Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

The one we're getting is €2700, you can see the guy we're getting it from on DD, N Leitrim area.
    Seems to be a grand yoke, we talked to a fella who had bought one from him a couple of years ago and he's been very happy with it since, just told us to make sure we get locknuts on it instead of normal ones as they'll vibrate off :D
    There's a roller on it too so he was able to show us how it handles different areas of ground so the blade won't be striking too deep. I'll prob take it out on the flat (ish) meadows first to get a feel of it, if I'm going to do pasture I'll prob walk the ground first in case of wire, there's also a few areas with stones that come above ground so that'll be interesting, though he was able to show us where he hit a stone and it didn't banjax the mulcher.

Keep us updated on how you get on.
    Was interested in getting 1 myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

_Brian wrote: »
    I sat in meetings making decisions on who would be made redundant In a previous job, senior managers extracted their petty revenges on employees where life altering decisions were based on "**** him I rang him to do overtime once and he refused".
    I promptly volunteered myself for redundancy and got out, telling a lad with a monsterous mortgage and four kids he's to loose his job is a **** low in my career and I'll never do it again. Large multinationals are fine tilll the brown sticky stuff just the fan, then all the cnuts show their true colours.

When it hit the fan in construction i was working part time for a builder whom some members of my extended family also worked for. One guy would do no overtime etc even when backs were to the wall on site so he was one of the first to go. It made it difficult when i was still getting a day here n there and hed been let go. Met the same boss over xmas, bought him a pint and had a bit of craic with him. He said none of the other lads talked to him when he went bust. In my opinion he was one of the main reasons i was able to stay in college for final year in 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I ordered a t-shirt for oh on eBay in November for Christmas. It arrived today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

whelan2 wrote: »
    I ordered a t-shirt for oh on eBay in November for Christmas. It arrived today.

Valentine's present now!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Had a few weird calvings in this area, man we're getting in to do carpentry work had a calf born with part of it's brain outside his head a fortnight ago. Then today was in at the vets with mini calf and had to wait ages cause the vet was had to deliver an inside-out calf :eek:

(mini moo has a heart murmur, I'm just waiting for his legs to start falling off now!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Fukushima finally getting here?

Nekarsulm wrote: »

It's really weird though! Remember seeing a page in the IFJ a week ago about the number of deformed calves jumping from 40s to 70-something in a year, hard to explain although years ago there would only have been word of mouth to spread the story.

The spring after Chernobyl, local lads had some strange births. One lamb I saw had a kind of second skull cap growing on his head. The farmer christened him John Paul!

Welsh hill farmers were prevented from selling lamb for ages, that time.

The spring after Chernobyl, local lads had some strange births. One lamb I saw had a kind of second skull cap growing on his head. The farmer christened him John Paul!

Welsh hill farmers were prevented from selling lamb for ages, that time.

Ick, I do find these sort of things so interesting though. I never thought to ask the vet if the murmur on our boy was bad but she didn't say much about it, must ask the next day I'm in.
    Sure it was his first vet visit, he's survived til now so I'll always be hopeful. Though I'll prob put off dehorning him for quite a while :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I hired out a wood chipper today for a pile of bushes in an awkward spot to draw them out of (plus the body of the tipper is still getting fixed after it fell off ) .They are a great yoke , most satisfying piece of equipment I've used in a while !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Shortly after Fukushima it was very noticeable the trees with their leaves burnt off, especially taller trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

KatyMac wrote: »
    Herd test today. Have two cows (mother and daughter) that I am going to enter in the Grand National. Heifer tried and nearly succeeded clearing the front of the crush and she is 8 months in calf. Damned if the cow tried the same on the outfarm.
    Never mind worrying about the result, I hate the whole thing - wish someone would come up with a better way to control TB. Also heard a reasonably near neighbor went down so now am on tenterhooks for the next couple of days. :(

Passed test. The heifer made yet another run at the end of the crush and got even more height into her jump. I wouldn't mind if it was a mickey mouse gate but it is a standard sculling gate, standard height etc. Will see if I can get a man with a welder to put a couple of bars across the top some way. This is a quiet animal - would hate to see what she could do if she were bat crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Passed test. The heifer made yet another run at the end of the crush and got even more height into her jump. I wouldn't mind if it was a mickey mouse gate but it is a standard sculling gate, standard height etc. Will see if I can get a man with a welder to put a couple of bars across the top some way. This is a quiet animal - would hate to see what she could do if she were bat crazy!

I'm going to play the devils advocate here.
    Would you not consider getting rid of the mother and daughter when it is in the breeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Doesn't sound too quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

True she doesn't sound quiet and I may get rid at end of this year, the jury is sitting at the moment (she is 5* on paper and hits all the other hoops I have to jump through so I might need her to hit targets!). Her mother is due for culling anyway as her feet aren't the best and she is coming 11 years old. But I still call them quiet in that we can walk through them, give them a scratch - what other criteria are we supposed to use - if she jumps once/twice a year because the vet is lurking with a needle I'm not sure that negates her general quietness. It is up to me to make the crush look even more impossible to get out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

True she doesn't sound quiet and I may get rid at end of this year, the jury is sitting at the moment (she is 5* on paper and hits all the other hoops I have to jump through so I might need her to hit targets!). Her mother is due for culling anyway as her feet aren't the best and she is coming 11 years old. But I still call them quiet in that we can walk through them, give them a scratch - what other criteria are we supposed to use - if she jumps once/twice a year because the vet is lurking with a needle I'm not sure that negates her general quietness. It is up to me to make the crush look even more impossible to get out of.

Very true, And there's nothing better to excite Cattle than strangers around them during times of stress. I'd often wonder do some animals suffer from conditions such as Claustrophobia and panic abit when confined in a crush.add to that the memory of the man In a blue coat sticking sharp things into her neck 3 days previous. If she's manageable normally then I wouldn't worry about it.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Very true, And there's nothing better to excite Cattle than strangers around them during times of stress. I'd often wonder do some animals suffer from conditions such as Claustrophobia and panic abit when confined in a crush.add to that the memory of the man In a blue coat sticking sharp things into her neck 3 days previous. If she's manageable normally then I wouldn't worry about it.

We have two the same, they'd go through you for a shortcut once the vet is around but can lie over them in the shed when scratching them. Funnily enough there's one vet in particular they all hate while they seem to like the lady vet!
    When the OH came down with his northie accent they went mad though :D

I'm trying to figure out how the gate with the cow and calf got open last night, it's not been opened in about a fortnight. So she went mad and destroyed a bale or two, ate a bag of nuts and found the wee calf asleep on top of a wrecked pile of silage this morning. :confused:

I don't think this needs an explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A Canadian man missing for 5 years was found in Brazil after walking from Vancouver to Buenos Aries and starting back through Brazil again:eek:

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/latin-america/canadian-missing-five-years-found-in-rainforest-35438938.html

A Canadian man missing for 5 years was found in Brazil after walking from Vancouver to Buenos Aries and starting back through Brazil again:eek:

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/latin-america/canadian-missing-five-years-found-in-rainforest-35438938.html
    As you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Isn't that mad
    Some days i would often think of heading off like that my self and make it as far as the front gate !!!

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    As you do.
    cute geoge wrote: »
    Isn't that mad
    Some days i would often think of heading off like that my self and make it as far as the front gate !!!
    Only 9 years left in the mortgage.

After that, I'm off:cool:

You Rebel, you!

To the milking parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Just out of a show with characters from kids movies etc. God the people in costumes have to put up with half the craic. Pure wild young lads.

Had to leave early to go to Christy Moore.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    To the milking parlour.
    Probably:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Anyone that's interested or out and about tonight around midnight might notice the lunar eclipse. It's not a total eclipse but partial. If the cloud breaks up it should be visible with the naked eye.
    I think there's also a comet passing by at some stage but you'll need equipment to view it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Heading to the big smoke with herself to see Cirque du Soleil tomorrow night. Should be a good show. (Hopefully). Will stay overnight and I believe a trip to IKEA is on the cards on the way home on Sunday.
    Really hope there are no cows calving over the weekend. Have a heifer due on the 13th so she better hold on. ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Parishlad wrote:
    Heading to the big smoke with herself to see Cirque du Soleil tomorrow night. Should be a good show. (Hopefully). Will stay overnight and I believe a trip to IKEA is on the cards on the way home on Sunday. Really hope there are no cows calving over the weekend. Have a heifer due on the 13th so she better hold on.

Oh god avoid IKEA like the plague on a Sunday. We made that mistake once and even herself said she'd never go back on a Sunday ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Parishlad wrote: »
    Heading to the big smoke with herself to see Cirque du Soleil tomorrow night. Should be a good show. (Hopefully). Will stay overnight and I believe a trip to IKEA is on the cards on the way home on Sunday.
    Really hope there are no cows calving over the weekend. Have a heifer due on the 13th so she better hold on. ��

Jaysus my definition of misery. I wouldn't be interested in that kinky rope play.

As for ikea... the world knows my opinion of that maze.

Enjoy the time away.