Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Normally can't stand Rosenstock but it wasn't too bad in fairness.

I agree, thought his sporting knowledge was quite good, his points reflect an average punter more than the normal panelists who have a direct involvement, his tennis insights were good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

So many games on now and so many different sports available I think there is a degree of viewer fatigue and if a game isn't any good you can just switch it off and watch something else.Why suffer through a ****e game when in the past a ****e game was even enjoyable because matches were rare these days no point suffering through one as there'll be another game on soon.

That's a good point you make, there is so much choice these days.

I also care about it less than ever. I'm a muck savage from the Irish midlands. I find it difficult to relate to Londoners, Scousers or Mancs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

I've really grown to enjoy Kevin Kilbane's insights. Wasn't sure he'd work at first. He has interesting perspectives on the game and a good sense of humour. I'd always heard he was a sound man from the crew that used to travel to away games, and it comes across when he's on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭fire_man

Yes I agree about Kilbane,he is settling in well.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Really enjoyed listening to Renee Anne Shirley last night but the two lads were so annoying, they kept interrupting her when she'd be on a great flow.
    Pretty disheartening to hear the lack of testing and resistence to improving things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Am I alone in thinking Kilbane may not in this job for too long? Surprised he ever took it in the first place considering he's away from his family for so much of the week and his daughter is special needs. I don't know if he is using it as an audition to get his own show on BBC 5 live or what but he's probably a little better than the show actually deserves. Maybe he's just getting paid a sackful but its not primetime so that would also be strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Ya, I agree with the sentiment toward Kilbane. Really likeable personality, comes across well on the radio, and is actually insightful and interesting to listen to. Wasn't too sure how he would fit in at the start, but now he's probably the best thing about OTB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Am I alone in thinking Kilbane may not in this job for too long? Surprised he ever took it in the first place considering he's away from his family for so much of the week and his daughter is special needs. I don't know if he is using it as an audition to get his own show on BBC 5 live or what but he's probably a little better than the show actually deserves. Maybe he's just getting paid a sackful but its not primetime so that would also be strange.

Maybe he likes the link with the old country. He's well established as a second-rank BBC pundit at this stage, reckon he could be full-time there if he wanted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Kilbane would be perfect for the inane broadcasting that is on the UK channels. Dont get me wrong, Kilbane is a sound guy, but he's far too nice. The show needs a dissenting voice.

Maybe he likes the link with the old country. He's well established as a second-rank BBC pundit at this stage, reckon he could be full-time there if he wanted...

Yeah, that's why I don't get it. He's taking a boat over here away from his family every week so seems inconvenient but yeah it could be just he has an eye on moving over here full time. The money would surely be better in the UK as he has no problems getting work.

Kilbane would be perfect for the inane broadcasting that is on the UK channels. Dont get me wrong, Kilbane is a sound guy, but he's far too nice. The show needs a dissenting voice.

I just want someone accurate and insightful and well informed with good contacts in the game as Kilbane has all those skills in abundance. Can you be specific about what you mean about being a dissenting voice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭rrs

Dots1982 wrote: »

I thought he was now living in Dublin. Going out with a local woman.

rrs wrote: »
    I thought he was now living in Dublin. Going out with a local woman.

I see from wiki his family circumstances have changed alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭rrs

Richie McCormack is quite good on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,527 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Enjoying paper review today.

Cliona pronouncing Monaco "Mon-ako" though was curious.

Is Joe on the show today? A guy who looked and sounded like him (grandson of deceased) was reading at a funeral mass I was at today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,527 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Is Joe on the show today? A guy who looked and sounded like him (grandson of deceased) was reading at a funeral mass I was at today.

He wasn't on it today. Nathan Murphy is host today.

Woman's death notice says one of her daughters is Geraldine Molloy of Celbridge. Is Joe from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Woman's death notice says one of her daughters is Geraldine Molloy of Celbridge. Is Joe from there?

think he is actually

Found the newspaper review to be boring. Foley keeps interrupting everybody which is very annoying. The interview with Anthony Moyles the previous day was very interesting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Very bland newspaper review.

Cliona Foley talked the most but said the least if that makes sense.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Has anyone listened to her off the bench? Heard them mention it yday and looked up and there's one episode, don't know whether to bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Found the newspaper review to be boring. Foley keeps interrupting everybody which is very annoying. The interview with Anthony Moyles the previous day was very interesting though.

Moyles is always good, think he is a very good analyst !
    Anyone hear Kenny Cunningham last night. Very witty.. say he be a good man to have a pint with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Anyone hear Kenny Cunningham last night. Very witty.. say he be a good man to have a pint with.

He doesn't drink!

Very bland newspaper review.

Cliona Foley talked the most but said the least if that makes sense.

They always put her on with someone bland as well or she would be overpowered.

She's kind of the opposite of Declan Lynch when he's on. He's the state ambassador of the completely overreaching exaggeration.

They should stick the two of them together for the craic.

Moyles is always good, think he is a very good analyst !

I actually listened back to it fully again last night, cos I missed the start of it. Fair play to them for trying to make a change. It really is ridiculous that the club players have been treated so badly for so long. The stories about players waiting around all summer, not able to take holidays or plan anything. It's truly shameful.

It is alright but there is truly no easy solution, the intercounty game is the cashcow. The CPA have good numbers but will their members be willing to have an all out strike. I'm not so sure.

I wonder just how much a role is Kevin Kilbane playing in securing candidates for their recent series of interviews, Leon Osman, Chris Waddle, Alan Shearer.

I suspect it's either 100% or 99%. :)

Gary O'Toole on papers today with Joe.
    Hopefully won't disappoint.

Gary O'Toole on papers today with Joe.
    Hopefully won't disappoint.

Gary is always interesting, but he can be a bit too pious at times. I think it's fair enough to rate they players, they are all professionals and getting well paid for playing rugby. If the sport was still amateur, then maybe I might agree with him.