Nintendo Switch (Nintendo's next console)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭earthwormjack

sligeach wrote: »
    Anyone else find that there's this vacuum of information from Nintendo. It's a week away and there's very little hype being generated by them. No Direct. Just a trickling out of disappointing information.

The only major disappointing thing so far for me is no family sharing, but that they're looking into it. So hopefully they sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭deadl0ck

Irish Halo wrote: »
    I got an email from Amazon which said "We have good news! One of your pre-ordered items is now eligible for release date delivery and has been upgraded at no additional charge". So it does appear that they should tell/the estimate on your order is correct/accurate.

TBF I am in London so would have been very surprised if I didn't get it on the 3rd.
    When did you place your pre-order ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Anyone else find that there's this vacuum of information from Nintendo. It's a week away and there's very little hype being generated by them. No Direct. Just a trickling out of disappointing information. Has anyone seeing any ads on TV yet? Kids channels don't count.

The whole things seems more and more like it's been rushed out before it's ready. Trickling out of disappointing information sums it up perfectly. They still haven't commented on the online structure outside of Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

No virtual console at launch is a real screw up. We will probably have to rebuy all our VC games again as well or pay a fee to bring them over.

Nintendo, they really do make it hard to support them some times. There so backwards with so many things for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Irish Halo wrote: »
    I assume Amazon will be shipping the Switch a day or 2 before launch day so people might get it day one? I think thats what happened for the PS4.

With the Parcel Motel route I definitely won't be the one to start the "I have a Nintendo Switch Thread"
    I got an email from Amazon which said "We have good news! One of your pre-ordered items is now eligible for release date delivery and has been upgraded at no additional charge". So it does appear that they should tell/the estimate on your order is correct/accurate.

TBF I am in London so would have been very surprised if I didn't get it on the 3rd.
    Got the same 2 weeks ago for my switch preorder and my zelda preorder.    But as it's Parcel Motel I'm going with, I probably won't get it till Sat 4th.  I guess all you guys will be too busy playing on the 3rd to share your impressions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Anyone else find that there's this vacuum of information from Nintendo. It's a week away and there's very little hype being generated by them. No Direct. Just a trickling out of disappointing information. Has anyone seeing any ads on TV yet? Kids channels don't count.

Saw a couple of ads today, not on kids channels as well. Don't remember what channel it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

I'll share mine if it arrives on launch.
    Coming from Nintendo UK via PM

Hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Flaccus wrote: »
    Got the same 2 weeks ago for my switch preorder and my zelda preorder.    But as it's Parcel Motel I'm going with, I probably won't get it till Sat 4th.  I guess all you guys will be too busy playing on the 3rd to share your impressions :)

I'm in the same boat, plus if it's shipped before I get paid on Thursday, I'm not sure I'll have the funds in my account - it'll be tight. Really tempted to just take my chances with Argos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Flaccus wrote: »

I'm in the same boat, plus if it's shipped before I get paid on Thursday, I'm not sure I'll have the funds in my account - it'll be tight. Really tempted to just take my chances with Argos.
    Argos could be charging over the odds.  Just look at their PS4 Pro pricing. :(

My Zelda is still down for 6-8March so if I get my switch 3rd I'll be looking into getting Zelda in Argos as soon as I get my console...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭nairy hipples

Loads of unboxing videos now live on YouTube along with UI videos...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

How detailed can previews be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

What's the appeal of Unboxing videos can anyone explain?

No VC is a bit ****, bloody Nintendo make it so hard to be optimistic about their products. If they implement it in the first month or so it'll be grand, no one is buying the Switch to play old games anyways but still, Zelda and cheap eShop or VC games are all I'll be getting for a few months until I get a job.

Argos saving them some face with the third party accessories, takes the price of the Pro Controller and other extras to below €500 instead of pushing €600.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

wes wrote: »
    No virtual console at launch is a real screw up. We will probably have to rebuy all our VC games again as well or pay a fee to bring them over.

Nintendo, they really do make it hard to support them some times. There so backwards with so many things for no good reason.

Agreed.

I was going to be generous and say maybe the delay is because they are still ironing out the details of allowing folks to re-download VC games they already own? FOC I mean. If I was a betting man I'd say that's probably not the case but you never know.

Speaking of pizza and console launches - anyone remember the Wii-U launch on Dawson St. at Game? They had pizza there too iirc. Fair play to anyone willing to stand out in the cold for hours though, way too old for that lark these days I am. Leave it to the youff to freeze their bits off instead. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Loads of unboxing videos now live on YouTube along with UI videos...

Well thank you very much Sir! I said I'd have one more look at the thread before going to the gym and now I'm searching Youtube....... :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Pretty sure they are holding back the launch of the VC to launch it later to plug a release schedule gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I see on neogaf there are reports of joy cons unsyncing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

pocket lint unboxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Apparently there were ads on FX during the Walking Dead last monday. Haven't watched it yet so can't confirm. If there's a Lucille-based minigame in 1-2-Switch! though that would be pretty sweet. Requires 12 players, 11 kneel down, with one of them hiding right Joycon in their jumper. Left Joycon holder has to walk back and forth for 10 minutes talking bollocks until they figure out where the other joycon is through subtle HD rumbling, then you beat that player to death. And if the guy with the pro controller gives you any sass, well oooo-ee. Lucille sure is thirsty today....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Banjo wrote: »
    Apparently there were ads on FX during the Walking Dead last monday. Haven't watched it yet so can't confirm. If there's a Lucille-based minigame in 1-2-Switch! though that would be pretty sweet. Requires 12 players, 11 kneel down, with one of them hiding right Joycon in their jumper. Left Joycon holder has to walk back and forth for 10 minutes talking bollocks until they figure out where the other joycon is through subtle HD rumbling, then you beat that player to death. And if the guy with the pro controller gives you any sass, well oooo-ee. Lucille sure is thirsty today....

You're just not allowed to say 'Eeny Meeny Miney Moo…' while doing it…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/39051079/backlash-after-primark-pulls-fantastically-offensive-walking-dead-t-shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭death1234567

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Pretty sure they are holding back the launch of the VC to launch it later to plug a release schedule gap.
    There'll be plenty of them anyway...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

There'll be plenty of them anyway...

Like with every console launch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Retr0gamer wrote:
    Like with every console launch.

Or the WiiU the last few years. That is the worry people have a continuation of errors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

No virtual console? Sigh. I'm disappointed, but not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

First Switch-related delivery today as micro sdxc card turned up in post....only a week to wait until I can use it (that's assuming the sdxc "patch" is ready on day 1!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

EDit wrote: »
    First Switch-related delivery today as micro sdxc card turned up in post....only a week to wait until I can use it (that's assuming the sdxc "patch" is ready on day 1!)

What size did you go for?
    I think up to 256gb should work before the patch, the patch will allow up to 2tb :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭LeeroyJ.

1 more week Lads latest?cb=20160817151144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

No VC at launch at least feeds into my irrational hope of an 10 week run of 10c GameCube games to kick off the VC in style a la WiiU (albeit that was SNES and NES games...). Eternal Darkness, MK DoubleDash, F Zero GX, Mario Sunshine, Pikmin 2, Path of Radiance, Animal Crossing, Metroid Prime ; Luigi's Mansion ; Smash Bros Melee. Done! Make sure this happens inside that window between the initial release and a 2nd manufacturing wave being distributed so that it only rewards the early adopters. Happy days.

It's crucial, in the aftermath of the NES mini, that if they're going to launch the service with a give-away or discount they do it with something worthwhile and with a tangible - if notional only - high ticket price, as opposed to something we already paid €65 for a few short weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

marcbrophy wrote: »
    What size did you go for?
    I think up to 256gb should work before the patch, the patch will allow up to 2tb :)

128gb (couldn't justify the current cost of the 256gb ones available).

Also, my understanding was that sdhc cards work automatically, but some sort of update is needed for sdxc cards, regardless of size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

EDit wrote: »
    128gb (couldn't justify the current cost of the 256gb ones available).

Also, my understanding was that sdhc cards work automatically, but some sort of update is needed for sdxc cards, regardless of size

Yeah, that might be the case, I also might be thinking of a different device, other than the Switch :)

128gb seems to be acceptable at the moment, price wise.
    Thing is, I have a 64gb lying around that I'm not using for anything else, so that should do for a bit, hopefully :D