Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

sonofenoch wrote: »
    And he gave it to them to, it's a brutal violent sport he agrees.....how do they spin that one

Tune in to joe Duffy Monday and find out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Gamebred wrote: »

half the crowd made a point of not clapping the announcement
    saddos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

People are hypocrites. Katie Taylor is adored for boxing the head off people. People loath McGregor because they hate to see cocky people prove themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

wouldnt get offended on his behalf as Conor would say about these bitter bums ''fook them''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Tigger wrote: »
    saddos

The Irish mentality of celebrating mediocrity and 'taking part' was on display.

The whole room wanted either Annalise or Paul O' Donovan to win, and with all due respect, those 2 athletes come from well-off backgrounds and their sport is sitting in a boat on some water and moving from Point A to Point B as fast as possible.

And, again, with all due respect their 'personalities' resemble a goldfish and a Yorkshire Terrier on acid. One would bore you to sleep, the other is hyper.

If they won gold, I'd see their case, but they didn't even do that.

Then you've got clowns on social media from the world of Irish horse racing and Irish rowing saying "MMA is not a sport #disgrace".

Oh right. A horse running around a field at 35mph with a lad/girl on it's back, is a sport.... and in that sport you've had how many jockeys paralysed and die in recent years?

It's a circular never-ending discussion, mainly because these people don't want to hear explanations of jiujitsu, muay thai, the combination of olympic disciplines etc.

They want to stick to their idea of "human c0ck fighting" and not allow facts to sway their opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

To be fair who gives a flying feck about the RTE sports awards in the grand scheme of things?

Tigger wrote: »
    saddos

its in the vid

The Irish mentality of celebrating mediocrity and 'taking part' was on display.

The whole room wanted either Annalise or Paul O' Donovan to win, and with all due respect, those 2 athletes come from well-off backgrounds and their sport is sitting in a boat on some water and moving from Point A to Point B as fast as possible.

And, again, with all due respect their 'personalities' resemble a goldfish and a Yorkshire Terrier on acid. One would bore you to sleep, the other is hyper.

If they won gold, I'd see their case, but they didn't even do that.

Then you've got clowns on social media from the world of Irish horse racing and Irish rowing saying "MMA is not a sport #disgrace".

Oh right. A horse running around a field at 35mph with a lad/girl on it's back, is a sport.... and in that sport you've had how many jockeys paralysed and die in recent years?

It's a circular never-ending discussion, mainly because these people don't want to hear explanations of jiujitsu, muay thai, the combination of olympic disciplines etc.

They want to stick to their idea of "human c0ck fighting" and not allow facts to sway their opinions.

yeah: what he said

Yeah as I think Kavanagh said or someone else the other day if you dont acknowledge mma then you may throw Judo Boxing and the rest of the martial arts out the olympics, and as Conor said if its not for you who gives a fook if you dont like it dont watch it I couldnt care less about rowing or greyhound racing, dont see me or people involved in mma media writing stories on how they arent sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

It's nothing like Judo or boxing in the olympics and as Conor himself said and continually says, It's a business.

Boxing in the Olympics is pure combat so yes it is but im not getting into a debate on it, its not tip tap kick boxing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

To be fair who gives a flying feck about the RTE sports awards in the grand scheme of things?

I would have thought so too but after the last week or two it seems an awful lot seem to care

sonofenoch wrote: »
    And he gave it to them to, it's a brutal violent sport he agrees.....how do they spin that one

A brutal violent business is what he said. Which says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,009 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Wasn't bothered whether Conor won RTE SP of the year or not but must admit I'm amused to see how much it's annoyed a certain section of official Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

It's a combat sport, it's exactly what he said. I presume you feel as passionately about boxing given the recent deaths that have occurred in the sport?

moneyman wrote: »
    It's a combat sport, it's exactly what he said. I presume you feel as passionately about boxing given the recent deaths that have occurred in the sport?

Conor never once mentioned the word sport. He mentioned figures and ratings. There appears to very little knowledge on here about sports. He may well entertain and there is big money in many other sports but I see UFC on a similar platform as wwf, gladiators or even robot wars.

As someone who is new/doesnt post here often I would suggest reading the charter. Trolling will not be permitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Conor never once mentioned the word sport. He mentioned figures and ratings. There appears to very little knowledge on here about sports. He may well entertain and there is big money in many other sports but I see UFC on a similar platform as wwf, gladiators or even robot wars.

the sport debate has been had on here too much and its getting annoying at this stage, every time mcgregors in the news we seem to get new heads in here, whatever your point of view is, the facts of the matter is mma is a sport, if you disagree you're perfectly entitled to your opinion, its just your opinion has absolutely no foundation in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

And this is from your wealth of experience in MMA and in the MMA forum here I assume?

Jog on mate. There's enough of the regulars around here posting utter horsesh1t, we dont need any drop ins. Cheers.

Leave the moderating to the mods thanks - drop ins and new members are as welcome as anyone else as long as they follow the rules of the charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    People are hypocrites. Katie Taylor is adored for boxing the head off people. People loath McGregor because they hate to see cocky people prove themselves.

I think it is more to do with the way he conducts himself rather than the sport - the sport also plays a part but more to with the way he conducts.

I doubt he is bothered to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,219 ✭✭✭✭kippy

TBF this shows your complete lack of knowledge about any of UFC, wwf, gladiators or robot wars.

MMA is a sport or indeed a mixture of sports in which the professionals can earn significant sums of money based on figures and ratings, in the same way as professionals in other sports can do the same in their respective sports.
    It's inherently a more dangerous sport than many out there and in fairness to him he's no issues saying this.

It was great to see him win that award - one of the few superstars we have on the world stage excelling in his field and flying the Irish flag in front of millions on a regular basis. He puts in the same or more work as any of those up for that award and has literally changed the sport he excels in, breaking numerous records over the years. Those that cannot see this guy puts on a show to garner income yet behind it all is a nice guy, haven't spent enough time following him and probably never will.

Fair play.

I am not a major UFC fan and literally only started watching it because of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Personally myself I voted for O'Donovan. I prefer MMA to any other sport but even as a huge MMA fan I thought his achievements this year were well up with Conor's and I felt like it would have meant more to him than Conor.

After seeing the bitterness in the studio last night though I'm absolutely over the moon that Conor won it. The head on Shane Ross, I swear I could see him forcing himself to clap for McGregor. And the rest of the sporting dinosaur elite in this country were no better. You could actually see people not clapping when the camera was panning the room.They would have been on their feet for anyone else. Small minded begrudgery. Conor, too cocky and too confident for them by a mile.

You can be almost certain it will be a closed poll next year. Voted for by a small handpicked group of ''experts''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

Gamebred wrote: »

Okay i'll admit im not a fan of MMA not because of any particular reason other than not having the time to follow it but i completely respect any man that puts it on the line like that for his sport in the pursuit of greatness.

The way a sizeable section of the audience didnt clap and a lot half heartedly clapped McGregor there was embarrassing, utterly embarrassing. If that was a Rugby, GAA or athletic star you would have a completely different reaction. Maybe Conor is too working class for them i don't know there seems to be a click in RTE and a huge bias towards rugby in particular.

Anyway a deserved winner without doubt, head and shoulders above any other candidate on the ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

So is football, so is boxing, so is rugby, so is basketball etc.. they are all businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Oodoov wrote: »
    Okay i'll admit im not a fan of MMA not because of any particular reason other than not having the time to follow it but i completely respect any man that puts it on the line like that for his sport in the pursuit of greatness.

The way a sizeable section of the audience didnt clap and a lot half heartedly clapped McGregor there was embarrassing, utterly embarrassing. If that was a Rugby, GAA or athletic star you would have a completely different reaction. Maybe Conor is too working class for them i don't know there seems to be a click in RTE and a huge bias towards rugby in particular.

Anyway a deserved winner without doubt, head and shoulders above any other candidate on the ticket.

Exactly Conor is too working class for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Exactly Conor is too working class for them!

Rugby is more established, there is a history there. Irish interest in mma has only been piqued recently. I think it's lazy to play the class card tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

What Conor actually said is:
    "It's a violent, dangerous business. I've seen it all first hand, I've seen the worst you can witness (Joao Carvahlo).... I'm not gonna tell nobody different..... I'm young, successful, Irish born-and-bred....I come from nothing, there's so much despair back home ...If i can give them motivation that's what people should focus on, not what I have to do to do it".

That's a measured, honest answer from the participant of a violent, dangerous 'sport'.

I didn't hear Jamie Heaslip or Annalise Murphy or Ruby Walsh talk about the violent, dangerous nature of their sports. I didn't hear a tap on the amount of 15 year olds who have suffered severe neck injuries in rugby in recent years or the amount of people who have drowned in sailing contests or the amount of jockeys and horses suffering career/life ending injuries.

What I heard was a young man from a growing sport admit the nature of his sport. What I heard was a man not trying to convince others of the legitimacy of his sport or change their opinions.

Even chess, that game/sport, where people move pieces on a board..... 4 people have died in the past decade while participating in ultra-marathon world chess events. Dehydration was linked to one death, suicide to 2 of them and there was calls for investigations into the mental/physical demands on marathon chess.

Conor said it like it is. He called his sport exactly what it is. The rest of the room, who barely applauded him, wouldn't be so quick to point out the major risks in their respective sports.

The same people from the world of rugby won't be so quick to point to schools rugby with full-impact hits on developing bodies. The same people from the world of horse racing won't be so quick to list the number of critical injuries suffered by horses and jockeys, not to mention work riders at home in the stables.

Personally I don't think MMA at the professional level is a sport. But I don't think the word 'sport' itself exists at professional levels anymore. I don't view rugby, soccer, tennis or golf as 'sport' either.

It's all sports entertainment nowadays.

Conor was a) honest and b) the best in the world in his sport.

That's 2 things that room of people just could not compute in a country of ''We'll throw you a parade for coming third in the Olympics".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

If he spoke like Cathal Pendred it would be a different story, that's for sure.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Rugby is more established, there is a history there. Irish interest in mma has only been piqued recently. I think it's lazy to play the class card tbh.

I do think it plays a part. It seems that a lot of active sports stars really admire his dedication and achievements, but people in certain positions treat him as a complete outsider. Conors doing a Budweiser ad? Oh no, better think of the kiddies. Now back to rugby sponsored by Guinness and Heineken.

He's treated differently, is all I'm saying. Were CAH-HAL Prendred to have enjoyed similar success I think they would be a lot more welcoming to someone they could relate to.

I haven't seen the award part that people are talking about, so I don't know if people really weren't clapping etc - I'm basing this on past articles and incidents such as the above.

Then again, Conors whole drawing power is that you either love him or hate him, maybe a lot of those in the crowd only tune in hoping he'll have his mouth shut ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

cloudatlas wrote: »

Exceptionally lazy.