Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

riemann wrote: »
    Just a word of warning re todays podcast:

It features Jacob Steinberg, presumably uming and awing whilst saying nothing of note.

As if it's necessary, in the interest of balance I should point out that I can't stand them man. If you're going to put yourself out there as a speaker at least make an effort to speak properly. Familiar with his all too frequent contributions to Football Weekly I was never so glad of my fast forward button.
    I was about to disagree with you because I like Jacob Steinberg on Football Weekly, but you were right. Christ, that section on Ajax was boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

threein99 wrote: »
    Niall Quinn in the players chair with Richie

Two of the most boring and bland individuals around. A chance for Ritchie to indulge in his psychobabble no doubt.
    I'll give it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Two of the most boring and bland individuals around. A chance for Ritchie to indulge in his psychobabble no doubt.
    I'll give it a miss.

I used to think the same of Quinn but they had Quinn on the football show recently and he came across really well, completely different than his Sky persona. had a few great stories from his Arsenal/Ireland days. I still cant stand him on Sky commentary but it really changed my opinion of him so it could be a good show imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭quad_red

Arghus wrote: »
    I think it was probably the best of the "political" podcasts so far. I think a more accurate title would be Ken talks about anything that isn't football.

I was a bit skeptical at first, considering they basically had the hype man for Russia Today on, but Ken's disclaimer at the outset put me a bit more at ease. I was initially surprised about how reasonable Crotty sounded - acknowledging that The Kremlin makes bad decisions and not always agreeing with everything that comes out of Moscow. Bejayus, I thought, he's speaking relatively freely here. But then after a while it became clear that Crotty's main manner of deflection was oily smarmy bullshit. I was hilarious how Ken kept prodding him gently with references to the work of other journalists and Crotty was forever talking up how EXCELLENT other journalists were, how PROUD he was at the FINE work he and his team were doing and name dropping here and there and probably feeling like he was breezing through it.

But of course Ken's game was to draw him into a chummy discussion about moral relativism and then to start hitting him with the tough questions quick and fast and Crotty really didn't like it! That was as close as you'll get to hear a guy like him completely lose his cool in an interview - "You said it wouldn't be like this!" What a snake-oil merchant! Yeah, he has misgivings - fair play to him - about working for an organisation that condones the view that not all domestic abuse is worth getting worked up about ("you get one free go"-Ken), but doesn't Ken - football journalist, Ken - also have misgivings about what he does, doesn't that mean the same thing right? Well, no, not really! Crotty's excuses, deflections and justifications sounded pretty pathetic by the end and his attempts to bring the interview back into dinner party mode by the end, talking about an upcoming great night out with the totally cool guys from Facebook, were nauseating.

Well done Ken. Good job.

Listened to it last. I'm not at all sure about what I learned about RT but bloody hell, it was fascinating to hear Crotty squirm. He had a bit of the Joey Barton faux philosopher to him.

I dunno - in one way fair play to him for actually coming on. I'm not sure would people from other mainstream news organisations actually come on and discuss stuff like editorial bias in relation to the affairs of owners etc.

But it's a pretty grim demolition of any attempt to portray RT as a vibrant, honest source of news. He himself admitted that the Krem... RT headquarters openly influence the editorial and many of the guests (Farage etc.) are crackpots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

All those Ray Darcy's, Daithi O'Se's and 80% of people on RTE's payroll and you think Quinny is the most bland around!!!...Sadlier is a little bland I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Dots1982 wrote: »
    All those Ray Darcy's, Daithi O'Se's and 80% of people on RTE's payroll and you think Quinny is the most bland around!!!...Sadlier is a little bland I guess.

Sometimes you want plain yoghurt and not banana raspbery sherbert explosion yoghurt.

Pter wrote: »
    Sometimes you want plain yoghurt and not banana raspbery sherbert explosion yoghurt.

More a chat about who is bland rather than wanting bland, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

True, we do have an embarrassment of 'Ritchie's " in Irish broadcasting.
    At least with Second Captains we are not coerced to pay for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Really enjoyed players chair today. Quinners came across as someone with the right amount of modesty, without it being false.

Some good stories and interesting viewpoints.

I'm coming around to Richie, he's finding his path in life. Couldn't have been easy looking at what might have been.

riemann wrote: »
    Really enjoyed players chair today. Quinners came across as someone with the right amount of modesty, without it being false.

Some good stories and interesting viewpoints.

I'm coming around to Richie, he's finding his path in life. Couldn't have been easy looking at what might have been.

Is there much in it for people who have heard the interviews with Newstalk and Irishman abroad. I like Quinny but he may be a bit over exposed to make another interview with him interesting.

Also I find it quite odd that they don't publicise these interviews before having them so subscribers can send in our own questions via Twitter.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Is there much in it for people who have heard the interviews with Newstalk and Irishman abroad. I like Quinny but he may be a bit over exposed to make another interview with him interesting.

Yeah I'm hoping that won't be too similar to the interview Quinn did on Off The Ball recently. I enjoyed that interview but I've no need to listen to the same stories etc. again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Yeah I'm hoping that won't be too similar to the interview Quinn did on Off The Ball recently. I enjoyed that interview but I've no need to listen to the same stories etc. again.

Just listened to it, excellent interview, Richie revealed some pretty dark thoughts he had once he'd finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Just listened to it there. Really good interview, second to only Richie's Brian Kerr one since the world service was launched in my opinion.

I don't watch the god awful Sky Sports so have no idea why people seem to be so critical of Quinn, but he came across really well here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Why does Quinn get so much stick on Sky? Never understood this, there are many far worse than him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

threein99 wrote: »
    Just listened to it, excellent interview, Richie revealed some pretty dark thoughts he had once he'd finished.

+1, really enjoyed it. Searingly honest from both of them. Really like Ritchie, always frank and thoughtful, unusually unegotistical for someone straddling the worlds of broadcasting and football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I was surprised at the Quinn interview. I always got the impression (don't know why) that he was a bit of a do-gooder, but didn't sound like that from the interview.

I'm enjoying these interviews, it'd be good to move to a different sport eventually, but I'm looking forward to the next one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

dulpit wrote: »
    I was surprised at the Quinn interview. I always got the impression (don't know why) that he was a bit of a do-gooder.

Maybe this guy put it in your head:

quote-niall-quinn-is-a-creep-the-man-s-an-idiot-a-mother-theresa-eamon-dunphy-59-87-00.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

dulpit wrote: »
    I was surprised at the Quinn interview. I always got the impression (don't know why) that he was a bit of a do-gooder, but didn't sound like that from the interview.

I'm enjoying these interviews, it'd be good to move to a different sport eventually, but I'm looking forward to the next one..

Publicly he has a squeaky clean image but I'd say hes a good craic to be around. He used to pal around with Paul Merson in their Arsenal days so there's no way he was home in bed by 10pm every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's actually a pity that the last two player's chairs are restricted to a small set of subscribers.

That interview with Quinn was one of the best football pieces I've ever listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Why does Quinn get so much stick on Sky? Never understood this, there are many far worse than him

I also don't know why. I enjoy him, think he is very balanced. I know reading some articles and stuff on Football365 and other places that nearly review pundits, they are very complimentary.

Seems to just get a bad wrap. I am fine with him on punditry and commentary if I'm honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

lawred2 wrote: »
    It's actually a pity that the last two player's chairs are restricted to a small set of subscribers.

That interview with Quinn was one of the best football pieces I've ever listened to.

Only about 10 mins into the interview and already I'm like "wow".

Just signed up for the service this month, this interview making it more then worthwhile.

Miguel Delaney :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

I think he is still talking
    lawred2 wrote: »
    Miguel Delaney :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭renov8

Really enjoyed the Quinn interview as well. It's very different from the usual "what was it like when you scored that goal?" or "who was the best player you ever played with?", interview by numbers stuff. Would like to see him talk to people from other sports though, like when they talked to that Atlantic rower early on in the world series.

Having subscribed from the start i'm well impressed. Maybe it's because I find the time to listen to the podcasts daily, either at work or out for a walk etc. I have no interest in the rugby or GAA coverage but don't feel like i'm wasting my money by skipping over those pieces. Also delighted that there hasn't been any mention (to me knowledge) of horse-racing.

renov8 wrote: »
    Really enjoyed the Quinn interview as well. It's very different from the usual "what was it like when you scored that goal?" or "who was the best player you ever played with?", interview by numbers stuff. Would like to see him talk to people from other sports though, like when they talked to that Atlantic rower early on in the world series.

Having subscribed from the start i'm well impressed. Maybe it's because I find the time to listen to the podcasts daily, either at work or out for a walk etc. I have no interest in the rugby or GAA coverage but don't feel like i'm wasting my money by skipping over those pieces. Also delighted that there hasn't been any mention (to me knowledge) of horse-racing.

oh god - same

nothing finishes me with Off The Ball quicker than Ger and the horse racing segment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

renov8 wrote: »
    Also delighted that there hasn't been any mention (to me knowledge) of horse-racing.

Amen to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

F**k off ya pr**k, ya wouldn't take one against Spain :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

F**k off ya pr**k, ya wouldn't take one against Spain :pac: :pac: :pac:

Burst out laughing at that when I was walking the dog the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

I'm another that is pretty bored listening to Ken complain about Mourinho.

It was the same with Moyes and LVG. Every Monday it was just an update on the current Man U manager. Now it is just painful to listen to and I end up skipping it these days. We get it Ken, you don't like Mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Agreed on the Mourinho bashing – I fully agree with nearly everything Ken says regarding Jose but it does get unbelievably tedious hearing a reporter covering the same subject every day.. Yes, Jose has huge resources, had high aspirations at the start of the season, hasn’t delivered, and blames everyone but himself – we know that. We don’t require reminding every day.

I also thought Ken was talking some absolute piffle about strikers only going for glory due to their goal bonus, especially when he tried to insinuate that the goal bonus was the sole reason for Origi’s wayward shot. Was quite happy to hear Eoin pulling him on it….breaking news, strikers are greedy. Nothing new there

Am I dreaming or did they say at the start of the Patreon era that ‘world service members’ wouldn’t be subject to world service ads? That seems to have gone out the window! In general it's a great service though, for someone who does alot of commuting it's perfect.