Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers mentioning/promoting products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

ratmouse wrote: »
    playing devils advocate here, youve a friend in common but dont know her real name is Lisa?

It's her blogger alias. A lot of posters here refer to the alias as that's how they're better known I think.
    her alias is just jordan x, jordan was her maiden name...  
    just an observation... ive friends in common with her aswell and i dont think ive ever heard them refer to her as Jordan, nor have I (a nickname that ironically has nothing to do with her two outstanding features)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

just an observation... ive friends in common with her aswell and i dont think ive ever heard them refer to her as Jordan, nor have I (a nickname that ironically has nothing to do with her two outstanding features)

I still think that calling her Jordan is probably just because we all know who is being spoken about and is shorter than saying Just Jordan each time.

like i said, ''playing devils advocate'' and just an observation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

playing devils advocate here, youve a friend in common but dont know her real name is Lisa?

lol I do know her name is Lisa even if I hadn't a friend in common it's written everywhere if I'd have written Lisa would anyone realise who I was talking about.

She will be.

I'd say someone will everyone else has to declare why do they think they're above doing that.

It's her blogger alias. A lot of posters here refer to the alias as that's how they're better known I think.

Thank. You that's why I wrote Jordan because that's the name used on threads. It's the same with make up fairy her name is Joanne but most of us refer to her as muf .. and if I'm not mistaken I believe Rosie connelly isn't Rosie's real name either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭scarbouro

Cria wrote: »
    Thank. You that's why I wrote Jordan because that's the name used on threads. It's the same with make up fairy her name is Joanne but most of us refer to her as muf .. and if I'm not mistaken I believe Rosie connelly isn't Rosie's real name either.

Seriously lads, this has completely gone off topic! Who cares what she's called, we get who you were on about. It's going around in circles! x

anna080 wrote: »
    Don't think I've ever heard people refer to the Make up Fairy as Joanne here. People call her MUF. If the poster had said Lisa people may not have known who she's talking about. Sometimes its handier to refer to their alias. Weird thing to get picky about.

I literally wrote the same thing as you before reading this lol great minds.

Does it really matter what I wrote .. i referred to her as Jordan for the purpose of this thread as that's what she's known for most of us call her that here.. it's no big deal is it ??? .. I'm not here to say what I've heard just that I've a friend in common..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

Not a fan of Rosie, but she did just #ad all her 21 snaps about the car etc just now. She's obviously taking it all on board and I do see a transformation with her the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Yes I thought that companies would be happy for a conversation to open up about their brand.
    If just Jordan had of said no it's not an ad I was sent them free and will be reviewing them in a blog post then that would be great for the company..
    Bloggers that are rude and block make you turn against the brand they are advertising..
    How do you feel as a pr who sent a br d out to a blogger and it gets a quick snap with no blog post or proper review about a brand you sent out.
    In my opinion a quick snap disappears in a day not all followers check Snapchat everyday so it could be missed.
    A blog post and review is out there and can be read at any time and imo pushes the brand out to a wider audience than Snapchat
    I work in an event space so we don't engage in mail outs so I can't really comment on that side.  I feel that with the beauty industry getting any recognition of a new brand is a tough gig so the PR's could be happy with any exposure if it's just costing the price of product.  Depends on the level of the brand and the spend that is allocated.

I will say that it's become increasing hard to be creative with mail outs and that relationship management is more important than ever.  Having a good relationship with bloggers can be the difference between making targets and not as they will keep re-promoting items from people they like over and above the agreed exposure.  The hardest thing for PRs right now is to identify the up and coming bloggers who are still affordable in order to gain engaged quality exposure from their followers as opposed to the reduced exposure of a bigger blogger under scrutiny when trust is lost. 

I do admire RMC for how she has developed her personal brand to be so trust worthy and consistent through quality content.  I think from here on in she will continue to grow through quality content and referrals from readers.  I also think that there will be more quality media opportunities for her in terms of paid work long term, maybe even a TV journalism piece in news or whatever she chooses.  The reason I say this is, loosing the trust of brands and readers through lack of trust around transparency of whether ads are paid or not will have an impact on how established media will take you seriously.  That's my own take, I'm open to correction on that one but I don't feel that these bloggers who don't declare are thinking in terms of long term relationships and creating their brand - they just see the short term financial gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

heyjude88 wrote: »
    Not a fan of Rosie, but she did just #ad all her 21 snaps about the car etc just now. She's obviously taking it all on board and I do see a transformation with her the last few weeks.

Thata good. Ive said many time i dont care what they get free or get paid for but just declare it and dont make out as if you paid for something or arent working with a company.

scarbouro wrote: »
    Seriously lads, this has completely gone off topic! Who cares what she's called, we get who you were on about. It's going around in circles! x

I agree it's ridiculous

I work in an event space so we don't engage in mail outs so I can't really comment on that side.  I feel that with the beauty industry getting any recognition of a new brand is a tough gig so the PR's could be happy with any exposure if it's just costing the price of product.  Depends on the level of the brand and the spend that is allocated.

I will say that it's become increasing hard to be creative with mail outs and that relationship management is more important than ever.  Having a good relationship with bloggers can be the difference between making targets and not as they will keep re-promoting items from people they like over and above the agreed exposure.  The hardest thing for PRs right now is to identify the up and coming bloggers who are still affordable in order to gain engaged quality exposure from their followers as opposed to the reduced exposure of a bigger blogger under scrutiny when trust is lost. 

I do admire RMC for how she has developed her personal brand to be so trust worthy and consistent through quality content.  I think from here on in she will continue to grow through quality content and referrals from readers.  I also think that there will be more quality media opportunities for her in terms of paid work long term, maybe even a TV journalism piece in news or whatever she chooses.  The reason I say this is, loosing the trust of brands and readers through lack of trust around transparency of whether ads are paid or not will have an impact on how established media will take you seriously.  That's my own take, I'm open to correction on that one but I don't feel that these bloggers who don't declare are thinking in terms of long term relationships and creating their brand - they just see the short term financial gain.
    this is a really interesting read, RMC seems to get very good feedback both from companies and from readers/engagers.
    it will be really interesting to see in the long run how brands react, wasn't there an issue in the US recently with some well known blogger saying something was #ad when it wasn't and the brand came out and said clearly that they dont engage with that blogger.  he did it for attention and to make it look like he was getting paid for stuff to make himself look more business focused to other companies looking for exposure. (kinda like the girl who sends herself flowers/chocolate from a secret admirer to make the current boy jealous or aware of how desired she is ala clueless)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

heyjude88 wrote: »

Have to agree with this. Not a massive fan of her snaps either, mainly because there are too many baby related snaps and that doesn't interest me, but I was impressed to see almost all the snaps there hashtagged appropriately. It's all anyone here is really asking for here and I'd have a lot more respect for her as a blogger after seeing it.

On a separate note, I would like to see Revenue come out and state exactly what they want or what is required in relation to the issue of free items. According to that SBP article unreturned stuff is taxable but how does it work in practice. If something is a free sample as opposed to a gift is that taxable? I don't think companies pay tax on free samples from suppliers or doctors getting free samples from the drug companies. Of course flowers and chocolates in hotel rooms gifted by the hotel don't count as free samples in that regard and as gifts, I'd have no doubt they should be taxable. Same with use of a car for a full year, that's not exactly a test drive.

I'd just like it to be spelled out so that there is no confusion for bloggers and followers alike.

Edit to add: obviously bloggers are in the business of promotion and companies are not suppliers to the bloggers in a traditional sense, so maybe my comparison above isn't relevant now that I think of it. The relationship between a company and supplier, and a company and a blogger, wouldn't be of the same nature.

So maybe samples should be taxable for bloggers as it's all part of promotional activity which is the blogger's trade. It's all very confusing and grey.

Toastytoes wrote: »
    Have to agree with this. Not a massive fan of her snaps either, mainly because there are too many baby related snaps and that doesn't interest me, but I was impressed to see almost all the snaps there hashtagged appropriately. It's all anyone here is really asking for here and I'd have a lot more respect for her as a blogger after seeing it.

On a separate note, I would like to see Revenue come out and state exactly what they want or what is required in relation to the issue of free items. According to that SBP article unreturned stuff is taxable but how does it work in practice. If something is a free sample as opposed to a gift is that taxable? I don't think companies pay tax on free samples from suppliers or doctors getting free samples from the drug companies. Of course flowers and chocolates in hotel rooms gifted by the hotel don't count as free samples in that regard and as gifts, I'd have no doubt they should be taxable. Same with use of a car for a full year, that's not exactly a test drive.

I'd just like it to be spelled out so that there is no confusion for bloggers and followers alike.

I fully agree. These are the questions that most would like answered and clear up the blurred lines for good.

I would love to see these answered.

Isn't it funny how,if you were to look at the accounts of all bloggers, from smaller scale to the main bloggers, the biggest names in blogging are probably the ones where you see #ad or #spon the least despite them showing the largest amount of items and products? It just doesn't make sense. For eg, are fairy and Su really in receipt of virtually no items that require #ad or #spon and they the biggest bloggers? Or have they just been clever and found ways around it? Or are they just flouting the regs?

I've often thought that the bigger bloggers are the worst offenders yet promote the most.. they get around being transparent by being things like 'brand ambassador' as if no one can see through that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 smashed potatoes

I'm just joining this conversation now, so sorry if I'm posting something that's already been added. But I feel the whole brand ambassador thing is such a cop-out. You can't just have 'brand ambassador' in your Instagram bio and expect that to be enough disclosure. People don't follow all bloggers on all different social media outlets.

I find it so strange that companies don't enforce transparency more with bloggers, I would never buy most of the things that they are flogging because I don't think it's honest half the time. I really appreciate RMC openess when it comes to what she's being paid for, and I actually believe her when she says she only promotes products and works with companies that she actually likes or would use herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

Rosie Connolly posted a picture of her at Renault getting her keys and it actually had #ad, but I find it funny how the only pictures on MUF's page about Renault is her standing alone or her standing with people (in guessing the people with the fashion show) but she has #BrandAmbassador...
    I am more than likely wrong, but did MUF pick up her new car that night? I think I'm wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Anastasiafaye

I've been following this thread for ages, but just thought it was interesting today that Rosie had #ad on her car when she's a brand ambassador, yet Grace claims that she doesn't need #ad on her tea snaps as she's a brand ambassador...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

I've been following this thread for ages, but just thought it was interesting today that Rosie had #ad on her car when she's a brand ambassador, yet Grace claims that she doesn't need #ad on her tea snaps as she's a brand ambassador...
    I suspect it was Renault who required the #ad from Rosie.  I seen an Irish blogger based in the UK say that all contracts she takes requires her to declare ad and she is proud of the brands she works with so has no issue with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 smashed potatoes

I wonder why MUF never declares #ad when she promotes Renault, if it's a requirement for Rosie to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

Lindy97 wrote: »
    Glad Doireann won

I reckon Doireann will move over to the influencers category for next year. I see she's starting to get stuff sent to her. I think she's just excited to be getting stuff at the moment - it was Benefit the other day and its Let's Eat today. She'll have to learn quick about #ad/#sp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I find it so strange that companies don't enforce transparency more with bloggers, I would never buy most of the things that they are flogging because I don't think it's honest half the time.

I'min the same boat. One of my favourite foundation and eyebrow brands is benefit. I was in Brown Thomas trying to pick out the right shade for brows and the girl at the counter was great, she did them with one of the products but I wasn't sure if it was a bit too dark. I asked if there was a sample of a lighter one and I'll try it out to see and she said Benefit don't send samples. (I actually got one in a magazine after that but waaaay too dark.)

But all I hear is thanks Mark Benefit, who's made a name for himself by sending boxes of full-size products to all of them. It just doesn't compell me to spend €30 on something if it doesn't mean much to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Lindy97 wrote: »
    Glad Doireann won

I reckon Doireann will move over to the influencers category for next year. I see she's starting to get stuff sent to her. I think she's just excited to be getting stuff at the moment - it was Benefit the other day and its Let's Eat today. She'll have to learn quick about #ad/#sp

She has always got stuff sent to her! I was looking through her Instagram pics when I started following her! She is hilarious so thought that I'd see some funny ones! Anyhow she has some #ad back last year, a phone! So it isn't just new to her! But maybe just bigger volumes and I suppose she is only really coming to public eye now the last few months!

Strange the Renault thing! I think changes are only starting to happen, we will see plenty more over next few weeks and months regarding #'s and where ans when they are needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

I'm still confused over the whole SJ and Universal sending her to LA not being an ad. Like I watched her snaps and when she came back to her room, a Universal bag was left on her bed with the days itinerary, a Fifty Shade's jumper and the soundtrack.

She got this trip for free. Her brand is not connected to the music or film industry (not that I'm aware) so surely this trip was an ad for the film and not some company perk.
    It still irks me that she said 'teamed up with universal', when clearly that means that Universal got something in return for the trip (advert!) and it's not marked as an ad anywhere.

EDIT: This isn't a jealousy thing. Like fair play who wouldn't say yes to a trip to LA, but the lack of transparency is shocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mekekka

Lorraine Haigney wrote an article in the last few days about affiliate links http://johnitsonlymakeup.ie/blogger-affiliate-deals-cost-readers/

I'm still confused over the whole SJ and Universal sending her to LA not being an ad. Like I watched her snaps and when she came back to her room, a Universal bag was left on her bed with the days itinerary, a Fifty Shade's jumper and the soundtrack.

She got this trip for free. Her brand is not connected to the music or film industry (not that I'm aware) so surely this trip was an ad for the film and not some company perk.
    It still irks me that she said 'teamed up with universal', when clearly that means that Universal got something in return for the trip (advert!) and it's not marked as an ad anywhere.

EDIT: This isn't a jealousy thing. Like fair play who wouldn't say yes to a trip to LA, but the lack of transparency is shocking

It really does look like an ad and yet no decoration of one. She will probably claim that no money exchanged hands and therefore no need for #ad. Hope she declares to revenue. Funny how the dress she wore to Fifty shades is tagged (but no #ad) as being from Frocknfabulous, the same place where she went to "buy" the bridesmaid dresses.