Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭renov8

dulux99 wrote: »

Am I dreaming or did they say at the start of the Patreon era that ‘world service members’ wouldn’t be subject to world service ads? That seems to have gone out the window!

I don't remember that. Perhaps you're confusing it with them saying it was ad free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

7545 subscribers now. That's upwards of 35k revenue per month. Wonder what patreons cut is?

What would be the number of subscribers for a sustainable business model?

Would they pay contributors to appear on the show?

Glad to see the numbers rising, I know the ads for the world service and extended audio vanity pieces can be annoying but they're a lot better than website design or a shaving subscription!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

Agreed on the Mourinho bashing – I fully agree with nearly everything Ken says regarding Jose but it does get unbelievably tedious hearing a reporter covering the same subject every day.. Yes, Jose has huge resources, had high aspirations at the start of the season, hasn’t delivered, and blames everyone but himself – we know that. We don’t require reminding every day.

Yeah exactly, I agree with the majority of what Ken is saying about him but I don't need to hear it every week. (not a Man U fan btw!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Am I dreaming or did they say at the start of the Patreon era that ‘world service members’ wouldn’t be subject to world service ads? That seems to have gone out the window! In general it's a great service though, for someone who does alot of commuting it's perfect.

They said no ads in general, and to be fair there isn't. The Monday podcasts will naturally include some world service up-selling, but it's not been too offensive I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Raoul wrote: »
    Yeah exactly, I agree with the majority of what Ken is saying about him but I don't need to hear it every week. (not a Man U fan btw!)

I wouldn't necessarily agree with anything Ken Early has to say about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Actually could someone answer something that I've always been curious about... 

"Is it fair to say anybody could have managed those guys?" 

Who exactly was he asking this question to? Is it Ken? I can never make out. I assume it's in relation to Barcelona?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Who exactly was he asking this question to? Is it Ken? I can never make out. I assume it's in relation to Barcelona?

Fairly sure it was Ken and it was about Barcelona/Guardiola

I have a vague memory of finding the answer to that on Google: Frank Rijkaard.

Open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭cullenswood

It was Eoin to an ex-Barca coach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

It was Eoin to an ex-Barca coach

Was it Ten Henk Cate or whatever his name was ...i think he was reported to tell John Terry once that he was a "street dog"...maybe im wrong but that's how i remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Was it Ten Henk Cate or whatever his name was ...i think he was reported to tell John Terry once that he was a "street dog"...maybe im wrong but that's how i remember it.

Yeah that was it. He was Assistant to Rijkaard at Barca I think

lawred2 wrote: »
    Fairly sure it was Ken and it was about Barcelona/Guardiola

Fairly sure I got that wrong :D

Torturing that Humpty Dumpty bounce analogy had me in stitches :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Fair play to yer man for coming back with 'of course not'. Annoys me that elite sportspeople are expected to nod along to that kind of inane leading question from journos. It wasn't a particularly bad example, and Eoin generally tries to ask intelligent questions, but if more interviewees pushed back at that vacuous style of questioning the standard of sports coverage would improve a lot IMO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The Player's Chair with Richie Sadlier is at least 100 times better than I thought it would be.

And i though it might be okay, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

lawred2 wrote: »
    Miguel Delaney :(
    Him and Ewan McKenna are a pair of moany arseholes.
    Can't stand either of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

seiphil wrote: »

I used love Ewan but Christ he is painfully negative.

Loved the Kerbdog reference on today's show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

The glimpse behind the scenes of Laois was about 100 times less interesting than I thought it would be, and I wasn't expecting much.

McConville is no addition to the podcast, just rhymes out clichés.

Great bunch of lads.
    Fantastic belief.
    Hard workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Pidae.m wrote: »

WHAT THE FU... How did I miss that?

Edit - oh hang on, I'm a day behind. If I had a clue and a room...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Pidae.m wrote: »
    I used love Ewan but Christ he is painfully negative.

Haven't heard much of him on radio, but from reading his Twitter, he makes Paul Kimmage seem like Mr Positivity. Don't really understand why he watches sport.. Everything seems to piss him off. From the drugs in athletics, to the unfair financial advantage Dublin have in GAA, to the corruption of the Olympics, to the ridiculousness of the ruling in the ladies golf to the inconsistency of not pulling Garcia up on a similar ruling in the Masters. Just a constant stream of negativity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

The GAA preview was a bit of a mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Easily the great Irish band of all time it's just a pity their timing was ****.
    corwill wrote: »
    WHAT THE FU... How did I miss that?

Edit - oh hang on, I'm a day behind. If I had a clue and a room...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Dots1982 wrote: »
    The GAA preview was a bit of a mess

95% of it was focused on Dublin, Mayo and Kerry with a very brief mention to Monaghan and Donegal. I know they are the favourites but they could have discussed things like potential dark horses or surprise packages or players to watch.

Too much of the usual is this or is this not Mayo's year guff that we've heard a million times before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

seiphil wrote: »

When you look at McKenna and Delanys twitter feeds they are constantly involved in Idiotic twitter spats - very weird of you ask me for two grown men, i mean why bother? They obviously have way too much time on their hands and the mentality of children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

JesusRef wrote: »
    When you look at McKenna and Delanys twitter feeds they are constantly involved in Idiotic twitter spats - very weird of you ask me for two grown men, i mean why bother? They obviously have way too much time on their hands and the mentality of children!

Delaney has sent 209k tweets. Says it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Cazale wrote: »
    Delaney has sent 209k tweets. Says it all!

I enjoyed the time Graham Linehan ripped him a dozen brand new arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

corwill wrote: »
    I enjoyed the time Graham Linehan ripped him a dozen brand new arseholes.

Two insufferable arseholes on twitter. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Muttley_666

Hi there - World Service member here. On a recent episode Murph said that new subscribers could access all the archive material once you signed up. Did I hear that correctly ? Does that mean I could drop out for 2 months, sign up for one and binge listen to the last three months rather than go month-to-month ? Isn't this a hole in the subscription model ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Hi there - World Service member here. On a recent episode Murph said that new subscribers could access all the archive material once you signed up. Did I hear that correctly ? Does that mean I could drop out for 2 months, sign up for one and binge listen to the last three months rather than go month-to-month ? Isn't this a hole in the subscription model ??

This would work for the one off pieces like the players chair or the radio 100 years ago pieces, but I wouldn't find it interesting to hear a review of the weekends matches from 2 months ago.