If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Knowing him he's in some international dateline hotel waiting for a second go later on today. Iykwim.

Haha.. a bit behind actually so just gone midnight.

Happy & safe new year one and all... missing the cows at this stage so back in a couple of days can't come too soon.

Am writing the children's new years resolutions for the new year now so they can sign them in the morning unless they want me to give their mother a copy of their mini bar bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Happy and safe New Year to you all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Would there be much more growth if you were to apply a bag of urea on fifteenth of January compared to first of February. Also on bare enough ground would it be urwa or can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Would there be much more growth if you were to apply a bag of urea on fifteenth of January compared to first of February. Also on bare enough ground would it be urwa or can.
    Soil temp needs to be there for any Fertiliser to work. Needs to be over7degrees
    Urea should work as long as the ground is damp or it's a damp day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Soil temp needs to be there for any Fertiliser to work. Needs to be over7degrees

They used to use T sum 200 in the UK years ago to guide first fert applications. Basically add up all positive daytime temps from first of Jan on. Once they total 200 it's time to go. Not a bad guide imo. Urea all the way here unless lime has been recently applied.

Must try that.
    I don't go by this 15th Jan rule. Generally within the first 2 weeks of Feb were out here and it's time enough I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Was thinking of spreading some urea this week soil temps are still above 6 here which wouldnt be the norm seems to be growing away slowly. Going to do a grass walk tomorrow and see whats what

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Was thinking of spreading some urea this week soil temps are still above 6 here which wouldnt be the norm seems to be growing away slowly. Going to do a grass walk tomorrow and see whats what
    Mod note: Just to remind people that the first permitted day of spreading artificial fertiliser is the 13th of January in zone A, 16th January in zone B and 1st February in the rest.

See page 6 in the link below.

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/ruralenvironment/environment/nitrates/NitratesExplanatoryHandbook14Mar2014.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Sorry should of stated farming in the uk and not within a Nvz don't have the same restrictions( no calender farming) as those farming in Ireland.

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Sorry should of stated farming in the uk and not within a Nvz don't have the same restrictions( no calender farming) as those farming in Ireland.
    Ah grand. No harm to remind lads and lassies farming here of the regulations anyway.

BTW, I'm jealous of no calendar farming:(

Anyone have weighcells on ther fert spreader?
    New fert spreader to be bought here and thinking that's what we'll put on. No wastage of fert. Spreader matches up spread rate to what is actually being spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

New fert spreader to be bought here and thinking that's what we'll put on. No wastage of fert. Spreader matches up spread rate to what is actually being spread.

Much extra cost? Have you gps?

I'd be more inclined to go for a hydraulic drive rather than PTO if I was going for something extra on a fert spreader for safety alone.

It would be handy for keeping your fert records up to date if you were downloading the data onto the computer though.

How much would they cost extra, over a grand?

Mooooo wrote: »

Much extra cost? Have you gps?
    Haven't any prices yet. Hopefully get around to a local dealer or 2 in the coming days. Just looking on amazone website ATM and seen it. No gps ATM. Something else that will be bought as well in the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Unless you've deep pockets I wouldn't bother .i changed mine this year ,bought a vicon which can spread to 21 meters .bought gps forctractor and once you figure it out and the spread charts spreading fertiliser is very accurate and a doddle .
    Guy I get to spread fertiliser in spring has a big trailed sulky spreader with all the bells and whistles including weigh cells gps etc etc ,think it cost him the guts of 70 k .savage piece of kit but he dose a lot of contract work for tillage and grass men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Wouldn't bother with weigh cells unless the spreader was 3 tonne plus.

Gps would be No 1. The amount of time it saves is unreal. Be sure to buy a spreader with 24m discs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Unless you've deep pockets I wouldn't bother .i changed mine this year ,bought a vicon which can spread to 21 meters .bought gps forctractor and once you figure it out and the spread charts spreading fertiliser is very accurate and a doddle .
    Guy I get to spread fertiliser in spring has a big trailed sulky spreader with all the bells and whistles including weigh cells gps etc etc ,think it cost him the guts of 70 k .savage piece of kit but he dose a lot of contract work for tillage and grass men

Have a 4ton bells and whistles amazone here, couldn't recommend Amazone too tempermental unless you are prepared to tray test and check everything every use. Vicon geo-spread enabled will plug into any gps without extra unlocks etc..

Local lad in rathnure does vicon. Might give him a ring. Reading up on the weigh cells thing there. It needs isobus to run it and our '99 girl wouldn't have that

Isobus is a system to let any machine hook upto any tractor without the branded control box, as in run a kuhn spinner from a jd gps screen (eg.) or the tractors onboard screen/computer. They will provide you with a new control box which will be extra to do the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Would it be handier to get in a contractor to do the big spreading. Silage ground ect. And then any old spreader would do a few paddocks.

A dairy farmer landed into a local co op a couple of years back with his vicon spreader and the wagger still wagging, he had forgotten to turn off the pto and just headed for town when he ran out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mf240 wrote: »
    Would it be handier to get in a contractor to do the big spreading. Silage ground ect. And then any old spreader would do a few paddocks.

A dairy farmer landed into a local co op a couple of years back with his vicon spreader and the wagger still wagging, he had forgotten to turn off the pto and just headed for town when he ran out.

Only contractor at it here is charging 35 a ton, adds up to a nice bit when your going with a couple of loads a year, investing in a new spinner here and going doing it all myself, when ground conditions aren't the best a fully loaded bredal leaves serious tracks, on hilly ground here and this just adds to the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Only contractor at it here is charging 35 a ton, adds up to a nice bit when your going with a couple of loads a year, investing in a new spinner here and going doing it all myself, when ground conditions aren't the best a fully loaded bredal leaves serious tracks, on hilly ground here and this just adds to the problem

That's silly money, the going rate around here is 15e/ton. And that's exactly what I plan on doing moving forward, let the contractors on with it, the last thing I need is to be pricking about with my single 1/2 ton bag spreader during calving season etc. Will definitely get the contractor to do all the silage ground also.

Your talking about a bredal actually, my local contractor has a tractor mounted 2ton spreader, I usually load for him. And some of the tracks my little 2wd 70hp 2nd tractor left last spring spreading fert ughhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Driverless tractor going forward...

Wouldn't bother with weigh cells unless the spreader was 3 tonne plus.

Gps would be No 1. The amount of time it saves is unreal. Be sure to buy a spreader with 24m discs

Just saw a Trimble GPS unit for €895 on Donedeal

https://www.donedeal.ie/fertiliserspreaders-for-sale/trimble-offer-on-tullamore-show-excess-stock/12803770

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

kevthegaff wrote: »

You forget the handbrake?

kevthegaff wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8N6v5BRgAKA
    Already here if you are so lazy, just need to remove the chunk of meat from the cab next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jaymla627 wrote: »

50 euro an hour here. Even though I bought a new spreader last autumn I'll spread none of my own fertiliser till at least mid April on top of getting 95% of my slurry spread on contract .great service provided by both and my time is needed more for cows calves and managing grass

mf240 wrote: »

Fert is a job I absolutely love one job I wouldn't give up but yep I agree on the big jobs there. Silage ground will never be at home again. Just as easy to get contractor in for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Got a lad in to spread second cut fert this year, 3 bags of sulphacan/acre. he collects it in bulk with a trailer from cork and the trailer, has flotation tyres, and has an auger in it to top up the spinner. I think trailer can bring 20 odd tonne. spinner is mounted one. When i worked it out it cost me 7 euro a tonne more than just getting the big bags delivered to yard, would be doing well with time and diesel to spread outta the big bags for that. Only drawback was he had another customer spreading the same stuff so he waited till he was ready to collect from cork as trailer would hold both our amounts, which meant mine went out a week later than hoped. Will prob get him in to do first round of urea but i suspect when spreading at a lower rate and dealing with smaller fields it'll prob be more expensive. Will enquire in a few weeks. Local dairygold rep put me in contact with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Not something I'm planning on doing but would ye consider doing liquid fertilizer? Heard of a few lads who get it delivered in IBC tanks to the yard and spread/sprayed by a tillage contractor with GPS. Seems like a good idea to reduce the fillers and just give the plant what it needs.
    I wouldn't get out early enough here with ground conditions so I'm stuck to using the quad and spinner but just something I'm surprised more lads haven't started doing.