Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Star is sound chap once game is over by all accounts! I once asked a recently retired Dub about him and he had height of praise for him. Completely gracious in victory or defeat. Other chap referred..., not so much :)

Yeah that rings true to what I was told too, most of the Kerry lads in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Star is sound chap once game is over by all accounts! I once asked a recently retired Dub about him and he had height of praise for him. Completely gracious in victory or defeat. Other chap referred..., not so much :)

In fairness to Cillian, he seems a gent off the pitch too. People change once there on the pitch and that's fine with me. I wasn't from Mayo I would hate him but it's actually nice to have one of our lads hated.

He's a very smart player, I think he pushes the boundaries to the limit in terms of getting the refs / officials attention etc. I don't like seeing it but I wouldn't want him to change much either.

What's the feeling in the Dub camp coming up to the game? There's a little bit of a buzz in Mayo after the last two wins but it would be very different if we hadn't stolen a win down in Kerry.
    Personally I'm not overly concerned with the result, if the likes of Coen, Boland & Loftus look comfortable against ye in HQ then that'll be a big plus for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Will be big crowd. 30,000 there last day on miserable night. Wouldn't be surprised to see 40,000.

Neither team will want to be beaten, so should be an interesting encounter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Will be big crowd. 30,000 there last day on miserable night. Wouldn't be surprised to see 40,000.

Neither team will want to be beaten, so should be an interesting encounter!

Wasn't at the last game, but a lot of people I know who brought kids said they regretted it/ left early; just too cold.

I've a big bugbear with league tickets for Croke Park this time of the year - wind is normally going straight into the Cusack, which means if its raining a lot of people are getting wet. That's no joke if you have a bunch of 8 year olds with you and you've been there three hours. All the family tickets are for the Cusack afaik. It will probably be wet tomorrow.

On subject of which, I note that the Cusack is sold out on tickets.ie.....

Last night was miserable alright! We had good enough seats after moving back in the Hogan but was still freezing. Too long for kids.

If Cusack is sold out you be talking 50,000 tmw.

Last night was miserable alright! We had good enough seats after moving back in the Hogan but was still freezing. Too long for kids.

If Cusack is sold out you be talking 50,000 tmw.

I think to be fair it should be a lot milder tomorrow. Am looking forward to it; last game in October was an absolute cracker.

To my mind, these are the clear number 1 and number 2 teams in the country.

Evidence of last three years would suggest so. It is a big draw and there a lot of Mayo people living in Dublin. Also, hurling people are a bit more optimistic after last match so that will also boost attendance.

I'd agree. Plus I would feel that Austin Gleeson has a bit of that star quality, one of the few GAA players in the country that people might be interested in going just to see him alone.....Dublin hurlers could do with much the same (cough cough ..... and have one on the football panel!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Was stuck out in the open on the hogan..left halfway through the second half of the football. Just me and some other poor hoor in our row were still braving it at that stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Any news on whether Connolly will be included?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

ArielAtom wrote: »
    It's a bit like the hate for Diarmuid from all and sundry. O'Shea is a dislikeable character.

It isn't a good comparison. Connolly has gotten off numerous times from bans, when frankly he shouldn't have. The last one in particular leaving a sour taste, as it was an obvious strike. And without going into it, we are all aware of some serious, bad behaviour from him in society in general.

In comparison, what has O'Shea actually done? Spends a bit too long trimming his hair and beard? There is no shortage of that in the Dublin squad either in fairness and Cian O'Sullivan would put him in the ha'penny place.. Truth be told, AOS is actually far too honest when playing Dublin. McMahon generally fouls him 3 out of every 5 times the ball is coming in, and he stays on his feet and tries to win it. I just don't see where this intense dislike seems to come from.

Re O'Connor, I actually think people are a bit harsh on him. He isn't there to be a star, or to have limelight, or to make friends, he is there to play football and win games. He doesn't pretend anything else. He is quite similar to Ciaran Kilkenny in that regard, yet I don't dislike Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Wasn't at the last game, but a lot of people I know who brought kids said they regretted it/ left early; just too cold.

I've a big bugbear with league tickets for Croke Park this time of the year - wind is normally going straight into the Cusack, which means if its raining a lot of people are getting wet. That's no joke if you have a bunch of 8 year olds with you and you've been there three hours. All the family tickets are for the Cusack afaik. It will probably be wet tomorrow.

On subject of which, I note that the Cusack is sold out on tickets.ie.....

I am assuming thats just the lower Cusack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It isn't a good comparison. Connolly has gotten off numerous times from bans, when frankly he shouldn't have. The last one in particular leaving a sour taste, as it was an obvious strike. And without going into it, we are all aware of some serious, bad behaviour from him in society in general.

In comparison, what has O'Shea actually done? Spends a bit too long trimming his hair and beard? There is no shortage of that in the Dublin squad either in fairness and Cian O'Sullivan would put him in the ha'penny place.. Truth be told, AOS is actually far too honest when playing Dublin. McMahon generally fouls him 3 out of every 5 times the ball is coming in, and he stays on his feet and tries to win it. I just don't see where this intense dislike seems to come from.

Re O'Connor, I actually think people are a bit harsh on him. He isn't there to be a star, or to have limelight, or to make friends, he is there to play football and win games. He doesn't pretend anything else. He is quite similar to Ciaran Kilkenny in that regard, yet I don't dislike Kilkenny.

O'Shea gets a lot of media attention, he doesn't seek it for the most part but that sets him up as a target. Cian O'Sullivan doesn't have that profile.

Cillian can come across a little petulant at times when looking for frees etc. More so than any other top player. Generally people don't like to see that. Kilkenny wouldn't be on the same level in terms of acting up.

It's fairly obvious why both get the attention from opposition supporters. That doesn't justify some of the crap that's said said about them. If you've a hatred for a GAA player then you're doing the whole thing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Edit .. FWIW AOS is in the hapenny place to O'Connor or Donaghy in a charm contest on a football field, but I would admit to having a respect for what Donaghy has achieved

In fairness, there isn't a lot charming about Cluxton, McMahon, Cooper, MDMC, Kilkenny, O'Gara and a few more. But at the end of the day, it's a game of football, not an interview process to marry your daughter...

I have no issue with any of those guys unless they act in a nasty way on the pitch, like McMahon gouging donaghy's eye for example. He would be the only one Id take issue with, regardless of their lack of charm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Wont make this game.
    Im sticking to my habit of missing home games. Like the one I missed last year up in Bridget's a 10 minute walk !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

I hope the pitch is playable tomorrow. Looking at the Rovers match tonight and the ball was holding up and controlling it was hard. I can only imagine what it will be like after the hurlers are finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Stoner wrote: »
    Wont make this game.
    Im sticking to my habit of missing home games. Like the not one I missed last year up in Bridget's a 10 minutes walk !!

What's the problem? Is the pinot noir corked in the corporate box or the radiators not working.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The rads were off (in the Canal End bar) three weeks ago, against Tyrone. T'was effing Baltic. A stiffly worded email to Joe Duffy, Padraig Duffy, Jim Gavin and my local TD, was very nearly sent !

Anyone know if you can swap a Hill ticead for a stand one, at either the NCR ticket office, or the ticket van at the bottom of Clonliffe Rd? Or will ya be told to shag off, or just buy another one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,041 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The rads were off (in the Canal End bar) three weeks ago, against Tyrone. T'was effing Baltic. A stiffly worded email to Joe Duffy, Padraig Duffy, Jim Gavin and my local TD, was very nearly sent !

Anyone know if you can swap a Hill ticead for a stand one, at either the NCR ticket office, or the ticket van at the bottom of Clonliffe Rd? Or will ya be told to shag off, or just buy another one?

You could chance it I suppose.

Either that or:

1) Sell the Hill ticket
    2) Drink a naggin before you go to hill, you will be grand then

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Plus 10

Hi - I have a couple of spare tickets (1 adult 1 juvenile) - anyone interested in them (free - I can e-mail them on) pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Good half there from the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is it Dooley in goals? He's dithering under pressure. If Waterford can work ball in on top of him or work one ones with our full back line they'll get goals I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Anywhere to view the Dublin XV

Waterford upped it second half, their class came through.

Still though, lot of positives. We created a lot of chances, that on another day we could have have converted.

Some of them very windy though. Need a good feed of stout and stew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    What's the problem? Is the pinot noir corked in the corporate box or the radiators not working..

Came in handy vs Tyrone!!!

TBH WRT the season ticket. I'd never pay for some of the seats they give out.

Looking at returning to the Hill again next year.

I think Mayo will beat us tonight . Has to happen at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Areally any TV stations covering it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

Areally any TV stations covering it?

Eir Sport 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Eir Sport 2

They are doing cavan v donegal

Mayo lads at it again. Filth. More interested in argy bargy than playing the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

They are doing cavan v donegal

Yeah I think there's an SD and a HD channel or something weird like that. I'm watching the Dublin game on eir sport 2 'live', whatever that is.