Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Went to look at a mulcher.....may have bought a mulcher :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Went to look at a mulcher.....may have bought a mulcher :pac:

Are you looking at a tractor mounted one or one of the petrol lad's for the quad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Are you looking at a tractor mounted one or one of the petrol lad's for the quad?

My money's on a quad one

Petrol lad for the quad!

Score.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Petrol lad for the quad!

Be careful with the control box.

Don't mow it, for example. I know you wouldn't think it is possible but actually it is.

Definitely don't mow it.

kowtow wrote: »
    Be careful with the control box.

Don't mow it, for example. I know you wouldn't think it is possible but actually it is.

Definitely don't mow it.

Mow it.....now what exactly do you mean by that :o

Yerman trialled it for us today in the field, showed us how to do heavy rushes and light, plus there had a been an absolute deluge in the area about 15 mins prior so everything was soaked.
    Only thing is our quad isn't an automatic so will take a small bit of learning with finding the knack of what gear works on rush/gradient etc

Yerman trialled it for us today in the field, showed us how to do heavy rushes and light, plus there had a been an absolute deluge in the area about 15 mins prior so everything was soaked.
    Only thing is our quad isn't an automatic so will take a small bit of learning with finding the knack of what gear works on rush/gradient etc

I take it you were impressed by it so?
    Do you mind me asking what one of these mulchers are going for?

I take it you were impressed by it so?
    Do you mind me asking what one of these mulchers are going for?

The one we're getting is €2700, you can see the guy we're getting it from on DD, N Leitrim area.
    Seems to be a grand yoke, we talked to a fella who had bought one from him a couple of years ago and he's been very happy with it since, just told us to make sure we get locknuts on it instead of normal ones as they'll vibrate off :D
    There's a roller on it too so he was able to show us how it handles different areas of ground so the blade won't be striking too deep. I'll prob take it out on the flat (ish) meadows first to get a feel of it, if I'm going to do pasture I'll prob walk the ground first in case of wire, there's also a few areas with stones that come above ground so that'll be interesting, though he was able to show us where he hit a stone and it didn't banjax the mulcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Farming might be a bit of a pain in the ass at times but if you were one of the 500 that are to lose their jobs in Hewlett Packard factory in kildare you'd be feeling a lot worse today. And redundancy and getting new job elsewhere wouldn't be the ideal solution for many of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Farming might be a bit of a pain in the ass at times but if you were one of the 500 that are to lose their jobs in Hewlett Packard factory in kildare you'd be feeling a lot worse today. And redundancy and getting new job elsewhere wouldn't be the ideal solution for many of them.
    A neighbour works there :mad:

The one we're getting is €2700, you can see the guy we're getting it from on DD, N Leitrim area.
    Seems to be a grand yoke, we talked to a fella who had bought one from him a couple of years ago and he's been very happy with it since, just told us to make sure we get locknuts on it instead of normal ones as they'll vibrate off :D
    There's a roller on it too so he was able to show us how it handles different areas of ground so the blade won't be striking too deep. I'll prob take it out on the flat (ish) meadows first to get a feel of it, if I'm going to do pasture I'll prob walk the ground first in case of wire, there's also a few areas with stones that come above ground so that'll be interesting, though he was able to show us where he hit a stone and it didn't banjax the mulcher.

Try as I might I couldn't find him on DD. Is it the Quad X one that you were looking at?

Here ya go- https://www.donedeal.ie/quads-for-sale/new-quad-flail-mower-18hp/5252023

No affiliation etc. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Anyone know if there is a shuttle bus going from Naas to the racecourse for the FTMTA show? Nothing on the website about any.

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Anyone know if there is a shuttle bus going from Naas to the racecourse for the FTMTA show? Nothing on the website about any.

I think ya just park at the grounds

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think ya just park at the grounds

I know there is parking but I don't have a car. I would be relying on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I know there is parking but I don't have a car. I would be relying on public transport.

If you got as far as naas I'm sure you could chance a lift with someone going to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Wear a McHale bodywarmer, and stick out your thumb! :D

When are ya going?

Reggie. wrote: »
    When are ya going?

It would be Saturday if I could go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Well it's a mower.

The little control box thing either lives on a metal post attached to it or sometimes up on the back of the quad.

You wouldn't think it's possible to mow the control box but it is.

It would be Saturday if I could go

Ah right. I would be pass Naas on Friday morning

kowtow wrote: »
    Well it's a mower.

The little control box thing either lives on a metal post attached to it or sometimes up on the back of the quad.

You wouldn't think it's possible to mow the control box but it is.

Oh right I get ya now! It's attached up on the back of it, if you click on the link above I gave to the seller you'll see what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    A neighbour works there :mad:
    OH has a cousin that works there. Three kids under 10, wife quit work last Summer after youngest was born to mind the children, mortgage etc :mad:
    The Government have been talking up the economy in the last few years. I see some activity with house building around Swords/Ashbourne but most of us in rural Ireland haven't seen any benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I sat in meetings making decisions on who would be made redundant In a previous job, senior managers extracted their petty revenges on employees where life altering decisions were based on "**** him I rang him to do overtime once and he refused".
    I promptly volunteered myself for redundancy and got out, telling a lad with a monsterous mortgage and four kids he's to loose his job is a **** low in my career and I'll never do it again. Large multinationals are fine tilll the brown sticky stuff just the fan, then all the cnuts show their true colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

_Brian wrote: »
    I sat in meetings making decisions on who would be made redundant In a previous job, senior managers extracted their petty revenges on employees where life altering decisions were based on "**** him I rang him to do overtime once and he refused".
    I promptly volunteered myself for redundancy and got out, telling a lad with a monsterous mortgage and four kids he's to loose his job is a **** low in my career and I'll never do it again. Large multinationals are fine tilll the brown sticky stuff just the fan, then all the cnuts show their true colours.
    I was in the same situation as you were many years ago and I also quit. We all need to work and provide for our families but sometimes ye need to draw a line in the "moral" sand :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Base price wrote: »
    OH has a cousin that works there. Three kids under 10, wife quit work last Summer after youngest was born to mind the children, mortgage etc :mad:
    The Government have been talking up the economy in the last few years. I see some activity with house building around Swords/Ashbourne but most of us in rural Ireland haven't seen any benefit.

It was flagged since last summer, their products were getting a bit jaded,printers are old hat etc

I seldom listen to Ray D'Arcy but hear part of his show earlier while buying calves in a yard. Apparently there is a programme on RTE1 tonight after the 9pm News called After the Crash. Don't see it advertised so I may have the wrong date.

I watched After the Crash and it was tough viewing. A cousin was amongst those fatalities that were named - RIP