Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gossies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I felt cheap just watching the video. What an unorganised shambles of an event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

The Cool wrote: »
    I don't know what happened with Grace and cow and gate or currys? But she clearly didn't help her rep last night. Her comment was really catty but also, shame on the crowd booing at Rosemary's name.
    If Vogues comment was scripted then all the worse and shame on the Goss.ie organisers. Here was an opportunity for them to be really classy in commending Rosemary just like all the other nominees despite her stance on the awards. It seems like a poor man's effort at producing something like the Glamour awards in the UK but the sheer lack of class means it will never be anywhere near on a par.
    The Gossies mean nothing anyway, besides who can mobilise their following base to vote for them the most.

I was pretty disappointed by Vogue's comments too, I actually previoisly quite liked her. And if it was scripted, it was VERY unclassy behaviour by Goss.ie I can appreciate Ali getting involved as she is the owner of the site and it's obviously her baby. I can even understand Marissa getting involved to an extent, perhaps she could relate to Ali as a fellow business woman and remembered how difficult it is to start up a business. (I didn't like her comments though). But the others? Where are the ones who were calling Rosemary out on "mean girl behaviour" now?

And the funny thing is...Rosemary's post wasn't even nasty or attacking anyone personally! Which makes the initial response from some of the social media/blogger crowd even more astounding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

anna080 wrote: »
    I felt cheap just watching the video. What an unorganised shambles of an event.

link?

can someone post this "video". I am intrigued

If you go to Rosemary's facebook page you'll see that she has shared the video on there

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    If you go to Rosemary's facebook page you'll see that she has shared the video on there

Who is Rosemary! :D I just found this thread as I hadn't a clue what a Gossie was and I see this big controversy!

Just saw Rosemary's snapchat, she seems quite upset by what Grace said, not her usual happy and witty self. I do hope she knows how much support she has, I've not seen one comment in support of Grace. Everyone is calling it out for what it is - catiness. I still can't get over Grace, just a few short months ago she was crying on her snapchat about bullying and now she is openly bitchy, just because she had an audience? Horrible behaviour and I agree with everyone else that Rosemary deserves an apology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭frogstar

Anyone know who Ali is related to? A few times this week her family have been mentioned by Ian Dempsey and also at the awards.... Are they a well known family?

To give her the benefit of the doubt, she may have gotten carried away in the moment. Not that it's any excuse but she just needs to come out now and publically say sorry. Remaining silent and hoping it'll all go away isn't going to work with this one

Vogue doesn't think any wrong was done anyways!

"get a grip, bullying? Never heard such rubbish in my life! Can't take a joke so pull the bully card 🙄"

I really have gone right off her, I thought more of her than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

The gossies facebook page has taken a beating in the review section.

Theres an article on the daily mail about Vogue at the awards last night. Just mostly pictures of her at the UNISLIM goss awards. Must be awkward because there was basically no actual coverage of the event itself and Ali used to work the mail I think?

heyjude88 wrote: »
    The gossies facebook page has taken a beating in the review section.

Theres an article on the daily mail about Vogue at the awards last night. Just mostly pictures of her at the UNISLIM goss awards. Must be awkward because there was basically no actual coverage of the event itself and Ali used to work the mail I think?

I saw that. Ali snapchatted saying she had gained a lot of new followers and put up a post saying that anyone who was only following her to give out would be blocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭wispa9

I think Vogue is lucky that Grace is taking all the flack for this. She made 2 comments that were worse imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mekekka

RMC has just posted to FB asking that people not attack FBG over it all, that the whole show was primed to be negative Towards RMC and it wasn't Grace who caused it...she's saying it was an ill timed joke on Grace's part basically...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 itsame123

wispa9 wrote: »
    I think Vogue is lucky that Grace is taking all the flack for this. She made 2 comments that were worse imo

We already know she's an eejit, sure look at who she married! I think it's just because Grace won best influencer, obviously this means that ppl take notice of the things she does and says, and then she goes full on mean girl like that!

Mod note, user banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

So it was Rosemary who spoke publicly about it without any apologies publicly from the others. What a horrible set up. It's the lack of awareness and apologies that are making people so annoyed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Jesus all these girls bloggers blaggers attention whores are toxic

Mod noite - user banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

In total admiration of Rosemary after her fb post asking people not to target Grace.

And still no apology from Grace or Vogue or Ali. Sigh. I guess that's what bitches do; be bitchy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I do think that's true to a degree. BUT I really hope grace doesn't now throw down the victim card and start spouting about she didn't mean it and she spent the weekend crying about it and what people were saying about her. She has a habit of ignoring the elephant and making things about her!

bigpink wrote: »
    Jesus all these girls bloggers blaggers attention whores are toxic

I wouldn't go that far? thats below the belt. Bloggers and blaggers yes. Whores no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Galwaygirl55

Watched the Gossies video, leaving aside the nasty & bitchy comments, the whole thing looked like a messy shambles. I have seen Transition Year students produce better shows. Lighting & sound were dire.

heyjude88 wrote: »
    I wouldn't go that far? thats below the belt. Bloggers and blaggers yes. Whores no.

"attention
    whores"
    as in sell their dignity for attention. They aren't actually implying something more promiscuous

"attention
    whores"
    as in sell their dignity for attention. They aren't actually implying something more promiscuous

People have gotten banned for less. Attention seeking maybe would have been better use on this thread. We don't want it closed down. Again.

blairbear wrote: »
    In total admiration of Rosemary after her fb post asking people not to target Grace.

And still no apology from Grace or Vogue or Ali. Sigh. I guess that's what bitches do; be bitchy!!!

This is going to go on and on.

Ali just tweeted " Another COMPLETE lie by the way - no where was anyone's named mentioned in a script, and no one was told to say anything"

and

"Another slanderous, completely incorrect thing to say. So sad to see. You can all see copies of every single script if you like :) "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

Wasn't there someone on this thread that said that they were going to the Gossies because they were a smaller blog and that they were hoping it would be a good way to network? I wonder what her take on this whole situation is from actually being there and then seeing the aftermath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

heyjude88 wrote:
    Ali just tweeted " Another COMPLETE lie by the way - no where was anyone's named mentioned in a script, and no one was told to say anything"

This was said by posters here on Boards not by RMC. She's implying it was said by Rosemary. Wow this could have ended with dignity. Ten minutes she a tweeted what a worthy winner Grace was without addressing the issue that people are annoyed over. This is what people are angry about more than the actual incident. A bit of cop on is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Windorah

I just watched the video of the glossies and I am genuinely appalled!! I can only imagine how hurtful it must have been to watch a room full of grown women booing and mocking you.
    I only loosely follow Rosemary Maccabe (and 2/3 other bloggers) but it's becoming increasingly clear that she is a journalist. The other "ladies" are bloggers.
    Hopefully Rosemary can move on from this embarrassing **** storm and distance herself from "the plastics".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Grace has tweeted that she apologised to RM, she seems to have gone to ground otherwise though.

Terri26 wrote: »
    This was said by posters here on Boards not by RMC. She's implying it was said by Rosemary. Wow this could have ended with dignity. Ten minutes she a tweeted what a worthy winner Grace was without addressing the issue that people are annoyed over. This is what people are angry about more than the actual incident. A bit of cop on is needed.

I think it was in response to RMC saying the room was primed to make jokes about her. Rosemary has removed the bit where she said the jokes were scripted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Terri26 wrote: »

In an earlier version of her post on Facebook, she did say the comments were in the script. She's now corrected it to say 'made by the presenter'

The whole thing would have been handled much better if people had just ignored RMC's post. Instead, most of the people involved in the gossies have come out of it looking so bad. RMC has handled it very well.