Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Where's Magic when you need him???? One word "Trimming"!!!!

He must have left his magic wand on croagh Patrick when he was saying his prayers.

Also, I find your username insulting.. a terrible insult to muck!

Mayo never went out to win the game, no plan no passion.
    They are very lucky there is a back door in the summer. Because Roscommon will fancy their chances never mind galway!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Stoner wrote: »
    Not sure about Kerry, definitely Monaghan aren't, Tyrone would have it in them alright to beat anyone.

I would be more afraid of the Monaghan team then Mayo. They are organised, passionate and have McManus. I heard they had two sent off today and still stayed in the game

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Bambi wrote: »
    Sure didnt the ball just happened to be in around the goal

Mayo more interested in trying to bust lads than winning tonight. McGoldrick was trying harder to get scores for them than they were

That tackle from behind on fenton towards the end was shocking

Sorry Bambi my OCD is kicking in.;)The refs name is David Coldrick.

Some random thoughts.

-How did McMahon get MOTM? He was poor defensively and there wasn't a lack of good performances. MDM for me.
    -Fitzsimons has to mark Moran if we play Mayo later in the year. His pace and tenacity are a nightmare for him.
    -I know it was a one sided game but lots of the younger lads really took the initiative. Lowndes, Daly and Small could have read McCarthy, COS and McCaffrey such was their influence.
    -Mayo always miss a trick in the league IMO. They allow Dublin psychologically batter them every year. Saying it doesn't matter its just the league is wide of the mark. Some of them didn't winter well either. Keegan looked to be carrying a bit of timber.
    -Pleased with the hurlers. Waterford are just fitter and stronger than us but we matched them for long periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Fwiw, Fenton was my motm.

Best player in the country right now by a long way. Everything he does is glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Slattsy wrote: »

Best player in the country right now by a long way. Everything he does is glorious.

Have to agree, some of his kick-passing is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I would be more afraid of the Monaghan team then Mayo. They are organised, passionate and have McManus. I heard they had two sent off today and still stayed in the game

This Dublin team destroys Monaghan though and only beat Mayo by slim margins.

Agree that ignoring the league is not wise from Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Watcing the replay back now....

Where do you start?

MDMA. Welcome back, my son. You were missed.

Fenton. Beast of a man. Beast of a player. Beast of Dub. It is downright scary to think how good he could be, when he has 5 or 6 more years expereience under his belt.

Why on earth did Paddy Andrews take the penalty? It was the most anaemic peno I have ever seen in my life. Even my granny could have saved that.

O'Gara...I swear to God, I love him to bits, but he takes years off my life.

Nice to see St Cillian back to his usual ways of throwing the sneaky elbows and of course, he gets away with it. Billy Joe Padden looking a prize twit in the commentary, trying to sugar coat it, when the replays clearly showed it up for what it was. Philly responded in the best way possible....on the scoreboard !

Onwards and upwards we march. Tralee should be some craic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Slattsy wrote: »

Best player in the country last year too.
    Should have won POTY by a country mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

corny wrote: »

I called him everything bar his name tonight, I'm not gonna break that habit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

-Mayo always miss a trick in the league IMO. They allow Dublin psychologically batter them every year. Saying it doesn't matter its just the league is wide of the mark. Some of them didn't winter well either. Keegan looked to be carrying a bit of timber.

Well done tonight. A hammering.

I'm not overly concerned, Dublin are streets ahead when it comes to a panel and this makes ye a monster in the League. No County can compete and I can't see much changing. I've said it in the Mayo thread but there's just so much competition for Championship spots and so much strength in depth that others can't compete.

It's not that we don't care about the League but you have to be realistic. We started the league without 5 or 6 key players. That's a big loss to us and it doesn't help when bringing in new blood. You want new blood being blended with the best.

Spot on re Keegan. He got roasted by Reilly in the ICF and his arse has doubled in size, he looked like he had a nice belly on his too at the Rossie game. He'll be back in action soon though... but to prove above, no Dublin player would allow that over the winter, they can't afford to, someone would snap up their place or move above them in the pecking order. That's the difference for me and unless 15 players emerge to challenge our best 15, it won't change. Other county's will always struggle with that.

That's not a complaint though. The Championship evens things up.

PARlance wrote: »

I'm not overly concerned, Dublin are streets ahead when it comes to a panel and this makes ye a monster in the League. No County can compete and I can't see much changing. I've said it in the Mayo thread but there's just so much competition for Championship spots and so much strength in depth that others can't compete.

It's not that we don't care about the League but you have to be realistic. We started the league without 5 or 6 key players. That's a big loss to us and it doesn't help when bringing in new blood. You want new blood being blended with the best.

Spot on re Keegan. He got roasted by Reilly in the ICF and his arse has doubled in size, he looked like he had a nice belly on his too at the Rossie game. He'll be back in action soon though... but to prove above, no Dublin player would allow that over the winter, they can't afford to, someone would snap up their place or move above them in the pecking order. That's the difference for me and unless 15 players emerge to challenge our best 15, it won't change. Other county's will always struggle with that.

That's not a complaint though. The Championship evens things up.

I'm sorry, but comparing the size of the two panels is a bit of a cop out imo. Last year in Castlebar, there was barely a kick of a ball between the two teams. That night, Dublin had a lot more regulars playing, than they did tonight, yet all they could manage was a 2 pt win. No one was talking about panel depth that night. Tonight, too many Mayo players looked like they just didn't give a $hit. Plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'm sorry, but comparing the size of the two panels is a bit of a cop out imo. Last year in Castlebar, there was barely a kick of a ball between the two teams. That night, Dublin had a lot more regulars playing, than they did tonight, yet all they could manage was a 2 pt win. No one was talking about panel depth that night. Tonight, too many Mayo players looked like they just didn't give a $hit. Plain and simple.

And I think you've helped prove my point. There's no way you'll get the same intensity as Dublin can manage so consistently.

I couldn't give a $hit myself ;) about getting into an argument it. Getting a hammering is embarrassing but I stated it at the start of the year, I don't care too much for success in the League IF we can develop 3-4 new players that are ready for the Championship (and work on 3 or 4 weaknesses) then I'll be more than happy that we're in much better shape than last year. We've 2-3 lads that have come through well and that gives me hope.

There can be no excuses come the Championship, as I've stated above. I don't do cop outs, just realistic goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Bambi wrote: »
    Mayo more interested in trying to bust lads than winning tonight. McGoldrick was trying harder to get scores for them than they were

That tackle from behind on fenton towards the end was shocking

Thought the tackle on McMahon by Cillian O'Connor was disgraceful. Straight red. A few Mayo lads I agree seemed more intent on nailing lads than playing football. Not nice to see.
    Kerry, Tyrone and Monaghan are all better teams then Mayo for a start. So I think Mayo will need Mad Cow Disease in Ulster and a plague in kerry, to stand any chance of making September.

Dont agree with this. Kerry are good at winning, they can play great football and they are developing some good lads at the moment. Monaghan can deliver some great performances but putting a few together is their problem. Tyrone on their day can beat any team in Ireland. They are the team to challenge Dublin and Mayo. Despite Mayos performance tonight they are still All-Ireland contenders.

Some random thoughts.

-How did McMahon get MOTM?

-Fitzsimons has to mark Moran if we play Mayo later in the year. His pace and tenacity are a nightmare for him.

Some of them didn't winter well either. Keegan looked to be carrying a bit of timber.
    -Pleased with the hurlers. Waterford are just fitter and stronger than us but we matched them for long periods.

Fenton M.O.M by a mile. Some performance. His distribution and work rate are top class. For a big man he looks so comfortable on the ball.
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Watcing the replay back now....

Where do you start?

MDMA. Welcome back, my son. You were missed.

Fenton. Beast of a man. Beast of a player. Beast of Dub. It is downright scary to think how good he could be, when he has 5 or 6 more years expereience under his belt.

Why on earth did Paddy Andrews take the penalty? It was the most anaemic peno I have ever seen in my life. Even my granny could have saved that.

O'Gara...I swear to God, I love him to bits, but he takes years off my life.

Nice to see St Cillian back to his usual ways of throwing the sneaky elbows and of course, he gets away with it. Billy Joe Padden looking a prize twit in the commentary trying to sugar coat it, when the replays clearly showed it up for what it was. Philly responded in the best way possible....on the scoreboard !

Billy Joe was awful on commentary. Worse than Bernard Flynn and McHugh tied together. Not just this incident but quite a few during the game.

Where to now for Mayo. Parsons had a decent game and got a few nice scores.
    If I were Rochford I would not be starting Andy Moran or Vaughan. Mayo need to be freshened up and they need to stick with the young lads and build the team around Boyle, Higgins, Keegan, Parsons, Durcan etc. I think it would be good for them. If Dublin do meet them later in the summer they will be much better than tonight.

The new Dublin lads were again very good. Scully, Lowndes and McHugh are serious contenders come championship and add in the few U/21s.... Most pleasing is the workrate of the older lads. The hunger is still there and they are in good shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

O'Gara's goal miss was spectacular in fairness!

Thought MDM should have gotten man of the match.

From Mayo perspective they lost the psychological battle from the throw in with some nasty sh!t.

If Cillian was as good at taking scores as sly digs they might have something. He bottled every big score tonight.

Having said that, if Dubs and Mayo meet in Summer will be closer.

Six points maybe :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

was impressed with that McHugh lad at 15. Showed for ball, got a couple of scores. Looks a good prospect. Will he be around come championship?

He gets into good positions, but was pushed off the ball a few times where Bernard or Dermie would have buried it. But he is good. Doubt he be a starter come the Summer. Absence of Costello even from the subs is strange. McCauley was brilliant tonight. Back to his old self :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The funniest thing about mayo is, if they actually played football against dublin as opposed to their usual tactics of off the ball hits and using their best player to man Mark one of our threats then they would go along way.
    It certainly cost them a all Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Yeah but Dublin don't grow these lads or build them with their mountains of cash. They enter an environment where Gavin expects them to work their bollox off for the team, irrespective of the competition. Thats why they shine and people laud the strength in depth. I'm not sure the young lads in Mayo have any chance to shine given the clear lack of ambition in the league. How could they? They're doing the same training as the others and if its not good enough for them to compete why would it be good enough for the young players? Every year you lads lament the lack of options breaking through but they've no platform to do so. Give them to Gavin. He'll make them good for ye.;)

Look fitness wise they'll be where they want to be come August no doubt. However, if i was managing a team who had a clear mental block against Dublin (they should have won the AI final) i'd move mountains to get a win, any win against them. Dublin upped the intensity last night because they know making a statement against you lads is important. I fully agree with that. It is important.

On a not unrelated note. Paul Flynn looked as lean and fit as ever i saw him last night. He'll start against Kerry. Be interesting to see where he plays. Hope he gets time in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I think what was most encouraging coming out of the ground last night apart from the result, was the return (however briefly) to direct running in the 2nd half. There was a period there when CK was a throwback to a few years ago playing in front of his marker in a central position inside their 45. We looked dangerous everytime we attacked - admittedly it was primarily because they sensed that Mayo didn't fancy it last night, but it was pleasing none the less.

The 2 lads in the middle on form were a joy to watch - there is nothing close to them for athleticism and ball carrying.

The massive plus for me on the night was the HB line who looked well matched on their opposites but completely dominated, even late in the game Butsy shifted 2 big hits coming out with the ball, when a facile point for Mayo wouldn't have made anyone blink. Dublin had more blockdowns last night than I can remember in recent years, as a coach I'll sit our lads down and let them see a master class in group defending.

A few pages back here people debated AOS, Connolly Star and COC. Every team has a pantomime villain - but last night COC was a nasty bit of work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Well done to the dublin team. It is clear to see so many are fighting for championship spots. They are a top side.

To the fans, i would say this, you boo coc's frees constantly, yet when the tables are turned guys are apoplectic with rage about it. The fact that it wouldnt have happened if ye hadnt started it seems lost on ye, and to me underlines why mayo and dublin fans dont get along.

Re mcmahon, bad form from coc, but mcmahon lives by the sword and to be honest deserves no sympathy. If he can do this stuff and get away with it then nobody can be cribbing when it comes back his way

and to me underlines why mayo and dublin fans dont get along.
    Ahhh every county has their fair share of idiots. If you were actually from Mayo some of your posts might just underline that fact to me, but it's not the case.

Dublin and Mayo supporters get on fine. Possibly better than most. The regular goodwill challenge games between the two county boards over the years point to that, along with some genuine goodwill between some of the posters here. It's good to focus on the positives in our sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Paulzx

, and to me underlines why mayo and dublin fans dont get along.

y

Says who? You?

I've sat beside plenty of Mayo fans and I've yet to hear a bad word exchanged between us. There has never been an issue.

Maybe you don't get along with Dublin fans???

Well going by some of the comments from other Mayo supporters, over in the Mayo thread, he can't even get on with them. So I am not holding out much hope for his ability to get on with us sainted Dubs. :D

And I think you've helped prove my point. There's no way you'll get the same intensity as Dublin can manage so consistently.

I couldn't give a $hit myself wink.png about getting into an argument it. Getting a hammering is embarrassing but I stated it at the start of the year, I don't care too much for success in the League IF we can develop 3-4 new players that are ready for the Championship (and work on 3 or 4 weaknesses) then I'll be more than happy that we're in much better shape than last year. We've 2-3 lads that have come through well and that gives me hope.

There can be no excuses come the Championship, as I've stated above. I don't do cop outs, just realistic goals.

I'm not one for arguing either. Perish the thought ! ( wink.png ) However, league games are where we have honed our practice of going full on with the intensity for the full 70 minutes. It really stands to us in August and September. Yes, we can have our periods where we seem to lose focus too, but it never lasts long and more often than not, we really know how to up the intensity in the last quarter of the really big games, when it really, really matters. Can Mayo say the same?

I'm perfecly happy if Mayo keep on with the same approach, if we are the ones that keep on benefiting. I'm just baffled as to why it doesn't seem to have occured to anyone in the Mayo camp, including the players and three different sets of managers, backroom team and coaches, to try a different approach, when the benefits of it are ususally starting back at ya from the steps of the Hogan Stand, waving Sam about it. Individual Mayo players can not control the size of their panel, who may be missing due to injury, off season surgury, club commitmenets etc etc. They can control their own mental approach to games. Last night, with a few exceptions, they just didn't seem to care. I just find that odd, considering their aspirations over all. Kerry/Tyrone/Donegal have proved that they can win All Irelands by taking a half assed approach to the league. Mayo don't have that luxury yet imo.

Well done to the dublin team. It is clear to see so many are fighting for championship spots. They are a top side.

To the fans, i would say this, you boo coc's frees constantly, yet when the tables are turned guys are apoplectic with rage about it. The fact that it wouldnt have happened if ye hadnt started it seems lost on ye, and to me underlines why mayo and dublin fans dont get along.

Re mcmahon, bad form from coc, but mcmahon lives by the sword and to be honest deserves no sympathy. If he can do this stuff and get away with it then nobody can be cribbing when it comes back his way

McMahon does live by the sword and he just gets on with it afterwards, despite the media calling for his head on a platter, on a regular basis. The Mayo cheerleaders in the media, never call O'Connor out on any of his sly digs, or frequent dirty elbows. That is the difference. Billy Joe Padden looked a right eegit last night, when he automatically jumped to absolve O'Connor of any blame. The replays showed a much different story. That is what is always conveniently over looked !

The sound of the Mayo ST holders in the Lr Cusack, booing Dean Rock could be heard loud and clear from the other side of the stadium. Remember that, the next time there is more holier than thou giving out about what happens when Cillian O'Connor steps up to take a free.

He has been on the summer panel for the last few years, but he hasn't seem much game time, or even time on the bench. Like Cormac Costello, he is quite slight and that impacts his overall effectiveness imo. That will need to improve, as will his ability to win his own ball, hold off his man, or carry the ball into contact, if he wants to be a regular. He's only 22/23 though. Plenty of time to develop. His time will come.

The soccer boy booing from Mayo supporters was disappointing, as was the almost frenzied support for Waterford from some of them sitting behind us!

On the hurling, disappointing result and probably mean taking the drop but very impressed with way the younger fellas are coming on.

Two goals were absolute disasters caused by errors but I wouldn't be too hard on the chap. Great experience for them.

ProudDUB wrote:
    Well going by some of the comments from other Mayo supporters, over in the Mayo thread, he can't even get on with them. So I am not holding out much hope for his ability to get on with us sainted Dubs.

We are an agreeable bunch once you get to know us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Stoner wrote: »
    Ahhh every county has their fair share of idiots. If you were actually from Mayo some of your posts might just underline that fact to me, but it's not the case.

Dublin and Mayo supporters get on fine. Possibly better than most. The regular goodwill challenge games between the two county boards over the years point to that, along with some genuine goodwill between some of the posters here. It's good to focus on the positives in our sport.

Where is the lad from then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Where is the lad from then ?

Royston Vasey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,591 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

So the record is tied if Dublin avoid defeat next weekend, right? Do people here care much about it?

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    So the record is tied if Dublin avoid defeat next weekend, right? Do people here care much about it?

Couldn't give a fiddlers about it, to be honest. I don't want the streak to end to Kerry, for obvious reasons. But if our position in the top 2 is secure, I wouldn't lose any sleep at all, if Jim Gavin sends out experimental teams to take on Monaghan or the Rossies and, we get bate by either one. The unbeaten streak is taking on a life of its own now, especially in the media. I could do without the pressure of it hanging around our necks over the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

As everyone has said so far great to see MDMA back to his old self, such a joy to watch COC do what he does best and smack the ground like a bold child when things werent going his way, onwards and upwards to tralee !!