Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

corwill wrote: »
    Can't say it bothers me, it's good that someone isn't giving Jose the free ride he gets pretty much everywhere else.

The best way to get rid of Jose is to ignore him.

Source: the Chelsea team last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Can't say it bothers me, it's good that someone isn't giving Jose the free ride he gets pretty much everywhere else.

Dead right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

It's the same thing every single week. I'm a United fan but by no means a Mourinho fan but some of the stuff is so petty its hard to believe they are releasing it.

One look at the league table can tell you how bad its been this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

threein99 wrote: »
    The sooner the better the Premier League season ends, Kens anti Mourinho crap is getting seriously tedious. He was saying who's decline is worse Wengers or Mourinhos ? Mourinho has had two bad seasons, Wenger has been in a continuous loop for over 10 years.

And does anyone know United have have the most expensively assembled squad in the world ?

You're probably a United fan.

Mourinho is getting away with murder simply because he bullies anyone who engages in anything even mildly critical of him. As a result he gets a free ride. It's always someone else's fault with Mourinho.

At least Ken doesn't row in the same direction as everyone else.

lawred2 wrote: »
    You're probably a United fan.

Mourinho is getting away with murder simply because he bullies anyone who engages in anything even mildly critical of him. As a result he gets a free ride. It's always someone else's fault with Mourinho.

At least Ken doesn't row in the same direction as everyone else.

I don't think hes getting a free ride anymore, I can't stand his constant blaming everyone but himself for the performances.

What examples are there of him bullying people who are critical of him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

but some of the stuff is so petty its hard to believe they are releasing it.

The pettier it is, the more I laugh.

Ah here.

I don't think hes getting a free ride anymore, I can't stand his constant blaming everyone but himself for the performances.

Seriously?

Only a short while ago Conor McNamara was on the wrong end of a Mourinho's bully boy ego. How did you miss that? That's just one example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I've stopped listening for various reasons but was another mourinho-bashing piece really of value?

The championship ended yesterday but seems to have been completely overlooked.

Ken is just becoming the anti Duncan Castles which is as bad as becoming the Duncan Castles as it is just as bias.

Man united fans (of which I am not one) are no fools but they realise a manager needs 2 seasons (unless it has been a disaster which it certainly is not on course to being) before a conclusion can be drawn.

The concept of a Premier League manager getting a "free ride" is hilarious, less the most high pressure job in the Premier League. No PL manager in history has ever got a "free ride".

Dots1982 wrote: »
    The concept of a Premier League manager getting a "free ride" is hilarious, less the most high pressure job in the Premier League. No PL manager in history has ever got a "free ride".

well that's bullsh!t anyway

Mourinho is quite clearly given far more latitude than most managers of United ever would... Moyes' honeymoon period was about 1 month before the press were busting his balls.

well that's bullsh!t anyway

Mourinho is quite clearly given far more latitude than most managers of United ever would...

Well it's not bull**** and you'd well to listen a bit more than jump in with dismissive comments.

If you think a PL manager has got a "free ride" in history then you are deluded.

Well it's not bull**** and you'd well to listen a bit more than jump in with dismissive comments.

If you think a PL manager has got a "free ride" in history then you are deluded.

Oh I see - you're being literal. Very good.

Seriously?

Only a short while ago Conor McNamara was on the wrong end of a Mourinho's bully boy ego. How did you miss that? That's just one example.

He asked were United and West Brom evenly balanced teams ?

Stupid question and Mourinho hammered him for it.

Oh I see - you're being literal. Very good.

well make less inane points and you won't have to feel patronised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

A man who's been sacked from his last two premier league jobs taking the most expensive team ever assembled into a season long battle for 5th place deserves every bit of the what Ken's giving him.

Especially when that man has always been more interested in aggresive confrontation and self congratulation off the pitch than doing anything interesting on it.

well make less inane points and you won't have to feel patronised

Nothing inane about it. Not sure why you feel you have to resort to literalism for petty point scoring.

It's clear that a free ride is a relative term in the context of journalistic coverage of Mourinho's Manchester United. Mourinho escapes the levels of criticism the turgid performances turned in by his sides warrants. And he does so by shutting down dissent.

It seems like every week you're on here to say how you're not listening anymore because Ken is critical of Mourinho.

Feel free to engage in further patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Anyone know the name of the song or have a link to the song that sounds like the Sunday game theme with the girl singing? They use as a GAA sting mainly I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

Anyone know the name of the song or have a link to the song that sounds like the Sunday game theme with the girl singing? They use as a GAA sting mainly I think

Blanca Aurora - Tu no eres ye-ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

It is the Sunday Game theme, James Last - Jägerlatein.

Nothing inane about it. Not sure why you feel you have to resort to literalism for petty point scoring.

It's clear that a free ride is a relative term in the context of journalistic coverage of Mourinho's Manchester United. Mourinho escapes the levels of criticism the turgid performances turned in by his sides warrants. And he does so by shutting down dissent.

It seems like every week you're on here to say how you're not listening anymore because Ken is critical of Mourinho.

Feel free to engage in further patronising.

I think he isnt being given a free ride, i feel like some of the more well thought out journalism (football weekly as an example) in the UK is just sick and tired of Mou's shtick, and that you only feed his aims by commenting on it, so they dont. They analyse the team performance, MAYBE make a one sentence derisive comment on Mou's behaviour, and then move on.

I do listen to each pod ( :) ) and do call Ken out on commenting on Mou, because i would much prefer him to dissect the tactics, and then move on to any of the 9 other games in the league, but i feel a disproportionate amount of time goes to Mourinho.

An example of what i am talking about was the piece they did on Arsenal a couple of months ago - where Arsene claimed they didnt want to play the long ball. Ken called Arsene on that, supported his argument with stats, and then spent the rest of the piece poking at Arsenal. That was great!

But can you imagine if he did that to Arsenal in almost every football pod? That would be boring! I get why Ken picks up on Mourinho's comments (because they are incendiary), but you can only report on incendiary comments so many times before they get boring.

So what if Mourinho says outlandish, utterly stupid things. Leave him to it, and he will be out of the club in another 2 years, just like he has in every other big job he has had.

A big part of it with Ken's volume of commentary is that, from a narrow PL point of view, the season has become a damp squib since January, with tame capitulations on all fronts by most 'contender' clubs bar Chelsea.

It wouldn't hurt the pod if they were to expand their horizons a little more, but they know a large chunk of their listenership is primarily focused on the PL. And Jose is box office, whatever else he might be.

To be fair, that is a good point - if you dont cover Mou, what do you cover?

He is easy filler, but the lads are good enough broadcasters to come up with other content, i would think.

Some of the 'out of the normal' stuff they have done in the WS has been their best stuff, IMO.

Firstly the outburst in my last post was unnecesary so I withdraw it.

Secondly I don't believe I've said that above thing once but open to correction.

What I've said is that Ken analyses far too much in Football through the limited prism of what a manager says to the media. I also said I believe Ken to be a excellent columnist but a poor judge of a footballer.

All I think I said about the Mou vs Early thing is that the BBC man doing the post match I/V asked a dumb question given the stats of the game although Mou could have been more classy about it.

You make it sound like I'm some champion of Mou. I just tire of listening to agenda-ridden coverage from someone who hasn't attended a PL game as a journalist once this season.

Pter wrote: »
    To be fair, that is a good point - if you dont cover Mou, what do you cover?

He is easy filler, but the lads are good enough broadcasters to come up with other content, i would think.

Some of the 'out of the normal' stuff they have done in the WS has been their best stuff, IMO.

I find SC at its most enjoyable when they're covering esoteric (or, at least, esoteric to me) topics and stories.

Ken, like a good few out there, myself included, is a bit jaded and cynical about the sports entertainment industry that is the PL, too much so to just enjoy it as sport.

They need to get Ken on more trains telling random stories about train etiquette, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I think ken always slightly disliked Jose, but ever since the eva carneiro incident where Mourinho shows his true colors ken despises him. It also coincides with Mourinhos demise so works out well. I think it's pretty much justified criticism from Ken btw, I enjoy listening to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I'm also enjoying The Special One's fall from grace so Ken can keep doing what he's doing as it is long overdue.

The fact it seems to be annoying certain people is only a bonus, and one which I'd suggest is not lost on Ken.

riemann wrote: »
    I'm also enjoying The Special One's fall from grace so Ken can keep doing what he's doing as it is long overdue.

The fact it seems to be annoying certain people is only a bonus, and one which I'd suggest is not lost on Ken.

What do you mean? He is intentionally trying to annoy listeners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,528 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Ken wouldn't be aware that man u are the most supported team in Ireland & criticising them weekly will increase the exposure of the pod, would he?