Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orwell Randonnee 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,027 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Daroxtar wrote: »
    This Wall thingy has me wondering. How does it compare to other steep segments?Second part of Kilmashogue or start of Cunard or Kilgarron hill for example? Is it time to take off the 12-25 and go back to the 11-32?
    It's steeper than Cunard or Kilgarron and about the same as the steep bits of Kilmashogue Lane but we're only doing the shorter second part. I'll definitely need the 34/30 on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I did it last year on a 39:25 but I've the dinner plate on for this year. Should make for more pleasurable (less miserable) climbing.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

I find the key to the wall is to have a decent bit of momentum going into it. It's a bas**d no matter what way you do it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Ive never done the wall, did lovers leap which is close by and hated it and by all accounts the wall is much worse.

But as above said, problem with climbs in sportives is people stopping and it can cause issues further down as you've to unclip and struggle to eat going again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

The worst part of the wall isn't the wall itself, it's getting to the top and thinking it's all over and then seeing the long hill ramp as you turn right. If you've gone deep getting up the wall and aren't ready for it it's a killer!

34-28 is as low as you need as its short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Crocked wrote: »
    The worst part of the wall isn't the wall itself, it's getting to the top and thinking it's all over and then seeing the long hill ramp as you turn right. If you've gone deep getting up the wall and aren't ready for it it's a killer!

I believe you, but just in case, I'll still bring my 34-32.😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Crocked wrote: »

But if you've anything lower, you'll use it and be glad to do so.

I'm mixing up my sportives - Orwell R only uses the second part of 'The Wall'.

https://www.strava.com/segments/1077130

Decided to check how steep it was and came up with this: https://www.strava.com/segments/9408038

I remember parts of it being about 19% but 147%eek.png

Weepsie wrote: »
    ... problem with climbs in sportives is people stopping and it can cause issues further down as you've to unclip and struggle to eat going again
    Further exacerbated by being a very narrow road so there's only room for one cyclist to pass another at a time.

I'll keep in as far as I can on that stretch.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    I'll keep in as far as I can on that stretch.

Although, thinking about it, there won't be too many behind me, when I get to that point.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,560 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I remember parts of it being about 19% but 147%eek.png
    have you seen inception?

Yes, and good to know the idea is germinating.

To undo the damage, I seem to remember it being avoided on a Randonee a few years back because it's impossible to get traction when the road is really wet. Can't remember how wet it was last year but the forcast for Saturday isn't exactly dry.

Yes, and good to know the idea is germinating.

To undo the damage, I seem to remember it being avoided on a Randonee a few years back because it's impossible to get traction when the road is really wet. Can't remember how wet it was last year but the forcast for Saturday isn't exactly dry.
    If I recall correctly, it was reasonably dry during The Wall. I think the rain/wind/hail started between the Gap and Laragh.

(PS - was it 2014 that a whole swathe of the route was cut out at short notice due to weather?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

If I recall correctly, it was reasonably dry during The Wall. I think the rain/wind/hail started between the Gap and Laragh.

(PS - was it 2014 that a whole swathe of the route was cut out at short notice due to weather?)

That was 2015 I think.

wowy wrote: »
    That was 2015 I think.

I had thought it was cancelled in 2015 but I did a search here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057379825&page=12 and found some amazing stories of perseverance in the most horrendous conditions. They skipped the Wall but included Shay Elliott eek.png

A group of us went out on the Monday in grand conditions and did the normal Randonee route but well done to anyone who completed (or even started) on the Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭nilhg

I had thought it was cancelled in 2015 but I did a search here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057379825&page=12 and found some amazing stories of perseverance in the most horrendous conditions. They skipped the Wall but included Shay Elliott eek.png

A group of us went out on the Monday in grand conditions and did the normal Randonee route but well done to anyone who completed (or even started) on the Saturday.

Shay Elliot was somewhat sheltered from the wind, but the Featherbeds were fairly iffy that day, I was glad to turn down Glencree, even if it was hairy enough with the amount of water about.

Average temp for the day was 7c, not what you'd be expecting on an May Bank Holiday...

Edit: Just had a look, it seems the latest runs of the weather models are pushing this weekends rain back till Sat night and Sun morning, so hopefully we'll have no repeat of '15 this year

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Ghosty669

nilhg wrote: »
    Shay Elliot was somewhat sheltered from the wind, but the Featherbeds were fairly iffy that day, I was glad to turn down Glencree, even if it was hairy enough with the amount of water about.

Average temp for the day was 7c, not what you'd be expecting on an May Bank Holiday...

Edit: Just had a look, it seems the latest runs of the weather models are pushing this weekends rain back till Sat night and Sun morning, so hopefully we'll have no repeat of '15 this year

Weather is looking good at the moment so fingers crossed, it stays that way. We have plan B in case things but it doesn't look like we'll need it.

Hey all,
    Just wanted to let you know that we plan on closing the online entry system this evening at 6pm and won't be taking entries on the day so if you're interested in coming along and haven't entered yet, make sure you get your details in today.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

Lads, I've hardly got out once a week this year but I'm going to give this a shot :cool:

I'm going alone, hoping to make some mates along the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

ive less than 300km in my legs this year Einstein and I'm doing it too so you will be in good company no doubt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Very tempted to do this. Though I won't know if I have college or not on the Saturday till tomorrow

D3PO wrote: »
    ive less than 300km in my legs this year Einstein and I'm doing it too so you will be in good company no doubt :)

Just a reminder that we have a slightly easier version this year so if you're not feeling the love on the first climb, you can opt out at around the 18km mark.

D3PO, haha sound! I'll try to go easy at the start, I find that I personally burn myself out within 100k at most of these events thinking I'm doing the TDF

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭meisce

Fighting off a virus that's been hanging around for about 10 days. Think I will be checking the weather on Saturday morning before a final decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

So, who's going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'm in, not enough miles in the legs this year to even think of the wall though so I'm in for the Lite

I'm in. Full Fat.
    I'll be the aul' lad in black, with a black and red helmet on a black Canyon Ultimate CF SLX, with red bar tape. Give me a shout, as you pass me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

I'm going. Good course, well organised and supporting charity. And I heard there is cake. And I revisited the wall a few times this week - although I haven't the legs I had last time I went up there I do have gears that weren't even dreamed of back then :)

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭meisce

I'm out, sore throat came back with a vengeance this morning. I have 1 and possibly 2 entries if anybody is suddenly energetic and wants them

I'll be there, Kildare CC, black Felt

See you there. I'll be in Boards tights and jersey (though that will probably be under a few more layers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

I'll be there. The only blue Pintail bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭Gerry

I'll be there.MAD mtb jersey. Unfortunately failed to pick up my box of gels from the bike shop, hopefully someone enterprising is selling them in the morning

See you there. I'll be in Boards tights and jersey (though that will probably be under a few more layers).
    Tights? In April?? :D

I'll be there in the Boards.ie pink/green edition (shorts of course) on a black/red Fuji.

brownian wrote: »
    I'll be there. The only blue Pintail bike.

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,099 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Was signed up to do it this year but have to give it a miss as I have a chest infection this week and only got out for a short spin yesterday to test the body and it wasn't a good idea. Best of luck everyone. Hope the rain holds off and remember to smile for the cameras going up the wall.

Tights? In April?? :D

281hrgo.jpg

YES

Gerry wrote: »
    I'll be there.MAD mtb jersey. Unfortunately failed to pick up my box of gels from the bike shop, hopefully someone enterprising is selling them in the morning

Hey Gerry,
    We'll have a small shop there when you can pick up things like gels so we have you covered!

I'll be there. IRC kit. Signed on this evening so I'm good to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭Gerry

Thanks folks re gels. Friend of mine is bringing some. Will still be over to pick up a few more.

281hrgo.jpg

YES
    Not for me!

...and an arty close-up taken at Luggala at last year's Randonnee! :D

13087512_626467347500498_6790500875992231121_n_zpsjztserug.jpg

Ghosty669 wrote: »
    Hey Gerry,
    We'll have a small shop there when you can pick up things like gels so we have you covered!

Will there be free gels and bars at the start?

Weather wise it's looking like light rain most of the morning getting heavier in the afternoon. Temps between 5 and 8 degrees with a light southerly.

(That's going by yr.no which can be a bit 'hit and miss' lately.)

https://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/County_Wicklow~2960935/hour_by_hour.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Hope everyone enjoys the days. I felt I wasn't quite ready, even for the lite. Should see you at the next local sportive as I'm dying to try one out. Looking forward to some reports. Safe riding lads

That was really hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

I'm rather jealous. I finally drove a car today. Pointless if you ask me, two wheels good

fat bloke wrote: »
    That was really hard.

Indeed, but you'd be in the wrong place looking for an easy day....

Woke early, left home early, was parked up and ready to go early and since my clubmate was in the same position, we couldnt see the sense in waiting for the rain so we rolled out at 8.30. I suffered on the first half, was having a little niggle with the bike, got it semi sorted (cable stretch) but it was annoying me and doing strange things to my head, Gerry in the van sorted it properly in a few minutes at the food stop and with that and the magical effects of the minestrone soup and carrot cake I felt much better for the second half, felt able to try and hang on to my mate going up and push on a bit coming back down.

The whole event, as usual, was a credit to Orwell Wheelers, well done to all involved.

Because we left early, didn't spot many boardsies, saw Mercian Pro at the food stop, but was with the mechanic and didn't get to say hello.

Having sorted out a 34-32 low gear, I am in again this year.
    I promise not to cry this year, when I see The Wall.

My 34-32 worked a treat. I laughed at the Wall. In fact I used my 34-32 quite a lot, and I must say it made things a lot easier.
    I finished in 5 hours 50 minutes, moving, at an average speed of 24.7kph.
    As usual, Orwell did a great job, couldn't find fault, well marshalled,properly signposted, good food and the burger was lovely, lots of Orwell cars and vans on the route.
    I met a Boardsie, who mistook me for Mercian Pro, not sure, whether that's good or bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Foxmoves

My 34-32 worked a treat. I laughed at the Wall. In fact I used my 34-32 quite a lot, and I must say it made things a lot easier.
    I finished in 5 hours 50 minutes, moving, at an average speed of 24.7kph.
    As usual, Orwell did a great job, couldn't find fault, well marshalled,properly signposted, good food and the burger was lovely, lots of Orwell cars and vans on the route.
    I met a Boardsie, who mistook me for Mercian Pro, not sure, whether that's good or bad.

Ha. That was me that mistook you :)
    I will blame low sugars due to the hill we were on

Good day out and great organisation. Good support, marshalls and food stop. Tough going up sally gap the second time in the wind and rain.

Rolling time of 5 hrs 22 mins.