Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gossies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

anna080 wrote: »
    Best celeb hotspot An Pucan?! Creasing. News to me.
    Also, AFAIK Grace didn't blog much last year so it's odd that she won best blogger.

An Pucan, as in the place in Galway?

Bizarre. I've never seen a celeb of any description there, the Connaught rugby team would be as close as it gets.

Maybe Tommy Tiernan pops in the odd time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mekekka

Cria wrote: »
    They are rehashing the same people this year. Must be the only people willing to spend €150 for a ticket lol .

The (large amount of) nominees get in for free, guess that they are trying to balance that by charging the €150 for everyone else as they have to cover the cost of all these free entries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Ali has deleted her tweets to Rosemary. Must have realised how terribly she came across :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

Dolbert wrote: »
    Ali has deleted her tweets to Rosemary. Must have realised how terribly she came across :/

I have screenshots :D you have to be so careful when posting things. Silly girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

The absolute *glee* being expressed by people here at things like deleted tweets and finding out about the blogger who went to the awards just to be photographed, etc., is all a bit much. Absolutely, disagree with people if you want, but to revel in the whole "downfall" (for want of a better word) of those defending the awards is quite crass and excessive.

I'm not saying everyone should be best friends, but it's quite bizarre to see some grown women react like that. I work with teenage girls and most of them would even know when to reel it in. Anyway, that's me done with this thread- as I said before, it got people talking about the awards at least- so perhaps it wasn't all bad for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I actually think that's the problem with social media. It encourages prompt response and that's the worst thing you can do. I have the rule at work not to reply to emails that annoy me till next day or ignore them completely. But yeah I agree this thread is fairly bitchy.

I know I am in the wrong thread but Newstalk will cover blogger/influence advertising rules shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Toastytoes wrote: »
    An Pucan, as in the place in Galway?

Bizarre. I've never seen a celeb of any description there, the Connaught rugby team would be as close as it gets.

Maybe Tommy Tiernan pops in the odd time!

Ya! I used to work there! Never saw a celeb in all my days working there. Actually scratch that I served Bertie Ahern a pint once :pac:

Meangadh wrote: »
    The absolute *glee* being expressed by people here at things like deleted tweets and finding out about the blogger who went to the awards just to be photographed, etc., is all a bit much. Absolutely, disagree with people if you want, but to revel in the whole "downfall" (for want of a better word) of those defending the awards is quite crass and excessive.

I'm not saying everyone should be best friends, but it's quite bizarre to see some grown women react like that. I work with teenage girls and most of them would even know when to reel it in. Anyway, that's me done with this thread- as I said before, it got people talking about the awards at least- so perhaps it wasn't all bad for them!

This thread was opened long before RMC wrote her blog post. Most, if not all of the original posts were of the opinion that the awards and sponsors were silly. The whole topic escalated quickly on all social platforms after RMCs blog. As this thread is about the gossies, posters have the right to openly give their opinions, just like RMC.

When you see childish tweets and downright mean hostile exchanges why should we not be happy that the original posters had to delete them? They were being bullies and getting friends and fellow employees to join in the action. So when their "downfall" (your words, not mine) occurred, it was interesting to see.

It personally made me happy that they deleted their tweets as it proves to me they realised they were being childish and petty. The "Glee" (again your word, not mine) being shown here is due to the fact that despite all the cockiness and hostilely in the tweets, they had to back down and delete. Maybe they didn't even have to back down, it could have been their choice. But hey, one less evidence of bullying on their social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Galwaygirl55

heyjude88 wrote: »
    I have screenshots :D you have to be so careful when posting things. Silly girl!

Why would you waste the memory on your phone screen shotting that crap????.....
    People posted nasty crap & either thought twice about their actions or else were advised to remove it. I fail to see the point in taking pride in screen shotting it.

Why would you waste the memory on your phone screen shotting that crap????.....
    People posted nasty crap & either thought twice about their actions or else were advised to remove it. I fail to see the point in taking pride in screen shotting it.

Haha.... Take pride???
    I posted the screenshots on this thread yesterday, as some people don't have twitter or couldn't find them...... So they are on this thread due to the fact I screen shotted them. They are on this thread now, not my phone.

EDIT: over 200 people viewed the images. In case you care.

Haha.... Take pride???
    I posted the screenshots on this thread yesterday, as some people don't have twitter or couldn't find them...... So they are on this thread due to the fact I screen shotted them. They are on this thread now, not my phone.

Thanks for posting them heyjude88! Very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Galwaygirl55

Haha.... Take pride???

Whatever floats your boat I suppose...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

Omg just saw Holly's recent tweets, what is she at how are none of her friends/family telling her to stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

Mekekka wrote: »
    The (large amount of) nominees get in for free, guess that they are trying to balance that by charging the €150 for everyone else as they have to cover the cost of all these free entries.

It's all a loud of crap pretend awards with stupid titles.
    What idiots are going to this.

Mod note - user banned for being uncivil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Keepingitreal

Cria wrote: »
    It's all a loud of crap pretend awards with stupid titles.
    What idiots are going to this.

Hello I am going and I am certainly no idiot!! Awards are just that....a title, what do any of them actually mean?

It's all subjective!!

Maybe you could refrain from calling me or anyone else who has chosen to attend an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Hello I am going and I am certainly no idiot!! Awards are just that....a title, what do any of them actually mean?

It's all subjective!!

Maybe you could refrain from calling me or anyone else who has chosen to attend an idiot!

As I understand it, these particular awards mean absolutely nothing other than a funding exercise for Goss.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

HC let herself down so much, always thought she had a bit of cop on but fuk she's nasty. Shouldn't have gotten involved. BIG let down.

Rosemary all the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Keep a civil tone here. Warnings and bans handed out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

No side comes out of this well
    Shows the fakeness and nasty side of Irish bloggers

bigpink wrote: »
    No side comes out of this well
    Shows the fakeness and nasty side of Irish bloggers
    It also shows how small the whole industry is that one blogger's comments (one of the more outspoken and well known ones to be fair) can have such a ripple effect throughout so many other bloggers, mainly because so many of them are connected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

she got a shoutout this morning on Ian Dempsey on Today FM. fair play to her on the hustle and trying to make some cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

The shout out was from her mom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

did I read somewhere the goody bags were worth €400? Just saw some snaps of them there and it does not look anywhere near that amount to me! I'd be pretty disappointed if I went and was expecting €400 worth of stuff!

she got a shoutout this morning on Ian Dempsey on Today FM. fair play to her on the hustle and trying to make some cash

He also tweeted about the gossies and his support for Ali when it all kicked off last weekend. For someone in his position, I'm sure he's a family friend or something. Bit odd.
    Ali mentioned yesterday that her parents had told her about this thread, and that it wasn't nice for them to see things written about her etc. Wonder does RMC parents feel that same about Ali's tweets.

No way the goody bag is worth €400. I'm sure Sue and Una will be highly thanked on the night for supplying some bits to the goody bags... :P

Also, She has name dropped her dress designer so much. Is he famous? I've never heard of him before.

Ali mentioned yesterday that her parents had told her about this thread, and that it wasn't nice for them to see things written about her etc. .
    That's the thing - no one here has said a word against Ali herself, but it's is being taken that way, which is how the problem with RMC started initially!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭aine92

If you get into business and don't expect any backlash or negative feedback then you are incredibly, incredibly naive. I think Marissa in particular has come out of this so badly; a multinational huge brand and she hashtags #gettheboat to something that isn't really relevant to her? She, and other business owners, need to know where to draw the line between "celebrity" and professional business owner.

For example, I really am not SJ biggest fan but you better believe she probably got lots of negative reviews on her palettes, lashes, nail varnish, fashion line etc, and to be fair to the girl she has never addressed it, never tweeted mean things to people criticising her.

Crash course in business required!

The one who comes out looking the worst in all of this is Holly Carpenter. Sticking her ore in when it had nothing to do with her. In a way I don't blame Ali for trying to defend her business, and Marissa was entitled to have her say as well. But why Holly ever got involved is beyond me. She made herself look so foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭aine92

anna080 wrote: »
    The one who comes out looking the worst in all of this is Holly Carpenter. Sticking her ore in when it had nothing to do with her. In a way I don't blame Ali for trying to defend her business, and Marissa was entitled to have her say as well. But why Holly ever got involved is beyond me. She made herself look so foolish.

I'm not terribly surprised, she's always reminded me of one of the cool girls in school who was mean to other girls for no reason. I wonder will Holly go?

I don't blame Ali for defending her business but I think she did it in a really poor way-claiming defamation? Shtop!

I'm looking forward to seeing the fashion though, I will admit!