Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Antifa.....the joke that keeps on giving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Depp wrote: »
    the other scumbag blindsiding him with the skateboard aswel, brave enough when they outnumber someone 5 to 1 arent they?

only a matter of time untill we see something serious happen. seems to be a lot of talk from them about starting to bring guns to these events. worrying times ahead.

They are cowardly slime, the lowest of the low, weak both physically and mentally. I read an interesting article a few days ago about how these people feel the need to behave in the manner they do because society has failed them and they use violence as a means to justify that frustration. The liberal/sjw "movement" has given them a platform to behave in such a manner.

Glenster wrote: »
    What about his free speech?

They were following him in a group and glass jaw decided to get in his face and threaten him, are you both deaf and blind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

What about his free speech?

squaring up to someone calling them a ''b!tch'' for backing up hardly falls under the classical definition of free speech :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

They were following him in a group and glass jaw decided to get in his face and threaten him, are you both deaf and blind?

The dude who traveled 100's of miles in riot gear to rally in support of far right groups didnt like what the weedy (19?) year old was saying so he sucker punched him in the face. A real american hero.

squaring up to someone calling them a ''b!tch'' for backing up hardly falls under the classical definition of free speech :D

You'd rather he was saying heil hitler i suppose.

The dude who traveled 100's of miles in riot gear to rally in support of far right groups didnt like what the weedy (19?) year old was saying so he sucker punched him in the face. A real american hero.

He lives in California.

You never replied to the post yesterday saying the rally happened because a white supremacist speaker was turned down, found a link yet to back up what you said?

You'd rather he was saying heil hitler i suppose.

hahahaha so Im a nazi then am I? look someone squares up to you in a threatening manner like that you've the right to defend yourself, chat sh!t get hit as they say!

They are cowardly slime, the lowest of the low, weak both physically and mentally. I read an interesting article a few days ago about how these people feel the need to behave in the manner they do because society has failed them and they use violence as a means to justify that frustration. The liberal/sjw "movement" has given them a platform to behave in such a manner.
    California Penal Code 417 PC prohibits “drawing, exhibiting, or using a firearm or deadly weaponâ€. This offense is commonly referred to as "brandishing" a weapon. If you “brandish†a weapon or firearm in a rude, angry, or threatening manner, prosecutors could charge you with this offense.

nice little tidbit from the california penal code, carries up to a one year jail sentence! the hardman with the knife could be in a spot of bother here, well hopefully anyway!

He lives in California.

You never replied to the post yesterday saying the rally happened because a white supremacist speaker was turned down, found a link yet to back up what you said?

thats because it was a lie ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

hahahaha so Im a nazi then am I? look someone squares up to you in a threatening manner like that you've the right to defend yourself, chat sh!t get hit as they say!

Glennster earlier in another thread compared someone who admitted they wouldn't report someone they knew who were fraudulently claiming social welfare benefits with someone (wait for it) who wouldn't give evidence in court against someone who had drowned 25 babies!

Glennster's just in a silly mood because it's Easter mid term...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

20Cent wrote: »
    Richard Spencers event in a Washington DC hotel on inauguration day. Interviews with mainstream media.
    Yeah and I saw the CNN piece and it shows him doing Nazi like salutes.
    Do you think people are going to watch it and go "wow this guy seems to be on to something or "**** that's a neo-Nazi lunatic".
    I'd say were looking at 99%+ of people having the second opinion.
    All punching him in the face does is to fuel the anger amongst him and his supporters, he can portray himself as a victim now.
    Regardless, she was unarmed at the time he ran in from the side and stuck her.
    He punched her while she was looking straight at him.
    Can we give it a rest with the "poor defenceless woman" narrative, because it just isn't true.
    Both of them were violent thugs out for a fight and should face criminal proceedings for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

She is holding a bottle by the neck in the photo's though or am I missing something?
    Getting ready to hit someone with a glass wine bottle like that could easily sever an artery or windpipe its not something to be passed of as equivalent too wearing a helmet.

You need to take things in context. If you and I were in the middle of that melee and on "opposing sides". And if one of us were to have a helmet and the other to have a bottle then I'd take the helmet a hundred times over taking the bottle. The individual with the helmet is much more dangerous. They'll happily jump in there and get "stuck in". Person with the bottle.... they're not going to do nearly as much damage. They'd last maybe half a second if they swung it at someone.

Even in a one-on-one fight situation, I'd take the helmet over the bottle. You'd basically have one chance and a split second window to end the "fight" with your bottle. By that stage I'm in too close for you to have space to use it, Now imagine that we are both surrounded by 20 other lunatics coming in from every angle. I'll definitely take the helmet in that scenario.

For the bit about her holding the bottle, she wasn't holding it when he hit her the second time. That's for the first photo which circulated of him punching her in the face. She seems to have dropped it

He punched her while she was looking straight at him.
    Can we give it a rest with the "poor defenceless woman" narrative, because it just isn't true.
    Both of them were violent thugs out for a fight and should face criminal proceedings for their actions.

At 19 seconds there is one sleeveless fella at the centre of the video preoccupied squaring up and watching the fella with the "skull" bandana on his face. Blueshirt fella runs in from the right of the screen. Just before he gets there, bandana-man hits sleeveless and blueshirt bowls him over from the side.

Blueshirt then make a bee-line for the girl. He seems to make some contact at 22 seconds but the view is blocked. I can't see whether it's a punch or a push or whatever. At 23 seconds, we see her moving back and away and turning away to face the camera, at this point he clocks her at the side of the head. I think she is holding the bottle at this point. And I suspect that this is when the close up photo is taken of her going down and him in front of her. You will see in this photo, from her feet that she is turning away from him at the time. Look at the direction of her feet. Additionally, in the top blurry photo where you can see her with the bottle. This is a fraction of a second before he hits her. You see that the motif on the front of her cap is facing the camera. Blueshirt is coming in from the side and hits her in the side of the head. He has already pushed or punched her backwards at that stage. She is probably off balance already.

At 28 seconds the camera pans back to sleeveless man. Then at 29 back to where blueshirt is looking around and trying to see the girl again. She has moved away from where she was previously. There is a fella in front of him with a backpack. Blueshirt doesn't seem interested in engaging with him.

At 31 seconds the camera pans to the left again. We see the girl to the left, of the screen, probably 10-12 foot from where she was punched earlier, and blueshirt starts to enter from the right. At this point the girl appears to be looking at the ground. About half a second later she twists and looks to her left at the fella getting kicked on the ground. A man with a yellow jacked crosses between her and blueshirt. We see blueshirts hands as he pushes himself around yellow jacket. At 32 seconds she is turning back and sees him. about a quarter second later (still at 32 seconds) he continues on his trajectory and makes contact. He snaps her head back with the punch, probably about 2 foot while the timer on youtube still says 32 seconds.

At 32 seconds, she did not have a bottle. She was (realistically) relatively no danger to anyone. It seemed that the hippies were already outnumbered. The few that were there were getting kicked on the ground. Blueshirt had already punched her at least once, and he specifically sought her out to clock her again. Pushing by other people to do so.

But if he's your hero, then by all means worship away. Fair play to him and all. For hitting her while she was "looking straight at him". Good man.

Spence was on a roll. Had a conference in Washington DC inauguration day shouting Heil Trump. Now hes afraid to show his face in public. Win.

Well in fairness, I'd never heard of him until I saw the video of him getting punched on the street.......................... If that hadn't happened I'd doubt I'd have heard of him still.

Now he's fairly famous and the other videos I've seen have allowed him to come across as relatively well behaved and civilised as opposed to the eejits shouting at him and throwing stuff at him and making him appear to be a martyr.

It allows him to talk about things like "freedom of speech" and compare their approach to fascism. They are making it easy for him.

You need to take things in context. If you and I were in the middle of that melee and on "opposing sides". And if one of us were to have a helmet and the other to have a bottle then I'd take the helmet a hundred times over taking the bottle. The individual with the helmet is much more dangerous. They'll happily jump in there and get "stuck in". Person with the bottle.... they're not going to do nearly as much damage. They'd last maybe half a second if they swung it at someone.

Even in a one-on-one fight situation, I'd take the helmet over the bottle. You'd basically have one chance and a split second window to end the "fight" with your bottle. By that stage I'm in too close for you to have space to use it, Now imagine that we are both surrounded by 20 other lunatics coming in from every angle. I'll definitely take the helmet in that scenario.

For the bit about her holding the bottle, she wasn't holding it when he hit her the second time. That's for the first photo which circulated of him punching her in the face. She seems to have dropped it

At 19 seconds there is one sleeveless fella at the centre of the video preoccupied squaring up and watching the fella with the "skull" bandana on his face. Blueshirt fella runs in from the right of the screen. Just before he gets there, bandana-man hits sleeveless and blueshirt bowls him over from the side.

Blueshirt then make a bee-line for the girl. He seems to make some contact at 22 seconds but the view is blocked. I can't see whether it's a punch or a push or whatever. At 23 seconds, we see her moving back and away and turning away to face the camera, at this point he clocks her at the side of the head. I think she is holding the bottle at this point. And I suspect that this is when the close up photo is taken of her going down and him in front of her. You will see in this photo, from her feet that she is turning away from him at the time. Look at the direction of her feet. Additionally, in the top blurry photo where you can see her with the bottle. This is a fraction of a second before he hits her. You see that the motif on the front of her cap is facing the camera. Blueshirt is coming in from the side and hits her in the side of the head. He has already pushed or punched her backwards at that stage. She is probably off balance already.

At 28 seconds the camera pans back to sleeveless man. Then at 29 back to where blueshirt is looking around and trying to see the girl again. She has moved away from where she was previously. There is a fella in front of him with a backpack. Blueshirt doesn't seem interested in engaging with him.

At 31 seconds the camera pans to the left again. We see the girl to the left, of the screen, probably 10-12 foot from where she was punched earlier, and blueshirt starts to enter from the right. At this point the girl appears to be looking at the ground. About half a second later she twists and looks to her left at the fella getting kicked on the ground. A man with a yellow jacked crosses between her and blueshirt. We see blueshirts hands as he pushes himself around yellow jacket. At 32 seconds she is turning back and sees him. about a quarter second later (still at 32 seconds) he continues on his trajectory and makes contact. He snaps her head back with the punch, probably about 2 foot while the timer on youtube still says 32 seconds.

At 32 seconds, she did not have a bottle. She was (realistically) relatively no danger to anyone. It seemed that the hippies were already outnumbered. The few that were there were getting kicked on the ground. Blueshirt had already punched her at least once, and he specifically sought her out to clock her again. Pushing by other people to do so.

But if he's your hero, then by all means worship away. Fair play to him and all. For hitting her while she was "looking straight at him". Good man.

The awkward moment wheb ''literally hitler'' is standing up for antifa :D:D:D

Reuters published the photos of her with broken glass bottles, she went looking for trouble and found it. Ann Coulter is going to be speaking there at the end of the month, there's going to be a shítstorm.

I'd say a lot, if not most, of the people there went looking for, or expecting trouble. The scenes remind me of football hooligans.
    Still, if someone who went prepared and kitted out with helmet and body armour got stabbed or shot, I would think it was automatically right for whoever did it to do it on that basis.
    The fella who punched her didn't have to punch her. He wasn't backed into a corner and defending himself and he can't have perceived her to be a legitimate threat to his safety that he needed to sprint across the street to punch her

You need to take things in context. If you and I were in the middle of  that melee and on "opposing sides". And if one of us were to have a  helmet and the other to have a bottle then I'd take the helmet a hundred  times over taking the bottle. The individual with the helmet is much  more dangerous. They'll happily jump in there and get "stuck in". Person  with the bottle.... they're not going to do nearly as much damage.  They'd last maybe half a second if they swung it at someone.

The awkward moment wheb ''literally hitler'' is standing up for antifa :D:D:D

I'm not sticking up for any "group" or ideology. I don't care what "side" she was on. A few pages back I posted that it was a disgrace the way your man Spencer was sucker punched during his street interview

The fella who punched her didn't have to punch her. He wasn't backed into a corner and defending himself and he can't have perceived her to be a legitimate threat to his safety that he needed to sprint across the street to punch her

If she was throwing glass bottles, and by all accounts that's what it appears she was doing, then it's fair game. She had a bottle in her hand when he punched her. Sex doesn't matter in that situation. She posted on her FB she was going to get 100 nazi scalps, whatever that means.

Ah sure he should have raped her as well while he was at it. Sure that'd learn her fairly lively wouldn't it? And her being "fair game" and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

She doesn't seem to be "crying" about it. She was interviewed describing what happened. Yer man didn't even bruise her. Nazi punch to a girls face and she brushed it off. Some master race he is.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Look up the definition of communism and note it doesn't apply to the ussr or Stalin. Didn't see any hammer and sickles at the trouble in Berkeley either.

thats the best thing i've read all day :D:D:D

stalin and the ussr weren't even communists? I've heard it all

Apparently you're no student on history or political science. Stalin was a Stalinist. The USSR was not a communist society, as described by Marx. It was bastardised by the Bolsheviks from the beginning.

Even a little historical literacy would allow you to see that. Given some of your posts, clearly lifted from far right sites, I think you could do well to broaden your reading material.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Brian? wrote: »
    Apparently you're no student on history or political science. Stalin was a Stalinist. The USSR was not a communist society, as described by Marx. It was bastardised by the Bolsheviks from the beginning.

Even a little historical literacy would allow you to see that. Given some of your posts, clearly lifted from far right sites, I think you could do well to broaden your reading material.

Any examples of where a truly Marxist communism society was attempted from the off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Terrible argument. Especially calling out people for historical literacy. I read that as projection to be honest.

Communist ideologies lead to death and mass economic dysfunction, which has been proven again and again in the 20th century. 100 million or so people to be exact.

Because it is so completely inapplicable to reality, certain concessions have to made.

When it is bent into shape, made malleable towards your reality, that typically involves forcing people to do some very nasty things.

Any examples of where a truly Marxist communism society was attempted from the off?

None

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Terrible argument. Especially calling out people for historical literacy. I read that as projection to be honest.

Communist ideologies lead to death and mass economic dysfunction, which has been proven again and again in the 20th century. 100 million or so people to be exact.

Because it is so completely inapplicable to reality, certain concessions have to made.

When it is bent into shape, made malleable towards your reality, that typically involves forcing people to do some very nasty things.

So is your contention that Stalinism and Maoism were actually practical applications of Marxist theory? Because you haven't actually explained the flaw in my argument, you've merely attacked me with the same tired rhetoric I was attempting to counter.

There is no such thing as a communist ideologies really. There's communism, I.e the end state of Marxism, then there's ideologies influenced by Marxist theory.

Any authoritarian system claiming to be communist is not actually communist, as communism cannot be enforced by a central power. Centralised, authoritarian power is an anathema to communism.

The central tenant of Marxism is that only the workers can set themselves free, no one can do it for them. It's an idea that's completely anti authoritarian, yet it was bastardised by the Bolsheviks to enslave a nation to a central authoritarian party. Mao followed the model in China.

Terrible arguments?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NinjaKirby

I don't think it puts a huge difference on things. She wasn't holding a bottle or anything when your man ran in from the side and clocked her.
    There are a lot of people in the crowd with helmets and motorbike gear/armour .....If I had to choose, and I had the choice between wearing a motorbike helmet or being armed with a bottle for any type of fight/scuffle, I'd take the helmet any day
    Regardless, she was unarmed at the time he ran in from the side and stuck her.

It doesn't really matter whether you'd prefer a bottle or a helmet.

The simple fact is that she has gone there looking for a fight and he has gone there looking for a fight. They had a confrontation and it went the way it did.

I'm not saying that she "deserved" to be punched in the face but she went there on the day with the intention of getting into a fight with her political opponents. She managed to get into that fight.

They are both at fault here to be honest and I don't think there is much point in splitting hairs over who had the worst/best weapon for the situation. They were both there looking for a fight and they both got into a fight. Let the police sort that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

So is your contention that Stalinism and Maoism were actually practical applications of Marxist theory? Because you haven't actually explained the flaw in my argument, you've merely attacked me with the same tired rhetoric I was attempting to counter.

There is no such thing as a communist ideologies really. There's communism, I.e the end state of Marxism, then there's ideologies influenced by Marxist theory.

Any authoritarian system claiming to be communist is not actually communist, as communism cannot be enforced by a central power. Centralised, authoritarian power is an anathema to communism.

The central tenant of Marxism is that only the workers can set themselves free, no one can do it for them. It's an idea that's completely anti authoritarian, yet it was bastardised by the Bolsheviks to enslave a nation to a central authoritarian party. Mao followed the model in China.

Terrible arguments?

Yeah. Like I said: Communism is socially and economically impossible (with the exception of a handful of lads on a desert island) system and Lenin et al realized this towards the end. When reality is bent back towards communism, then very bad things start to happen. Nietzsche and Dostoevsky warned you lads about this bollox; man applying rationalist, psuedo utopian fantasies and bending reality to accommodate that. It always ends in death.

So when Lenin tried (and Lenin, unlike Stalin, did believe this shìte, he was an academic first and foremost) to apply his dictatorship of the proletariat before the transition into the stateless society he found out that it was economically and socially impossible. Which lead to death, civil war and famine. Then Stalin gets in in 1924 and declares the end point of history. Which also ended in death, civil war and famine. It's the same pattern again and again. Hell, you could probably make the same argument for capitalism: that these days there aren't any capitalist societies in the pure sense of the word, and capitalism converges on corporatism?

Unless you're from the Frankfurt School whereby people have to have their culture changed for glorious revolution to happen?

The only good thing you can say about communist guided systems is that the people suffer under the system so much, that they become immune from a lot of leftist crap when it does fall apart.

Who is going to have a better chance of surviving the next few decades? Ex communist Hungary or extreme left Sweden?

Hick travels halfway across the country to sucker punch children.

What about the "children"? Surely they are there for a fight too?

I'm not understanding here why when 2 groups show up with the intention of fighting each other and it kicks off people are somehow trying to say that one side is somehow worse than the other side?

Let's say my friend tells me he's travelling to the World Cup and is looking forward to meeting up with some Russian hooligans and then getting into fights with English hooligans. He heads over there and some English skin head knocks him clean out but a few of his "team" knock out a few English lads. Aren't both groups in the wrong here? Firstly for inciting violence and secondly for actually committing acts of violence?

NinjaKirby wrote: »
    What about the "children"? Surely they are there for a fight too?

I'm not understanding here why when 2 groups show up with the intention of fighting each other and it kicks off people are somehow trying to say that one side is somehow worse than the other side?

Let's say my friend tells me he's travelling to the World Cup and is looking forward to meeting up with some Russian hooligans and then getting into fights with English hooligans. He heads over there and some English skin head knocks him clean out but a few of his "team" knock out a few English lads. Aren't both groups in the wrong here? Firstly for inciting violence and secondly for actually committing acts of violence?

They're both pricks. I was just reacting to two posters jerking off about how great it was that he'd punched those kids.

Apologies.

Yeah, this isn't great from either side.