Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lions 2017 [MOD WARNING IN OP]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

12 Welsh is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Is Ian Henderson very lucky to get in here? Wouldn't have really considered him for the Lions. Launchbury being left out is mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭bilston

That's some pick Moriarty...what are they smoking!

He was Wales's best player against England before Howler bizarrely took him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

errlloyd wrote: »
    You have to feel bad for the Scots. 2 players - after that 6 Nations. Slightly ridiculous.

Well, 2 players and they name the biggest squad since 2005 is a real kick in the teeth.

Feel they should have left a back row player out and brought another back.

With a 41 man squad you can be guaranteed there are going to be a couple of lads there who will barely feature.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,703 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

im actually gland of the "surprise" calls

Nowell is a better wing than some of the guys starting ahead of him in white *ahem May ahem*

Laws 'can' be very good at times but is inconsistent and can be a penalty machine. Kruis is a workhorse... but i wouldnt have had either ahead of Launchbury, who for me was player of the 6N competition and a major reason for englands long unbeaten run.

Bring the welsh 8 and sub 8 is a bit OTT to be honest. It will be VERY interesting to see who gets the 20 shirt on test day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Name your notable absentees

From and Irish perspective: Earls, Zebo, Ringrose, D Ryan, Healy and Heaslip

others - J Roberts, launchbury, hartley, johnny gray and ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

I think the most unlucky guy of all has to be Jonny Gray. The guy is a leader and hasn't missed a tackle in over 12 months - I can't quite fathom that one. Lawes is a good athlete but had to be Gray for me. No issue with the remainder of the second rows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭bilston

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Is Ian Henderson very lucky to get in here? Wouldn't have really considered him for the Lions. Launchbury being left out is mad.

Outplayed the English lineout a few weeks back and plays second row and back row.

Still think Launchbury is very unlucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,221 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Launchbury is the obvious naming missing in my opinion. Arguably player of the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

It doesnt matter what squad they pick, the problem is the coaching ticket.  Gatland is not sophisticated enough as a coach and does not have a game plan which can beat the All Blacks and he picks an attack coach who is simply not up to it as evident in the way he plays
    If the Lions were going to NZ with a Schmidt/Townsend ticket then there would be a great chance
    But now my money is going a NZ whitewash at 10/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,109 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

sad to say but there will be injuries and guys will be flown over to join up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭preddy

Where does Payne fit in Full back or centre?

Raging Te'o got in at all, who starts at 13?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

You have to feel bad for the Scots. 2 players - after that 6 Nations. Slightly ridiculous.

They don't really have many standout individuals really. I would have brought Jonny Gray though.

By Position:

Rory Best, Jamie George, Ken Owens
    Mako Vunipola, Jack McGrath, Joe Marler
    Dan Cole, Tadhg Furlong, Kyle Sinckler,
    Iain Henderson, Maro Itoje, Alun Wyn Jones, George Kruis, Courtney Lawes
    CJ Stander, Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric, Sean O'Brien, Peter O'Mahony
    Taulupe Faletau, Billy Vunipola, Ross Moriarty

Rhys Webb, Ben Youngs, Conor Murray
    Dan Biggar, Jonathan Sexton
    Jonathan Davies, Owen Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Jonathan Joseph, Jared Payne, Ben Te'o
    George North, Jack Nowell, Tommy Seymour, Anthony Watson, Liam Williams, Elliot Daly
    Stuart Hogg, Leigh Halfpenny

donfers wrote: »
    Name your notable absentees

From and Irish perspective: Earls, Zebo, Ringrose, D Ryan, Healy and Heaslip

others - J Roberts, launchbury, hartley, johnny gray and ???

Only one from an Irish perspective that I'd have in there is Heaslip and he is touch and go (though apparently recovering). I suspect had he not been injured he would have been a good shot for the team.

Other than that I'm surprised Johnn Gray nor Launchbury made it and I'm surprised Lawes did. I'm a little bit surprised at Owens and Moriarty as I don't particularly rate either.

I don't think Ringrose was massively in the running though I'm sure he isn't far off.

Earls similary may have had a shot but Zebo would have been in ahead of him for me.

They've gone with a very physical and mobile pack. If you don't fit that description, you're not there. I think AWJ is the only lock who doesn't have significant blindside experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

kilns wrote: »
    It doesnt matter what squad they pick, the problem is the coaching ticket.  Gatland is not sophisticated enough as a coach and does not have a game plan which can beat the All Blacks and he picks an attack coach who is simply not up to it as evident in the way he plays
    If the Lions were going to NZ with a Schmidt/Townsend ticket then there would be a great chance
    But now my money is going a NZ whitewash at 10/11

Quite how anyone can put together a squad to be competitive with NZ in a matter of weeks at the tail end of the season I don't really know. I can't see any coach being able for it. If Gatland can manage it then fair play to him, but it's a huge ask.

After going down to Australia 4 years ago for it and watching the utter dirge on show for 2 and a bit Tests where the Lions nearly lost to the worst Aussie side I've ever seen I just can't get enthused about this at all tbh. That might change closer to the time when the 6Ns, Pro12 and Champions Cup are all in the rear view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Not really. The only unlucky player imo is Gray J, and possibly Laidlaw. Everyone loves the Scots but they were more the sum of their parts than too many outstanding individuals - their pack was average, and their halves too deep all tournament.

I'm happy for Henshaw, that's a deserved pick.

Payne must be pinching himself.

Do I think this side can beat NZ? Potentially yes. Hooker is weakish, but the pack is otherwise pretty comparable with both sides having strenghths and weaknesses.

Fancy NZ to have the edge in the backs though - there is massive gap between injury-prone Sexton and out-of-form Biggar, midfield we will see, outside backs potentially up there, but the Lions will need to avoid injury.

Worst pick: Ben Teo. Still looks like a league player learning union, but I suppose he will be used for bench impact.

There is one easy game for the Lions (even then it is not that easy), so this will be a big challenge.

Looking forward to it.

Glad all the hot air is over with the millions of inaccurate posts these last few days. Joseph was not supposed to make it I recall, Roberts would be in etc.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,703 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

PTH2009 wrote: »
    sad to say but there will be injuries and guys will be flown over to join up

brought by train down

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭death1234567

What's much more ridculous is when you realise that there are more New Zealanders in the Lions squad than Scots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Gatland shouldnt be coach, pretty simple really. He nearly butchered winning against the weakest Wallabies team in years. Only for a missed kick by Beale they would have. The Wales manager shouldnt have a current connection to any of the Nations. What logic is bring 12 Welsh to 2 Scots when they beat them earlier this year and finished 5th out of 6 teams.
    Biggar/Davies/HP have players ahead of them in most coachs eyes
    I personally would have Jackson miles ahead of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I'm happy with that squad. Good mix of power and guile. Some clever footballers in there. Looks like we'll be looking to win the chess game with them anyway.

Moriarty has been a beast, but you get the feeling he's there because Heaslip isn't fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Te'o, Henderson, Biggar and Moriarty all blessed. Luckiest lions since Hape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,109 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

cant wait to watch the fly on the wall doc at christmas

there always great productions

32/37....I'll take that! Still find it unbelievable that Launchbury is being left out.

Hookers: Best, Owens, Hartley
    Props, McGrath, Healy, Furlong, Vunipola, Sinckler, Cole (I think we might well see a left field pick here though, don't rule out someone like John Ryan who can cover both sides).
    Locks: Itoje, Henderson, Launchbury, AWJ, Johnny Gray
    Back row: Vunipola, Warburton, Tipuric, Stander, SOB, Faletau, POM (straight call between POM and Moriarty for last spot)
    Scrum half: Murray, Webb, Youngs
    Outhalf: Sexton, Farrell, Carbery
    Centre: Henshaw, Joseph, Davies, Payne
    Wingers: Watson, North, Liam Williams, Daly
    Full Back: Hogg, Halfpenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭ucd.1985

What's much more ridculous is when you realise that there are more New Zealanders in the Lions squad than Scots.

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Imagine the Scotland heads exploding right now that Lawes and Henderson travel ahead of the consistent, indestructible, unquestionable, wolverine like Richie Gray.

I'm actually snortling on my cappucino of choice. Just wait for the pages and pages of hyperbole and hysteria with a dash of knee jerk topped off with imho.

It makes the Top 14s rewarding of contracts even more laughable and nostalgic.

Sweet lunches chaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

I wonder if Heaslip was fit would he have gone instead of Moriarty, I suspect so
    I think Full Back is a very weak area too, Halpenny is not the player he was and it was a Welsh call to pick him and I would not trust Hogg against NZ defensively.  I could see Payne starting there by the 2nd test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

ucd.1985 wrote: »
    Who?

Jared Payne, Ben Te'o, Dylan Hartley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭preddy

Happy enough with Biggar big game player with experience if needed.

.ak wrote: »
    I'm happy with that squad. Good mix of power and guile. Some clever footballers in there. Looks like we'll be looking to win the chess game with them anyway.

Moriarty has been a beast, but you get the feeling he's there because Heaslip isn't fit.

Yup. I wasn't sure Heaslip would have definitely made the squad if he was fit. I'd have said he was 70/30. But seeing that they've brought Faletau and Moriarty makes me 99% sure he'd have been picked now if he didn't have surgery.

Still might go but if his back is healing slowly, he'd be better off taking the summer off at this point.