If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RIP Martin McGuinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Former US president Barack Obama last night issued a statement paying tribute to Mr McGuinness, saying: "I send my condolences to the family and many friends of Martin McGuinness, a man who had the wisdom and courage to pursue peace and reconciliation for his people.

"His leadership was instrumental in turning the page on a past of violence and conflict that he knew all too well. In our own meetings, I was always struck by his good humour and persistent belief in a better future for the people of Northern Ireland.

"May Martin rest in the peace that he pursued in life, and may his example inspire others to follow a path of reconciliation."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

your face wrote:
    A lot of people of a certain persuasion expound the virtues of peace but never fail to have a dig at their opposites when the slightest opportunity arises.

That'd be why SF have consistently been calling for a truth and reconciliation inquiry, and why every one else have consistently been rejecting it, right?

Would you get up the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,611 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Former US president Barack Obama last night issued a statement paying tribute to Mr McGuinness, saying: "I send my condolences to the family and many friends of Martin McGuinness, a man who had the wisdom and courage to pursue peace and reconciliation for his people.

"His leadership was instrumental in turning the page on a past of violence and conflict that he knew all too well. In our own meetings, I was always struck by his good humour and persistent belief in a better future for the people of Northern Ireland.

"May Martin rest in the peace that he pursued in life, and may his example inspire others to follow a path of reconciliation."
    That'd be why SF have consistently been calling for a truth and reconciliation inquiry, and why every one else have consistently been rejecting it, right?

Would you get up the yard.

Saying as you two are likely in the 'office' with me, would you make us a cup of tea and raid the biccie jar? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

That vile piece of scum Katie Hopkins is at it again. She wrote something in the Daily Mail(I think?)having a go at him.

Attention seeking cow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Anybody know if his furneral is being streamed live?
    Checked the church website but can't see a link on it...not sure if it's my laptop or not.
    A link would be appreciated if anybody has one.

Sundew wrote: »
    Checked the church website but can't see a link on it...not sure if it's my laptop or not.

RTE is screening it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Try this:

http://www.bbc.com/news/live/uk-northern-ireland-39365921

RTE is screening it.

Cheers for that...had googled but was getting no links!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

RTE is screening it.

Is it not just RTE News Now?

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Is it not just RTE News Now?

Not sure which channel, just know that they were covering it.

c8d3ea52-05af-4c9b-ab06-2307bd4dac83.jpg

A round of applause for Arlene as she arrived at the funeral.
    It's very much up to the DUP now, time for them to be statesman/womanlike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

A round of applause for Arlene as she arrived at the funeral.
    It's very much up to the DUP now, time for them to be statesman/womanlike.
    A certain poignancy there. Arlene received a lot of flack in the last day or so over whether she would attend or not. Given she had been directly impacted by the IRA this is completely understandable, and I'm sure Martin himself would have acknowledged that.

As a Republican I am most thankful that she did attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,721 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

That vile piece of scum Katie Hopkins is at it again. She wrote something in the Daily Mail(I think?)having a go at him.

Attention seeking cow!

indeed. but remember, vermin like her will never amount to anything.

if anyone is having a drink tonight, don't forget to raise a toast to our boy martin. one of the greatist irish men.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

PSNI Chief Constable George Hamilton was among the mourners.

armaghlad wrote: »
    A certain poignancy there. Arlene received a lot of flack in the last day or so over whether she would attend or not. Given she had been directly impacted by the IRA this is completely understandable, and I'm sure Martin himself would have acknowledged that.

As a Republican I am most thankful that she did attend.

The frank truth is that Arlene was in that position because she put herself there.
    She dealt with McGuinness many times. She never seemed to understand, like McGuinness understood I think, that she was a leader and personal feelings needed to be dealt with privately and on a personal basis.
    Only then can we move forward.

In saying that, delighted to see her there too and I would have been applauding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Fair play to Arlene for showing up. I could have understood had she not and I'm certain it's a tough decision for her and one that will get some eyebrows raised from her "side". But there she was and I'm reading she got a round of applause which is great.

Would be brilliant if his death could be used now to heal wounds rather than create more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Fair play is right. I would have shook her hand for that. It was a Christian thing to do.

Clinton speaking really well on the BBC link now.

Jayop wrote: »
    Fair play to Arlene for showing up. I could have understood had she not and I'm certain it's a tough decision for her and one that will get some eyebrows raised from her "side". But there she was and I'm reading she got a round of applause which is great.

Would be brilliant if his death could be used now to heal wounds rather than create more.

I would genuinely love to be inside her head or the head of any DUP person as they listen today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,125 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I would genuinely love to be inside her head or the head of any DUP person as they listen today.

I'm pretty sure it's an experience you would not enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

RiP Martin.

Blessed are the peacemakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,087 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Bill seemed to really like him. It was a good speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Slieve Gullion

R.i.p. Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Bill Clinton spoke really well

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0323/861887-mcguinness/

"Finish the work that is there to be done"

All the live streams gone now?

Classy funeral! The Presbyterian Minister Rev David Latimer cracked me up.

I thought he was Charlie Boorman for a minute.