Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Poor Lisa doesn't know what to make of Tommy.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭kifi

Don't normally post about TV programs, but I have watched this show since it began and am thoroughly enjoying it. Tommy is excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,228 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Turnng into a very entertaining oft time thought provoking show. Due to the hosts intelligence.
    It is what the Late Late Show 'thinks' it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's only when you watch this that you realise the extent to which Tubridy and D'Arcy are both stealing a living.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Tommy is a far far superior interviewer than anything rte have.

Comes across as disarming, allows people to speak and listens and responds intelligently and not deferrential

I'd agree totally. It does make me wonder though, just how much in the dark he actually is, re who's coming on ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Very good show tonight. Even when the topics got heavy, it didn't feel depressing or like the misery porn that stuff like the late late seem to be obsessed about.

1.618 wrote: »
    I'd agree totally. It does make me wonder though, just how much in the dark he actually is, re who's coming on ?

I'm not sure I care to be honest. I think for instance Norton works on the pretence that the red chair is 'live' or rather the show pretends it is. But you are not gonna hear anything the BBC doesn't want you to hear, if that makes sense.
    It is just a gimmick at the end of the day and I absolutely love the way he feels his way into the conversation. A bit like meeting someone on a train who fascinates you. A genuine interest in people helps him.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Tiernan has covered heavy issues - i.e Christy Dignam's cancer and Depression. However, he manages to do it in a way you WANT to listen to what is being said, they don't seem like misery items because he injects humour and some positivity into each discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I thought that last week when Darcy was on. A convenient platform to contradict his critics. I'm guessing Tommy knew about Brendan Kelly but not the others tonight.

Tiernan has covered heavy issues - i.e Christy Dignam's cancer and Depression. However, he manages to do it in a way you WANT to listen to what is being said, they don't seem like misery items.

Probably because of the fact that even in darkness their is humour. His injection about 'love' was classic, real conversation flow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Tonight's show far surpassed anything the lls could do. Tommy really is a far better interviewer that Tubs. No script, no cards, lets the guest speak most importantly - listens.
    Well done Tommy Tiernan.

I'm not sure I care to be honest. I think for instance Norton works on the pretence that the red chair is 'live' or rather the show pretends it is. But you are not gonna hear anything the BBC doesn't want you to hear, if that makes sense.
    It is just a gimmick at the end of the day and I absolutely love the way he feels his way into the conversation. A bit like meeting someone on a train who fascinates you. A genuine interest in people helps him.

Not too bothered myself either. It was a good show tonight. Best so far. Probably natural enough for TT to need time to get comfy in the role.
    sligojoek wrote: »
    I thought that last week when Darcy was on. A convenient platform to contradict his critics. I'm guessing Tommy knew about Brendan Kelly but not the others tonight.

Yep, that's the one that got me thinking.

Not too bothered myself either. It was a good show tonight. Best so far. Probably natural enough for TT to need time to get comfy in the role.

Yep, that's the one that got me thinking.
    As the credits rolled we got the "If you have been affected by....."

Why would RTE bother to stick that on as an afterthought.

sligojoek wrote: »
    As the credits rolled we got the "If you have been affected by....."

Why would RTE bother to stick that on as an afterthought.

It does seem to be standard these days. Tbh, I think it's right. Someone watching the depression slot, could be nudged 'just that tiny bit more' from seeing the interview and relating to it...just that little bit more.

• Administrators Posts: 13,822 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I think for instance Norton works on the pretence that the red chair is 'live' or rather the show pretends it is. But you are not gonna hear anything the BBC doesn't want you to hear

The whole show is pre-recorded. They don't pretend it isn't!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

It doesn't matter much but Tommy obviously knew the country singer was appearing and that she was going to be singing. Anyway nothing more to say other than to echo nearly every other previous comment. I didn't think it possible that you could have an entertaining chat show anymore but Tommy took my cynicism and shoved it back down my throat. Enjoyed every single minute of it and already can't wait for next week.

The whole show is pre-recorded. They don't pretend it isn't!
    Yes I know.
    But the impression is given that anything might be said. But its a 'construct' that everyone plays along with, including the audience and guests.
    Like quiz shows or shows like Have I Got News For You, the construct is, 'what you see is everything that happened', seamlessly. It isn't, it's heavily edited.

• Administrators Posts: 13,822 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Anything might be said live during the recording though, and then edited out afterwards. That's not new, or nobody pretends it doesn't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Tiernan has covered heavy issues - i.e Christy Dignam's cancer and Depression. However, he manages to do it in a way you WANT to listen to what is being said, they don't seem like misery items because he injects humour and some positivity into each discussion.

Agreed Lady Chatterton. As I said in an earlier post, Tommy is a natural at this. He can do the light hearted and also the heavy issues and knows where the laughs are and when to let the guest talk.

There is something very anti PC about Tommy. He doesn't give a damn what people think, he doesn't care how this will go down with the RTE Board on a Monday morning. He doesn't come across as an RTE insider worried about the next big gig. He's not your usual "canteen" person, back slapping away other "canteen" folks. He says it like he sees it, usually uncensored and that makes him a rarity in RTE.

Fair play to RTE for giving him this show, lets hope they don't panic and take it off air after a series or two. Generally they do that with anything half decent.

Id love to see the out-takes section of the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

This show won't last folks, if it gets alot of praise then RTE will think, great.

If it starts to shine at light on the Late Late Show or Ray Darcy then it will be axed.

I don't think Tommy Tiernan would be up for the regular gig every Friday night though.

Jaysus imagine he knew who his guests were going to be and he could prepare?

The best thing about him is that he has a presence and his guests thus far knew who he was and its like he already has their respect. He can ask whatever he likes and be a cheeky f*cker but he does it with charm and warmth.

Its a terrific show

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Just want to join the Tommy T appreciation society here. A fantastic job tonight. You could tell that he was really salivating at the thought of getting stuck into that psychiatrist! A subject close to his heart. That's the key difference between him and pretenders like Tubs and to a lesser extent Ray D'arcy. Tommy has a curious mind and is genuinely interested in unraveling topics and getting under people's skin. The hallmark of a true interviewer. His wit and easy humour is just the icing on the cake.

Anything might be said live during the recording though, and then edited out afterwards. That's not new, or nobody pretends it doesn't happen.

Yes. But they do pretend it is live, mostly. Norton's guests will sometimes slip up and say something that reveals it isn't live. He choses to let it go and laugh at it, but the quiz's and HIGNFY would edit it out. Just a construct for the willing suspension of disbelief, same as Tiernans one. No biggie at the end of the day,the conversation is interesting or it isn't.

As I said earlier I can take or leave Tommy. My daughter has me converted. Another thing I like is how he's not leaning across a desk like a headmaster or a managing director. He's sitting back and engaging with the audience. Tubridy tries to do the same slapping his hips and the desk trying to do the same and fails miserably.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Duggie2012

whats the story with the set though, its atrocious. and the bit sitting round the table with the other two guys. not funny atal.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Bigus wrote: »
    Absolutely cracking show tonight , will go down as a classic , first part anyway, I was looking forward to it and he didn't disappoint.

Are you serious?
    It was an edited recorded interview with two guys who are on our screens several times a year. What do we know about them today that we didn't know last week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Fair play for Tommy for calling him out on soundbites

Where do we go for healing...

Ummm friends, family, phone services, dodge dodge waffle waffle

he also didn't mention how expensive it is to see people like him, it's beyond most peoples means, especially those that are struggling mentally already. I found his idea of containment very interesting, and i'm sure he could help alot of people, but at what cost, 100 euro per 45 minute session ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

Are you serious?
    It was an edited recorded interview with two guys who are on our screens several times a year. What do we know about them today that we didn't know last week?

I don't know what you're watching but I've haven't seen the chieftains and Dubliners live together for years , probably because they're mostly passed away, which could have been very morose on Tubs or D'arcy.
    What I saw was ;
    Genuine rapport ,love and respect between three intelligent people going both ways.

Impromptu use of two musical instruments by world class stars, egged on by the bould Tommy , a few, very funny low balls and quick replies, all unrehearsed.

And to cap it all Tommy crowning the lads "elders of our tribe"

As for what " Did we know about them that We didn't know last week "

I never heard the funny side before and I was royally entertained , especially the way the two tin whistles were pulled out of the inside pockets and made sound ridiculously good, and all good humoured and the definition of Craic.

I'm glad I don't look at the world through cynical eyes anymore life's to short and the winter too dark .

That's what I was watching, and the I'm glad I did, as did my 2 sons in their 20's

The Three of us haven't laughed as much together in years .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

AnneFrank wrote: »
    he also didn't mention how expensive it is to see people like him, it's beyond most peoples means, especially those that are struggling mentally already. I found his idea of containment very interesting, and i'm sure he could help alot of people, but at what cost, 100 euro per 45 minute session ?

Thats an unqualified counsellor rate

Shrinks in Ireland are about €300 an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Thats an unqualified counsellor rate

Shrinks in Ireland are about €300 an hour

jesus you're kidding, no wonder antidepressants are the popular choice at 5 euro per month