Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Antifa.....the joke that keeps on giving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

MysticMonk wrote: »
    What a load of nonsense.

Islamic extremists are the greatest terror threat in the USA and across the globe.

Maybe you havnt been watching the news?

And why shouldn't "white supremacists" march through universities? (not that they do)

After all Black Supremacists,Muslim Extremists and communists are allowed to do so.

Post says in the US.
    It's a fact.

Help!!!! wrote: »
    OK so lets say your right, how come they are not the ones starting the violence?

You aren't seeing the bigger picture here. It's a lot more than one event or who won a scrap. The aim of the fascists is to normalise their ideas. Make it totally normal for groups of them to be marching around, having conference's, talks etc These clean cut non threatening characters like Spencer and Nathan Domigo trying to make it look like a totally reasonable proposition.
    Antifa disagree and fight them. In doing so the real image of someone like Nathan is revealed. The horrible hateful creep he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

20Cent wrote: »
    You aren't seeing the bigger picture here. It's a lot more than one event or who won a scrap. The aim of the fascists is to normalise their ideas. Make it totally normal for groups of them to be marching around, having conference's, talks etc These clean cut non threatening characters like Spencer and Nathan Domigo trying to make it look like a totally reasonable proposition.
    Antifa disagree and fight them. In doing so the real image of someone like Nathan is revealed. The horrible hateful creep he is.

Reminds me of this article which popped up in my Twitter feed today where they interviewed ex-neo-Nazis, especially these parts:
    When I was 23 and on my way out of the neo-Nazi movement, what they were pushing at that time was that we were being too blatant. We started hearing, "Quit shaving your heads, quit getting tattoos, quit being so easy to identify, quit committing crimes that are going to bring bad or negative attention to us." That's what they were telling us to do. Go undercover. Go out and become a police officer, a lawyer, a doctor. Get into different aspects of society, and when the time is right, there was one goal: a race war.
    [What I was known for] when I was part of the movement was to make the unreasonable sound reasonable. So you could take the Nazi ideology and use a different language to make it sound very reasonable. If you put on a shirt and a tie with a suit, and tell people to go to college, don't get tattoos, and go mainstream, it makes white supremacy appear reasonable. I did that during my time in the movement. And it's funny to see it twenty years later, and that's exactly what the whole movement looks like now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Are these lads really fascist? As in they want a fascist state run by a strongman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Are these lads really fascist? As in they want a fascist state run by a strongman?

No. They're young and trying to find their place in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

B_Wayne wrote: »
    I don't believe he has anything to feel guilty about. You're misrepresenting his experience and it's pretty scummy. You've chosen a single interview and said it defines him as a collaborator, that's a nonsensical conspiracy. A pro Palestine group isn't necessarily anti semetic. He donates to a pretty large list of groups, mostly focused on human rights so pretty innocent overall. Our own president isn't particularly in favour of Israel's tactics on West Bank etc but he's far from an anti semite.

Also here's another quote from Soros, I guess you won't acknowledge this one though.. “instead of submitting to our fate, we resisted an evil force that was much stronger than we were—yet we prevailed. Not only did we survive, but we managed to help others.â€... The man has been entirely open about his experience in ww2 and it reeks of desperation to claim him as a collaborator. He's a survivor of ww2, he had to hide his background to do so. Many people did this, to use it to whip him with is a reflection of you. Was he expected to introduce himself as Jewish and to go to a concentration camp?

Any form of resistance was a significant act in a Nazi occupied zone, delivering warnings to the Jewish lawyers for example is very much so an act of resistance. It is not the work of a collaborator.

OK I get it your a fan:rolleyes:
    I'm sure most people on boards would do the same thing, pretend your not a Jew to survive but I wonder how many would say it was the best year in their lives & that had feelings of absolute power? Listen call me whatever you want but the guys as dodgy as they come

These clean cut non threatening characters like Spencer and Nathan Domigo trying to make it look like a totally reasonable proposition.

Their endless refrain that anyone who disagrees with them is against free speech has been exhausted at this point and they don't have much else.

There's no depth to them. Do they have ideas about employment or taxes or healthcare? No, its all about fear of women. And minorities.

"Gamergate"? Seriously? What, are we all 14 years old?

Most will have grown out of it by their early twenties or whenever they manage to get laid, and then you're left with these weird David duke type adults like Spencer who's obviously got deeper issues.

Your point being?

Same point you were trying to make. People kill people

If they want to have a conference thats up to them, a lot less people would know about if Antifa stayed away
    If I was in that situation I probably would have done the same as Domigo Antifa have shown they are out to hurt anyone in their way so she got what she deserved. Its ok for Antifa to pepper spray women & attack old men but when one of their hairy women gets a smack its all boo hoo hoo

OK I get it your a fan:rolleyes:
    I'm sure most people on boards would do the same thing, pretend your not a Jew to survive but I wonder how many would say it was the best year in their lives & that had feelings of absolute power?

Well you're going to have to give us more than that. What was the context? Why do you think he said it?

My first thought would be the obvious one that was when the war turned around and Germany started losing.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Well you're going to have to give us more than that. What was the context? Why do you think he said it?

My first thought would be the obvious one that was when the war turned around and Germany started losing.

Have you not read the OP??

If they want to have a conference thats up to them, a lot less people would know about if Antifa stayed away
    If I was in that situation I probably would have done the same as Domigo Antifa have shown they are out to hurt anyone in their way so she got what she deserved. Its ok for Antifa to pepper spray women & attack old men but when one of their hairy women gets a smack its all boo hoo hoo

Don't hear her crying about it.

Domingo on the other hand is finished. Even if he doesn't go back to jail he'll have to watch his back for the rest of his life. He won't be out giving out flyers or organising talks recruiting etc without a lot if backup.

Same point you were trying to make. People kill people

Thats not the point I was making. It was that white supremesist terrorism is a big problem.

No. They're young and trying to find their place in the world.

So no then? They don't want a non democratic state run by a strongman?

When the left fought fascists in the 30's they fought people who self described as fascists. It wasn't name calling.

Domingo on the other hand is finished. Even if he doesn't go back to jail he'll have to watch his back for the rest of his life. He won't be out giving out flyers or organising talks recruiting etc without a lot if backup.

Really not seen the news interview where she says loads of other guys attacked her after the punch & tried banging her head on the flower pots until another guy ran up grabbed her by the head & kneed her in the head multiply times??
    She was interviewed later that day & there was no marks on her & there was no marks in the news interview either

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRjJCDopGD8

Will Domigo be finished like you said Spencer was??

Why? Because of threats of violence from 19 year olds?

Thats not the point I was making. It was that white supremesist terrorism is a big problem.

So is black on white murders, you do realise more white people are killed by blacks than the other way around?

Really not seen the news interview where she says loads of other guys attacked her after the punch & tried banging her head on the flower pots until another guy ran up grabbed her by the head & kneed her in the head multiply times??
    She was interviewed later that day & there was no marks on her & there was no marks in the news interview either

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRjJCDopGD8

Will Domigo be finished like you said Spencer was??

Where does she cry about it?

Yep he won't be able to go anywhere unopposed like spencer can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

Based on an interview from 60 minutes that some extraordinarily groups have picked up as collaboration. People and sites who make the claim include Ann Coulter, Rense(white supremacist site) and infowars. They conveniently ignore the fact that he was 14 and in fact warned Jewish lawyers of immediate capture and resisted in a small way by doing so. The transcript of what he's basing it on is below.
    KROFT: (Voiceover) To understand the complexities and contradictions in his personality, you have to go back to the very beginning: to Budapest, where George Soros was born 68 years ago to parents who were wealthy, well-educated and Jewish.

When the Nazis occupied Budapest in 1944, George Soros' father was a successful lawyer. He lived on an island in the Danube and liked to commute to work in a rowboat. But knowing there were problems ahead for the Jews, he decided to split his family up. He bought them forged papers and he bribed a government official to take 14-year-old George Soros in and swear that he was his Christian godson. But survival carried a heavy price tag. While hundreds of thousands of Hungarian Jews were being shipped off to the death camps, George Soros accompanied his phony godfather on his appointed rounds, confiscating property from the Jews.

(Vintage footage of Jews walking in line; man dragging little boy in line)

KROFT: (Voiceover) These are pictures from 1944 of what happened to George Soros' friends and neighbors.

(Vintage footage of women and men with bags over their shoulders walking; crowd by a train)

KROFT: (Voiceover) You're a Hungarian Jew...

Mr. SOROS: (Voiceover) Mm-hmm.

KROFT: (Voiceover) ...who escaped the Holocaust...

(Vintage footage of women walking by train)

Mr. SOROS: (Voiceover) Mm-hmm.

(Vintage footage of people getting on train)

KROFT: (Voiceover) ... by -- by posing as a Christian.

Mr. SOROS: (Voiceover) Right.

(Vintage footage of women helping each other get on train; train door closing with people in boxcar)

KROFT: (Voiceover) And you watched lots of people get shipped off to the death camps.

Mr. SOROS: Right. I was 14 years old. And I would say that that's when my character was made.

KROFT: In what way?

Mr. SOROS: That one should think ahead. One should understand and -- and anticipate events and when -- when one is threatened. It was a tremendous threat of evil. I mean, it was a -- a very personal experience of evil.

KROFT: My understanding is that you went out with this protector of yours who swore that you were his adopted godson.

Mr. SOROS: Yes. Yes.

KROFT: Went out, in fact, and helped in the confiscation of property from the Jews.

Mr. SOROS: Yes. That's right. Yes.

KROFT: I mean, that's -- that sounds like an experience that would send lots of people to the psychiatric couch for many, many years. Was it difficult?

Mr. SOROS: Not -- not at all. Not at all. Maybe as a child you don't -- you don't see the connection. But it was -- it created no -- no problem at all.

KROFT: No feeling of guilt?

Mr. SOROS: No.

KROFT: For example that, 'I'm Jewish and here I am, watching these people go. I could just as easily be there. I should be there.' None of that?

Mr. SOROS: Well, of course I c -- I could be on the other side or I could be the one from whom the thing is being taken away. But there was no sense that I shouldn't be there, because that was -- well, actually, in a funny way, it's just like in markets -- that if I weren't there -- of course, I wasn't doing it, but somebody else would -- would -- would be taking it away anyhow. And it was the -- whether I was there or not, I was only a spectator, the property was being taken away. So the -- I had no role in taking away that property. So I had no sense of guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

This is exactly whats wrong with antifa. Dont get me wrong domingo is a twat of the highest order but when your only response to an argument is threats of violence and making them fear being assaulted you've lost any argument.

Depp wrote: »
    This is exactly whats wrong with antifa. Dont get me wrong domingo is a twat of the highest order but when your only response to an argument is threats of violence and making them fear being assaulted you've lost any argument.

There is no argument to be had. Shut down fascists. That is all.

He can just go out during the day while university lessons are on, he'll be ok then

Doubt he'll be attending university nuch longer.

maybe by crying he meant ''telling lies to cash in on that sweet gofundme money'' :D

Nah he has a crew of heavies with him everytime on his regular public appearances, no doubt domingo will aswel.

So what happens if other liberals decide that they want to shut down Antifa because they are not happy with whats been going on, what then?

You do realize thats literally fascism right? you're an enigma i'll give you that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

So what happens if other liberals decide that they want to shut down Antifa because they are not happy with whats been going on, what then?
    The revolution eats its own children.

Doubt he'll be attending university nuch longer.

20Cent can I ask how old you are, not taking the piss just interested to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Extrajudicial punishment is anti fascist?

Damigo's university. Sound like he'll be looking for somewhere new to study.

www.csustan.edu/president/desk-of-the-president