Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

carter10 wrote: »
    You can't, McGrath has had them all burned and replaced by Red and White ones.
    It wasn't Derek anyway

Classics :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

So the issue is a bias towards selecting DLS and Roanmore lads...and the solution is start Billy Nolan. A Roanmore lad.

Who could start instead of McNulty/Daniels anyway? Harney is injured, Philip Mahony (who according to the same people is One of Dereks "pets) is injured, Darragh Fives is injured. From the 21s, Hahessy and Lyons are corner backs. Think Prunty is injured, may not be ready for it anyway.

So who are the alternatives people are on about? The two Gleesons, Devine, Patrick Curran, Kearney and Shane Benett all played last weekend. That's 6 players, 3 more injured, from last years 21 team. That is a lot no matter what anyone says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Does anybody actually believe that'll be the team that starts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,608 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Gavlor wrote: »

A lot of media outlets have the team down as the same that started last weekend but then a few have the team I posted last night

Gavlor wrote: »

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

So the issue is a bias towards selecting DLS and Roanmore lads...and the solution is start Billy Nolan. A Roanmore lad .

I don't think anyone would be complaining if Billy Nolan started. He is worth a look. At least come 3.30 we would know if he up to senior intercounty yet. Likewise DJ Foran. Likewise Mark O' Brien. With Gavin O' Brien we have already seen plenty of times he is not up to it and don't know what is to be gained by playing him.
    In fairness to Shane McNulty I cant remember many games that he has started so he deserves the chance to impress. What probably annoys supporters is seeing 4 DLS players starting games and the club performing so poorly the last few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭ThaiTanic

So the issue is a bias towards selecting DLS and Roanmore lads...and the solution is start Billy Nolan. A Roanmore lad.

Who could start instead of McNulty/Daniels anyway? Harney is injured, Philip Mahony (who according to the same people is One of Dereks "pets) is injured, Darragh Fives is injured. From the 21s, Hahessy and Lyons are corner backs. Think Prunty is injured, may not be ready for it anyway.

So who are the alternatives people are on about? The two Gleesons, Devine, Patrick Curran, Kearney and Shane Benett all played last weekend. That's 6 players, 3 more injured, from last years 21 team. That is a lot no matter what anyone says.

Hahessy was never on the panel there is "no room" for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

ThaiTanic wrote: »
    We shall see how much nonsense it is come Sunday evening! There's a few seasoned seniors on the current panel not too happy with prefrence towards lads that have hurled for DLS college under McGrath. Wait and see.

Your also correct about lads been on the panel with a few years, the likes of Daniels and them been on the panel on one hand, then on the other you have the likes of willie hassessy who won a minor and u21 all ireland and started on both occasions told they don't want him on the Senior panel, all the current lads on the fringes of making a match day 26 are doing is taking up space denying better younger hurlers the chance to play and come through the ranks.

Also I'd rate a current junior forward Brian O Halloran alot better than Jake Dilion, he might have been good when he played the primary game haha but that dosent always transfer onto senior as is clearly evident today

Clashmore are an intermediate club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I don't want to sound unkind because i'v no doubt all the lads on the panel are busting a gut wanting to play games ect but i just don't see the point in playing the likes of O'Brian and others who we all know won't get a look in come championship time because let's be fair their just not inter county standard. Surely we'd be better off giving someone from the under 21s a chance to impress the point of the League should be to build a squad for the championship is their any real point playing a fella we all know won't see five mins of championship action? In fairness it must be hard on some players who turn up to training every day knowing they haven't a hope of starting or even playing in any significant matches.

I'm sure Derek's reasoning is to keep those lads somewhat happy by giving them a go in the League but really if your not good enough to play a Championship match i see little point in having them on the panel or playing them in the League denying younger players a chance to develop and maybe become inter county quality players. Anyway good look to all the lads tmr hopeful of a win especially at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,433 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Dublin not the walkovers that everyone had thought then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭amber69

KevIRL wrote: »

Going to be honest I think it says more about Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

I think people should wait until the end of the league before complaining about certain young players not getting game time. Its only the 2nd game in the league. The management team might just want to play the more inexperienced players against the so called weaker teams like Dublin or Cork. I think that would make more sense. There's no doubt there is a small minority that can't wait for McGrath to fail. In my opinion some are bigger anti McGrath supporters than Waterford hurling supporters.
    If McGrath and Waterford fail miserably this year ye can come back and tell us "i told ye so" (which no doubt ye will do) but until then try not being so negative all the time. Just remember that we can't afford an outside manager and i can't think of anyone with a better record than McGrath at winning titles with teams he's managed. Sean Power has won minor and U21 all irelands but with an exceptional team. He needs to get into club management at senior level first before transitioning to inter county senior.

Hopefully not another Croke Park defeat for us in 2 weeks

Only saw the result there, heard Dublin made a few changes before the game and brought on a few more experienced players like Liam Rushe

Tis going to be another tight league. A win for us 2morrow is crucial enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I think people should wait until the end of the league before complaining about certain young players not getting game time. Its only the 2nd game in the league. The management team might just want to play the more inexperienced players against the so called weaker teams like Dublin or Cork. I think that would make more sense. There's no doubt there is a small minority that can't wait for McGrath to fail. In my opinion some are bigger anti McGrath supporters than Waterford hurling supporters.
    If McGrath and Waterford fail miserably this year ye can come back and tell us "i told ye so" (which no doubt ye will do) but until then try not being so negative all the time. Just remember that we can't afford an outside manager and i can't think of anyone with a better record than McGrath at winning titles with teams he's managed. Sean Power has won minor and U21 all irelands but with an exceptional team. He needs to get into club management at senior level first before transitioning to inter county senior.
    Sean power salvaged an u21 all ireland....in reality we should have more than the 1 with that team

In reality....him in club management will be wasted as mt sion are somewhat off challenging for county titles and no city club will back a mt sion manager to take over county team?

People talk about an east/west divide....some of the club rivalries around the town are bitter and make the whole east/west thing look like just an madeup Internet thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Deise189

I was at the match. Dublins hurling was very poor overall with poor first touches and some shocking wides. Words can't describe what Cork were trying to do tonight but it definitely didn't work. Add in a miserable day on the frees for Horgan and it was a big step back from last week. If we have a have decent team out against either of them I wouldn't be worried. Dublin have some good players colming through though. Their full forward tonight can't think of his name he was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

Is it 2pm throw in tomorrow lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Hahessy was never on the panel there is "no room" for him

hahessy isn't intercounty standard at all right now.
    Derek McGrath is absolutely correct to go with more mature players.
    If younger lads want spots they will have to earn them hard

Yeah he played extremely well marking Tony Kelly, Nothing about it though as he's playing Junior in the West. At this point I think the majority of our players are with UCC and IT Carlow? 9 in total left in the fitzgibbon but I could be open to correction in that?

Ucc
    Barron
    O Brien
    Devine
    Gleeson

IT Carlow
    Dunford
    Harney
    Browne
    Fagan

LIT
    Bennett

lit
    2 bennetts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,433 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Hslaw wrote: »
    Is it 2pm throw in tomorrow lads?

Yep

there is some shower of opinionated no nothing snipes on this forum, critasising everything and anything, reminds me of the Clare supporters when they came to Dungarvan for u-21 munster final years ago, hated the pitch, hated the field , hated the journey, full of the won an all ireland and knew everything, we are blessed with a team, panel and manager that are bringing a level of consistancty that we have never had before, with the promise of better, jesus lads relax, and stop showing ye're ignorance, go to the games and support, if guy's are not doing well , then everyone is entitled to an opinion, but all this east/west, roanmore new selector, dereks pet's is so tiresome .

Dungarvan is a sh1thole. Small pitch with a really bad surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

Walsh Park is a bog. Dungarvan is light years ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

'My Daddy is bigger than your Daddy' 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

Sean power salvaged an u21 all ireland....in reality we should have more than the 1 with that team

In reality....him in club management will be wasted as mt sion are somewhat off challenging for county titles and no city club will back a mt sion manager to take over county team?

People talk about an east/west divide....some of the club rivalries around the town are bitter and make the whole east/west thing look like just an madeup Internet thing

Mount Sion lads don't even rate Sean Power which is surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

culbaire wrote: »
    Walsh Park is a bog. Dungarvan is light years ahead.

There both absolute dirt.

Mount Sion lads don't even rate Sean Power which is surprising.

If he applies for the senior Waterford job when it becomes available he will get it as its the most logical thing to do after winning minor and under 21 All Ireland's. Liam Sheedy, the 2 Clare guys, John Keily in Limerick among others all successfully managed underage teams before taking the senior jobs

Who else would be good manage our seniors ?? Fergal Hartley, Peter Quelly , Kevin Ryan ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

You left out Colm and Shane Roche, either Mark or Gavin O Brien and either Kieran or Shane Bennett.

Also Ian Kenny who has been playing very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

PTH2009 wrote: »
    If he applies for the senior Waterford job when it becomes available he will get it as its the most logical thing to do after winning minor and under 21 All Ireland's. Liam Sheedy, the 2 Clare guys, John Keily in Limerick among others all successfully managed underage teams before taking the senior jobs

Who else would be good manage our seniors ?? Fergal Hartley, Peter Quelly , Kevin Ryan ???[/QUOTE

No im afraid he will not get the job when it becomes available and it won't have anything to do with where he is from. Manage a senior club team first. Nobody should walk into a position of Waterford senior hurling manager like that.

Dungarvan has a good surface

diarmuid kirwan ref today

Stephen Bennett replaces brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Jesus the pitch is ****e