Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Demforeigners

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Very topical Hanley actually wrote a blog post for you today:

"I don't know how to start this email to you.

You might remember a while back I went on a bit of a rant about the fitfam and said that sometimes I get so annoyed and frustrated the words just get choked in my throat and I cant adequately express myself.

Well it's happening again.

See I got to talk about the whole "make up in the gym" thing with someone recently.

And honestly - it does my head in.

It does my head in that ladies have ANOTHER barrier to overcome in the gym.

In the last week I've met 3 new women RevFit members who were quite nervous about starting (...and a few more who weren't, for the record).

3 women who broke out of their comfort zone to try something new, and who shut up the mean girl voice in their head that said "you can't" and gave it a go.

If you're a seasoned gym rat, that might not seem like a big deal. But for some people joining a gym is as a terrifying as being asked to stand up on stage and sing in front of a group of hostile strangers.

It's scary, man.

Could you imagine how **** it would be if I then had the audacity to tell them what they can or can't wear to my gym?

Whether it's "right" or "wrong" let's just all be adults and admit that a lot of women rely on make up and clothes to feel good about themselves, just like a lot of guys rely on muscles or fancy cars to feel good about THEMselves.

In a perfect world, we wouldn't need the external support. But in case you haven't noticed - this world isn't perfect.

So how about this - next time, before you make a smart comment about how caked someone is in the gym, or what clothes they're wearing... shut the **** up and show some empathy.

Think about how exposed she might be feeling.

Show some compassion.

...that doesn't mean go up and give her a sweaty hug by the way. It just means don't be a judgmental dick.

And yes - I know what you're thinking "but some girls DO do it for the attention". Absolutely. I 100% agree with you.

Truthfully, it wrecks my head because those same girls tend to be just as insecure, but because they're further along their fitness journey and have a large following, they become "influencers" and eventually online coaches (who couldn't superset scratching their head and rubbing their belly at the same time) but since they look the part, dupe other people into believing their bull****.

**deep breath James...**

Moving swiftly on.

The whole wearing skimpy clothes and make up to the gym isn't that different to the way as some girls wear greyhounds and giant heels on nights out.

But really, since it's not actually effecting you, how about you...

...shut the **** up and get on with your life."

Stalking me now eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

He pretty much nails what I was thinking earlier. It's their choice, if they're more comfortable, so what?

Oh and, Hi James!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Stalking me now eh?

Nah that's too much effort and I'm not interested at all, I'm actually a regular visitor to the fitness thread.

So lads wearing hats, tank tops, matching outfits etc = free reign to slag all you want

Makeup= STFU you evil monster!

Gotcha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

So lads wearing hats, tank tops, matching outfits etc = free reign to slag all you want

Makeup= STFU you evil monster!

Gotcha.

Mostly, we've been making fun of people who are giving out about hats, hoodies etc. Running joke...

James makes a good point though. Never thought about the whole insecurity thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

James makes a good point though. Never thought about the whole insecurity thing.

This is the Internet you're not allowed back down. We're meant to fight to the death. What is happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Not annoying just saying why bother going to that effort only to look like you've been shot in the face with homer simpsons makeup gun.

Very topical Hanley actually wrote a blog post for you today:

"I don't know how to start this email to you.

You might remember a while back I went on a bit of a rant about the fitfam and said that sometimes I get so annoyed and frustrated the words just get choked in my throat and I cant adequately express myself.

Well it's happening again.

See I got to talk about the whole "make up in the gym" thing with someone recently.

And honestly - it does my head in.

It does my head in that ladies have ANOTHER barrier to overcome in the gym.

In the last week I've met 3 new women RevFit members who were quite nervous about starting (...and a few more who weren't, for the record).

3 women who broke out of their comfort zone to try something new, and who shut up the mean girl voice in their head that said "you can't" and gave it a go.

If you're a seasoned gym rat, that might not seem like a big deal. But for some people joining a gym is as a terrifying as being asked to stand up on stage and sing in front of a group of hostile strangers.

It's scary, man.

Could you imagine how **** it would be if I then had the audacity to tell them what they can or can't wear to my gym?

Whether it's "right" or "wrong" let's just all be adults and admit that a lot of women rely on make up and clothes to feel good about themselves, just like a lot of guys rely on muscles or fancy cars to feel good about THEMselves.

In a perfect world, we wouldn't need the external support. But in case you haven't noticed - this world isn't perfect.

So how about this - next time, before you make a smart comment about how caked someone is in the gym, or what clothes they're wearing... shut the **** up and show some empathy.

Think about how exposed she might be feeling.

Show some compassion.

...that doesn't mean go up and give her a sweaty hug by the way. It just means don't be a judgmental dick.

And yes - I know what you're thinking "but some girls DO do it for the attention". Absolutely. I 100% agree with you.

Truthfully, it wrecks my head because those same girls tend to be just as insecure, but because they're further along their fitness journey and have a large following, they become "influencers" and eventually online coaches (who couldn't superset scratching their head and rubbing their belly at the same time) but since they look the part, dupe other people into believing their bull****.

**deep breath James...**

Moving swiftly on.

The whole wearing skimpy clothes and make up to the gym isn't that different to the way as some girls wear greyhounds and giant heels on nights out.

But really, since it's not actually effecting you, how about you...

...shut the **** up and get on with your life."
    as a girl whos been fat shamed and has worn make up in the gym AND even worn a matching outfit (oh the horror) thanks for posting (and to James for writing)
    i never put make up on to go to the gym but there have been times when ive gone straight from work and had it on (surprisingly it doesn't just rub off ya know lads) and ya know sweating and stuff causes big black smudges under my eyes... its never fun but im at the gym to get my calories burnt to lift heavy **** and go home, looking and judging other people is for sitting in the cafe of Brown Thomas on a Saturday over your smug **** tasting 6 euro coffee

as a girl whos been fat shamed and has worn make up in the gym AND even worn a matching outfit (oh the horror) thanks for posting (and to James for writing)
    i never put make up on to go to the gym but there have been times when ive gone straight from work and had it on (surprisingly it doesn't just rub off ya know lads) and ya know sweating and stuff causes big black smudges under my eyes... its never fun but im at the gym to get my calories burnt to lift heavy **** and go home, looking and judging other people is for sitting in the cafe of Brown Thomas on a Saturday over your smug **** tasting 6 euro coffee

Haha yeah I will. Nice coffee in Brown Thomas too. :)

Blacktie. wrote: »
    This is the Internet you're not allowed back down. We're meant to fight to the death. What is happening here.

George is getting upset!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Can we sticky a list of things that are not permitted to be annoying.
    so far I have

foreigners being different
    hats
    clothes (although some seem to be ok so this category will need to be broken out)
    make up

brownej wrote: »
    so far I have

hats
    clothes (although some seem to be ok so this category will need to be broken out)
    make up

And according to some idiots you're fat shaming if you mention them even if there's no mention of fat in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭marialouise

Not annoying just saying why bother going to that effort only to look like you've been shot in the face with homer simpsons makeup gun.

If I put on a bit of makeup in the morning and go straight to the gym after work, it's more effort to take it off before the gym than it is to do it after! I don't wear makeup most days (and when I do it's just a little bit and natural, not a full-face of makeup like I'm going to a wedding or something!) so I don't even wear it often in the gym, it just happens sometimes and it's nothing to do with insecurity.

If I looked like I'd been shot in the face by the makeup gun after a gym session, maybe I'd change my approach, but my make up doesn't really wear off in the gym so I don't need to bother doing anything about it.

To balance this out I wear the most uninspired gym clothes ever... black leggings, very very worn out runners, some oversized tshirts from music festivals 10 years ago kinda thing. Just in case anyone thought I was trying too hard with the makeup! :P

If I put on a bit of makeup in the morning and go straight to the gym after work, it's more effort to take it off before the gym than it is to do it after! I don't wear makeup most days (and when I do it's just a little bit and natural, not a full-face of makeup like I'm going to a wedding or something!) so I don't even wear it often in the gym, it just happens sometimes and it's nothing to do with insecurity.

If I looked like I'd been shot in the face by the makeup gun after a gym session, maybe I'd change my approach, but my make up doesn't really wear off in the gym so I don't need to bother doing anything about it.

To balance this out I wear the most uninspired gym clothes ever... black leggings, very very worn out runners, some oversized tshirts from music festivals 10 years ago kinda thing. Just in case anyone thought I was trying too hard with the makeup! :P

OK ok I know im being a tad judgemental. I stupidly thought this was a gym annoyance thread which funnily enough contains a lot of judgement.

Such a try hard. People trying not to look like they try to look like they care what others think they try to look like they don't look. Some people! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

brownej wrote: »
    so far I have

hats
    make up

And according to some idiots you're fat shaming if you mention them even if there's no mention of fat in the post.
    my post wasnt directed at you, it was referring to how ive been fat shamed and wear make up and matching outfits, and it has been mentioned by a few different people in the thread, try reading properly, it points to how you cant win as a woman in the gym, no make up your a scrub, make up your up your own ass looking for attention- way to miss the point, but thanks for calling me an idiot, says more about you than me to be fair.

OK ok I know im being a tad judgemental. I stupidly thought this was a gym annoyance thread which funnily enough contains a lot of judgement.

You're not allowed be annoyed by things people in this thread do seems to be the rule these days.

I think it's about annoying behaviour in the gym, which for me is what people get up to once they're in there.

For me:
    - frequent/excessive shouting/screaming while lifting (I get it if it's a huge weight and the end of a set, but I don't need to hear 4 sets of 12 screams on every single bicep curl)
    - plates, all the plates, everywhere
    - dumbells everywhere, especially the ones which should be in the little tree (in order!)
    - unsolicited advice ("you look confused" was one gem this year)
    - anything in the squat rack that isn't squatting, get out!
    - trying to talk to me, just don't

I live 1 minute from the gym so walk over and back and never hit the dressing rooms there. The stories here - especially the mens dressing room - sound like horror stories, so glad I don't have to put up with that!!

I, for one, welcome our new ballsack-blowdrying overlords!

*shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭SGSM

Wear what you want and wear as much or as less make up as ya want. Who actually cares. Ya shud never feel that you're not making enough effort or making too much effort.

Eh.....WHAT?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

SGSM wrote: »
    Wear what you want and wear as much or as less make up as ya want. Who actually cares. Ya shud never feel that you're not making enough effort or making too much effort.

I can't help rolling my eyes at the snap back worn high on the head of the skinny trackie wearing bros with the full sleeve tattoos and a gopro. The fitfam mufti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 NRR

I think it's about annoying behaviour in the gym, which for me is what people get up to once they're in there.

For me:
    - frequent/excessive shouting/screaming while lifting (I get it if it's a huge weight and the end of a set, but I don't need to hear 4 sets of 12 screams on every single bicep curl)
    - plates, all the plates, everywhere
    - dumbells everywhere, especially the ones which should be in the little tree (in order!)
    - unsolicited advice ("you look confused" was one gem this year)
    - anything in the squat rack that isn't squatting, get out!
    - trying to talk to me, just don't

I live 1 minute from the gym so walk over and back and never hit the dressing rooms there. The stories here - especially the mens dressing room - sound like horror stories, so glad I don't have to put up with that!!
    I love my squatting, but if someone is doing something else "legit" in the "squat rack" (particularly if its actually the 'power rack' variety) I'm OK with it. The Flyefit I go to has 3x the number of racks as benches for bench press.

That said, if you're doing something silly that isn't heavy pushing / heavy pulling / squatting... be gone with ye!

To add a couple to the list here, how about the ones that take 5 minutes filling up a 2L water bottle at the little fountains, or the ones drinking foul pre-workout or BCAA drinks you can smell from 10ft away. Ugh! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

NRR wrote: »
    I love my squatting, but if someone is doing something else "legit" in the "squat rack" (particularly if its actually the 'power rack' variety) I'm OK with it.

Taking a stance that only squats belong in a squat rack is ridiculous. Comes across as trying too hard imo.
    Sure, curls don't belong there because you can just pick up a bar to your waist anywhere. But heaving pressing and the likes are fine.

Where else should rack pulls be done?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mellor wrote: »

Taking a stance that only squats belong in a squat rack is ridiculous. Comes across as trying too hard imo.
    Sure, curls don't belong there because you can just pick up a bar to your waist anywhere. But heaving pressing and the likes are fine.

Where else should rack pulls be done?

You and your bleeding rack pulls.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

I find myself very annoying when I forget my towel, drying myself with tissues is unpleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

NRR wrote: »
    I love my squatting, but if someone is doing something else "legit" in the "squat rack" (particularly if its actually the 'power rack' variety) I'm OK with it.

Another +1 from me.

Heavy military press, deadlifts (I like to have the plates as few inches off the ground, I find it stresses my lower back a lot less), rack pulls - all legit uses of a power rack. Even benching if there are no benches free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Zillah wrote: »
    Another +1 from me.

deadlifts (I like to have the plates as few inches off the ground, I find it stresses my lower back a lot less), rack pulls - all legit uses of a power rack. .

Aren't they both the same or are you differentiating based on height off the floor?