If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RIP Martin McGuinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Jayop wrote: »
    Fair play to Arlene for showing up. I could have understood had she not and I'm certain it's a tough decision for her and one that will get some eyebrows raised from her "side". But there she was and I'm reading she got a round of applause which is great.

Would be brilliant if his death could be used now to heal wounds rather than create more.

I noticed she had removed her Royal Crown, jewel brooch for the funeral.

I consider that a subtle mark of respect from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

All the live streams gone now?

Can't access them myself watching it on rte news now on my old school TV, it covered the church part well and it's supposed to come back to Gerry Adams speech when they reach the grave side.

Currently showing general news stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Yep. Little things like that shouldn't go unnoticed. With the help of God like I said earlier hopefully the death of himself will be a force for good. Even reading twitter updates now one of the most positive things is how few trolls there are. I would have expected every second post to be negative but they are few and far between.
    davycc wrote: »
    Can't access them myself watching it on rte news now on my old school TV, it covered the church part well and it's supposed to come back to Gerry Adams speech when they reach the grave side.

Currently showing general news stuff

Same. BBC stream cut off straight after the funeral too. I'd love to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

RTE cut the stream really fast,the coffin wasnt even out of the church and we were back to the Newsroom

I was hoping they would show the scenes outside the church as the hearse made its way through the crowd and to the graveyard,would have been nice to hear the reaction of the crowd there

RTE cut the stream really fast,the coffin wasnt even out of the church and we were back to the Newsroom

I was hoping they would show the scenes outside the church as the hearse made its way through the crowd and to the graveyard,would have been nice to hear the reaction of the crowd there

This is outside the church

https://twitter.com/DavidYoungPA/status/844942955748229120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,592 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I wonder will Enda, the President and Arlene etc go to the graveside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,334 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Considering she likely wears it on her pyjama's to bed, a real mark of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I can't see Arlene going to the graveyard, tbh.

Not your ornery onager

I wouldn't expect them too.

Also if there was going to be any military element that's where it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Esel wrote: »
    I can't see Arlene going to the graveyard, tbh.
    Wouldn't expect her to, nor should there be any obligation on her to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A relative of mine at the funeral said Arelene got a round of applause as she entered he church. Is he pulling my leg or did anyone else hear that?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A relative of mine at the funeral said Arelene got a round of applause as she entered he church. Is he pulling my leg or did anyone else hear that?

No it happened ok.
    I was watching the chapels own webcam feed.

Clinton also got one.

As for her going to the graveside, can't see her doing that. I assume Martin will be getting buried at the republican plot in Derrys city cemetery, theres a lot of flags, statues etc there which would not be pleasant for her to stand beside. She done her bit already, she can head home now.

Yeah I seen a clip of it but can't find it now

edit: Here it is...

http://linkis.com/www.bbc.co.uk/news/ybqru

Yes she did. I posted about it earlier.
    Great thing, in and of itself.

RTE apparently doing live coverrage from the graveyard when the time comes....

https://twitter.com/RTENewsNow/status/844953615768981509/photo/1

That brought a tear to my eye to be honest.

Having had family members flee Derry from the threat of Loyalist and security force violence I can tell you nothing makes me happy like reconcilliation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Great moment
    Roll on the new assembly
    Mcguiness final legacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

It's real progress that round of applause happened and McGuinness deserves credit for that. He most likely won't get that credit in the British Media though.

murpho999 wrote: »
    It's real progress that round of applause happened and McGuinness deserves credit for that. He most likely won't get that credit in the British Media though.

Who cares about the scummy British rag redtops and the likes of the Daily Mail. All they do is peddle hate and fear. Apparently that sells to the plebs so let them off with it.

It will be interesting to hear what Adams has to say.
    I wonder is he thinking about Pearse and O'Donovan Rossa.

It will be interesting to hear what Adams has to say.
    I wonder is he thinking about Pearse and O'Donovan Rossa.

I wonder did he think as any stage today, "will I get a send off like this".

I'd imagine he will tbh.

Who cares about the scummy British rag redtops and the likes of the Daily Mail. All they do is peddle hate and fear. Apparently that sells to the plebs so let them off with it.

Because they feed mistruths to people and are believed by many.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Because they feed mistruths to people and are believed by many.

The opinion of anyone who reads the British tabloids or their Irish counterparts is absolutely meaningless to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I am proud that the Republicans and Nationalists in Derry showed Arlene the courtesy and respect she deserved in St Columbas. I accept that attending today's funeral of an ex IRA commander was no small task for her to fulfill.

If she comes away from todays.experience with a new found.respect, and different approach to republicans and Nationalists with a different mindset, the new assy may just work, and some good could come from Martin's death.

Let's see

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Kenny was wearing his blue shirt I see.

Clintons speech shows American imperialism at its finest, assuming that we would care what a US citizens opinions are on the matter, I am not saying his opinions are wrong but they shouldn't really stick their beaks in. I don't understand what he's preaching about anyway, most people aren't fighting anymore, maybe it is segregated education he is wanting to end.

Kenny was wearing his blue shirt I see.

Clintons speech shows American imperialism at its finest, assuming that we would care what a US citizens opinions are on the matter, I am not saying his opinions are wrong but they shouldn't really stick their beaks in.

Ah here. If it wasn't for American's, in particular Clinton, "sticking his beak in" there quite probably wouldn't have been such a successful peace process.

RTE live from the graveside now.

The opinion of anyone who reads the British tabloids or their Irish counterparts is absolutely meaningless to me.

Yes, but just because it doesn't impact you does not mean it has damaging influence on other people such as the Unionist community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83