Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

kowtow wrote: »
    So when she said she'd drug me and put me on the plane she obviously meant it. Happy Christmas to everyone. Thank God for calving cameras...

31717698202_9c49b2465f_z.jpg

You bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

You bastard.

My first day in nearly 5 years without a base layer on, feels totally weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

So when she said she'd drug me and put me on the plane she obviously meant it. Happy Christmas to everyone. Thank God for calving cameras...

Jesus......I may get into cheese :P

My first day in nearly 5 years without a base layer on, feels totally weird.

A base layer of what? Don't be trying to plamass id.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

What make of tractor did they use to harrow the sand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Grand old stretch in the evenings now isn't there 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Looking on Glanbia connect there, even without any autumn calvers I'm still going to oversupply my Dec liquid contract by 13kl (by more than double). I still need a hell of a lot of work on the 6week calving rate, much more scope for more Feb calvers who would all be dry for Dec. Not the worst complaint I'll admit, will still be a tidy enough Dec milkcheque, and cows still doing 8.15% solids so will hopefully still get mid 30s net price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Will be ringing to book the umbilical for the 12th, hopefully I'll be able to get him to come this way first. Will floor everything and cover as much ground as possible weather/ ground conditions permitting. Will be transfering slurry to the tower in the next few days and wikk give the the big concrete tank a stir as well. Feb will be likely turnout. Haven't walked farm yet but covers seem green enough if a bit on the low side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Mooooo wrote: »
    Will be ringing to book the umbilical for the 12th, hopefully I'll be able to get him to come this way first. Will floor everything and cover as much ground as possible weather/ ground conditions permitting. Will be transfering slurry to the tower in the next few days and wikk give the the big concrete tank a stir as well. Feb will be likely turnout. Haven't walked farm yet but covers seem green enough if a bit on the low side.

Did a walk yesterday and covers much better than you'd expect. First paddocks 1500

Mooooo wrote: »

Good idea, prb book mine also, but just a tanker not worth getting the umbilical, only 4ft in the tank. Last year I was forced to suck a load a day out from Jan 12th on with my little 1100gls yoke, until I risked it late feb with the contractor, he ploughed up the place and got stuck afew times. What a difference a year makes ha, but I'll take my chances the 12th if I can at all.

Milked once on Christmas day. Cost .1l/cow over three day collection. Nicely surprised, I thought we'd take a bigger hit.

Milked once here Christmas Day and yesterday. Back to normal now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What time did ye do the one milking. I enjoy milking on Christmas day. Clears the head

99% sure I'm off skiing mid jan, my 2 main milkers are back in school then, so the cows going OAD and only be milked the evening.

Timmaay wrote: »
    99% sure I'm off skiing mid jan, my 2 main milkers are back in school then, so the cows going OAD and only be milked the evening.

When you back calving again?

whelan2 wrote: »
    When you back calving again?

1st one due 12th feb, which prb means in around the 5th.

whelan2 wrote: »
    What time did ye do the one milking. I enjoy milking on Christmas day. Clears the head

6.30 both morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

is there a report on Icbf that gives the predicted Ebi of calves due to be born.
    i thought there was, but can seem to find it:confused::confused::confused:

dar31 wrote: »
    is there a report on Icbf that gives the predicted Ebi of calves due to be born.
    It doesnt seem to have been generated yet, normally in early January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

dar31 wrote: »

The expected calving list will have the ebi of 2017 calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

yewtree wrote: »
    The expected calving list will have the ebi of 2017 calves

Cheers. See it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I just came across an article by Joel Salatin on some of the ridiculous claims by 'greenies' on how cattle should be culled to stop greenhouse gasses.

http://grist.org/sustainable-farming/farmer-responds-to-the-new-york-times-re-sustainable-meat/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Lovely sight here this morning when I looked down into the paddocks beside the house 40 suckler cows running around munching away on a lovely 1000 cover, local beef/tillage baron took ground beside us and set kale but didn't bother with throwing up any fencing, I just love guys who reckon my fences should be keeping out their stock from my fields

Advice from An Old Farmer

Your fences need to be horse-high, pig-tight and bull-strong.
    Keep skunks and bankers at a distance.
    Life is simpler when you plow around the stump.
    A bumble bee is considerably faster than a John Deere tractor.
    Words that soak into your ears are whispered… not yelled.
    Meanness don’t jes’ happen overnight.
    Forgive your enemies; it messes up their heads.
    Do not corner something that you know is meaner than you.
    It don’t take a very big person to carry a grudge.
    You cannot unsay a cruel word.
    Every path has a few puddles.
    When you wallow with pigs, expect to get dirty.
    The best sermons are lived, not preached.
    Most of the stuff people worry about ain’t never gonna happen anyway.
    Don’t judge folks by their relatives.
    Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.
    Live a good, honorable life… Then when you get older and think back, you’ll enjoy it a second time.
    Don ‘t interfere with somethin’ that ain’t bothering you none.
    Timing has a lot to do with the outcome of a Rain dance.
    If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop diggin’.
    Sometimes you get, and sometimes you get got.
    The biggest troublemaker you’ll probably ever have to deal with, watches you from the mirror every mornin’.
    Always drink upstream from the herd.
    Good judgment comes from experience, and a lotta that comes from bad judgment.
    Lettin’ the cat outta the bag is a whole lot easier than puttin’ it back in.
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..
    Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.
    Don’t pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he’ll just kill you.
    Most times, it just gets down to common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

6 cows and 4 heifers bulling in the last 2 days. Didn't get any straws b4 xmas in order to keep disciplined to the Jan start date, if I had em they'd be served. Feck all come in for the first 2 weeks of Jan now ha

Waiting on vet for a cow with bad mastitis. Always get one at this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Anyone know of any young fella or lass who is looking for experience on a large scale grass based herds without going to the other side of the world?

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Anyone know of any young fella or lass who is looking for experience on a large scale grass based herds without going to the other side of the world?
    Get onto Marian Beecher who's over the farm manager programme here. She might have someone who would do part if there farm placement with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

I wonder if kowtow is in next year? If you are in next year kowtow.....what's the milk price like?

alps wrote: »
    I wonder if kowtow is in next year? If you are in next year kowtow.....what's the milk price like?

Knowing him he's in some international dateline hotel waiting for a second go later on today. Iykwim.