Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

If Mayweather's team have put it in the contract that Conor cannot kick (seems silly given the rules of boxing already have it covered) then perhaps they have also put a clause in preventing Conor from talking about the domestic violence. We'll see in time I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If Mayweather's team have put it in the contract that Conor cannot kick (seems silly given the rules of boxing already have it covered)...
    I think you've missed the entire point of it being included in the contract.
    It's against the rules regardless of being in the contract. But breaking the rules like that doesn't mean he loses his entire purse. But he will know it's a contractural clause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

If Mayweather's team have put it in the contract that Conor cannot kick (seems silly given the rules of boxing already have it covered) then perhaps they have also put a clause in preventing Conor from talking about the domestic violence. We'll see in time I guess.

Any possible clause with regards McGregor using anything but his fists would relate to the money to ensure he doesn't get tempted to do it in round 11/12 after being dominated, it's already part of the rules of boxing with regards the bout

Wonder if he feints a kick what would happen though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,032 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Wonder if he feints a kick what would happen though

Mayweather shíts himself?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Mellor wrote: »
    I think you've missed the entire point of it being included in the contract.
    It's against the rules regardless of being in the contract. But breaking the rules like that doesn't mean he loses his entire purse. But he will know it's a contractural clause.
    No I didn't miss the point, I think the point is silly.

Kicking etc is against the rules of boxing. That should be enough.

When have you ever heard of a fight contract mentioning things that are already covered in the rules? Especially when he guy doesn't have a history of fighting dirty?

Ive never heard of anyone in boxing putting it in the contract that their opponent needs to stop fighting at the end of each round. Or their opponent can't punch them in the nuts. There's no need for it.

My point being if the Mayweather camp are going to these unnecessary lengths then they may have gone over every detail of the promotion also, banning discussion of various things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Kicking etc is against the rules of boxing. That should be enough.

When have you ever heard of a fight contract mentioning things that are already covered in the rules? Especially when he guy doesn't have a history of fighting dirty?

The difference here is not many elite level boxers are capable of wheel kicking their opponent in the face in the blink of an eye. Conor obviously is.

I don't think it's unusual for Floyd's team to include potential purse forfeiture's in the contract.

Now, what I think we *could* see (potentially) is just before the fight starts, maybe the camera pans to Conor backstage throwing a few capoeira kicks to "warm up" just to psychologically mess with Floyd's head.

It's one thing not being allowed to throw the kick. It's completely another thing to have your opponent tentative/apprehensive about a kick coming.

Put it this way - I think it's in Conor's best interests to go Full Aldo in the next 2 months. If Floyd steps into that ring thinking Conor is a crazy bastard who might just say "sod it" and kick his face off, that can only help Conor in that fight.

Put that seed of doubt into his head. 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I think Conor would be better served preparing for a boxing contest with boxing rules. If Floyd getting kicked in the head means he gets millions out of McGregor's purse, he won't be all that worried about it. There's no reason for Floyd to fear a kick or Conor to even make him think he's going to throw one, it's utterly irrelevant. I do hope you're joking here wonder. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Now, what I think we *could* see (potentially) is just before the fight starts, maybe the camera pans to Conor backstage throwing a few capoeira kicks to "warm up" just to psychologically mess with Floyd's head.

I'm sure he'll be awfully worried by it.

martyos121 wrote: »
    I think Conor would be better served preparing for a boxing contest with boxing rules. If Floyd getting kicked in the head means he gets millions out of McGregor's purse, he won't be all that worried about it. There's no reason for Floyd to fear a kick or Conor to even make him think he's going to throw one, it's utterly irrelevant. I do hope you're joking here wonder. :D

I'm really not joking.

If I was Conor I wouldn't release one minute of boxing sparring footage on his social media for the next 2 months but I'd release plenty of kickboxing sparring footage, where he's throwing a right hook, left high kick combo.

Jose Aldo legitimately thought Conor was off his trolley, like genuinely one banana short of the whole bunch.

If Conor succeeded in making Floyd think likewise, that he's a fruitcake, planting any doubt in his mind would have to be a positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

I'm really not joking.

If I was Conor I wouldn't release one minute of boxing sparring footage on his social media for the next 2 months but I'd release plenty of kickboxing sparring footage, where he's throwing a right hook, left high kick combo.

A punch after the fight has ended,has resulted in some boxers being charged for assault etc, I'd imagine doubly so for kicking someone in the head

I'm really not joking.

Jose Aldo legitimately thought Conor was off his trolley, like genuinely one banana short of the whole bunch.

If Conor succeeded in making Floyd think likewise, that he's a fruitcake, planting any doubt in his mind would have to be a positive.

I really can't make sense of your points at all. Mayweather is not afraid of getting kicked in the head by Conor McGregor, if anything he's actively encouraging it by inserting that clause in the contract. It's not in there because he's fearful of his health, it's a chance to make another few million if McGregor loses his discipline. Floyd didn't get to 49-0 without being mentally rock solid, Conor isn't going to get into his head by releasing a kickboxing montage.

I know you're trying to find positives for Conor in this fight but you have your work cut out for you because this argument and the one about McGregor bringing up the domestic violence incident don't have an awful lot to back them up to be fair. Floyd has seen and heard it all before, there's very little if anything that Conor can throw at him pre-fight that might affect the outcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I really can't make sense of your points at all. Mayweather is not afraid of getting kicked in the head by Conor McGregor, if anything he's actively encouraging it by inserting that clause in the contract. It's not in there because he's fearful of his health, it's a chance to make another few million if McGregor loses his discipline. Floyd didn't get to 49-0 without being mentally rock solid, Conor isn't going to get into his head by releasing a kickboxing montage.

I know you're trying to find positives for Conor in this fight but you have your work cut out for you because this argument and the one about McGregor bringing up the domestic violence incident don't have an awful lot to back them up to be fair. Floyd has seen and heard it all before, there's very little if anything that Conor can throw at him pre-fight that might affect the outcome.

Im not comparing Alvarez Poirier or Aldo in anyway to Floyd but they had a lot of experience in fighting and pre fight stuff and the 3 of them got mentally raped by McGregor, I was never into armchair psychology tbh but its clear them 3 were beaten mentally pre fight you're underestimating his mental warfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Gamebred wrote: »
    Im not comparing Alvarez Poirier or Aldo in anyway to Floyd but they had a lot of experience in fighting and pre fight stuff and the 3 of them got mentally raped by McGregor, I was never into armchair psychology tbh but its clear them 3 were beaten mentally pre fight you're underestimating his mental warfare.

......49-0

Been hit by much better and stronger boxers, has hundreds of millions more than mcgreggor, its a boxing match, the one guy who could proper box in ufc is nate and he slapped him around the first match, where is floyd worried.

The sheer insanity of this fight and people thinking mcg will mess with floyds mind is staggering

......49-0

Been hit by much better and stronger boxers, has hundreds of millions more than mcgreggor, its a boxing match, the one guy who could proper box in ufc is nate and he slapped him around the first match, where is floyd worried.

The sheer insanity of this fight and people thinking mcg will mess with floyds mind is staggering

Aldo was 25-1 bullet proof mentally didnt stop him getting wound up, insanity thinking Conor can win I agree but insane to think he will wind him up and maybe get a reaction during the fight isnt far fetched to me, the figures in the bank are irrelevant when your dealing with someone trying to ko you no matter who ya are.

I'm not underestimating it, believe me, I've waxed lyrical about it in the past and he's as good as anyone in that area. I think some are underestimating Floyd's mental toughness though, you just don't get to where he's at without separating emotion from action on fight night, Conor might dig away at him in the next couple of months but others have too and Floyd still looked as composed as ever in the ring. It's possible that he might come out more aggressive if Conor hits a nerve in the buildup, but even in that case I can't see him leaving himself open enough to get clipped. At the end of the day he's just too damn good and he'd need to mentally implode to give Conor the slightest chance.

If I'm fighting you and we're getting paid 50 quid each, and you're told pre-fight if I kick you in the head that you get 40 of my money, then you won't be worried about me kicking you, right?

But you're still a human being and if you think I'm a fruitcake who in the heat of the moment might be crazy enough to lose my mind and do it, then you're going to react if I lift my left leg into the air. I might only be taking a wide step but instinctively you'd react.

I don't see why it's a controversial opinion for Conor to TRY mess with Floyds head. It might not work but he can sure as hell try.

People who completely dismiss the mental warfare are just as silly as the armchair psychologists who believe the fight can be 100% won before the fight even happens. I cringe when people say Conor had Jose beat before the fight. No, he still had to land that left hand.

There's no doubt in my mind Conor's antics badly shook Dustin and Jose. Eddie is an arguable. If he can do it to Floyd (by any means), then great. If he can't, then nothing changes.

Maybe this is a better way of putting it - I don't think there's any point in releasing boxing sparring footage for Floyd to look at. He'd be as well releasing footage of him watching Peppa Pig with Conor Jr.

Give Floyd completely nothing to look at, no mits, no pads, no sparring.

The ONLY truly unique thing Conor has going for him is that he'll be Floyd's first opponent in nearly 20 years where there is literally no fight tape to study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I don't think Floyd is going to fear for one second a kick. He's not an idiot, he knows Conor is an honourable person and that will never change. Everyone knows that about him, its not within Conor's universe to disrespect an opponent. Conor won't put his character on the line for anything like that. It would be a waste of time pretending he would.

Mayweather is everything Conor dreams of being (bar the domestic stuff), brash mega rich juggurnaut with an extraordinary lifestyle, I'd guess he really looks up to Floyd and any animosity will be acting pre fight to sell us the ppv, zero real bad blood here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Mayweather is everything Conor dreams of being (bar the domestic stuff), brash mega rich juggurnaut with an extraordinary lifestyle, I'd guess he really looks up to Floyd and any animosity will be acting pre fight to sell us the ppv, zero real bad blood here.

Even his trash talking is clearly influenced By Floyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

I have no doubt that behind it all Conor considers Floyd 'a don'. I don't think he'll be looking to burn any bridges with Mayweather in the build up to this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Inviere

......49-0

Agree with everything there except your Diaz point, in their rematch McGregors boxing was light years ahead of Diaz. Still see this as nothing short of a circus fight though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭markc91

Any word on whether there will be a press conference soon or will it not be til fight week that we see them face off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

markc91 wrote: »
    Any word on whether there will be a press conference soon or will it not be til fight week that we see them face off?

No word yet but I'd be very surprised if they didn't get on it soon, fight sells either way but they'd be throwing ppv buys away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

A lad I know said similar the other day. "If McGregor is just being hammered by the 10th round just throw a spinning kick and knock him out. Why not, nothing to lose at that stage."

Eh just the 100 million he's being paid.
    Have the police waiting outside to lock him up on assault charges.
    And never get a license for any kind of combat fight ever again.
    That's all he's got to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

It's pretty easy to draw a straight line between people who say "lol wouldn't it be hilarious if he kicked him in the face" and people who happen to be complete ****ing morons.

It would never happen in a million years, even without contractual clauses, but it is (allegedly) a boxing match. A contest. If McGregor was to throw a kick, it wouldn't be funny or hilarious or "loltastic" for the Instagram lads, it would be one of the scummiest acts ever committed in a sporting pursuit then would be widely and rightfully condemned by anyone with even the slightest bit of decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

markc91 wrote: »

I'd expect one in London rather than dublin for the Euro press and access - they'll be targetting big buys over here. And a US one as well. Live Streams

GGG, Canelo and Oscar are in London tomoro to announce BT Sport PPV for their fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭JJayoo

All this talk of Connor kicking Floyd lol, what exactly do you think would happen after he kicks floyd? Have about ten 7 foot 400 pound guys stamp your face into dust.

Tyron Woodley on his podcast:

"Conor McGregor is a straight boss. 4 years in the UFC and you can't talk about boxing or MMA without mentioning the name Conor McGregor. The only realistic fight for him in the UFC after this is GSP but we all know GSP is blowing smoke up everyones ass. You can't have nothing but respect for how he has transformed our sport."

Fair play.