but their hands are tied.
    Went for the 150mb and am getting 144 down and 29 up so well pleased with result.
    http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6406930218.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭pg17

I’m trying to envisage what equipment is needed for FTTH and a “landline” in a house which is being built at present – walls just built, roof starting today and ducting and first fix electrics starting in about 2 weeks’ time.

From what I read, I would have
    • a fibre cable from the pole to the house with an ODP (Optical Distribution Point from Open eir), ONT ((Optical Network Terminal from Open eir)
      and router (F2000 from eir)
    • a separate copper connection from the pole to the house with a traditional RJ11 master socket for the phone.

The ODP is passive and does not need power – the ONT requires power and uses an Ethernet cable to connect to the Router.

Images originally posted by The Cush, ECO_Mental and possibly others.

n2yixd.jpg

2upelo5.jpg

j9tr1u.jpg

2nlwl5w.jpg

For another photo of an actual installation CLICK HERE

I have several questions:

Is this how it would be configured ? I plan to put all the above in a services room and pre-install Cat-6 cable to other rooms for WiFi access points and other devices connecting directly to the router.

With FTTH, does eir provide VOIP as an alternative to the traditional phone on landline copper?

I envisage installing a duct from the pole at the roadside to the outside of the building and continuing the duct to the planned position for the ODP, ONT and F2000 router and RJ11 outlets in the services room – a single duct would carry the fibre and traditional copper (2 pairs) – what is the minimum bend radius for the duct/fibre. What is a typical diameter for such a duct ?

The pole is located on the road at the far boundary of the neighbouring house – there is no problem digging a trench on the (rural) road – is this what Open eir would expect or would they use an overhead line to a high point on the house (I would prefer underground).

Anybody like to post a photo of a recent installation ?

Thanks in advance for all comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Copy pasting posts is frowned upon on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭pg17

ED E wrote: »
    Copy pasting posts is frowned upon on boards.

Ed E - I posted on the other thread by mistake - I actually intended my post for this thread which is more appropriate and was about to delete the original when I say you had already replied and opted to leave both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,049 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

pg17 wrote: »
    With FTTH, does eir provide VOIP as an alternative to the traditional phone on landline copper?

I envisage installing a duct from the pole at the roadside to the outside of the building and continuing the duct to the planned position for the ODP, ONT and F2000 router and RJ11 outlets in the services room – a single duct would carry the fibre and traditional copper (2 pairs) – what is the minimum bend radius for the duct/fibre. What is a typical diameter for such a duct ?

eir are launching their VoBB service in the coming months so no need for a copper connection - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057709177&page=2.

A 32 or 37mm thick walled polyethylene or 50mm PVC is recommended for the duct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭snowstreams

The Cush wrote: »
    eir are launching their VoBB service in the coming months so no need for a copper connection - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057709177&page=2.

A 32 or 37mm thick walled polyethylene or 50mm PVC is recommended for the duct

I am getting my install this week (fingers crossed) and I was told by the salesman that a voip phone will be included in my package!

So it looks like I will have a wait of a few months before I get the phone.

I have a duct going from my house to the eircom manhole on the road. I just have a nylon rope in it.
    Its a standard width for ducts, same as ESB duct, so about 30mm internal diameter i would say.

EDIT: Its probably 32mm - 37mm as Cush states. The KN guy was happy with it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

MikroTik was easy enough to setup, just add a VLAN 10 and attach it to the gateway inferface + DHCP client on the VLAN 10.

With regards to fixed IP on FTTC, would setting the VLAN with the static IP not be the solution, I have my MikroTik on my second internet connection and that uses static and that is how I did it, albeit on the eth0 rather than VLAN 10 interface...

The Tik didn't do as good as the EdgeRouter X SFP on WAN speeds though not far off but about 3-8 Mbits less, mine is a Gigabit WAN Tik so it isn't an issue there.

Let us know here or in PM how you got on with the static on FTTC

Which Mikrotik?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

Gwynston wrote: »
    I sent openeir my eircode and they replied "the current forecast date suggests that your area should be connected to the fibre network by the end of September 2017". So not quite the news I was hoping for, but at least may area is still on their radar and they will hopefully get around to finishing the remainder of Claregalway.
    So when I left for work this morning I encountered a KN crew and their vans on our stretch of road (but was in too much of a rush to stop and interrogate them). Came home this evening to the glorious site of a splice box on the pole outside our house! :)

So how long do I have to wait before I can start badgering Eir for an install? My exchange area is already live in some parts, so I guess there's no month-long competition delay in force?

As there's no way for me to know a prospective live date for my specific part of the exchange, can anyone give me a clue as to how long I might need to wait from having a splice box to it showing up on the system as live and connectable?

Or is the "by end of September" date I was told in an OpenEir email last week realistic? (I was hoping that was a kind of catch-all date for the entire remainder of the exchange)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

If a package is X for the first 12 months, and Y for the remaining 6 months on an 18 month contract, after these 18 months you continue to pay the higher Y price every month for the next 18 months, is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭long_b

Aspiring wrote: »
    If a package is X for the first 12 months, and Y for the remaining 6 months on an 18 month contract, after these 18 months you continue to pay the higher Y price every month for the next 18 months, is that correct?

Yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Aspiring wrote: »

Not necessarily. Yes you'd continue to pay the higher Y after the initial 18 months but you wouldn't automatically start another 18 month contract. It would be a 30 day rolling contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2057756687

Proceed with caution.

A month after ordering and a month after the 'live date' I still don't have any broadband and they are charging me even more than the bundle price. Been told lies numerous times as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭sesswhat

They have been installing around Ballybofey in Donegal today, including past my house 2km south of the town.

I finally got connected yesterday with the 150mb package.

It was pretty good at first, I was getting 144mb/s and a 6ms latency but this morning the wifi signal keeps dropping!
    So this is why I heard the F2000 is a bad modem.

I've about 20m of cat5e cable going from the ONT downstairs to the modem upstairs.
    Is 6ms a reasonable ping to expect over a wired connection, or could my cat5e cable going upstairs be dodgy?

420985.JPG

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I finally got connected yesterday with the 150mb package.

It was pretty good at first, I was getting 144mb/s and a 6ms latency but this morning the wifi signal keeps dropping!
    So this is why I heard the F2000 is a bad modem.

I've about 20m of cat5e cable going from the ONT downstairs to the modem upstairs.
    Is 6ms a reasonable ping to expect over a wired connection, or could my cat5e cable going upstairs be dodgy?

420985.JPG

yeah the F2000 is very poor for wifi. I have had nothing but headaches with it and so have my neighbours. There does not seem to be a fix for the issues either unless the manufacturers fix it with an update.

A 6ms ping wired is grand, ping can vary depending on what speedtest server you choose. FTTH and FTTC wired should give pings of less than 10ms generally from Irish servers.

Thanks Gonzo, its good to hear that my wiring is probably working fine so.
    I want to make sure Im getting the best out of my new fiber!

I'll try using my old dlink 4g modem as a wireless access point so and see how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Pangea

When my installer came he mentioned the one metre rule, I said I wanted it in my room which is centre of the house. The line comes in from the pole to the gable so he said he couldn't bring it around the corner to my room because it would result in a loss of signal, he said when u bend fibre it shoots away in that direction. So he mentioned about bringing it through the attic, it was the easiest way. Unfortunately we couldn't go ahead with install because of outside ug duct being too small. I just hope I get same installer next time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭oleras

Lots of activity down my road the last 2 weeks. Down the church road, outside Patrickswell.

Proper manholes have been fitted every couple of hundred meters and they started to mark the poles also.

IMG_20170628_185944[1].jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

got mine installed tuesday finally after 4 months of waiting/calling/giving out.......... aaaaaaaaaaand its gone tonight :D you couldnt write this crap haha i even had a phone call at 5pm to ask if it had been installed and was working ok, it was at that time and about an hour later no more internet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭plodder

I see Imagine are advertising around our area, obviously trying to sign people up before the fibre arrives. I wonder why Open/eir don't advertise in the same way...

plodder wrote: »
    I see Imagine are advertising around our area, obviously trying to sign people up before the fibre arrives. I wonder why Open/eir don't advertise in the same way...

Eir did advertise near me about a month before going live.
    But some disgruntled person went around crumpling up all the eir advertisements!
    Funnily enough the Imagine adverts were untouched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

oleras wrote: »
    Lots of activity down my road the last 2 weeks. Down the church road, outside Patrickswell.

Proper manholes have been fitted every couple of hundred meters and they started to mark the poles also.

IMG_20170628_185944[1].jpg

Wow you're only seeing action now? It was scheduled to be finished in Patrickswell by Q2 '17 - they have another day to meet that deadline - LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭plodder

Eir did advertise near me about a month before going live.
    But some disgruntled person went around crumpling up all the eir advertisements!
    Funnily enough the Imagine adverts were untouched.
    Imagine that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭ACLFC7

damienirel wrote: »
    Wow you're only seeing action now? It was scheduled to be finished in Patrickswell by Q2 '17 - they have another day to meet that deadline - LOL.
    Isn't the scheduled date just for the first connections. They'd only have to pass one house to meet their goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

ACLFC7 wrote: »
    Isn't the scheduled date just for the first connections. They'd only have to pass one house to meet their goal.

no they have to pass all marked houses to meet their goal - but they needn't connect any!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

our area never had any advertising from Eir about FTTH. Imagine became available in our area the week that FTTH went live, thankfully Imagine didn't advertise their service in our area, they probably knew it would be a waste of time with everyone jumping on the FTTH lightspeed train very quickly.

Even if FTTH was another year away I would still stick with the 8meg ADSL over Imagine, I couldn't live with that 20gig per 24 hours cap and no ability to download games without being trottled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭darkside71

Who did you message in Open Eir? I sent an email just inquiring about possible connection time for my home. I got an email back to say contact your service provider to address your query, and something about "a breach of regulatory compliance" to talk to me. :eek:
    rob808 wrote: »
    I sent open eir a message they said I should be connected by end of December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

darkside71 wrote: »
    Who did you message in Open Eir? I sent an email just inquiring about possible connection time for my home. I got an email back to say contact your service provider to address your query, and something about "a breach of regulatory compliance" to talk to me. :eek:

OpenEir don't deal with the public, they are the network owners not a provider.