Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Bull76 wrote: »
    What's with guys using the hair dryer to dry their toes, seen someone today using it to dry his balls. Just use the towel like a normal person. So off putting walking into the changing room and encountering near naked guy drying his balls with the dryer.

That's the reason the Carlisle got rid of the hairdryers. Have to bring my own now. Takes up so much space in a small bag

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

You don't have to watch and certainly not for long enough to be able to describe them playing the dryer merrily around their junk.

What if they're doing it in front of my locker and I cant help seeing them and also need to ask them to move?

I'm glad they got rid of the hairdryers in northwood anyway,nobody needs to use one to dry their bollocks...they should be able to use a towel by that stage in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

MysticMonk wrote: »
    What if they're doing it in front of my locker and I cant help seeing them and also need to ask them to move?

Look them in the (facial) eye.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I've never dried my balls with a hair dryer.

I don't see the problem with someone else doing it. It's not as if they're rubbing their balls on the hair dryer. Or are they? When I use a hair dryer on my head it doesn't make contact. Am I doing it wrong?

I dry my balls by squatting down and gently shaking my balls in a circular direction. The key is making eye contact with someone in the changing room*. Is that better or worse than using the hair dryer.

*I don't do this. I use a towel, like any sane person.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

This thread is now officially freaking me out and I am So glad I'm a girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

How long are lads pubes that they need a feckin hairdryer?
    Time to start trimming :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    How long are lads pubes that they need a feckin hairdryer?
    Time to start trimming :p

'Nair' from Dealz, ?1:50 for two tubes and you're silky smooth (and looking longer/bigger :p ) in ten minutes.. Easy on the aul crack area too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭SGSM

When people were on about hairdryers, I thought they meant the ones stuck to the wall. I was thinking feck there must be some odd sights in changing rooms. 😂😂😂 (My gym would be small and has no hand hair dryers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

SGSM wrote: »
    When people were on about hairdryers, I thought they meant the ones stuck to the wall. I was thinking feck there must be some odd sights in changing rooms. 😂😂😂 (My gym would be small and has no hand hair dryers)
    Those are hand dryers.
    A hair dryer is handheld for mobility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Yano the Dyson hand dryers what you place your hands into, they wud be perfect for drying ones wang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

JJayoo wrote: »
    Yano the Dyson hand dryers what you place your hands into, they wud be perfect for drying ones wang
    Don't put your lad in anything with 'blade' in it's name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Saw an aul fella drying his balls with the hairdryer today. One leg cocked up on the changing bench. He was also wearing a wolly hat, over sized head phones and was posting it on Instagram at the time. Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Saw an aul fella drying his balls with the hairdryer today. One leg cocked up on the changing bench. He was also wearing a wolly hat, over sized head phones and was posting it on Instagram at the time. Legend.

But was he foreign????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

Blacktie. wrote: »
    But was he foreign????

Bet he wasn't!ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭dinorebel

And they say only women can multitask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

I'm sure this has come up before but it was my first time witnessing it for myself today.

A girl taking snapchat videos of herself on the treadmill. She got a few selfies in too.

I don't know about ye, but no amount of snapchat filters could make me look well enough to go on snapchat mid gym :pac: not that it'd even enter my head, well done love, you did some light jogging, you'd best tell all your Snapchat buddies so they can see how great you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I'm sure this has come up before but it was my first time witnessing it for myself today.

A girl taking snapchat videos of herself on the treadmill. She got a few selfies in too.

I don't know about ye, but no amount of snapchat filters could make me look well enough to go on snapchat mid gym :pac: not that it'd even enter my head, well done love, you did some light jogging, you'd best tell all your Snapchat buddies so they can see how great you are

Some people are just fcuking idiots and you have to accept that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

This is incredibly minor but highly annoying. Was back in Macken Street there on Friday, one lad was working up to a heavy set of 2 or 3. I've seen him a few times, he has a few lads with him to video him and stuff. He went to 180 or thereabouts but walks it out away from the squat frame instead of using the safety bars in the rack. No spotters. Then struggles on the last set.

This really annoys me. Safety is really important when you're moving heavy stuff. If he failed and ended up hurting someone around him or himself... Why not just use the safety bars??:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

This is incredibly minor but highly annoying. Was back in Macken Street there on Friday, one lad was working up to a heavy set of 2 or 3. I've seen him a few times, he has a few lads with him to video him and stuff. He went to 180 or thereabouts but walks it out away from the squat frame instead of using the safety bars in the rack. No spotters. Then struggles on the last set.

This really annoys me. Safety is really important when you're moving heavy stuff. If he failed and ended up hurting someone around him or himself... Why not just use the safety bars??:mad::mad:

Why not wear a condom, or why tightrope walk without a safety line......Its easy bail out of these lifts safely if you know what your at, at at 180 sound like the chap knows his onions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,499 ✭✭✭ongarite

Were the safety bars fixed height or adjustable?
    In my gym there are 2 styles of squat racks, one fixed, other with adjustable safety bars.
    The fixed bar is too high for low squats so I'll back out of the rack when doing these sets.
    No problem with the adjustable bar rack as I can set them to the required height.

Guy could still be an ass though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

Were they bumper plates on the bar? I wouldn't mind a lad doing that if they were. I squat without safety bars. It's really easy to bail on a squat, and as long as the bumpers are on there the bar and the ground are fine afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Demforeigners

People that wear matching outfits and makeup at the gym. Honestly nobody looks pretty when working out so just stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

People that wear matching outfits and makeup at the gym. Honestly nobody looks pretty when working out so just stop it.

I have to say, I do like the girls that make an effort (appearance-wise) in the gym ......... it can make a gruelling workout that little bit easier, from my perspective. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Women complaining about what other women wear in the gym comes across as very bitchy.
    But I'm in the wear what ever you want camp. Hats also don't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Mellor wrote: »
    Hats also don't bother me.
    They make my head itchy.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Women complaining about what other women wear in the gym comes across as very bitchy.

You're a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭marialouise

I don't put makeup on just to go to the gym, sometimes it's already on my face from that morning, I hope I wouldn't be classed as "annoying" for not removing my makeup before working out :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭RockSalto

I bet you wouldn't even frown upon the sight of a hoody either.

Or both together!!

I need to sit down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Demforeigners

I don't put makeup on just to go to the gym, sometimes it's already on my face from that morning, I hope I wouldn't be classed as "annoying" for not removing my makeup before working out :O

Not annoying just saying why bother going to that effort only to look like you've been shot in the face with homer simpsons makeup gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Not annoying just saying why bother going to that effort only to look like you've been shot in the face with homer simpsons makeup gun.

Very topical Hanley actually wrote a blog post for you today:

"I don't know how to start this email to you.

You might remember a while back I went on a bit of a rant about the fitfam and said that sometimes I get so annoyed and frustrated the words just get choked in my throat and I cant adequately express myself.

Well it's happening again.

See I got to talk about the whole "make up in the gym" thing with someone recently.

And honestly - it does my head in.

It does my head in that ladies have ANOTHER barrier to overcome in the gym.

In the last week I've met 3 new women RevFit members who were quite nervous about starting (...and a few more who weren't, for the record).

3 women who broke out of their comfort zone to try something new, and who shut up the mean girl voice in their head that said "you can't" and gave it a go.

If you're a seasoned gym rat, that might not seem like a big deal. But for some people joining a gym is as a terrifying as being asked to stand up on stage and sing in front of a group of hostile strangers.

It's scary, man.

Could you imagine how **** it would be if I then had the audacity to tell them what they can or can't wear to my gym?

Whether it's "right" or "wrong" let's just all be adults and admit that a lot of women rely on make up and clothes to feel good about themselves, just like a lot of guys rely on muscles or fancy cars to feel good about THEMselves.

In a perfect world, we wouldn't need the external support. But in case you haven't noticed - this world isn't perfect.

So how about this - next time, before you make a smart comment about how caked someone is in the gym, or what clothes they're wearing... shut the **** up and show some empathy.

Think about how exposed she might be feeling.

Show some compassion.

...that doesn't mean go up and give her a sweaty hug by the way. It just means don't be a judgmental dick.

And yes - I know what you're thinking "but some girls DO do it for the attention". Absolutely. I 100% agree with you.

Truthfully, it wrecks my head because those same girls tend to be just as insecure, but because they're further along their fitness journey and have a large following, they become "influencers" and eventually online coaches (who couldn't superset scratching their head and rubbing their belly at the same time) but since they look the part, dupe other people into believing their bull****.

**deep breath James...**

Moving swiftly on.

The whole wearing skimpy clothes and make up to the gym isn't that different to the way as some girls wear greyhounds and giant heels on nights out.

But really, since it's not actually effecting you, how about you...

...shut the **** up and get on with your life."