Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

It is called journalism! Readers (not me specifically) buy into player rating articles so its a case of supply and demand. Not really worth the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Can anyone tell me who was the ice hockey player on just there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

The american reporter was good tonight. Seems like Donny is gone for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Just been announced that Ivan Yates is returning to Newstalk (good move to bring him back IMO), but his show is scheduled for Sundays from 11-1....This means OTB will be cut by an hour, with Kieran Cunningham suggesting on twitter that it will be the paper review that will be cut! I hope this isn't to be the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

They'll have no live sport on during the summer as they lost the GAA contract. 6 hours of only talk would be a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Just been announced that Ivan Yates is returning to Newstalk (good move to bring him back IMO), but his show is scheduled for Sundays from 11-1....This means OTB will be cut by an hour, with Kieran Cunningham suggesting on twitter that it will be the paper review that will be cut! I hope this isn't to be the case

I agree, paper review is often the best hour of Off the Ball each week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

I agree, paper review is often the best hour of Off the Ball each week.
    Yeah its the best thing they do I reckon

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I prefer Joe talking to Giles, mainly because he always pushes the talk towards the technical aspects of the game, instead of the usual 'Arsenal/Man City/Liverpool are sh1te, discuss' type conversation that happens all the time, loved that chat about dribbling, Giles is unrivalled when it comes to insight when talking about those topics.

I prefer Joe talking to Giles,

When Nathan was interviewing Giles the other week it was very interesting. Covered completely different topics. Ger gives Giles too much respect, he's afraid to question him or correct him. Any time Ger talks to Giles it goes back to the same sh1te... "Wenger has been there too long, Klopp is a one trick pony, I dont like Mourinho".. You could write it out before the interview took place. But Nathan's interview with Giles was refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Gary is always interesting, but he can be a bit too pious at times. I think it's fair enough to rate they players, they are all professionals and getting well paid for playing rugby. If the sport was still amateur, then maybe I might agree with him.

My god the rugby players get such a cushy ride. Even when they are beaten by a supposed inferior team, they still get the "great group of lads" schtick.

I always thought the rugby media saw themselves as being in a bubble of their own, where everything is great and they take great pride that theres not a culture of savaging players performances and calling managers to be accountable for poor performances. Like its kind of a self fulfilling prophecy. But time and time again the rubgy team come up short.

The lads on newstalk were then criticising journalists for giving Rob Kearney a poor rating (they were probably too busy typing on their laptop was the line used I think). God forbid someone called a spade a spade and mentioned he played sh*te.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Blanco100 wrote: »
    My god the rugby players get such a cushy ride. Even when they are beaten by a supposed inferior team, they still get the "great group of lads" schtick.

I always thought the rugby media saw themselves as being in a bubble of their own, where everything is great and they take great pride that theres not a culture of savaging players performances and calling managers to be accountable for poor performances. Like its kind of a self fulfilling prophecy. But time and time again the rubgy team come up short.

The lads on newstalk were then criticising journalists for giving Rob Kearney a poor rating (they were probably too busy typing on their laptop was the line used I think). God forbid someone called a spade a spade and mentioned he played sh*te.

OTB coverage, and indeed the Irish media coverage of Irish rugby can be nauseating . Wall to wall coverage on top of endless discussions about concussions.

OTB can get very homoerotic when they talked about legends like Paul O'Connell etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Lt Dan wrote: »
    OTB coverage, and indeed the Irish media coverage of Irish rugby can be nauseating . Wall to wall coverage on top of endless discussions about concussions.

OTB can get very homoerotic when they talked about legends like Paul O'Connell etc.

Wall to wall coverage! Indeed. Why do you think that is? I'd love to know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Wall to wall coverage! Indeed. Why do you think that is? I'd love to know.

This could go down the road of one well known sports journalist from Monaghan (or was it Malachy Clerkin) who spoke about this on OTB a while back (while some of the presenters struggled to keep the laughter in - extremely arrogant as there are far to many lads on OTB who openly admit that they are utterly clueless about the sports that they cover)

Maybe the producers or owners of these media outlets went to rugby schools.

Look, rugby is a national sport in Ireland, one that Ireland is actually successful at, but the coverage is excessive, when the content is sparse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Lt Dan wrote: »
    This could go down the road of one well known sports journalist from Monaghan (or was it Malachy Clerkin) who spoke about this on OTB a while back (while some of the presenters struggled to keep the laughter in - extremely arrogant as there are far to many lads on OTB who openly admit that they are utterly clueless about the sports that they cover)

Maybe the producers or owners of these media outlets went to rugby schools.

Look, rugby is a national sport in Ireland, one that Ireland is actually successful at, but the coverage is excessive, when the content is sparse.

There is a rugby tournament on, it's popular.
    In the summer GAA will get a lot of coverage and that's understandable. I'm not interested in GAA but I completely understand when it is covered during the summer.
    You on the other hand are suspicious that it's something else .
    Do you think English soccer gets too much coverage? Is that down to where people went to school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Patww79 wrote: »

I find these rugby love ins boring. Having a injured player on offer nothing. Hes not going to say anything other then the usual bland non committal answers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Patww79 wrote: »

I don't know why radio and TV stations persist with this. That and interviewing players or managers right after games. None of these people have anything of note to say and they shouldn't be expected to. Instead they should be seeking out ex-players and managers who have no connection to the current set-up in their former stomping ground. People who have something to say and are articulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jaysus Kilbane on co comm on NBC for the Arsenal game. Between this, MOTD, TV3 & OTB he's some sort of workaholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

Ol' Donie wrote:
    Jaysus Kilbane on co comm on NBC for the Arsenal game. Between this, MOTD, TV3 & OTB he's some sort of workaholic.

He writes for the Daily Mail and appears on Radio Five live too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Ol' Donie wrote: »

I was thinking about this recently. He must be putting in some hours between all the travel back and forth and double duty on certain days.

Probably a smart move for someone who presumably lived a fairly regimented life for so long. I was reading recently about some of the better known players who went off the deep end after retiring and lost everything.

Some find him a bit vanilla in terms of his analysis but you can't doubt his enthusiasm. He's also very likeable which I'd imagine goes a long way in terms of getting work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Cazale wrote: »
    He writes for the Daily Mail and appears on Radio Five live too.

He also sells strawberries on the Naas road in the Summer time when the soccer season has quietened down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,753 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I don't know why radio and TV stations persist with this. That and interviewing players or managers right after games. None of these people have anything of note to say and they shouldn't be expected to. Instead they should be seeking out ex-players and managers who have no connection to the current set-up in their former stomping ground. People who have something to say and are articulate.

Kevin Kilbane is at a bit of a loose end just now. Do you think he might be good?

Or have you anyone else, or even a few names in mind with something to say and who are articulate (and are available)?

Maybe you missed some good coverage on progams you didn't watch or listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭KReid

I was thinking about this recently. He must be putting in some hours between all the travel back and forth and double duty on certain days.

Probably a smart move for someone who presumably lived a fairly regimented life for so long. I was reading recently about some of the better known players who went off the deep end after retiring and lost everything.

Some find him a bit vanilla in terms of his analysis but you can't doubt his enthusiasm. He's also very likeable which I'd imagine goes a long way in terms of getting work.

He said something during the week about a player, basically along the lines of "he's rubbish" I cant remember who he was talking about but it made me take notice and think, "oh hes actually taking someone on"... John Giles also ripped into Jordan Henderson saying he doesnt rate him at all, which may have spakred Kilbane later in that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ian O'Riardan flying the flag for the OCI this morning.

Joe: "What do the OCI do besides being a ticket agent".

O'Riordan: "Well there is the Winter Olympics". :D

Joe: "What do the OCI do besides being a ticket agent".

O'Riordan: "Well there is the Winter Olympics".

That's why I think Joe is so good. He can oppose someone's viewpoint, and quiz them on it without outright antagonizing them.

He makes a fair point, national councils manage to arrange to get athletes to the World Championships and the Europeans, why do we need the OCI to do it for Olympics?

The percentage of their money which was spent on legal fees and the per diem for council members is ridiculous when you see what some athletes are left with.

I listened back to the Andy Lee interview. And the only impression that I was left with was .... Joe and Ger did their best to try to talk him out of ever boxing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Fair play if they did, he's won his title and on the wrong side of 30, he has no more to prove. I can imagine they'd say the same about a non-Irish boxer, it would be more difficult to say to him bearing in mind he's a regular guest and is in the studio reviewing papers frequently