Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What games have you been playing lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Almost all i play is fps. I loved doom, played them all to death. Not a hope I'm going to play it or any other old fps over today's games. Games have improved for the better 100 times over. There's absolutely nothing left but the feeling of nostalgia for me to go back and play them.

I also don't care for this the campaign is so important argument either. Certainly for some games it is, but people aren't buying r6, cs etc for their campaign. I mention this because he often says it in his video reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Have to agree with most of that and I'm of the vintage that Youtuber is too.

The problem with gaming today stems from the dumbing down of the product for the console generation. Everything that has stymied games in modern times can be linked to that. I, too, remember when games were a challenge and not just a story of x amount of chapters that the player completed in a few days. Some games took weeks or even months to complete. I was thinking of 'Hidden and Dangerous' as that Youtuber was going through his thoughts on the video and I wasn't surprised at all when his thoughts coincided with mine - and although the AI at times could do silly things, on the whole it was streets ahead of what passes for AI in a lot of games these days and at times you really had to think about the situation presented before you and find a solution that wasn't obvious. I just completed both 'Hidden and Dangerous' games about a year ago and was amazed at just how well it stood up. I'd love it if some company struck up a new line of those games.

These days the gamer's hand is held all the way through the experience and it makes for a terribly dull, if attractive, pass time. I remember being very disappointed with 'L.A. Noir' when I played that a few years ago on the Playstation. Here we had a great idea for a game, a 50's cop drama in which the player has to solve various crimes, but the procedure is practically laid out for the player. You don't even have to think about what you're doing. What a wasted opportunity. There wasn't even an option to turn off the hints or "clues" to make the game harder or more interesting. It became a showcase of how unintelligent games were for consoles. Everything was turned down to appeal to the lowest common denominator...while still looking good. I think when it came out for the PC, there were mods to turn off most of the idiot pointers and thus make a game of it, but it was a one shot game. There was no point in playing it again.

The simple fact is, that while the console arena has opened up huge markets for the games industry, it has largely ruined games because difficulty is absent (or merely consists of a boring attrition contest where enemies simply take more hits to kill), AI is Kardashian level of stupid, nearly everything is on rails or the player is literally told what to do every step of the way...all to appeal to a player type that demands instant gratification, easy advancement and more, more, more.

Most of the time the only thing a modern game has going for it is that it's nicer looking than it's compatriot from yesteryear and that's really about it. Sure, there are exceptions. But, they are exceptions to the rule unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You also have to remember that the development cost of games now, in terms of AAA titles, is astronomical. LA Noir was mentioned - thought that was a very good game but as a ludicrously expensive, Hollywood budget project, it's simply not possible to tailor the game to anything but mass market appeal. Same for Call of Duty, Battlefield etc.

I don't really buy the argument in general because in almost every genre, there are dedicated, lower key alternatives to almost every major title. For Battlefield/COD, you have the likes of Squad/ARMA, for example.

Games have not really been dumbed down, more expanded upon massively - there are a lot more of them now, many of which have indeed become flashier - sometimes more hollow - and as a result need to be more mainstream to recoup project costs (no different to the film industry), but originality, innovation, passion, et al are all still very much evident in any number of games in any given genre (again, no different to other entertainment mediums including film).

At the end of the day it's entirely subjective in any case. Games like Unreal Tournament, Quake II/3A, Doom, etc all had their day and I loved them at the time, but they've had their time in the sun and while I remember them fondly I leave them in the past. I'd certainly rather be playing the latest Call of Duty or Battlefield now.

Sometimes I like to play a mindless on-rails cinematic campaign like Call of Duty, others I prefer to put serious time into a deep, strategic game like Company of Heroes or Men of War. There's room for every taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Guess we'll agree to disagree then. I still think modern shooters aren't as fun to play as older ones. Not that I don't enjoy some modern ones too, of course, it's just that there's some that are popular yet so unfun that it would have to be free for me to even consider sitting down for a session.

Speaking of which I played Payday 2 last night from finding someone to play with from a thread on another site. I won a skin or something and put it up on the steam market. I still don't know if I like that game. All the guns feel weak but there seems to be coop potential if you can get everyone using mics. Did have a laugh riffing on the game, though. Everyone was using mods to get all the DLC without paying for it and the game didn't even kick them despite recognising they were doing it. Found that halirious. Seems like it could be a Resident Evil 5 situation: ****ty AI and overall meh game that is just has too much coop potential to be called bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Been playing Crusader Kings 2 almost religiously the last 3 weeks and finally finished my first playthrough since I bought it 5 years ago. To add to that it was an ironman game from the 769 start date so quite happy I managed to stick it out.

Now thats done hoping to get back and finish the White March DLC for Pillars of Eternity. Once thats done I can push on and take on the final boss.

Also been playing a bit of Dying Light. Still not really sure what to think of it. I like the gameplay but single player feels really punishing yet multiplayer swings the difficulty to being a bit too easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Kopanito All Star Soccer

Its a bit of craic with a few people online, bit laggy tho.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think the problem with Triple A development is the cost involved. Games aren't being dumbed down because of consoles, they are being dumbed down because if developers want to recoup their costs they need to appeal to as wide a market as possible. To not alienate anyone they have to dumb everything down so that everyone can play them and not scare people off with stat screens and having to think too much.

There's always alternatives, there's plenty of indie games and crowdfunding projects that harken back to the good old days where complexity was king. Every so often you also get a breakthrough game with lots of complexity. For instance Minecraft and Dark Souls but then Minecraft took a long time to hit it's peak and while Dark Souls took a long time to become popular it's still not as massive as most games out there and people are still scared away by the games challenge and complexity. It was only a few years ago that the Giantbomb crew were giving out about how awful Demon's Souls and Dark Souls were. Add too much complexity and you scare away casual joes like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,684 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Started playing Quake tonight (plus Ultimate patch).

Must be 20 years since I played it last. It holds up surprisingly well.

Gave Stardew Valley a go. I'm hooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Wolfenstein (2009) was the last game I blasted through on the PC at home before jumping over to Twilight Princess HD. I kind of enjoyed it actually, it's not fantastic or anything but it has its moments. What it also has, unfortuantely, is the most annoying headbob I've ever seen in a video game which is triggered when sprinting, something made all the worse with the restrictive FoV. Thankfully both can be fixed with some .cfg editing which made the entire experience more tolerable.

There are also some interesting parallels between it and Singularity although, if forced to chose, I'd consider the latter the better game.

At lunch I've worked my way through Assault Android Cactus, Westerado and Odallus: The Dark Call recently. All ace little titles and definitely worth checking out for varying kinds of fun.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I tried to play singularity recently as I heard so much about how great it is. It really isn't that great. Ended up giving up because it just isn't that fun. It really desperately wants to be like Bioshock with all the notes and stuff lying around but the fact is the story is terrible and uninteresting and while the shooting is adequate it doesn't really carry the game. I just had a feeling of ambivalence towards it. Definitely much preferred Wolf 2009 to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭Glebee

Lego: The Hobbit. A nice little game in the lego style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Finished Arkham Knight, took me about 40 hours so typically I go with a shorter game after something like that.

Started Evoland 2 on Monday as I liked the idea of it, and the first 1/2 hour was OK but it hasn't really grabbed me and I don't want to waste my limited gaming time on something less than 'pretty damn good'.

So started Legend of Grimlock 2 yesterday, I've owned the original for years but never found the time to play it, and believe that the sequel is much better so jumped right in. Really enjoyed the hour I got to play last night; I know I'll rely a lot on walkthroughs if I continue to play it (again, lack of time and patience means if I can't figure out a puzzle in 5 mins, I'll just look it up) but feel like I may be in for the long haul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I tried to play singularity recently as I heard so much about how great it is. It really isn't that great. Ended up giving up because it just isn't that fun. It really desperately wants to be like Bioshock with all the notes and stuff lying around but the fact is the story is terrible and uninteresting and while the shooting is adequate it doesn't really carry the game. I just had a feeling of ambivalence towards it. Definitely much preferred Wolf 2009 to it.
    It's not a brilliant game by any means but I think it gets the love it does because it kind of flew under the radar for many and at least tried to do something different against a background of realistic military style shooters. For me you can throw in the fact that I've always had a soft spot for Raven's output since the original Heretic so I was just happy to see them get something original out the door.

Its development cycle was also rather interesting if you've not read about it yet.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Playing Torment at the moment, and absolutely loving it. Far more interesting than PoE was imo.

PoE? Path of Exile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

PoE? Path of Exile?
    Pillars my friend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Mostly been shooting deer in TheHunter: call of the wild.

used to play a flash hunting game for hours in college and thought I'd pick it up. Love it. Relaxing while tense at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Sight808

Kiith wrote: »
    Playing Torment at the moment, and absolutely loving it. Far more interesting than PoE was imo.

Bought PoE a year ago, only giving it a go now. Heard Torment has a better story and is a tad more forgiving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭sheepy01

CSGO

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Started up Torment today. It certainly does draw you in but it is very text-heavy. It's essentially an interactive novel in the early stages at least.

Still getting to grips with the mechanics and that but so far it defo has me intrigued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Downloaded Rome Total War, been a long time. Still as entertaining as ever

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Zelda on the Switch. It's absolutely amazing. I bought the Switch specifically for this, and will almost certainly sell it on afterwards (lack of games that interest me), but it's seriously one of the best games i've ever played. It looks amazing when played portable as well.

Other then that, Torment which is great, and still play a bit of Warcraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,311 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Overwatch, Overwatch and some more Overwatch. So addictive!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

It's essentially an interactive novel in the early stages at least.

Mid-way through and not much has changed. I am loving the story but it's basically a point-and-click adventure with a few choices. Starting to grate just a little.

Doesn't help that I'm not a fan of turn-based combat.

I'm playing a game called Streets of Rogue, its a funny/fun game by the same people who made SpeedRunners and Party Hard

Its free for the weekend on Steam, I'm thinking I might buy it, but my backlogs way too big.

I also played a game called Feminazi which was feckin awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I've been playing Evoland 2 and I'm finding that its surprisingly quite good. I wasnt very impressed by the first Evoland as once the novelty of it wore off there wasnt much of a good game there. But the sequel has a story with the "history of gaming" thing built around the story and it works quite well.

Even has a pretty enjoyable hearthstone inspired card game that becomes available a few hours in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Hitman: Codename 47 - Works well on linux but the fan made patches for the UI don't seem to be activating for me. Oh well. Having fun recording and editing my terrible playthrough. Glad I bought the first 3 games on the gog sale.

Planetside 2 - Still making Auraxis great again with he most hated outfit on the US servers :D People can do naught but talk sh*t in-game chat and on stream chat. Brilliant.

MGSV/MGO3 - I still play it and I don't even know why. At its core it's decent online outside of the very casual weapon recoil and P2P connection. I suppose there's still just no other online game that mixes non-cartoony hand-to-hand combat and non-cartoony gunplay. I heard MGO2 won't need a modded PS3 anymore so I may try that out.

Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1
    - I'm progressing slowly even though I manage to get an hour or more in most nights. Lovely little game. I'll add the fan translations to the sequels because they're full of what passes for 'localisation' these days.

Warframe - The grind never ends. Forma'd Volt Prime again. I've fully committed him to being FAST. He's moves like the Doom guy now. The clan came in top 10% on the latest event and was rewarded gold statue for our dojo. Can't believe that since we barely even tried. I suppose the Warbros magic lives on in us at least just a little bit. Warbos #1

Killing Floor
    - Still weird ass Russian servers up with like 60 player coop. Gotta love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭Glebee

Stuck in a rut at the moment, cant seem to find anything to get my teeth into...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

Went back to Fallout: New Vegas after the ultimate edition was like €12 and I saw an article on PC Gamer with the best mods for it at the moment. Literally can't stop playing. For a game that is a decade old it's absolutely incredible.